Friday, October 31, 2008

Sweet 16 weeks & 1st Halloween!


Current mood: amused

BOO! Here I am with my weekly blog, which also happens to be Mia's First Halloween!
The week went very well. Though teething is proving to me a bigger issue every day, once I started using baby orajel on her it has gotten much better. She does make the most funniest yucky faces when I put it on though.. poor baby. I even decided to try a little on my tongue and wouldn’t you know it went numb! haha I have been giving her teething rings to use but she really doesn't care for them much and prefers her hand. When I checked her mouth I could see a tiny red teeth bud bump on her lower left hand canine corner. The other side is also coming in a litte. Sigh... my little girl is growing up so fast!

We took another little trip to Babies R Us this week too, and she was very good. I think she likes getting out. She sang to me on the way there and even smiled a little in the store. However, when we got to the diaper isle I started to hear tiny grunts... uh.oh.... I took her into the "mother" changing room they have there and phew... no poopies! I don't know why she was grunting. I picked up some formula and even a new costume! A chicken! It was on clearance and I had to pick it up! She looked so cute in it.

This also found her feet this week. Ever since she has done that I always find her tiny feet jammies wet in the toe! She likes to try to put them in her mouth. She now really likes laying on her play mat on the living room floor just singing away and playing with her feet. Its really cute!
Her Grandparents Pizano also came to visit this past weekend. That was really fun. I also wrote a blog about the visit so I won't repeat myself here.

Finally... the big event! Halloween! I carved out her and my pumpkin and took some pictures of her with them. Later we decided to take her to the Temecula Mall to trick or treat, mainly because by the time it gets dark around here it is her bedtime and we didn't want Ms. Fuss Fuss to come out while going around the block. Also, this year our neighborhood which is usually really into the holidays and decorating, decided to be grinches. Unfortunately, it has been unseasonably HOT lately especially for Oct. so we couldn't dress her in her adorable little bunny costume Grandpa and Grandma Pizano bought her. So instead, due to practicality really, she went as a bumble bee. The costume is really thin and has no feet or arms so it would keep her cool. I put little black tights on her with little yellow socks and used the little dingle ball head ban I got from the ComicCon many years ago and off to the mall we went. She did excellent considering it was her first time at the Mall AND there was tons of noise, kids running around, and teens being out of control. We had a blast though. Both Adrian and my chests were busting out with pride as we got to show off our little one. Everyone fell in love with her and kept going "awww look at that bee!!!" It was really cool. We took her to a few stores and got some candy. Then we got hungry so we stopped off at the food court. As I was getting my sand which, Adrian stayed behind on the table with the baby. Then I heard a baby scream, I looked and saw little Mia's hands flailing around in her car seat then Adrian picked her up. I went over there and sure enough she had a quick Mia meltdown! Oh no! but as soon as Daddy held her she was ok again. I knew then we were on a time constraint and needed to get her home ASAP! So that was our queue to leave and after a couple of more store on the way out we made it back to the car. I forgot to change her diaper while we were in the mall so we had to pop open the trunk and do a quick change in the back. As soon as I took off her tights, socks, and bee costume she was all smiles! and singing! We loaded her up in the car and all she did was sing half way home. The other half she knocked out. I wanted to take her to at least 1 house to trick or treat but she was so tired and knocked out we decided just to bring her inside. I gave her a quick bath, bottle and off to la-la land she went. Phew what a day!

This week has been great. She was the best she ever has been in a long time, today. I think it’s mostly because she knew if she was Ms. Fuss Fuss she wouldn't get to go out trick or treating haha Anyways, it was definitely a memorable week!

Wednesday, October 29, 2008

A year ago today....


Current mood: shocked

I was playing with little Mia when I noticed what the date was today and realized it was 1 year ago today that I found out I was pregnant! Wow talk about how fast time flies! Geez it seems just like yesterday when I look back.

Adrian and I talked about starting a family soon after we got married we just didn't know it would happen so fast! I remember thinking in Maui, almost mothers intuition, I had a feeling I may be pregnant. It wasn't like any other feeling I experienced before.. it was really strong. I even hesitated to go scuba diving since it isn't too good to do while pregnant. When I told Adrian how I felt he just thought I was being silly since I had just had my period soon before our wedding. I didn't think too much about it till I started getting stomach pains and feeling sick every other day . Hmmm..... I just felt maybe, just maybe I really am pregnant. I really wanted that honeymoon baby!

Well we came home on a Friday and that Monday I went off to work. On my lunch break I bought a 3 pack pregnancy test. I took a test when I got home (though I was supposed to at least test by that Thursday to get a positive if I was pregnant). The test came out negative... sigh.. I was all heartbroken. Ah well... no honeymoon baby I thought. So a couple of days went by and I retested again on that Wednesday just for the heck of it. Sure enough.. negative. I decided to stop taking the tests since it was just making me sad. So a few more days past by. On Monday the 29th I woke up in the morning. It was my 9/80 so I had the day off from work. I was just about to use the restroom then for some reason I remembered about that 3rd test still sitting there. I didn't want to be disappointed again, but at the same time I wanted that test out of the house since it was bumming me out so much. I thought I might as well take it, I mean they say the first thing in the morning usually is the best time to take it anyways.

So I went downstairs and took the test. I laid it on the floor and sat down next to it and waited. I waited... and waited.... and waited.. then I looked.. sure enough there was that one line that said you took the test right and.... what’s this?!!? could it be?!?! was I seeing right?!?! there was a second faded line staring right at me! My heart skipped a beat I grabbed it off the floor saying "No way! No way!" and looked closer... sure enough it was positive! I still couldn't believe it, so I dug out the two previous tests out of the trash just to compare. Those two tests still showed negative and this one sure didn't look like those! I quickly jumped up and told the cat! Then came the dilemma. I always had this fantasy of how I would tell Adrian when I found out I was pregnant but he was asleep and I was soooo excited I just couldn't hold it in! So I ran upstairs and jumped on the bed. He was there sleeping on his back. I gave him a kiss on the cheek and woke him up. He opened his eyes and I said "I love you!" he just grunted.. annoyingly (like he always does when I wake him up) and rolled over to his side away from me. I peeked over and said "My pregnancy test came out positive!" in an instant his eyes popped open, he looked and me and said "Really?!?!?!" I said "Well I don't know, it looks positive, I mean there are two lines but one is really faded" I was talking a mile a second. "Are you ok?!" he asked. "Yes I am just so excited eeeek! let me go show you!" so I jumped off the bed and ran town stairs grabbed the test that was still laying on the floor and ran up. Adrian was getting up by then and I showed him. "What do you think?!" I asked "Well there are two lines for sure! but its really faded.. so I don't know". "That’s it I am going to Wal-Greens for another one, wanna go?!" I asked. He said "ok" and off to Wal-green we went for another test. This time I wanted to be sure, so I bought the most expensive one. It was a digital one so there would be no mistake. We went back home and waited. (I didn't have to pee right away haha). Then it was time to test again and I went to the bathroom while Adrian was in the living room installing our surround sound system we got for our wedding. I took the test and again sat on the floor and waited for the results. This time it showed an hour glass... I waited... and waited and waited.. (seemed like years) then boom!.. PREGNANT! is what it read! YAY!!! I got up and walked over to Adrian and placed the test in front of him while he was reading the instructions for the surround sound system. He looked at it and said "Well that’s it, I'm convinced!!" and hugged me. We were both so excited and overwhelmed at the same time. I couldn't wait to spread the news!!!

That’s how our journey began. Wow a whole year ago today. Now I have my little Angel and I couldn't be happier! Little Mia, my Maui baby!

Monday, October 27, 2008

Another fun visit!


Current mood: tired

Mia had her Grandparents Pizano come to visit this weekend. The weekend was filled with tons of laughs, memories, baby barf and costumes!!!

My Mom and Dad came in late Friday night from Oxnard but the baby was already in bed. They did manage to sneak up to her room to see the little sleeping angel. They also got to see how I fixed up her nursery. Though there are some more final touches I still need to get and do, most of it is done and it looks great. I had Adrian help me move up her changing table from downstairs to her room but once it was up there I wanted it back down. Its hard changing the little one on the couch or floor... I soon missed the table and I no longer care that it is sitting in the middle of the family room! Haha well not in the middle but against the wall. Luckily my Dad surprised me the next day and its back downstairs YAY!

Anyways, Saturday was fun. When Mia woke up for the day, I took her down to the guest room where Grandma and Grandpa were sleeping. With her ice cold hand (yes she takes after Mama with her cold hands and feet) I gently tapped my Mom on her head. She startled and sat up but as soon as she saw Mia she was all excited. She "nudged" my Dad awake and they both started talking and playing with the baby. Mia on the other hand was overwhelmed and just started pouting and staying quiet. However, it didn't take long for her to warm up again and soon enough she was cooing and screaming like her old self again.

I cooked breakfast and lunch while my parents got to spend some quality time with little Mia. Then I wanted to show them what her little bunny costume looked like. She was a little tired so I didn't want to put the whole thing on her so I just put the head. They both got a real kick out of that. I put Mia in my Dad's arms and he started playing with her while my Mom grabbed the camera. Mia didn't care for having the bunny head on so she started to fuss a little. My Dad started really playing and talking to her then... "Bleh!" Mia decided she no longer wanted that 8 oz bottle she ate earlier and out it came . Grandpa with lightening speed quickly unfastened the bunny head and took it off without getting much baby puke on it. I took Mia and cleaned her all up then gave her back to my Dad. As soon as he got distracted for a second by the SD Charger game, "BLEH!!!" Mt. Saint Mia decided to erupt again. This time it was worse and SPLAT it all went all over her dress and my Dad's arm! Ewwwww.... stinky curdled baby milk! I whisked Mia away, changed her and got her all cleaned up. This time I laid her down for awhile.

Later that day, while my parents watched Mia, they let Adrian and I have a little time to ourselves and we went out. I needed to buy some more photo paper and stuff so we went around the new shopping mall near our house. After a few stops, which included Staples, Best Buy, and the Halloween store in Temecula we decided to get dinner at Red Robin by our house. It was fun getting out and hanging out with Adrian but the whole time I missed Mia. I would try to get distracted by other things but I always managed to find something that reminded me of her and I would get sad again, all I could think about was holding her again. Then we went home and unfortunately, Mia just had been put to bed. Adrian and I snuck up to her room and there she was, still awake, just talking and singing to herself. She looked so cute!!! We talked to her a bit then we left her to go to sleep. I was happy to be home again. When we got home, my Mom surprised us with a HUGE pot of fried rice! Even though I was stuffed from Red Robin I just HAD to get a bowl of my Mom's rice. It was soooo good. We all watched TV for a bit then went off to bed.

The next day (Sunday) we hung around the house for most of the day. My Mom and I went off to Kohls to see if there were any new baby dresses in stock but there weren't any cute in her size (9 months!). I did end up buying alittle pink frame for her room that says "Mommy and Me" (I later put a picture of us at the park in it and Grandpa helped me mount it in her room). My Mom bought Mia some new warm Jammies (since she is growing out of all her clothes now) and a big jammie set that has the jammie that turns into a sack. (My favorite since it makes it so easy to change her at night ). We later came home and the baby was asleep in Adrian's arms. I then had my Dad help me with her hand/foot print kit. It’s a huge frame that has a place for her hand print (in clay) on one side and foot print on the other. It also has her photo in the middle. After rushing around trying to get it just right before the clay hardened, we got Mia's impressions done. YAY! I had my Dad help me because, he always does things right and they look nice. If I attempted it, the whole thing would end up in the trash. After getting her feet and hand prints done, I decided it was costume time. My parents had to leave soon so I had to hurry. I put on Mia little Bunny costume they bought her but she was having no part of it. Soon little Mia started melting down. When we finally got her to calm down for some pictures "BLEH!" out came curdled baby milk AGAIN! I tried to catch as much as I could with my hand (EWWW!) so it wouldn't ruin her costume. After cleaning her up, we knew we were messing with a ticking time bomb so we took off her costume. When she was happy again (once the costume was off) I put on her bee costume and took more pics. Then I put a onesie on and put different headbands that had little thingies on them. My parents got a kick out of the whole thing. Then she got tired so we stopped. Unfortunately the visit had to come to an end and my parents soon left. Mia took a short nap on Adrian but as soon as she woke up she was soooo fussy and uncontrollable I gave her a bath (which she pouted the whole time ) and put her to bed. Once she got up in the morning she was all smiles and happy again.

Well that was her little visit this weekend. I thought it was cute so I had to write about it. Grandpa and Grandma can't wait to come back down to see her again!

Friday, October 24, 2008

15 weeks old and still amazing me


Current mood: focused

Week 15 is here. Wow she is closing in on the big 4 month mark!!! YIKES! haha A few first happened this week as well!

This week was pretty good. We have less and less huge fussy days like the beginning however, yesterday was an exception. She decided that she wanted to be Little Ms Fuss Fuss and when it got out of control I finally decided what she needed was an outing. So while Adrian slept, I gathered my courage and decided to take her to Babies R Us with me.. .just the two of us!!!! (This is a first!) It wasn't just a casual trip, we actually needed baby formula and they sell it cheaper than any stores around! Only $23 when it’s usually $27! So I got her all ready to go, and put her in the car. WOW she’s heavy!!!! I didn't realize how heavy that car seat can get! After getting her all situated it was adventure time! She did sooo well. Especially being in the back seat by herself for the first time. I was nervous on the road but since she never made a peek my nerves weren't to bad. Then we made it to the store. I busted out her stroller and off shopping we went. Just Mama and baby. She was sooooo good in the store. Just looked around and held her little ducky in one hand. I bought some stuff for her (a few bibs, formula, new nipples, and a hat). I paid for the stuff and off to home we went. She actually fell as asleep in the car without her Binky!!!! WOW that’s another first. We made it safely home and there was Daddy waiting... "where did you go?!" haha he was happy I was able to take the baby out by myself for the first time. That sure cured her fussiness and the rest of the day was a breeze! I can't wait to take her out more! She was great!

Another big event that happened was she went to her first pumpkin patch trip! Yay my little pumpkin got to pick out her little pumpkin! It went great, she seemed interested in all the new things around her.

She has been laughing alot more now too. I just hold her over my head in the air, gently move her back and forth while slowly bringing her down to my face as I make sounds and she laughs and giggles. Its too cute!

Her Halloween costume her Grandpa and Grandma Pizano bought her came in the mail this week as well. Its a cute little bunny costume! Though it is a little on the big side, I am sure she may be able to wear it on Halloween. If not there is always Easter! haha She didn't care much for it when I put it on, but she was already tired and fussy so that didn’t help much.
Well her Grandparents Pizano are coming for a visit this weekend so I have to cut this a little short. I need to clean the house and wash some clothes. I have been way behind since the little one keeps me on my toes all the time. =)

Friday, October 17, 2008

Wow week number 14! and a few big events happened this week.


First she made another big trip to San Diego on Sunday! Unlike the previous attempt, this visit went VERY well. We went to SD for Adrian's goddaughter (Brianna)'s 3rd birthday. They had it at the park. I was a little uneasy at first taking her out like that but everything worked out. They had reserved a spot with shade and that day was really cool and not to hot. The wind on the other hand was another story. Little Mia's hair was being blown all over the place! Anyways, she got to see Grandma and Grandpa Santos again, which as always, were so thrilled to see her again. They both couldn't get over how big she’s gotten. She also got to see Great Grandma Estrada and her friend Eva again. She was a very good baby, she didn't mind being passed around and never fussed. I have noticed that when she is around people she doesn't really know, she just stares. She doesn't fuss or cry but just looks around. She also never smiles or talks but I am sure that will come in time. She also got to see her cousins Natalia and Brianna and Tia Rebecca again and got to meet her Tio's Ernie and Richard as well. Oh and she met her cousin Claire and little cousin Sophie who is only 4 months older than her. She never cried with anyone except when she met her Grandpa Chalo for the first time... hmmm.. I wonder why?! Anyways she did great. She slept very little in the car both ways but seemed to like looking out the window and staring at me most of the time while holding my finger (cute huh?! ).

Oh, and something else big happened at the park. It was a first, it happened during the only time she cried (because she was tired, towards the end of the party) she didn't want to be with her Daddy. Adrian has always had the magic touch of calming her down and getting her to sleep on him, however, this time for the first time, she just wanted Mama. As soon as I took her she calmed down and fell asleep on my shoulder. That made me feel so good inside.

Lets see what else did she do that was new this week. Well on Monday we checked out the Super Target that just opened up down the road from us. She got new bibs (because she’s a drool monster now ) and a few Halloween treats.

The rest of the week went along smoothly, sort of uneventful until tonight! I was getting her ready for her bath and had her laying on the bed. She just looked too cute so I decided to lay down next to her and talk to her. We had a nice Mama Daughter moment then it happened... she decided she no longer wanted to be on her back and rolled over!!!! YES! she rolled over for the first time! Granted she got stuck and wasn't completely on her tummy due to her arm being stuck awkwardly under her but she did roll over! I was so shocked, I rolled her back on her back and she did it again! I ran downstairs and grabbed the camera and I took some pictures but it was very dim and she didn't want to roll all the way anymore. Ah well. But that was the second big event that happened this week.

Oh wait, I forgot to mention another HUGE event that happened this week. She laughed for the first time!!! I couldn't believe it till I heard it with my own two ears! Though it is still rare to get her to laugh she has done it more than once. I have even heard her make own self laugh. She was talking to herself one day and then made this high pitch noise and she giggled after it. It was too cute! Then she laughed at me today when I was talking to her. They are short little bursts "ah haha" but it is a laugh!

Well she’s going up so fast now. Every time I look at her older pictures I don't even recognize her, she’s changed so much! I can't wait to see what the future weeks hold!

Thursday, October 16, 2008

*VIDEO* Don't Put Me Down!

Finally, evidence that Little Mia isn't always a little Angel.... she hates being put down and she lets you know it! However, when I tried to capture it on video she quickly stopped when she saw the camera!

Don't Put Me Down! 10-16-08

*VIDEO* Mia through the Baby Monitor

Here is a classic example of what I hear through the baby monitor when she wakes up in the morning. (This recording was taken during one of her mid-day naps) No she doesn't cry, she talks to herself

Mia through the Baby Monitor 10-16-08

Wednesday, October 15, 2008

Tuesday, October 14, 2008

*VIDEO* Little Mia Screaming

She was happily singing and cooing till she decided to start screaming. By the time I grabbed the camera the scream turned into a yell and she eventually just got mad. Its still cute though.



Little Mia Screaming 10-14-08

Monday, October 13, 2008

Finally!!!!!!

Current mood: shocked

My little one finally laughed for the first time!!!! I spent months of tickling her every morning trying to get her to laugh but she never would. Then Adrian gets her today and she finally decides to laugh for the first time! I guess all it took was Daddy to get her to laugh! Sigh... she is Daddy's little girl for sure!

Here is how it happened. Adrian took the day off from work to spend time with Mia and to give me a day off. After reluctantly accepting his offer to take care of her all day, I went upstairs to mess with the computer. Then I heard "Angie! Come here! Quick!", I quickly assumed something was wrong. (Since this morning she kept throwing up for some odd reason.. she’s fine now though) I ran down stairs as quickly as I could. There was Adrian sitting on the couch with little Mia in his arms holding her butterfly rattle. I asked him "What’s wrong?!" he said "I think I got her to laugh!" I didn't believe him at first. Then he got the rattle and shook it close to her face and made its little arms squeeze her nose and "Ah hah haha" She laughed!!!! I couldn't believe it! He tried again but then she got fussy and didn't want to play anymore. (in fact she is still crying right now, I can hear her from up here) Anyways, I still can't believe he got her to laugh and it was sooo cute!

Well I just had to post that and share the cute story

UPDATE! I just found out she ate her first 8oz bottle for the first time!!! Little Mia the eating machine!

Saturday, October 11, 2008

My Little Girl is 3 Months!!!!!!


Current mood: cheerful

Yep, thats right! Baby Mia is now 3 months old! Its so amazing how fast she’s growing and how much she’s changing. As I reflect on the past month, I just can't believe my little girl is doing so many new things and growing up so fast.

Well this past month didn't start off to great. She ended up getting her first shots Though she did cry at first (who wouldn't cry after getting stabbed by 3 needles! ) she did very well afterwards. Once Daddy calmed her down, she was a happy little baby again... well not happy, happy, but at least content enough to get her back home without much fuss. Adrian and I watched her like a hawk for the next three days afterwards (doc says if she was to get a reaction it would happen within three days) Nothing happened, no fever, no rash, nothing. YAY! She did get a little fussy a few days afterwards, but that’s normal Mia!

She did start sleeping in her crib for the first time this month. At first I started laying her down for daytime naps in her crib just so she could get used to being in there and the new room. After she took her first short nap in her crib I decided to give her sleeping in there at night a shot. What led me to transitioning her to her crib so fast was due to two major things. One, she was quickly out growing her bassinette. She would wiggle so much in it, that when I would get her in the morning she was always all smashed up and twisted and looked completely uncomfortable. Once she got in an awkward position she became stuck.. poor thing. The other reason I transitioned her was the fact I was getting tired of running up and down the stairs all the time. She slept in the guest room downstairs and I would sleep in my bed upstairs. Whenever she fussed for her binky, needed a diaper change or a bottle, I had to run downstairs to tend to her. That got real tiresome real fast. I would end up sleeping on the couch in the family room most of the time and that isn't very comfortable at all! Well once I transitioned her, she took to the crib very well and easily. She always sleeping alone (due to her being an extremely!! light sleeper) so she didn't have many issues. In fact, she loves her crib. I often times find her talking to herself and looking at all the colorful bedding. Her room is next door to the master bedroom which makes it nice when I need to get up to tend to her.

Another new thing that happened this month is she began liking her little contraptions ie. her swing, bouncer, her singing star (which she was terrified of before) back pack carrier, playpen and jumperoo!! This is HUGE! since before she never liked being put down let alone in one of her toys. This is a huge relief for me since it gives me time to eat and clean when I can. Granted she doesn't stay in them for a long time.. any little time I am given is great for me!
On to tummy time! Well at first she HATED tummy time. She would just cry her little head off and smash her face in the ground, smothering herself. It was awful to watch and deal with. Due to this adverse reaction to tummy time, Adrian and I, decided not to do it and hold off till she was a little older. BIG MISTAKE! because we waited so long she became delayed in her milestone of holding her head up up while on her tummy, pushing herself up, and balancing. When we took her to the doctor for her checkup he strongly advised we do tummy time to help make her neck and shoulder muscles strong. I told him how she hated it but he said she needed to do it! So after that we began giving her tummy time every day. To my amazement she’s getting so good at it now. She no longer fusses and even smiles sometimes. It took some practice but I think she’s got the hang of it now. She holds her head up real high and looks around. She’s even started to lift one hand up to adjust herself. Could crawling be in her near future?!?!
She is smiling so much now. Sometimes all you need to do is smile at her and she’s smiles back. I have even noticed that sometimes when Daddy takes her from me and I go somewhere else, all I need to do is talk to her, and once she hears me she starts smiling. Soooo CUTE! She is cooing a lot more now and even makes this little gruggly noise. I try to capture it on film, but as you know whenever I bust out the cameras she gets camera shy and just gives that blank stare... sigh.. little Mia!!! She also learned how to amplify and change her screams when she’s happy. It almost sounds like she’s singing. She wavers her voice and everything. I call her my little Ariel (my little mermaid princess). We also have a Mama/Daughter game we play now. I give her little kissies and she screams with excitement. I love doing that.

She also discovered her hands this month. At first she would hold little things on her chest with both hands (mostly her favorite little toy.. a little green alien Grandpa Pizano bought her). Then it evolved to her holding her hands together and now she reaches out and sometimes grabs her little toys or your face if its nearby. She loves to hug things, especially that little alien of hers. Its really cute. She’s also learning to grab things, and that means she pulls out her binky a lot. This isn't good since she gets mad when she loses her binky! She’s also starting to suck on her fingers a lot! This kind of helps for the times she loses her binky, she just replaces it with her hands. I think she may have itchy gums. Could teeth also be in the near future for her?! She is a drooling machine now!

She also took new trips this past month. It started off with her Grandparents (Pizano) taking her to the park across the street. She loved being outside in the fresh air and even got to touch grass for the first time. Adrian and I even took her for her first real shopping trips. Her first one was to Kohl's where we bought her new outfits and the other was to WinCo to buy groceries. Both places are less than 5miles away which eased Mama's mind incase she decided to meltdown. Both times she was great! She was quiet and just looked around. At WinCo she even decided to sing at one point! I am so excited about her progress that I can't wait to take her out again!

Another big thing that happened this month was, Adrian and I took our first big trip away from her. We went to Las Vegas for our 1 year wedding anniversary while Grandpa and Grandma Pizano babysat little Mia. We were gone for a little over 24hrs but it was HUGE! I missed my little one so much that I ended up having dreams about her. (mostly the nightmare of her being smothered in the sheets, but that’s a constant nightmare.. I seriously get that one at least once a night) We came back from our trip with tons of new toys and clothes for Mia. While Grandpa and Grandma babysat, she was an angel. Little Ms. Fuss Fuss never came out and she even got a new toy! It’s a little vibrating chair that allows her to sit up real straight and it has toys that hang down. This is awesome to put her in especially now she likes to watch T.V. Yes, I have a little tv bug on my hands! She gets so distracted by TV that sometimes feedings become a problem... she won't pay attention to eating and instead watches TV. Luckily for us, she isn't into cartoons yet (though she does like King of the Hill) we still get to watch what we want to watch. Granted I don't like her watching scary movies since I am afraid she might end up with nightmares!. .. well ok I still watch scary movies (hey its October all the cool ones are on!).. but I still cover her eyes during the gorey scary parts!

She also developed cradle cap this month. I tried all kinds of remedies on her poor little head but it finally went away. I even put baby oil on her head and that was a HUGE mistake. Her cute poofy-ness is FINALLY starting to come back.

As for breastfeeding. I am continuing to do that as much as I can. My goal is to keep it up until she starts eating solids... not sure if I can make it that far but I am trying. It's not so much of me not wanting to do it, its her. She’s eating so much now that I can't really keep up with her. She has very little patience so half the time I attempt to nurse her, it ends up with her screaming her lungs out and refusing to even close her mouth. Its a struggle, but a battle I am not willing to lose just yet. I know its good for her and helps keep her healthy and strong. Plus when it goes well (which unfortunately is rare now) its a nice Mama/Baby bonding moment.

She also graduated a diaper size. She official wears size 2 now! (12lbs-18lbs) My little one is growing so fast!!!!! She has been wearing size 1 since the second week after she was born. She didn't stay in newborn too long.

In Summary:

4-6oz (She is starting to hit 6oz more consistently now)

New things: She got her first shots, sleeps in her crib now, enjoys her swing, bouncer, playpen, backpack carrier, jumperoo and TV, smiles and talks more, sings, found her hands, holds things, loves her alien (her new best friend), developed and got rid of cradle cap, went shopping, played at the park, was babysat overnight, and drooling.

Weight: 13.2 lbs (according to bathroom scale 10-11-08)

Goals met from last month? We finally managed to hit almost every goal set from last month. She is getting used to being in the stroller. Due to the hot weather we haven't been able to walk her outside much so we haven't met the goal of walking her around the park without crying yet. However, we did meet the goal of taking her to a store! She does tummy time now without melting down. She hasn't learned to laugh yet but she does let out a high pitch scream when being tickled. She does take day time naps now (without being held!!) and though not on a solid daytime routine, we are slowly getting there.

Goals for next month: Getting her used to taking long trips in the car, getting her on a more solid daytime routine, walking her in the stroller more outside, and taking her to the mall

Friday, October 10, 2008

Lucky week number 13!


Current mood: amused

It seems like I just wrote her weekly update. If time keeps up this fast pace, I will be all old and shriveled up in no time!

The week included many new things and one big event. The big event was the fact this past weekend Adrian and I went to Las Vegas to celebrate our 1 year wedding anniversary while Grandpa and Grandma Pizano babysat her here at the house. It was the first trip away from her. Granted we were gone less than a day (we left early Sat. morning and came home late Sunday evening) it still felt like an eternity for me. All I did was talk about the baby, look at her pictures and videos on my camera, miss the baby, and even cry over the baby. I called my parents to check up on the baby a good 20 times (and that’s not exaggerating, I am sure it was more). She did great per my parents. She never cried or fussed and they really got to enjoy her. I had fun in Vegas or at least attempted to have fun, but things kept reminding me of her. Anywhere from the Mama Mia show playing there, to babies crying down the hall, to watching a movie in the room and the girl was named Mia! Sigh... there is no escape from motherhood haha Also, there was the fact since I am still breastfeeding I had to pump all the time. Where did we put all that milk you ask? Well I took the mini-portable fridge Adrian bought me for x-mas last year, packed the milk in one of those disposable plastic baggies (made for breast milk storage) got a Tupperware container, packed it in ice and put it in the fridge. It stayed good the whole time (the fridge had a car adapter to keep it on, so the milk never got warm). Joys of motherhood haha Since I don't produce that much and it takes a lot to get a full bottle, I was no way wasting what I had haha Anyways, we ended up buying the baby TONS of souvenirs ranging from a little china doll outfit we got from Chinatown, a M&M onesie with crispy on it from M&M world, another souvenir Onesie from M&M world, a princess crown, a Nevada license plate with her name on it, and a small puzzle with princesses and a castle that also had her name on it. Daddy won her a tiny pink bear that says I love Las Vegas and a blue flower. Can you tell she was always on our minds?! Oh also, I had two of my famous Mia nightmares there too. Its where I wake up, open my eyes, and I swear I see her head smothered in the blankets. I always panic and tear up the sheets trying to get her out but I can't find her. Once I fully wake up I realize what I am doing and just go back to bed. The second time it happened I found myself pulling on Adrian's leg!! I could have sworn it was the baby haha. Overall the trip was nice but I couldn't wait to have Mia back in my arms again.

The rest of the week went pretty smooth. On the 7th (our official anniversary) we took Mia out on her first shopping trip. We went to Kohl's (the new one that just opened down the road from us) to buy her a new dress. We ended up coming home with two new dresses and 1 new jammie that Adrian picked out. She did excellent in the store. Not a single melt down or cry. When we got her back in the car she knocked out and didn't move a muscle. Not even when we took her down. I put her on the changing table to change her diaper and put her jammies on and she woke up all smiley. I showed her, her new clothes and she got all excited when I laid them on top of her. I gave her a bottle and off she went to bed. A couple of days later we took her out again, this time to her first grocery store trip. She did very good there too. She even started singing and smiling. We managed to buy all our stuff without a fuss at all. She fell asleep again on the car ride home (Which is only about 3 mins). She did excellent, I can't wait to take her out again. I love the comments we get from people who see her "Awww look how cute she is!!".

Lets see what else is new this week... well she’s starting to really use both her hands now. She loves to hug her little green alien and her pink dolly. The only thing that isn't so good is she’s learning how to pull her binky out of her mouth. This is really bad when she’s trying to sleep because once she pulls it out she wakes up and starts crying. I need to find some binkys without a handles on them.

She still hasn't learned to laugh yet but she does sing. I call her my little Ariel (the princess from little mermaid) When she "sings" she lets out this high pitch little scream that wavers and gets louder and higher. Almost like Mariah Carey (I'd call her little Mariah but I don't like her much so I won't.. Ariel is better!) Its really cute and I love when she does that. Its cute to wake up to her doing that thru the baby monitor. I'd take that over crying any day!

She’s gurggling and talking a lot more now and drooling like crazy! I constantly have to keep wiping her mouth and putting new bibs on her. I think her teeth might be coming in soon. When I look at her bottom gums, I can see two little ones just about to poke through.

That’s about it. I am sure I will write more tomorrow when she officially hits 3 months! Wow 3 months, I still can't believe it! My little girl is growing up so fast!

Friday, October 3, 2008

My favorite little 12 week old!


Current mood: nervous

Another week zooms by, another week my baby gets older. This week has been pretty exciting. Her Grandparents (Pizano) came down to visit her this weekend and we took her for her first real park visit. The last time Mama took her to the park was many weeks ago and it was just zooming around in her stroller as she melted down half way. This time was different, she actually got out of her stroller and touched grass for the first time. We found a nice little shady spot under a tree and bombarded her with picture as the tree bombarded her Kaiser blankey with ants! It was fun though, and Grandpa was beaming with pride, he was the one pushing the stroller. I can't wait to go again.

A new thing she started doing this week is using both her hands at the same time to hold something on her chest. Whether its my hand, or her favorite stuffed animal (a little bright green alien her Grandpa Pizano got her from Rosewell, NM) She attempts to hold her own bottle now but it is still a little too heavy for her. Once she drinks most of it, she can hold it. It is really cute. As for her little Alien, she loves to hug it and talk to it. She can go on and on just holding it, pulling it away from her, look at it, then munching on its face haha. In fact, I could have sworn the little alien had a mouth at one point!?!

She has been taking TONS of new pictures all week. I have been going nuts! She seems to be getting better with it too, she will smile like crazy at first but after awhile I will just get that blank expression look. It’s still cute though!

Her and I have also come up with a new Mama/Daughter bonding game. I will stare at her, then make my eyes real big as I slowly get closer and closer to her face saying "I am going to give you a Kissy!" over and over, kinda in the same tone as "I am going to get you!" and right before I get to her face she lets out this HUGE scream while smiling and kicks like crazy. Then of course I give her a kissy and start again. It’s a little game that I LOVE and she only does with me. I love those moments with her.

Ok now for the not so fun stuff. I have noticed lately that her scalp has been getting scaly on the top, and has a weird color to it. No matter how hard and good I scrub her little head during her nightly baths, the scales just won't come off! Her head is not flakey, but I don't like her being like that. It was driving me nuts. I thought it could be cradle cap and I finally contacted her doc. Sure enough it was. He suggested I use Head and Shoulders on her twice a week and if it didn't clear it up to bring her in. Head and Shoulders?!?! GASP! That’s an adult heavily medicated shampoo. I didn't want to hurt her delicate skin/scalp or worse have her little newborn hair fall out. Well I decided to use it anyways (doctors orders) but I got the sensitive one. I tried it one night (stressed me out cuz I didn't want to get it in her eyes) and it sort of helped but not really. My mom kept telling me to use baby oil but I didn't want her head to get all greasy (That stuff is penetrating!) However, I talked to my best friend Mona (who also has a baby around Mia's age) and she too had the same problem with her little one, Koa. She said his doc recommended baby oil as well. So I figured there has to be something to it if my Mom (an experienced Mom) and Mona used it. So during her bath tonight I decided to give it a shot. I put some baby oil in her hair worked it in real well, then washed it out. Afterwards, I washed her hair again with her regular baby shampoo and out of the tub she went. Her hair looked normal till I attempted to dry it. However, that stuff made her hair soooo GREASY and clumpy. Poor baby, now its all messed up. It looks aweful! Looks almost like she hasn't bathed in weeks. I can't get it out either. I tried towling it off, brushing it out, and running my hands through it but it just won't budge. Now I am all depressed I ruined her pretty poofy hair. I know it will eventually wash out over time (I hope) but the bad thing is, her grandparents (Pizano) are babysitting her this weekend while Adrian and I go to Las Vegas for our 1 year wedding anniversary. Now they will have to see her in that condition as well as take pictures of her like that. Poor Mia girl... I couldn't even sleep well last night (tonight) due to her hair problem . I know, I know I am just obsessing over something that is not a big deal, but I hate making mistakes like that.. sigh... well I hope at least it will help with her cradle cap. It better!!!

Well thats about it. What a busy week but fun. Well up until I greased up her hair. She (and I mostly) will be having a huge weekend this weekend. It will be the first time I am going to be away from her since she was conceived! But I know it’s good for Adrian and I go get away for a day (yes its only for 1 day, Saturday) and she’s in awesome hands, but still I hate leaving my baby... sigh .. another joy of motherhood. She doesn't have separation anxiety but I do!


**********UPDATE********

Well her hair still looked pretty bad this morning. I know what it is... all the curl is gone and its all straight and weighed down. I miss her poofy curly hair!!! Well I hope it comes back. Anyways, when I got her up for the morning I changed her diaper and started to comb her hair with a fine tooth baby comb. Her hair seems clumped together but its still soft, so I figured by combing it it will separate the hairs a bit and make her hair look fuller. Well when I did this I noticed her cradle cap was MUCH better! and the scales started finally flaking off! So I busted out her baby brush and brushed out all the flakes and more kept coming off. I didn't want to overdo her sensitive little scalp so I didn't take all the scales off but I got about 80% of it off!! YAY!!!! Guess the baby oil did work! I still don't like it and probably won’t use it again till after her grandparent visit.