Saturday, February 28, 2009

Strolling through WinCo....and a rough day/night

Current mood: exhausted

Mia was a big girl today. Since I have been promising her everyday to take her to the park and I haven't been able to, we decided to treat her out by taking her to the grocery store WinCo. What made this trip more special than previous trips there was, she got to finally use her stroller like a big girl. No more car seat for her. She has been really outgrowing that for some time but we just haven't tried using the stroller without it until today.

She did good in the store, however, she didn't look to comfy and when she got tired she couldn't go to sleep like she can in the car seat. She played very little and let out a few little happy screams but that was about it. She did get to have a new view of the store and people which I think was fun for her to an extent since she loves to study new things around her.

The rest of the day after we got home wasn't so jolly. It was another Ms. Fuss Fuss day and boy did she blow up a few times. When we got home from the store I laid her down for a nap since she was yawning so much and looked really tired at the store. This nap only lasted about 30mins then she woke up and boy the wrath of Mia began! I got her up and all she did was Fuss and cry until I put her back in bed. BIG MISTAKE! She threw the biggest longest fit ever! She screamed and cried for almost an hour straight. She took little 5 min cat naps in between which she is notorious for. When she would wake up she was blow up again. Finally Adrian got her down and we managed to entertain her most of the evening until bedtime. It wasn't easy though. That little girl likes to get into EVERYTHING! and she was in one of those moods where you can't even walk away from her without her crying out. So it was alittle tiring but we got through it. Then bedtime hit. I gave her, her bedtime bath and got her all fed and ready for bed. Just as I was about to pick her up to take her to her room, (she was really drowsy) she decided to spits up all over her nice clean new jammies. Sigh.... so off with the dirty jammies on with the new ones. This woke her right up and she was all playful. I then carried her to her bed and as soon as she saw the bed she blew up again! Sigh... she rolled over in my arms and refused to let me lay her on her back. I gave her her blankey, her kiss goodnight and walked out as she screamed at the top of her lungs. About less than 5 mins later she was out. Phew... what a day. Hopefully she will stay asleep tonight, I could use the rest.

************UPDATE 03/01/09**************
Well I knew it was too good to be true. A few hours later Mia woke up and blew up again! This time she was absoultely nuts! She refused to go back to sleep and she just cried her little heart out. I went in her room to see what was the matter. The only thing I could think of was maybe she was overheated. The day had been unsually hot and all of upstairs was warmer than normal. She was wearing her winter warm jammies (she outgrew all her summer/cooler ones) and she was laying on her warm fuzzy blankey. So I calmed her down.. or at least tried to... changed her into a thinner onesie with no pants. And of course changed her wet diaper, took away her warm blankey and replaced it with a thinner cooler one. This seemed to do the trick, after I got her all settled back in her bed (of course she wasn't happy at all) she finally fell asleep less than 5 mins later. YAY! Another couple of hours later, it was bedtime for me. So I went in and checked on her (what I usually do right before I go to bed everynight) Adrian was with me at the time. Anyways, upstairs did get alittle cooler so Adrian touched her legs and they were slightly cool. So I grabbed her fuzzy blankey and lightly placed it on her. Then I smelled something funny... yep it smelled like Mia had something in her diaper other than her bootie buns! I bent down to check again and *BINK* her eyes opened. Oh-no! But she was all smiles and happy to see us. So I checked her diaper and sure enough there was a surprise in there for me. So I changed her, got her all settled again, and she seemed pretty content, that is until I started to walk out of her room. Then she cried out again. Sigh.. however, I think she was really tired because she ended up playing alittle (after she knew I wasn't coming back) and went to sleep. Phew.. what a night. I went to bed and Adrian took over the Mia watch the rest of the night. I just got her up right now and she is all smiles and is playing in her jump-a-roo. At least someone got their rest here haha

Friday, February 27, 2009

Week 33 and as happy as can be!


Current mood: blissful



And now we are at week 33! This week definately zoomed by faster than normal. I am not sure why, we really didn't go out and do anything special but it seriously just feels like yesterday was Monday!


Mia keeps on growing and changing. It almost seems like she changes alittle everyday... and I know she is. She is slowly starting to lose her little baby look and transforming into a toddler. Her features seem to be changing too, and she is really starting to come into her own. Its funny when people see her right away they say she looks like Adrian, then they look again and say no wait.. she looks like you.. no wait... she looks like a blend. Haha To me she looks like Mia. You can see Adrian features in her if you want to look for them, and the same with me but in the end she looks like Mia, my little butterfly princess!


Well this week has definately had its share of challenges. One of the big ones is her mobility. Now that she can crawl she gets into EVERYTHING! and if you aren't right there watching her every move she always ends up finding the DVD collection, pine cone collection, or something on the floor you didn't even notice was there. She is really starting to get the hang of crawling and everyday she gets better and better at it. Now she is starting to pick up some speed so you really have to be on your toes.


With the crawling comes the new found independence. I enjoy knowing she likes to explore her environment and check things out, but she is ALWAYS doing this. So now nap time and bedtime which used to be cake, has become a challenge in itself. She no longer wants to be laid down and once you lay her on her back she rolls right over and watchs you leave the room. Sometimes with a huge smile on her face, as she tries to lure you back to pick her up. Once you leave though she starts playing around in her crib and she wont go to sleep. Eventually she gets tired and cranky and the crying starts! That is something I have to get used to all over again. Letting her cry herself to sleep. Last night was a huge example of that. She just refused to go to sleep and started fussing crying. I was quickly reminded of those ol' newborn days and it wasn't fun. Eventually she calmed herself down and went to sleep. Phew... so I guess crawling doesn't always bring good things.


Her whinyness did pick up some earlier this week but it has gotten better since. It mostly happens when she is tired. I don't think she is getting enough rest and its not anything I can do to help that. Like I mentioned before, nap/bedtime have become challenging to get her to stop playing/exploring and go to sleep.


On a happier note, she did finally graduate to stage 3 diapers! I think she likes them because they do have more room and her bottoms is less irritated and there are less red lines. YAY!


We started introducing desserts to her feeding schedule this week as well. After she has her lunch veggies she is treated to baby banana yogart or hawaiian delight (per my parents that was my favorite as a baby too). She seems to like them. I am finding it harder to get her to eat her carrots (something she used to love) she eats them but it takes FOREVER! but she sure doesn't hesitate to scarf down her desserts. For lunch she now eats a stage 2 veggie with a stage 2 fruit or dessert. Little Mia the eaching machine! I have also started to slowly incorporate water into her diet as well. She gets it during her evening snack time. She gets alittle mixed fruit rice cereal and afterwards she gets half a cup of water through her sippy cup. She is getting better at drinking from that.. though she doesn't prefer water much. I don't blame her.. its kinda blan.


She is also becoming more aware of music. She loves it. She loves to play with toys that make music. She has this one toy where she has to push this ball to make the whole toy sing. When we sit her in front of it she always leans over, pushes the ball to get it to sing, sits back and listens. When the song is over she leans over again, pushes the ball, and turns it on again. Its really cute. We even put on the Yanni DVD we borrowed from her Grandparent's (Santos) and she LOVES it. She just sat there watching the concert and listening to the music. Eventually she even fell asleep on Adrian on the couch which was a HUGE deal.She has refused to sleep on anyone sometime ago and it has literally been months since she has done that. It was a big treat for Daddy for sure.


I have also started practicing standing with her. Her grandparent's (Pizano) bought her this toy where its meant for crawlers and standers. (Its the same toy with the ball I mentioned earlier) So I have her grab on to the top and play with the toys up top while I lightly hold her body up. I am showing her how to bare weight on her legs and feet and she seems to get the hang of it. She now likes it when you hold her and stand her up. Before, we would have trouble showing her how to stand because everytime she was in the standing position she wanted to jump and bounce around. I attribute this to her use of the jump-a-roo which has her standing but you bounce in it. However, now she is finally starting to learn to stand there without jumping. We even ordered her a walker so we can start using that around the dinning room/kitchen area. Speaking of which.. that thing still hasn't come in the mail yet..grrr... I have to check on that.


Well that pretty much is how the week went. Today I was going to take her to the park across the street but the darn clouds won't go away. I might have to postpone that little trip... but I am sure we can find something else that is fun to do today. With Mia fun is always something easy to come by.


Monday, February 23, 2009

Mia's Graduation!

Current mood: happy


I had to just note that today Mia has officially graduated to stage 3 diapers!!!! They look so big on her but the stage 2 were definately getting to small. They would leave little red lines everywhere. She seems to like them... Go go Mia!

Sunday, February 22, 2009

The Wrath of Mia!


Current mood: confused



First of all I just want to say........ WHERE DID MY SWEET BABY GO?!?! I have no idea why, but these past few days Mia has been such a handful and not in the happy Mia type either!


Shes not really teething or sick so I don't know whats up. She is becoming more hard headed everyday and not to mention whiny! (I think she got that from me). She is constantly whinning "Mama" and there is nothing I can do that makes her happy longer than a 2mins! She refuses to be held anymore, (which I attribute to her new found crawling ability) and she always wants to be put down. If you hold her, she constantly wiggles like crazy and practically tries to jump out of your arms. This doesn't stop when you are carrying her either! Out of no where in a split second she will decide she doesn't want to be held like that and she spins a whole 180 so she is facing outwards. This is kind scary if you aren't ready for it. When I feed her food in her high chair she wants to spit it back at me and move all around. She even learned how to throw herself back in her chair, which scares me because she rocks so hard I am afriad she will tip the chair over! Speaking of throwing herself back... thats another new thing she just started. She throws herself back now when shes mad and boy does it hurt when she does it and she bashes her head against your face or mouth. OUCH!


She has also started throwing what I think are "Mia Tantrums". Sheesh I thought this stuff started when babies are 2 but I think Mia is testing it out. She now throws herself back, and while laying on her back she will just blow up in this loud scream/cry and starts kicking like crazy. I just watch her, showing her I am not impressed, and when she doesn't get a reaction she usually calms down and starts to play quietly.


As for her naps... yikes that another thing. She used to go down without a fuss for her naps. When she would get tired, I would take her to her room and lay her down. She would grab her blankey and go to sleep. NOT ANYMORE! Now I lay her down, she quickly rolls to her tummy and starts crawling all over the crib. If I attempt to flip her back she throws a huge fit! I now have to just give her, her blankey and walk out of the room. Sometimes she will play or cry a bit but eventually she will find a good spot to lay down in her crib and go to sleep. Sigh...


Oh boy! What next?! Hehe I guess she is just in a new phase of testing us.. wow I really didn't think it would happen so soon, hopefully shes just having a bad week! haha


Friday, February 20, 2009

Week 32 and so much to do!


Current mood: content



Mia is sure on the go, even as I write (while sitting here on the living room floor) Mia is crawling all over the place. She plays with one toy then crawls to another and plays with that one. I can't even turn away because as soon as I do it seems she gets right into something that she shouldn't. Thank goodness for the baby octagon! At least that keeps her in one place =)


Well this week went by like a flash but it was filled with cute things and surprises!


It started off with a trip to San Diego to visit her Grandparents and go to the 60th birthday party of her Great Uncle Carlos. It was tons of fun visiting family again and everyone got to see her. Of course everyone was surprised on how big she has gotten and all the new things she does, including crawling! She was such a good baby on the trip there and back and the visits themselves.


Valentines day was also this week! And she got spoiled as usual from Mama and Daddy. Mama got her a cute little Winnie the Pooh valentines bib and Daddy bought her a cuddly little fuzzy bear.


A couple of new things happened this week. One is Mia's little "War Cry". She LOVES when you lightly pat her mouth and she makes noises while you do it. Its the cutest little thing. Daddy calls it her little "indian thing" and I call it her "war cry" haha. She even started trying to do it to herself, granted she still doesn't quite get it yet. She just gets her tiny fist and hits her mouth while screaming. I have been trying to get that on video but she does it so random its hard to catch it. She only does it when SHE wants to do it. Thats my Mia girl!


The other new thing she does, is.. well it is kind of hard to describe but I will try. When she is crawling on the ground she pushes up with her hands, and gets on her tippy toes and her butt is straight in the air. Almost like shes doing a bridge of some sort. She loves doing this too for some reason, maybe she is trying to stand?! haha Either way its cute and again I am trying to catch her doing it with the camera but I can't seem to be that fast! Haha


Another cute thing she started doing was calling for me. I am not sure if she knows she is calling me but it works. Her first word was "Mama" however she stopped doing it for almost a month now. Then out of no where she just picked it up again but only when shes upset! haha When she is unhappy or mad she calls out "Mama!" and of course I go to go her. She even does it with Adrian! and wont stop until I get her. Its really cute to be called out but its only when shes unhappy so its kind of sad haha. I don't mind though, hearing her little voice saying that word melts me everytime. Maybe she knows she will get spoiled when she does it! =)


Unfortunately the week wasn't totally filled with happiness... something did happen that wasn't to fun for her and I wrote about it in my previous blog. She fell off the bed for the first time.. and hopefully last time. I still feel bad about it. She landed on all fours and didn't hit her head or twist anything thank GOD! She is doing good she isn't hurt so thats good!


Overall the week has been good. She is getting bigger everyday it seems like. She is growing up so fast. I can't wait to see what the upcoming week will bring!


Thursday, February 19, 2009

It happens..... I guess.....

Current mood: crushed


Well this is not a very happy fun blog, infact I wish I didn't have to write it. But I want to document little Mia's lifestory as she grows into her first year, and with that I guess I have to write about the not so fun stuff that goes on.

If you ever saw me with Mia or heard, I am such an over protective mother. I always make sure shes ok, I go to her the second I think something is wrong, I am constantly doeting over her, and always making sure shes safe and secure. Well tonight something happened that I am not to proud about...

Every night I give her a bath and get her ready for bed. Ever since she learned to turn over I have taken extra precaution about her being on our bed. Especially since it is alittle elevated than most beds. When she learned how to crawl I have become even more precautious, and if I need to turn around for a second for anything I make sure shes in the middle of the bed, with pillows and blankets on either side of her so she won't be tempted to roll over. I even give her, her little stuffed animal piggy to distract her. Things have always gone well until tonight...

Tonight things went as usual, I gave her, her bath and got her ready for bed. Adrian was out in the tech. center just outside our bedroom and we were talking. I just put her little jammies on (which she hates) and she was throwing her usual fit. She was crying pretty loud when I got her all zipped up. Then Adrian asked me a question, I couldn't hear over all the crying so I turned to face him, I still couldn't hear him so I walked closer to the bedroom door (less than 2 feet from Mia) I answered his question and just then I heard a loud "THUMP!!" OMG! I thought it was the cat that jumped off the bed but realized the cat wasn't on the bed and it was MIA! I spun around and found her on her hands and knees on the floor. She had rolled off the bed and landed on her hands and knees and she began to scream at the top of her lungs. I ran over and picked her up, consoling her and walked her back and forth in her room talking to her calming and consoling her. I felt horrible! Adrian later came in and helped calm her down. After checking her out she was fine. THANK GOD! The way she landed was the best way possible, because she didn't bang her head and she didn't land on a limb. I checked her tiny wrists for any signs of a sprane.. and nothing she was fine. She soon was playing and cooing like her usual self. As for me, after I found out she was ok I was a wreck. Adrian helped calm me down and reassured me that these type of things happen and that it just shows the both of us how careful we need to be and watchful.

She is doing good, she drank her bedtime bottle and went off to sleep with no problems. As for me I still feel horrible. It should never have happened. I always make sure shes safe and ok and the one time I let my guard down this happens. I feel aweful. Well now I know to always be on my toes no matter what and always be careful. If you read this someday Mia, know your Mama really didn't mean to and she apologizes so much. It has taught me a very valuable lesson... never EVER take your eyes off your little one!

Monday, February 16, 2009

Mia's War Cry!

Current mood: amused

Mia has started a new thing... its really cute too. It all started when Adrian would use his hand to cover and uncover her mouth (repeatedly) when she would cry. The noise she would make would make her stop crying and she would get a kick out of it.

It then evolved into a game between the two of them. She doesn't need to be crying anymore. He just puts his hand over her mouth and does it and she automatically starts making the noises. (A type of long drawn out yell). The only way I can decribe it is like if they were playing cowboys and indians and she was the indian haha.

Anyways, today something new has happened. She now reaches out for his hand to make him do it AND she even tries to do it to herself now! She makes a tiny fist and lightly hits her mouth as she makes the noises. Its really cute! I really need to try to capture it on video.

Mia's First Valentines Day!


Current mood: adored



Mia got to celebrate her first Valentines day yesterday! We didn't do to much because it was so cold out and plus we went out the day before, however, Daddy made sure she got something special for both of his little valentines. He bought her a little fuzzy teddy bear that says "Kiss Me" (since she loves to give kissies now) and I also got alittle teddy bear that says "Be Mine". She loved her little "bear bear" Its so soft and cuddly. She sleeps with it at night. He also got us a big box of chocolates which we are almost done eating! haha


I bought her a little red bib that read, "Baby's First Valentines day.. Be Mine" with a Pooh bear on it, so she wore that all day. I got to take some cute picutres of her too! It was a fun day!


After the little one went to bed, Daddy and I got to spend some quality time together and actually got to squeeze in a movie to watch as we cuddled on the couch. Awww... how I miss doing that.


Overall, Valentines Day was great! We all had a loving time... =)


Sunday, February 15, 2009

Fun time in San Diego with the Cardoso Family!


Current mood: drained


What a busy busy day! Today was Adrian's Tio Carlos' surprise 60th bday party in San Diego so it was off to San Diego we went. Of course before we went to the party we stopped by Grandma and Grandpa Santos' house for a visit.


Grandma hasn't seen her since Christmas and Grandpa not since about a month before that so it was pretty special for them to see her today! They were both so shocked on how big she has gotten and had a very good time playing with her and bonding with her. Grandpa Santos played the guitar for her and, Mia the Music lover, loved it. She even got to play alittle with the gutiar herself! He also showed her this little drum he got from Durango Mexico and she fell in love with it. She is good at hitting things so beating a drum came natural haha. She loved it so much that he decided to give it to her as a present! She loves that little drum. Grandpa Santos also loves all kinds of music and even showed her some Yanni! She was mesmorized and totally glued to the TV when he put it on. She loved that music so we are going to make a copy for her own collection. Its really soothing and really neat, tons of intruments and sounds. She also got to show off her new crawling skill and Grandma and Grandpa were very impressed.


Grandma also spoiled her too with TONS of new clothes. She went on a shopping spree for Mia so now shes hooked up with all new things to wear YAY! Not to mention she got more hand-me-downs from Tia Rebeca which was also nice. She is hooked up with dresses once she gets big enough to wear them... at her pace that won't be to long down the road haha


Another big treat was the kitties! Simba and Tigger. They are the cutest most lovable cats I have ever met. They even let Mia pet them and she wasn't the nicest to them, she pulled poor Tiggers head a few times, but she got a kick out of both of them. Both are young semi-kittens so they were really playful too.


Overall the visit with her Grandparents was tons of fun. Its always nice to visit them. She even got a new blankey to keep warm since it was so cold out... its a big warm Pooh blankey! Its perfect to fit around her carseat when we carry her in and out of the house in the cold. Oh and she also got a fuzzy little frog and cow toy which she loves.


After the visit we went to the party. Everyone got to see her again and she was the star as always. She got to show off her new crawling and had a blast playing on the floor with her new toy fuzzy froggy. She got to meet her big cousin Baby Daniel (4 months older than her) and to our surprise he was already walking around the house! Hes getting so big now, I remember when he was a baby newborn! The party was fun and soon she got tired and after putting on her jammies and getting her all warm and cozy it was time to go home. Once I put the little blankey on her carseat she was out cold! She slept the whole ride home and after having her dinner bottle after we got home, she went down for the night.


What a visit, it was loads of fun and I will load some pics as soon as I can. As for now Im beat and need to rest!

Friday, February 13, 2009

I am never forgetting her pink fuzzy blankey again!


Current mood: drained


I have learned a valuable Mama lesson today, when we go out to eat or shop NEVER forget Mia's fuzzy pink lady bug blankey again! or at least have another fuzzy back up blankey.


Today, Adrian and I and the baby went to celebrate Valentines Day early. We treated ourselves to the RoadHouse restaurant, one of our favorite places to eat. It is a bit aways in Temecula but since it was a special day for us we decided to try it with the baby for the first time.


A couple of days ago, Mia over ate and spit up on her little pink lady bug blankey she takes everywhere. I haven't had the chance to do her laundry so I wasn't clean for our trip. So instead I brought her other white blankey. This one isn't as fuzzy as her pink one but I figured it was still soft and should do the trick... WRONG!


(Oh I should add....In order for Mia to go to sleep she needs a soft fuzzy blankey to lightly dab on her face as she sucks her fingers to soothe herself to sleep. She only has two, the pink lady bug one and a green Winnie the Pooh one she sleeps with at night.)


Anyways, so things started off good. We got to the restaurant and it was a bit rainy outside. It was pretty empty inside so we got a good seat. Things went well for about 15mins then she got bored and tired. She wanted to go to sleep but she couldn't relax. Now I know why! she didn't have her blankey. She couldn't hold the white blankey the same way so she couldn't dab her face, so that spelled disaster for us! She began to get fussy and started throwing toys on the floor so we couldn't use them anymore. Towards the end we had to try to entertain her with the ketchup and mustard bottles! Adrian couldn't even put mustard on his hamburger because once he tried to take it away from her she started to cry. So our dinner was cut alittle short and we didn't get to really dilly dally. Since we planned on leaving a bit later so we could let the traffic die down we had to make another pit stop to kill some time.


So we went to Circut City to see what kind of going out of business sales they had. It was near the restaurant so that was good. We forgot little Mia's stroller at home so we ended up putting her whole carseat thingy in the basket and pushed her around. Eventually she fell asleep..phew.. so we got some shopping done. As we bought our stuff at the cashiers she woke up but was in a good mood. We then packed her back into the car, trying to keep her dry since it was still raining outside and we made it back home.


So here we are, shes jumping in her jump-a-roo and I am trying to get this blog out as fast as I can so I get her bath stuff set up. Phew what an adventure.. it didn't go as smoothly as planned but I have learned a very big lesson... never leave the house without a fuzzy blankey again!

Week 31 and still having fun!


Current mood: accomplished


Happy Friday! Yep, yep, yep Mia is 31 weeks today! This week was very busy but lots of fun.


It started off with the trip to Oxnard for her baby cousin April's 2nd bday. I wrote about this a couple of times already so I won't repeat myself to much. Overall it was a great trip and we all had tons of fun. I can't wait to go up there again. She did awesome in the car and didn't even fuss once which gives me more confidence that she might do well with future trips as well.


A bad thing that happened this week which later turned to good is my Kodak camera broke. =( I was devistated because I didn't think I would be able to get it fixed or replaced and I would be missing out on all the cute pictures I could be taking of Mia. However, it was Daddy to the resuce. Adrian and I went to Bestbuy to check out their cameras and he ended up buying me the one I really wanted! YAY! So Mia and I are back in business of her posing and me being the Mama-poparazzi!


Two HUGE things happened this week as well. One of them being she turned 7months old! WOW! and on her month "birthday" she decided she would officially finally start using her knees to crawl forward!!!! She has been getting around "Crawling" for awhile now, but mostly by dragging herself with her arms and rarely using her back legs and mainly turning in circles and going backwards. Then she started trying to learn to use her knees, but she was alittle off on the timing of her arms and legs. Then it happened! On her 7th month b-day she finally got the hang of it! Granted she doesn't tuck in her knees all the way up her tummy but she now goes forward and uses her legs to kick out. The only way I can describe it is, its like a army man crawling under barbed wire. Hey it works! So now shes all over the place. Thank goodness her Auntie Lauren and Uncle Jimmy lent us April's "baby jail" (a fenced in play area) because now she is using it all the time. It lets me be able to walk away for a second to fix her meals or use the restroom without being scared she is getting into something she shouldn't be. I used to use her blue toy chair but ever since she learned to sit up straight shes constantly trying to get out of it and I am afriad she will fall over in the chair!


Despite what I said earlier about not feeding her, the graduate rice puffs until she got older, Daddy decided he wanted to try it again. (I don't know why he keeps wanting her to eat those little things) but yesterday she finally got the hang of eating them! She no longer gags on them and has even attempted to feed herself one at a time! She licks them until they get soggy then pops them in her mouth! After the little snacks she drank from her sippy cup again. What a big girl!


Ack she is getting fussy now, its nap time. Be right back I need to go lay her down....


Ok back. Lets see what else, she has started "playing" with her bottles now too. Once she gets pretty full and she still has some formula in her bottle she takes it out of her mouth, looks at it, spins it around and talks to it then drinks from it again. Mostly she does her classic little "mer-baby" thing (mer-baby is our term for this gurggly/purring noise she makes when she holds her saliva or milk in her mouth) Its really cute to see her playing and talking to her bottle but boy its messy too and milk gets all over the place! haha


Another thing she has started doing this week is not waking up for a early morning meal (5am). Well she does wake up but she just plays alittle in her crib until she falls asleep again, but she doesn't cry for food anymore. However with this also started her poopy in the morning. I don't know when she does it, I assume sometime before I get her because her bootie isn't irritated or red, but every morning now when I get her I am greeted with that surprise! Haha


Well thats about it for the week. Today Adrian and I are celebrating Valentines day early and we are going out to eat with the baby. I am sure I will have new stories to write about after that since it will be her second time in a sit-down restaurant!


Wednesday, February 11, 2009

Shes 7 Months Old Today!!!


Current mood: blissful

Thats right, Mia is now lucky number 7 months today! Hopefully this month will be filled with lucky things. This past month wasn't to shabby, infact she started racking up milestones left and right! My little girl is really growing up!


A big thing she started doing this past month was eating baby food. We started her off slowly, only feeding her stage 1 veggies. Carrots and sweet potatos were her favorite. She didn't care for peas much and hated string beans! Oh and she also likes squash. Soon after she got the hang of stage 1 she graduated to stage 2! and recently we noticed that, that is still not enough since she now eats a stage 1 fruit (usually pears since she didn't like applesauce or bananas) afterwards with a 4oz bottle of formula. So we might just be bumping her up to stage 3 soon. She also started eating rice cereal, though she prefered only the banana flavored kind. After that was gone, I couldn't find banana flavored rice cereal anymore and decided to try her on banana flavored oatmeal. She LOVES it! Its her offical favorite food since she loves it even more than her veggies now! Its too cute watching her attack the spoon when I feed her oatmeal. She even eats up to 8oz of it! I tasted it myself and I actually like it too. She also graduated to med. flow nipples... the slow flow were just not cutting it anymore. Oh and she ate her first real solids too, Graduates rice puffs. She didn't like them much though, once you put it her in her mouth she was shocked and didn't know what to do with it. She would eat them, but she had a hard time. I decided to hold off on those for a bit longer... till at least she gets some teeth! haha Anyways, her daily eating menu is...


8oz of banana oatmeal, and a 4-5oz bottle of formula for breakfast, stage 2 veggie and stage 1 fruit with 4oz of formula for lunch, stage 2 veggie for mid-evening snack, and a 8oz bottle of formula for dinner.


(I learned the hard way not to give her banana rice cereal before bed, last time I did that it perked her up so much she didn't go to bed until she burned it off playing.... two hours later!)


Anyways, phew what an eater she is, but she still hasn't packed on the baby weight yet. She went to her 6 month check up at her docs and he said shes healthy and not to worry. Granted shes above average in her height (95%) it makes her just a tad bit under the average for her weight but he doesn't seem to be concerned. She did get her shots but took them like the champ she is. She never got a adverse reaction and other than being slighty moody that day she was fine. She doesn't need to go back to the doctor for another 6 months YAY!


I have officially stopped breastfeeding. Though I really wanted to contiune, Mia didn't want to. It became to much of a battle to get her to eat and she drank less and less. So soon after she hit 6 months, I stopped. I still feel sad in a way but I will move on, I am excited that she is eating baby food now and that helps me get over the breastfeeding disappointment.


Her constipation is FINALLY under control YAY! She hasn't had problems with that in a long time now. It started clearing up once she started eating more veggies and definately after we introduced the oatmeal. Now shes a pooping machine! I don't mind all those rank diapers though, as long as my little one is happy and is not in any pain, I'd change 100000 of them. The only bad thing is, she now has developed the habbit of pooping during her sleep at night. I am not sure when it happens, but when I greet her in the morning she has a surprise for me waiting in her diaper! EW!


Another milestone is she used a sippy cup for the first time! Now when you give her a sippy cup you don't even need to show her what to do, she knows. She puts it in her mouth and drinks. Granted we aren't planning on retiring her bottle yet.. (at least not till she is at least a year old) we do give her a sippy cup now and then just to get her used to it so when we covert completely to it, it won't be so foregin to her.


Another milestone is she said her first word. "Mama" I was so proud of her and it surprised everyone. However, Mia is classic for learning something new, then moving on and she stops doing it. So she really doesn't say Mama as much anymore. She then started to say Wow-wow and Da-da then that stopped too! haha She will say it every now and then.


She also learned to shake her head "no" on command. It was too cute, then again.. it stopped and she won't do it anymore. Now she shakes her head "yes" on command! haha silly Mia. Its cute to see her bob her head though, and when music turns on either by the TV or her toys she "dances" to it by bobbing her head or rocking back and forth. I call it her little Mia dance!


Yet another milestone, is she can stay sitting up now! Once you place her on the ground she just sits there unassisted and can play for a long time. She can lean over and reach a toy then sit back up and play with it. She was slowly learning how to balance but as soon as she got the hang of it she learned to sit straight up quickly. Now she ALWAYS wants to sit up. She never likes being reclined anymore and because of that I had to retire her favorite blue toy chair. She would force herself to sit up by grabbing on to the over head bars then she would lean so much that she would almost topple over in it. She also started using the toddler side of her bathtub for her baths. It forces you to sit up instead of leaning back. She likes it better and she splashes like crazy and plays with all her little floating sea creatures. She even leans over in the bath and grabs a floating toy all by herself, and sits back up. She is really getting good at it.


Another thing she is getting good at is crawling. Infact I today she actually started moving forward using her hands AND legs the correct way!!! I was shocked! she still wont tuck her knees all the way under her tummy, but she does move them now in the right motion. Now she gets around everywhere! Thank goodness Auntie Lauren and Uncle Jimmy leant us Baby April's play yard aka "baby jail" so I can keep Mia in one area without worrying about her getting into the firewood, fireplace, DVDs, or TV cables. I just set it up today and I think she likes it! YAY!


She is a huge wiggle worm in bed now. I constantly check on her at night and always find her in a completely different position than before. She even started sleeping on her side now while she cuddles her blankey. Its really cute. She crawls all over her crib now and the only time she cries is when she gets stuck! haha She has really gotten the ability to turn on her tummy and back to her back by herself down pad. This is such a relief because before we were constantly flipping her back over. This wasn't much fun especially in the middle of the night.


Another new thing she does now, is she gives kissies on command! Adrian has been teaching her how to give kissies for a long while now but now she actually does it when you ask her too. She even gives kisses to her little butterly dolly! Sometimes you don't even need to ask her, she will automatically do it if she feels like it. Usually this happens when I get her up in the morning. Being kissed by her is the cutest thing in the world, granted it alittle messy with all that baby drool, I wouldn't trade it for anything in the world. It melts my heart every time.


This month also had a couple of new things happen. We celebrated her first Superbowl (which her team, the Steelers won!) and she got to witness her first presidential ignauration! To her, the superbowl was more fun haha.


Due to our financial situation we can't go out to eat as much as we used to, but we did manage to her, her out to her first real sit down resturant. We took her to Red Robin near the house, and she did awesome. It was noisey and really busy but that didn't stop her from bursting out into song or a scream now and then. It was really cute. She got a red balloon to play with and she went nuts with it.


She was getting seperation anxiety there for a but. If she saw you walk away she would burst out crying until you got back. Lately though, this seemed to have stopped... not sure what brought it on or took it away, but as for now she seems to do fine on her own, especially now that she can get around on her own better.


Her Grandparent's Pizano came down to visit one weekend too. They had not been down since late Oct. and were dying to visit again. They spent alot of quality time with Mia. She started sitting up really well during that visit and it was cool for them to see her do something for the first time while they were there. Speaking of family, we also took another trip to Oxnard. It was her baby cousin April's 2nd birthday so we went down for her big bash! Mia did awesome in the car and didn't fuss once. We never even had to pull over for her either way! On the way home she even slept 95% of the way and only woke up after we were only 10mins from the house! The party went great too! She got to play with her cousins again and meet some Pizano family members she has never met before. Including baby cousin Gia who is alittle over 2 weeks younger than Mia. They did well together until Mia got excited and decided to kick poor Gia and made her cry. Overall the visit to Oxnard was a blast. She really got to spend some quality time with her Auntie Lauren and Uncle Jimmy too which are always happy to see her.


She is getting so big too! She is now wearing 12-18 month clothes. The 12 fit her just right and the 18 give her alittle room. At night she wears 18 month jammies! Slow down Mia stop growing so fast! You still have to use your Xmas gift clothes alittle longer!


Summary:


Feedings: She is up to 8oz every feeding she doesn't eat something else with it. She is no longer breastfeeding. She is up to 2 stage 2 veggies a day, 1-2 stage 1 fruits, 8oz of oatmeal, and usually drinks 4-6oz of formula after each meal.


New Things: Eating baby foods, drinking from a sippy cup, eating her first solid, being able to stay sitting up when placed on the floor, using toddler side of the tub, her first words, "Mia dance", gives kisses on command, shakes her head yes and no on command, met Pizano relatives for the first time, sleeps on her side consistantly, can roll on her back to tummy by herself now consistantly, first Superbowl, first pres. ignauration, first balloon, eat oatmeal, and graduated to med. flow bottleWeight: about 16 lbs per bathroom scale


Goals met from last month? We have met EVERY goal we set from last month!! YAY! She does eat lots of baby food now, she can roll back to her back consistantly, she did eat at more resturants, she sits up longer and her constipation is better


Goals for next month: Have her crawl with her knees tucked under her, have her sit up on her own (she tries but can get it quite yet), learn to pull herself up on things, use sippy cup more, have her practice standing more (something she doesn't really care to do, she rather jump when you hold her up)

Sunday, February 8, 2009

Phew what a weekend....


Current mood: exhausted


Its only 9:30pm and I am BEAT! Wow what a whirlwind weekend, but it was LOADS of fun! It was Mia's baby cousin April's 2nd birthday and all three of us went down to Oxnard to be there for her special day!


We left early on Saturday morning, and early being 10am! This is so extreemly rare mainly for the fact Adrian is never up before 1pm! We didn't want to be late for April's bday party so he took the day before off from work just so he would have enough rest to make the trip extra early. So after getting Mia all dressed, packed, and ready we zoomed out the door. I wasn't sure how she would be in the car on that long distance trip (about 2.5-3hrs) that early in the morning but she did great! We never had to pull off once for her, but we did a couple of times for Mama and Daddy to use the restroom and stuff haha. She slept a good portion of the way and when she wasn't sleeping she was happily singing or playing. She never cried or fussed once. We drove into Oxnard on good time. It had been storming for a few days now but the rain let up the whole trip which was also good. Everything was going great till it happened... the famous Mia tomato face happened. We were about 5miles from my brother's house when Mia decided, right then.. she wanted to go poopies! Oh No! what to do?! We were too far from where my parents (who also live in Oxnard) house to make a side stop and we still had a good 10 min. drive before we got to my brother's house. So we decided to just see how Mia would do and if she could stand her poopie diaper long enough to try to make it to my bro's house. She is notorious for screaming and crying when she poops and NEVER wants to sit in it. (This is good to prevent diaper rash, but bad when she needs to wait just a bit longer so we can find a good place to change her) She has been this way since she was a newborn. But she was good and let us make the rest of the trip... phew...


Once we got there we were greeted eagerly by the birthday girl April who looked soooo darling in her little pink polka dot birthday dress, her two big sisters cousins Tracy and Sarah, and her Auntie Lauren and Uncle Jimmy. After some quick hello's to everyone there including Grandpa and Grandma Pizano, Great-Grandpa Pizano, friend Julie and her daughter Avaree and a few other family friends we rushed her off to her cousin April's room and changed that poopie diaper ASAP! She fussed alittle during that time because she was sitting in that dirty diaper a big longer than she wanted and she was brought into a new place with tons of people at once. However, once the fresh diaper was on she perked right up and it was party time!


The whole party was a blast. She warmed up to everyone right away and quicker than I expected. She also got to meet some of the Pizano family members for the first time, like her Great-Aunt Annie, Cousin Tiffany whos 7 months pregnant with Mia's next baby cousin Delilah, and Cousin Gina who brought her daughter Gianna (who is alittle over 2 weeks younger than Mia). This was a huge treat! The two baby cousins finally got to meet. It was so cute watching them check each other out and interact. Everything went well between them till it happened... it was the "kick heard around the world!".....


This was too cute and funny. Great-Grandpa was leaving and Gina was holding baby Gia and Tiffany was holding Mia. I finally found my misplaced camera so I was eager to get a picture of both baby cousins together. So Gina and Tiffany, while each holding one baby, stood closer together for the picture. Then Mia decided that she wanted to practice her famous Karate kicks and poor Gia was the target. As I was taking pictures Mia kicked Gia really hard on the side and she started crying really bad. Then Mia attacked her! She started grabbing at her clothes and kicking more as Tiffany (the one holding Mia) tried to carry her away. Gina was trying to comfort the poor crying Gia and I ran over to Mia and gentally gave her, her first scolding! "You don't kick your baby Cousin! no no no!" haha Gia was fine after she calmed down but I am serious when I said, it was the kick heard around the world because word spread quickly around the party that "Mia beat up Gia" My dad even called me today telling me that my Aunt (Gia's grandma) who wasn't able to make the party even told my dad "I heard Mia beat up Gia at the party" haha Poor Mia not even 7 months and shes already getting the rep of the bully haha I have a picture of the after math and it is funny I will have to post it. I will have to get Mia to send an apology card to baby Gia haha.


Anyways things went great for the party. Baby April got TONS of toys and had the biggest cake I have ever seen for a birthday party and it was sooo good! Strawberries and cream yum yum! I still can't get over that she just turned 2! It seems like just yesterday I was at the hospital the day she was born! Wow how time flies, now she runs around and talks up a storm. It just makes me realize more how precious time is with your little one and how we need to cherish every day with them.. before I know it, Mia will be running around and talking up a storm! ACK!!!!! haha Anyways, we stayed for a while, long after most of the guest left and got to catch up with everyone. Mia did great she only cried a couple of times and that was because she went poopies again... yes again.. I felt bad she kept going and stinking up poor cousin April's room with her bommers. I think something didn't agree with her, because she usually never poops that much in one day. Of course it had to happen while we weren't home! Anyways, we later went to my parents house for the night and after getting Mia down for the night Adrian and I squeezed into my old twin bed in my old room. That was just comical, we were like sardines in a can most of the night.


The next morning (this morning actually) Mia woke up alittle early but she was in good spirits. Grandma and Grandpa got to spend tons of quality time with her, just playing and having fun. Mia is really getting close to crawling with her hands and knees now and she even made an attempt last night at my brothers house right in front of Mama and Daddy who were beaming with pride. She does semi-crawl around now and has been, but she just doesn't tuck her legs under her belly yet.. she is getting there though. Anyways, the visit with my Mom and Dad was fun. My mom even busted out my old baby book and we got to compare my newborn pictures to Mia. It is official she definately has my eyes and mouth. I couldn't believe it when I saw those pics how much she looked like me with those feature but of course Mia was so much cuter I think! haha After going through some pictures it was starting to get late. We still had to make a quick trip back to my bro's house for a couple of things.


We got to my brother's house soon after and Mia was uncharacteristically whiny and fussy. I thought it could be because she was tired and needed a nap. Then it happened again... she went poopies.. AGAIN! Peeee-U it was not the best smelling kind either and once again she stunk up poor baby cousin April's room again. (I think she will need to send her an apology letter to! haha) but after that she was a happy little clam again. She played with her cousins and Auntie and Uncle for awhile and was a good little baby. My brother then started cooking a HUGE steak and potato dinner. It smelled soooo good! It was the first time I ever saw him really cook. It looked great. We really wanted to stay for dinner but it was really getting late by that point. Mia was getting really tired and we still had that long drive ahead of us. We both felt bad having to miss that awesome dinner but parenthood came first and we had to get that little one home. So off we went back to Riverside.


It was already dark and Adrian and I both weren't sure how Mia would react to that in the car. Past Oxnard trips didn't go to well while traveling her at night. She would cry alot and thats mostly because shes afriad of the dark.. just like her Mama! However, she was sooo worn out from the busy weekend that she was out like a light even before we left the Oxnard city limits. She was so knocked out she didn't even use her two fingers to suck on to put herself to sleep! That was a definate first! She always sucks on her two fingers to sooth herself to sleep. She was chonked out and didn't even wake up until we were 10 mins from our home! That was a Mia record! She woke up all perky and ready to go.. uh..oh. Once we got home we unloaded the car and set up her stuff. She spent some time with Daddy on the couch and we gave her another bedtime bottle. She drank most of it and I attempted to put her to bed. Thats where I am now...waiting to see if she goes to sleep. Adrian just checked on her and said she was almost asleep.. yay! I figured she would be tired from all that fun this weekend I am glad to see she will get her rest. That sounds like a good idea actually.. I need to get some rest myself so I will have to end this shortly.


Overall the weekend was awesome. Whenever we get the chance to visit family its always a treat for all of us. Especially the Pizano family since they live the farthest. I can't wait for the furture visits! I will post pictures soon but right now I really need some sleep...zzzzzzzzzz.................

Friday, February 6, 2009

The BIG week 30!!!!




Current mood: accomplished




My little one is officially 30 weeks old! Wow that sure seems like alot but when you actually think about it.... its only weeks! it really isn't. When you look at her and see all the new things shes doing and how big she is, you tend to forget that 31 weeks ago she was still in my tummy! In 10 more weeks, she will be the same age as she was in my tummy before I had her. Wow time does fly by pretty fast! Anyways, time to write about the past week.




The week has been filled with fun stuff. We started off the week with visitors (Her Grandma and Grandpa Pizano) who stayed for the weekend. Not only did she get some much needed grandparent spoil time in, she even got to watch her very first superbowl! It was loads of fun and she did awesome as always. One of the new things she started doing this week, and really mastered it while her grandparents were here... is she can sit up straight on her own. Granted she can't get in the sitting position just yet, though she does try, once you place her on her bootie buns she sits right up and plays with her toys. She seems to really like this alot now. You can never recline her anymore, she always sits up or makes you prop her up in the upright sitting position. Its really cute. What really amazed me is how fast she caught on to balancing herself like that. Soon after she got the hang of staying put without falling she would lean over and grab a toy near her on the floor and then straighten up again! What a big girl! I am so proud of her. Unfortunately, with this new milestone comes the fact that we now have to retire her old blue toy chair. She has had this since Oct. and always loved to sit there and play with the toys above her. It kind of sits you back in the reclined position and she doesn't like it anymore. I have already caught her grabbing on the toy bar on the sides, pulled herself up in the sitting postion, and was leaning over to jump out! If I didn't catch her in time she would have face planted it on the carpet still strapped in her chair! so now I really haven't used that chair. As for her other chair, the bumbo seat, she is desperately attempting to get out of that too. She leans far forward, wiggles around, and tries to get out of it. So soon I will have to retire that one too. Oh and speaking of her bumbo chair, a funny thing also happened. I finally made a trip to Target and bought the table top like thing for the chair. I figured it would hold her in the chair better and she would be able to play with her toys on top of it. BAD IDEA! I forgot how strong my little super baby is! and as soon as I put the attachment on the chair she ripped it right off! I tried to snap it on hard and she always found a way to rip it off anyways. Ah well... its back to store to return that attachment! haha I should have known, she has always had this super baby power since she was a baby newborn. I mean she was already able to lift her head a day after she was born!




Lets see what else. She did get late Christmas presents from her 'Auntie' Mona, Brett and Baby Koa. So I had tons of fun dressing her up in her new little clothes and taking pictures. I haven't done that in a while so it was fun. However, like I mentioned before, she doesn't like being sat up against something anymore. She wants to be independent and sit up straight on her own, so taking those pictures were a bit difficult. She wanted to sit up on her own, on the couch and that made me real nervous, so needless to say we didn't take that many pictures.




She is giving kissies alot better now and I always enjoy the little wet peck on the cheek now and then. She seems to do it more when I get her up in the morning. She even makes the sound too! Its really cute! Oh and another thing she just started this week, for some reason now when you hold her and carry her around she needs to feel secure. So in order for her to feel secure she needs to grab a chunk of your hair and she gentally holds on to it while you carry her around. She doesn't pull it, she just holds on to it. She does this to Adrian and myself.. I don't mind but it does get trouble-some when she messed up your hair after you just fixed it! Haha




She tried two new foods this week too! Squash and Banana Oatmeal, both she LOVES! Especially the oatmeal. I never seen her woof down her food so fast! I am glad she likes to eat healthy haha. Oh wait.. she did try a couple of other foods for the first time as well. Since we always give her just veggies, I decided to treat her to some fruits for the first time. I gave her some applesauce and bananas.. both she didn't like. After tasting them myself I found out why.. they tasted NASTY! the apples were very acidic and even made me feel sick.. and the bananas were tangy and gross. So its back to veggies for Mia, she doesn't seem to mind though.. shes my little veggie girl... ever since she was in my tummy.




A couple of not so good things also started happening this past week. One of them being, is that I think she is getting a touch of that seperation anxiety. She always wants someone to stay with her while she plays. She wants to be able to look up and know your there, if she sees you walk away even for a second she bursts out crying until you come back and talk to her. Then she plays again. This isn't good and I am not sure how to break her from this before it starts to become a problem. I don't know what started this.. she never used to be like that. Ah well, just another stage to work through I guess. The other thing is she is reverting back to her baby new born bad habbit of liking the arms again. It took awhile to break her from that as a baby newborn but its starting to creep back I noticed. When you put her down now, if she doesn't want to be put down, she screams bloody murder! I am alittle bit more firm with her than Adrian. If I know she will be ok, I just talk to her and give her a toy or something and she usually settles down, however, Daddy spoils her! He always runs to her if she cries and picks her up, if she doesn't want to be put down he carries her everywhere. I told him thats great that he wants to be there for her, but she has to learn not to rely on her us to run to her and pick her up all the time and what he is doing is re-enforcing bad habbits that will hard to break later. He doesn't really listen though, granted due to his busy work schedule he hardly gets time with her as it is. I don't want to take that from him, but still... its not good. An example is this is...




Sometimes at night she wakes up really angry and just cries for no reason. I am usually home alone (Adrian works the night shift) so I will go check on her, make sure she didn't wet herself or go poopies. I check her to make sure she isn't sick or hurting and when I see shes fine (which is 100% of the time so far) I talk to her, put her blankeys back on, give her her little froggy and rub her head for about a min. She settles down and we both go back to bed/sleep. I usually never have to pick her up. I don't want to get her used to being picked up whenever she cries. Usually this happened every other night. However, last night it happed again and this time Adrian was home. When I went to her room what did I find... he was holding her and cuddling her next to her bed. She was all smiles and as soon as he put her down she let up the biggest cry. So he picked her back up and she stopped. I told him, he needed to put her to bed and that picking her up wasn't helping. He said "but she cries when I put her down!" I told him sometimes shes just going to have to cry.. shes fine. I walked over to her, checked her diaper and her. I had him put her down and sure enough she bursted out in crying again. This time I just put her blankey on her, while softly talking to her, gave her her froggy and rubbed her head. I told her goodnight and sure enough she settled down and went back to sleep. Adrian still says I am mean for not picking her up.. sigh... ah well, I guess being a mother isn't always easy especially when you are up against a spoiling daddy! Haha




Anyways, thats about it for the week. Tomorrow/this upcoming weekend will be a HUGE event. Its her baby cousin April's 2nd birthday so we are off to Oxnard again for the party. The reason it will be huge is because it will be the first time her Pizano/Ordonez family will get to meet her! Thats right, she has not met any of my family other than my parents, bro and his family and my grandpa. So its a huge deal, I am all excited, I can't wait! I am sure I will write all about it.

Monday, February 2, 2009

Mia's first Superbowl AND she had some visitors!


Current mood: happy

Mia was officially introduced to a long time Pizano family tradition... the superbowl! Even if our teams weren't playing or the fact some of us don't really follow football that closely... that all doesn't matter on Superbowl Sunday! We always come together as a family and do something special if we can. Usually due to the distance and it being on a Sunday.. Adrian and I usually can't make it to a family members house and instead spend it together. However, this year my parents got to come down for a visit and we all got to enjoy the game together.

This year it was the Az. Cardinals v. Pitts. Stealers. Though I was born and raised as a Niners fan (yes I know they haven't had a good season in literally decades) the Stealers have always been my second favorite. Mainly due to the fact while growing up my dad and I always watched football together and the Stealers were always his second favorite too. So this year's superbowl would be extra special because the Stealers were playing and were the favored to win.

We all watched the game together and it was a blast. Granted Mia slept through most of the first quarter she was up and playing throughout the rest of the game until the nail biting final 2 mins. Then she decided she had enough of football for oneday and wanted to go to bed. However, she hung in there like a champ and gave the team (Stealers) that little added luck to pull off the win at the last min. Go Mia! All in all, she was such a good girl throughout the game, when she wasn't watching it on Grandpa's lap she was playing with her toys on the floor. At one point she even decided having tons of toys in front of her wasn't enough and dumped out her little toy basket and spread even more toys around her! She was also officially introduced to the yelling and screaming her Mama and Grandpa are notorious for when a football game gets exciting. I can't even begin the describe the look she gave me when I would go nuts over a good play.. it was a across between confusing, amusement, and scared! haha Overall, it was tons of fun!

Like I mentioned before, my parents came down to visit us and of course little Mia. They haven't been to our house since late Oct. so it was a HUGE treat to have them down. They both got to spend alot of time with Mia which they really enjoyed. She was on her very best behavior and didn't even cry once. Well she did once but that was because while sitting up (yes she can be sat up and she stays that way without any support or help now! yay!! (this also started on Sat.)) she leaned to far back and bonked her little head on the carpet. Poor baby! But she toughed up real fast and only cried for a very short time. Anyways, my parents were able to stay for the entire superbowl and we all got to watch together. I cooked up a storm in the kitchen to treat them both to a Cardoso home cooked meal. I made chicken Fajitas, beans, rice, and calabasas. Earlier Adrian and stopped by the store and stocked up on all kinds of treats as well. Overall, the visit was great. My dad is in the process of backing up some old home 8MM and VHS tapes and converting them to DVD. So he brought some videos with him. Some were of me while playing t-ball when I was 6 and some dated back to before I was a year old!!! It was amazing to see the resemblance of Mia and myself in some of the videos! It was great seeing my brother and myself as kids again and going nuts. It sure brought back alot of fond memories. Anyways, back to Mia. Both my parents got to feed her, her veggies and cereal and they couldn't get over how big she has gotten. Initially it took her some time to warm up to them, but after awhile she was smiling and being her ol' happy Mia self again. I have also been practicing with her, on how to sit up straight on the floor. She would only do it for a short time before falling over HOWEVER she waited until my parents were down to really show off. Now if you sit her down she stays like that and can even lean over and grab a toy, sit back up and play with it! What a big girl! I am so proud of her.

Well the little one is up, I just wanted to write alittle about this past weekend and share some stories of my baby girl!