Friday, February 6, 2009

The BIG week 30!!!!




Current mood: accomplished




My little one is officially 30 weeks old! Wow that sure seems like alot but when you actually think about it.... its only weeks! it really isn't. When you look at her and see all the new things shes doing and how big she is, you tend to forget that 31 weeks ago she was still in my tummy! In 10 more weeks, she will be the same age as she was in my tummy before I had her. Wow time does fly by pretty fast! Anyways, time to write about the past week.




The week has been filled with fun stuff. We started off the week with visitors (Her Grandma and Grandpa Pizano) who stayed for the weekend. Not only did she get some much needed grandparent spoil time in, she even got to watch her very first superbowl! It was loads of fun and she did awesome as always. One of the new things she started doing this week, and really mastered it while her grandparents were here... is she can sit up straight on her own. Granted she can't get in the sitting position just yet, though she does try, once you place her on her bootie buns she sits right up and plays with her toys. She seems to really like this alot now. You can never recline her anymore, she always sits up or makes you prop her up in the upright sitting position. Its really cute. What really amazed me is how fast she caught on to balancing herself like that. Soon after she got the hang of staying put without falling she would lean over and grab a toy near her on the floor and then straighten up again! What a big girl! I am so proud of her. Unfortunately, with this new milestone comes the fact that we now have to retire her old blue toy chair. She has had this since Oct. and always loved to sit there and play with the toys above her. It kind of sits you back in the reclined position and she doesn't like it anymore. I have already caught her grabbing on the toy bar on the sides, pulled herself up in the sitting postion, and was leaning over to jump out! If I didn't catch her in time she would have face planted it on the carpet still strapped in her chair! so now I really haven't used that chair. As for her other chair, the bumbo seat, she is desperately attempting to get out of that too. She leans far forward, wiggles around, and tries to get out of it. So soon I will have to retire that one too. Oh and speaking of her bumbo chair, a funny thing also happened. I finally made a trip to Target and bought the table top like thing for the chair. I figured it would hold her in the chair better and she would be able to play with her toys on top of it. BAD IDEA! I forgot how strong my little super baby is! and as soon as I put the attachment on the chair she ripped it right off! I tried to snap it on hard and she always found a way to rip it off anyways. Ah well... its back to store to return that attachment! haha I should have known, she has always had this super baby power since she was a baby newborn. I mean she was already able to lift her head a day after she was born!




Lets see what else. She did get late Christmas presents from her 'Auntie' Mona, Brett and Baby Koa. So I had tons of fun dressing her up in her new little clothes and taking pictures. I haven't done that in a while so it was fun. However, like I mentioned before, she doesn't like being sat up against something anymore. She wants to be independent and sit up straight on her own, so taking those pictures were a bit difficult. She wanted to sit up on her own, on the couch and that made me real nervous, so needless to say we didn't take that many pictures.




She is giving kissies alot better now and I always enjoy the little wet peck on the cheek now and then. She seems to do it more when I get her up in the morning. She even makes the sound too! Its really cute! Oh and another thing she just started this week, for some reason now when you hold her and carry her around she needs to feel secure. So in order for her to feel secure she needs to grab a chunk of your hair and she gentally holds on to it while you carry her around. She doesn't pull it, she just holds on to it. She does this to Adrian and myself.. I don't mind but it does get trouble-some when she messed up your hair after you just fixed it! Haha




She tried two new foods this week too! Squash and Banana Oatmeal, both she LOVES! Especially the oatmeal. I never seen her woof down her food so fast! I am glad she likes to eat healthy haha. Oh wait.. she did try a couple of other foods for the first time as well. Since we always give her just veggies, I decided to treat her to some fruits for the first time. I gave her some applesauce and bananas.. both she didn't like. After tasting them myself I found out why.. they tasted NASTY! the apples were very acidic and even made me feel sick.. and the bananas were tangy and gross. So its back to veggies for Mia, she doesn't seem to mind though.. shes my little veggie girl... ever since she was in my tummy.




A couple of not so good things also started happening this past week. One of them being, is that I think she is getting a touch of that seperation anxiety. She always wants someone to stay with her while she plays. She wants to be able to look up and know your there, if she sees you walk away even for a second she bursts out crying until you come back and talk to her. Then she plays again. This isn't good and I am not sure how to break her from this before it starts to become a problem. I don't know what started this.. she never used to be like that. Ah well, just another stage to work through I guess. The other thing is she is reverting back to her baby new born bad habbit of liking the arms again. It took awhile to break her from that as a baby newborn but its starting to creep back I noticed. When you put her down now, if she doesn't want to be put down, she screams bloody murder! I am alittle bit more firm with her than Adrian. If I know she will be ok, I just talk to her and give her a toy or something and she usually settles down, however, Daddy spoils her! He always runs to her if she cries and picks her up, if she doesn't want to be put down he carries her everywhere. I told him thats great that he wants to be there for her, but she has to learn not to rely on her us to run to her and pick her up all the time and what he is doing is re-enforcing bad habbits that will hard to break later. He doesn't really listen though, granted due to his busy work schedule he hardly gets time with her as it is. I don't want to take that from him, but still... its not good. An example is this is...




Sometimes at night she wakes up really angry and just cries for no reason. I am usually home alone (Adrian works the night shift) so I will go check on her, make sure she didn't wet herself or go poopies. I check her to make sure she isn't sick or hurting and when I see shes fine (which is 100% of the time so far) I talk to her, put her blankeys back on, give her her little froggy and rub her head for about a min. She settles down and we both go back to bed/sleep. I usually never have to pick her up. I don't want to get her used to being picked up whenever she cries. Usually this happened every other night. However, last night it happed again and this time Adrian was home. When I went to her room what did I find... he was holding her and cuddling her next to her bed. She was all smiles and as soon as he put her down she let up the biggest cry. So he picked her back up and she stopped. I told him, he needed to put her to bed and that picking her up wasn't helping. He said "but she cries when I put her down!" I told him sometimes shes just going to have to cry.. shes fine. I walked over to her, checked her diaper and her. I had him put her down and sure enough she bursted out in crying again. This time I just put her blankey on her, while softly talking to her, gave her her froggy and rubbed her head. I told her goodnight and sure enough she settled down and went back to sleep. Adrian still says I am mean for not picking her up.. sigh... ah well, I guess being a mother isn't always easy especially when you are up against a spoiling daddy! Haha




Anyways, thats about it for the week. Tomorrow/this upcoming weekend will be a HUGE event. Its her baby cousin April's 2nd birthday so we are off to Oxnard again for the party. The reason it will be huge is because it will be the first time her Pizano/Ordonez family will get to meet her! Thats right, she has not met any of my family other than my parents, bro and his family and my grandpa. So its a huge deal, I am all excited, I can't wait! I am sure I will write all about it.