Friday, August 29, 2008

*VIDEOS* Mia kicking

She loves to kick kick kick!!

Mia kicking like crazy!!!! 08-29-08


After a loooong night sleep she woke up going nuts!

Good Morning kick kick kick! 08-29-08

Week 7....Yet another week zooms by


Current mood: amused

When people say enjoy your little one as much as possible because time flies by so fast... they are sooo right! I can't believe my little one is rounding the corner to 2 months! It’s insane!

She’s been great though, I love her so much. The big thing that happened this past week is we (mostly me because Adrian is at work a lot) are breaking her habit of needing the arms so much at night. I have been trying to show and teach her that when its night time its bedtime and that means Mia goes in her bassinette, crying, fussing and all. It’s been a battle to say the least. The hardest thing is I am actually letting her cry. It’s the hardest thing I ever had to do in my life!! Hearing her cry and not go in and rescuing her. I have been having many loooong talks with my parents who are old pros and they keep reassuring me that I am doing the right thing. I never thought I would ever be the type of parents who lays down their little one crying and lets them cry. I always felt that was horrible and cruel! I still feel that way... unless it’s done the right way. My parents are showing me that. I only let her cry no longer than 15-20mins which usually starts to tire her out enough to sleep. If she goes beyond that, I can't take it anymore and go pick her up. Right away, like instant, she lays her head on my shoulder and goes to sleep. That’s how I know for sure she just wants the arms and nothing else. She always has a clean diaper before I lay her down and is well fed, most of the time freshly bathed, (and for anyone who knows my ritual of bath time knows she is relaxed, she totally gets spa treatment, the soft music and baby massage with lavender!) so yep just the arms is what she wants. In a perfect world, I wouldn't mind holding her all the time, but I need to teach her that Mama can't always do that. I need to cook, clean, and do other things and I can't have her in my arms 24/7 Especially when it’s been affecting my sleep. Before I would stay up all night with her while she got rest and I constantly was holding her. Well anyways, I have only really been practicing this new "leave crying" thing for a couple of days and it seems to be working. After a real good cry she sleeps and sleeps. In fact she reached her 6 hours of straight sleep for the first time a couple of days ago, and last night she actually went 7.5 hours before she wanted to eat!! (usually she only goes 3 hours!...btw we got the ok from her doc that skipping feedings here and there at night is ok since her weight gain is normal) So I think we are on the right track.. but boy is it hard to hear her crying... it tears me up so bad. But got to admit after a good night rest she wakes up sooo happy, rested, and energized and plays a lot longer. Her whininess and fussiness isn't as predominate anymore. She even goes down for cat naps during the day better.

Another new thing she did this week is she is starting to play a little. I can show her, her rattle, put it in her hand and she shakes it like crazy! Its waaay cute. I posted a video of it on myspace videos. She is more responsive everyday and cooing and smiling like crazy. I can't wait for the day she finally is able to laugh... it will be here any day now. She is getting so close! She is also a kicking machine, you put a little toy at her feet and she goes nuts kicking it like crazy! Playing with her is so much fun... I am off to play with her some more!!!


The day she turned 7 weeks is when she decided she wanted to play with her butterfly rattle. She then went crazy... when I grabbed the camera she slowed down =( but here is some shots of her going nuts!

Mia with butterfly rattle 08-29-08

Friday, August 22, 2008

6 weeks old... slow down Mia!!


Current mood: chipper

Mia is growing like a weed and sure putting on her baby fat weight. She is getting so puffy all over!!! Her legs, cheeks, arms, belly.. It’s too cute! Though not consistent... she is up to 6 oz!!! What an eating machine she is!!! Luckily for me and for our budget on formula supplementation... she isn’t always eating that much.

Her sleeping is getting better too. Her grandparents (Pizano) came down for a visit this weekend and she was such a good baby. The last night they were here to watch her while Adrian and I got some much needed rest.. she woke up during the night and was so floppy and sleepy that she didn’t even open her eyes the whole time! She ate asleep, was changed asleep and moved around asleep. Why doesn't she do that with us?!?!?! She is already too spoiled with us and knows she can get away with murder!

We are officially no longer using the supplemental feeder and she is on bottles now. Which is a lot easier and faster. I am still trying to get a hang of the bottle warmer which always seems to not work right when I most need it! I am still breastfeeding as much as I can, but with an eating machine like her... I need breaks here and there.
She is smiling a whole lot more and seems to happen more when she first wakes up. I melt every time she looks up at me with her big brown eyes and smiles so hard her dimples pop out and so does her little tongue through her gums. I am trying to catch it on camera but it never seems to go off fast enough.

As for my recovery, I went to my OB for my final check up this week. Everyone in the office (all the nurses and staff I have been seeing since I got pregnant) instantly melted and fell in love with little Mia. Especially since she was wearing this cute little dress and pants. Everything pretty much checked out good with my doc other than her being concerned I may be suffering from post-partum a little. So I might start seeing a therapist for that soon. As for my surgery recovery.. everything is healed up great. She even gave me the green light for exercising and lifting again. YAY! Now I can finally start taking little Mia on walks in the morning. She also put me on the mini-pill so Mia doesn't become a big sister to soon haha. I haven't started to take it yet since it can affect my milk supply. So I am waiting two more weeks before I start that up. (they say the 8 week mark is the safest). The mini-pill kind of scares me though since it isn’t like the pills I have taken before. I have to take it exactly on the same time everyday or it doesn’t work!!! YIKES!! haha We will see how that goes.

Well I am off to take a short nap while she is snoozing... can’t believe she is rounding the two month mark!!!! Mia slow down!!

Sunday, August 17, 2008

Mia got some company today!!!



Current mood: happy

Today was a big day for baby Mia, she got some visitors today. Her Uncle Jimmy, Auntie Lauren, Cousins Tracy and Sarah came down from Oxnard to see her. They were all there the day she was born but had not been able to make it down for a visit due to my brother's hectic schedule. So having them down today was so awesome!

They got to spend pretty much spend all day with her and to both Adrian and I's surprise Mia was a perfect angel today! No real big melt downs or anything! We are still pretty shocked about that.. after all our horror stories of how much of a handful she can get to be... she did the WB frog thing attempting to make us look like lairs! Now no one believes us haha. I am so happy she was good though. I had a talk with her this morning and told her that no one wants to visit a fussy baby and for her to be on her best behavior so people will want to visit her more. I guess she really listened haha. She was a sweetie pie.

Auntie Lauren got to show me a few new things on how to burp and swaddle her and tips on some other stuff too. I couldn't believe how comfy Mia was in her arms. She would settle right now whenever Auntie Lauren held her. I should have taken notes! What was a real treat was I got to see my two darling nieces hold and kiss her. It was so sweet to see them so excited about her. I can't wait till Mia gets to meet her other big cousin April (she’s 18 months). I just know that they will be close since they are so close in age. However, I just hope they don't conspire to overthrow their Mommies and Daddies! ha-ha Anyways, the highlight of the day was definitely seeing my big bro holding my little one and talking to her. He even got to feed her twice! The first time was too funny because as soon as she was done with her 4 oz and as my brother nervously was preparing to burp her .. BLAM!!!!! Mia decided to unleash a horrifying loud poopie! It was so loud we all blamed the sound on my brother! but alas Mia needed to be changed.. thank goodness it wasn't a blow out!

Overall the was an awesome visit. I love my family so much and wish so much that we all lived closer. But Mia had a great time and can't wait for the next visit! Right now she’s all tuckered out and sleeping soundly in her bassinette... whoops spoke too soon got to go, Mama on the run......

Saturday, August 16, 2008

*VIDEOS* Mia Crying, Whining and Swinging

My little one is not happy!

Mia Crying 08-16-08


She was alittle upset and started to whine. She does this alot haha

Mia whining 8-16-08


She likes this swing... but just not longer than 5 mins
Mia in her swing

Friday, August 15, 2008

Can’t believe she’s 5 weeks old now!


Current mood: happy

Yep, you read right, the little one is 5 weeks old! I can't believe it either. Time sure flies by so fast. She is growing and changing every day. She is slowly losing her cute little newborn features and replacing them with cute little baby features. Her thighs are getting chunky and so are her adorable cheeks.

She is finally starting to sleep better. Just not so much during the day, which isn't bad since I rather have her sleep longer during the night anyways. Her "happy Mia time" (aka hanging out content and not screaming and crying) Have been becoming more frequent too (as long as she’s dry, full, and rested) Any slight change in any of those three things, she’s not a happy baby and BOY does she let you know. When she does decide to go down for a nap she sleeps for about 3-4 hours unless she wets her diaper, spits up, hiccups, sneezes, or farts.. then all bets are off. So needless to say hitting those 3-4 hour sleep time is a rare thing, but it does happen.
She is becoming more alert and she follows you everywhere with her head and eyes. She is also smiling so much now. I can just tap her chin to get her to smile. Its waaay cute. She is cooing more and even calls out to me if I am not nearby with a cute loud noise. She isn’t ticklish yet but I can't wait till she becomes that.

She is such an eating machine too!!!! Last night she ate 5 oz!!! and right now Daddy is feeding her and she’s already at 4.5 and still going!!!! As for breastfeeding.. I am still doing that as much as I can. I just can’t always keep up with her anymore. I used to be able to satisfy her with one side, but now it’s both side plus a bottle at the end!!!! I am doing what I can to get my supply up but it’s hard when she’s draining me dry every other hour! I am waiting for this tea to come in the mail that is supposed to help... we’ll see how that goes.

Well that’s about it. I am getting better at being a Mama but it’s still really hard and everyday is different with new surprises and challenges to face. I don’t mind though, I wouldn't want to do anything else.

Monday, August 11, 2008

Mia is 1 Month Old!!!!!!


Current mood: accomplished

Phew we all survived her first month!!! I can't believe how fast time flies by... it’s unreal! I know time will just fly by faster and faster.. that is why I am trying to enjoy and cherish every min. with my little one as she transforms from a newborn to a full baby. I can see the changes already... she isn't so delicate and tiny and doesn't even fit into her newborn clothes!!!!! (She still wears 0-3months and small... but the newborn she can't. Well she could but it would be too tight and constricting).

So month in review....

Well it has been such a learning experience for all of us. Me being a new Mama, Adrian a new daddy and Mia and new baby It was a rocky start but are slowly smoothing out SOME of the rough bumps. I am learning the differences in her cries and am not so paranoid to handle her. I learned how to bath her on my own and though still a rookie; she seems to enjoy it.... somewhat. Swaddling is still hard for me since she always manages to bust out of it like Houdini.. but Adrian is an expert in it and it’s nice to be able to rely on him to make her into a burrito. Breastfeeding has gotten a WHOLE lot better since we started (poor thing I think I was starving her while in the hospital) Though the main problem now is, she is such an eating machine I am finding it hard to keep up with her. So we continue to supplement when we have to. Let’s see what else... well she is sleeping much better than when we started. At first I thought it was just because of her nightly baths, but even if we skip a night she still sleeps fairly well. She is up every 3 hours to eat but she usually goes back down without much of a fuss. She’s not perfect though; there are still those hard nights. That about it as a summary overall we are hanging in there and just looking forward to her sleeping longer and having a longer span of "Happy Mia time". As for my healing from my surgery, I have been improving though I am not 100% yet. I am still achy and sore. It still hurts to laugh hard and I can’t walk for long periods of time. Still can’t sleep on my tummy yet, which I have been dying to do since I haven’t been able to since I was pregnant. Carrying Mia around does get uncomfortable but hopefully all this will improve and change real soon.

Feeding: 3-4oz

New things: Smiled while awake (only happened 1 day but it happened!), cooing/talking, lifting and turning her head, sleeping alone in her bassinette, her becoming more alert, follows you with her eyes and recognizes Mama and Daddy

Weight: 10 lbs (estimated by when Adrian weighed her)

Goals for the next month: Transitioning her from the starter nurser feeder (the tube bottle) to a real bottle when being supplemented, getting her to like being in her swing and bouncer more

First Rash!




I recently noticed my little one developed a rash on her chest. Tiny red raised bumps. I noticed it after I bathed her last night while I was drying her off. I believe it may be heat rash. I haven't changed soaps on her; I am using dreft, and no new lotions. (The soap and lotion are Johnson's bedtime soap and lotion).

It doesn’t seem to bother her since she is still acting her normal Mia self. She doesn’t have a fever either, we checked. The rash is still there today, so we kept her in just a diaper and her thin cotton green Kaiser blankey all day.

I emailed her doc but won’t hear from him till tomorrow since it is the weekend.
Any suggestions? What do you guys think? It’s just on her chest nowhere else.

***UPDATE******
I just heard back from her doctor. He believes it’s a mild case of heat rash as well and recommended that I continue to bath her and use lotion. As of this morning I checked her and it seems to be lessening. He also said I didn't need to bathe her every day.... but she likes it and it helps her sleep. Hmmm... Maybe I will back off a little. I did give her a break last night and didn't bathe her. She seemed to sleep ok, but then again Adrian took care of her most of the night while I attempted to catch up on some rest so I am not sure how she was after I went to bed. Right now she has just been fed and is sleeping peacefully in her bassinette. I will post more on this blog of the rash worsens or anything. I would still like some tips if anyone has them

Saturday, August 9, 2008

4 Weeks old and growing....


Current mood: surprised

Little Mia hit her 4 week mark , though she will officially be 1 month old this Monday the 11th. Overall she is doing good. Some nights are better than others, though today she has been a handful BIG TIME! I am not sure what is making her so fussy but nothing seems to please her today. Not even Daddy, who has the magic touch, been able to calm her down. I am thinking it might be that she needs to do poopies since she hasn't in the past couple of days (due to the formula supplementation (it does that to her sometimes)). I guess I would be cranky too if I was backed up like that .

However, she did do two new things today!!! I give her a bath every night and every night it’s a battle. She doesn’t mind being in the water but as soon as I wash her face and hair she goes nuts and doesn't calm down till she is in her jammies and blankey. Today though, was a different story. I was actually able to make it out to Babies R Us for the first time since, I had her, and I bought an econo-size thing of Johnson's bedtime baby lotion (to go with her bedtime bath soap) and I found some disposable washcloths with that same scent. She was being very fussy aka tomato face time, so I prepared a bath for her. As soon as I dipped her in the warm water she quieted down instantly and actually let me bathe her. She just sat there, and cooed sometimes. Then it came to her face and hair washing .... surprisingly it went very well. She didn't mind at all, she actually really let me clean her good. When I was done she still didn't cry as I placed her in her towel and dried her off. She even let me put her new lotion on and she was just happy as a little clam. Then came time to put on her jammies and that’s when she got mad again and Happy Mia time was over . Since then she has been fussy and in and out of sleep. I know once she does poopies she should feel better and sleep better.

The other new thing is, she SMILED!!!! while awake! And no it wasn’t gas this time, it was an actual smile because she did it twice. It happened in the morning when it was my shift to take her over. She was cooing in her bassinette and I walked over and talked to her. I tapped her chin and she gave me a huge smile! Both dimples and all! I quickly told Adrian who didn’t believe me. I did it again and sure enough there was that smile again! I was able to do it once more on her changing table later today but that was the last of it. I haven’t been able to get her to do it again. Then again she’s really angry today so I don’t think I will get another out of her anytime soon.
Anyways, she is doing good. Growing soooo fast now. Adrian weighed her on our scale and it said she’s 10lbs!!!!! I am not sure how true that is but I am not surprised she’s almost up to 4oz a day now! She is getting her chubby legs and cheeks. It’s too cute!

Well I am off to catch some zzzz's before she wakes up again screaming. I will write more later when and if I can.


Mia's Hiccups

Wednesday, August 6, 2008

*VIDEO* Mia in Bassinette

Here is the little one being fussy in her bassinette. I think its cute because it shows how her feet kick so much you can see them from the top of her bassinette.

Mia in Bassinette 08-06-08

Monday, August 4, 2008

She sleeps in the bassinette now!


Current mood: shocked

I don't want to jinx this... I am hoping this is a sign of good things to come. Baby Mia is FINALLY adapting to her bassinette. For the past 3 weeks she REFUSED to be put down, especially in her bassinette. Adrian and I had to hold her 24/7. We literally had to take shifts day and night with her, holding her. Sleeping with her in our arms. Don't get me wrong, I LOVE holding my little one but sometimes you just need a break. Especially when there are things to be done, ie. eating, cooking, cleaning, washing clothes and showering!

Since my parent's visit this weekend she has been a new baby! She’s taking to her bassinette VERY well now and doesn't mind sleeping in it. In fact she is in there right now. Adrian is finally get some much needed rest and I get to actually post something.

Also another new thing happened this weekend. On Sat. she actually started her baby talk! She is starting to coo and make noises other than screaming and crying. Its soooo adorable. I just talk to her and she looks up at me with her big brown eyes and just makes the cutest sounds. I can't wait until she becomes more interactive.

Her little belly button finally fell off on Wednesday and she got to have her first real bath! She did very well and I HIGHLY recommend and endorse the Johnson's bedtime bath soap. I am not a big believer in aroma therapy (since it never works with me) but this soap DOES work! After her bath she knocked out for HOURS! and had a awesome night! She wasn't fussy in the least bit! I was shocked! I need to thank Julie again for buying me that soap for her baby shower it’s a life saver!

Well I am off to attempt to catch up on some rest. Mia is doing great. Growing so fast!!

Saturday, August 2, 2008

Mia is 3 weeks today!




Current mood: drained

I cant believe how fast time is flying by!!!! My little one is already 3 weeks old! Feels like yesterday that we were taking her home for the first time. Due to the lack of sleep and 1-2 hr cat naps here and there throughout the day and night I hardly remember what day it is usually.
Overall she is getting somewhat better. We had her doc check up on Tuesday and she gained 3 oz (shes 8 lbs 9oz) and is still under 21 inches. Her doc says she is doing great and we don't have to force her awake every 3 hours to eat anymore. We can let her wake up on her own and let us know shes hungry, and boy does she!

Right now Daddy is walking her around the house as she is hiccuping (which happens ALOT) Since I am still recovering I cant walk her as much as he does which really sucks since sometimes thats the only way to calm her down. She is tolerating the swing and bouncer a bit longer but we still have to hold her alot. We are trying to break that but its hard since she sleeps all we want to do is sleep too and not fight with her in one of her toy contraptions.
She is eating 3 oz now (when we do feed her formula which is 1-2 a day). Breastfeeding is coming along though she does get fussy alot and it turns into a wrestling match!

Well I am off to take over and let daddy get some rest. I will update more when I can!