Current mood: sick
Things seemed pretty normal today when I woke up. Other than Mia waking up about 30 mins earlier than she normally does, the day started off without a hitch. I had been planning on hitting up the Super Target down the street today with Mia to pick up some pictures we ordered on Friday. I wanted to take care of it first thing in the morning before the heat of the day set in.
So I got Mia up and even before breakfast I had her dressed in her pretty little pink Disney princess summer dress. (Wow thats a mouth full) She got it as a present from her Grandma Santos a few months back and finally fits in it. She looked all cute and was in a very good mood. I gave her a cup of cheerios while I cooked up her oatmeal and prepared her banana for her breakfast. She munched on her cheerios and drank her milk like nothing. I turned on the TV and when her food was ready I fed her. She was doing great, she smiled alot and played and even tried to feed me with her special little Mia spoon haha. After breakfast I put her down and let her run around and play. She found her Cheerio cup from earlier and was munching on those. I didn't think much of it since I figured maybe she wasn't full from breakfast and cheerios is a healthy snack. She was having a good time spreading the cheerios all over the floor and even tired giving a handful to her best friend, Elmo! haha Once in a while she would come by me and put one in my mouth to share.
I decided that once the show we were watching was over I would get myself ready and we would go out to Target, but unfortunately Yo Gabba Gabba came on and right away Mia went nuts!!! She danced to the intro threw her snackie cup of cheerios and ran for her two plastic Gabba toys we got her from Jack and the Box. She stood there holding the "Plex" one and danced to the songs. I then found her two plush Gabba dolls she LOVES to hold during the show. I handed her Tootie and Brobee and she was all happy and sat on her butt. I started to get alittle tired so I figured we would head out after this episode was over. I was laying on the ground and about mid-way through the episode, Mia stood up while holding her Tootie and Brobee, turned my way and just started throwing up Cheerios all over herself and the floor! ACK!!!! I jumped up, ripped her toys out of her hands so they wouldn't get dirty and grabbed a nearby towel I left on the chair from the shower I took the night before. She just stood there. Luckily it wasn't the projectile type, it just flowed out like a volcano (sorry for the graphic desciption) but because of that I was able to quickly get a handle on the situation. She didn't cry or get scared, infact she kept right on watching Gabba like nothing happened. Thank goodness it was just her recently eaten Cheerios because it if it was anything from breakfast I think we would have a BIG problem on my hands since I do don't do well with vomit stuff. I quickly cleaned up the floor and took off her dress and threw both in the washer. Mia just stood there watching Gabba and sneezing out the rest of the Cheerios out of her nose (I KNOW!!! Gross huh!!!) I changed her clothes and got her all cleaned up and she went on her marry way. Not sure what made her sick, I think it was because she over ate because she wasn't feverish or acting sick. Infact she started scouting for Cheerios on the floor she dropped from earlier!!! I quickly picked up everyone I could find and threw it away and sure enough she would always find the hidden one I missed. I eventually just cleaned up all her toys and everything off the floor of her play area. Eventually she slowed down a bit and wanted to cuddle so we cuddled through one last episode of Gabba before I put her down for a nap.
Yuck... so much for going to Target. I really believe she just over ate but I don't want to take any chances incase she is sick. I don't want her throwing up in the store or worse my car!!! haha So far she seems fine.. we will see after lunch! Wish me luck!
Monday, August 31, 2009
Saturday, August 29, 2009
Finally the word is out! I AM PREGNANT!!!!!! and a great trip to San Diego
Current mood: excited
WHOOHOO!!!!!!!!!! Finally I can post about this, I've been holding in the news for two weeks now and was about to burst! We wanted to wait until both sides of the family were told personally before I posted it on Facebook or Myspace. Last weekend we got to tell the Pizano family at Sarah's 7th birthhday party and today we got to tell the Cardoso family during Adrian's brother's birthday! YAY!!!! We are on cloud nine and so excited about the news. Ever since I found out (Thursday Aug. 13th) I have started a new blog site for the new baby. I will finally be able to unlock it tonight so anyone can read that as well. It is linked to Mia's blog site at blogspot.com. I will be posting the link a bit later. Anyways we are so excited and happy and so is the family.
Like I mentioned before today we went down to San Diego to Adrian's Tia Gloria's house to celebrate his little brother's 24th birthday. So far the new prengnacy has treated me good, beyond good. It has not been like Mia's at all, infact until today I had not even gotten sick! But ya today I got really sick and the heat didn't help. We are currently experiencing the worst heat wave of the year so needless to say it was HOT all over. Once we reached his Tia's house and we got out of the car I knew it was going to be a challenge not to get sick or pass out. Mia did good in the car and only whined a little bit until we gave her a celery to munch on, then she fell asleep. Anyways we made it to the house and it was already 100 there. We said Hi to the family that were already there (we got there a bit early which is a shocker for us) We got to break the good news to his Mom first and right away she guessed it before we could even say it! Darn that mother intiution! She did the exact same thing to us when we told her about Mia! haha Anyways she was so excited and happy so where his Tia's and cousins. We even got to tell his Grandma in person whose face just lit up! It was really exciting.
Mia did great. Right away she was drawn to her big cousin "Baby D" (only about 4.5 months older than her) It was the CUTEST thing to watch them interact with each other. They spoke baby talk to each other and she followed him everywhere. He even shared some of his toys with her, which I heard is rare. He would show her all kinds of secret passages like the one behind the couch and she would just follow all excited. It was so cute to watch them.
Adrian's Tia was busy cooking and the smell of her food just instantly made me starve! I was SO HUNGRY! and once the food was ready I plowed right in. Even Mia, who doesn't like potatoes, LOVED her famous potatoe salad.
Everything seemed to be going ok until the dizziness and over heating finally began to take its toll on me. Even though I was sitting right under the living room fan and next to a another giant fan I was in serious trouble. When the room started spinning really bad thats when I finally got up and told Adrian. I think the Mama radar kicked off because my Mother in Law quickly knew what was going on (She was clear across the room!) so she offered to take me to her place down the road to rest a bit. By that time I felt like I was going to throw up any min. and the room was spinning worse so I agreed. I let Mia stay there with her Dada and my Mother In Law took me to her place. Just before we left I said by goodbyes to everyone and on the way out my mother in law broke the news to my brother in law (the birthday boy haha) She said "your going to be an uncle again" and he just stood there shocked, he then smiled and congradulated me. I guess we took everyone by surprise today haha Anyways I was really feeling bad by this point, I have no idea how I kept from throwing up on the ride to her house but I was so close. My head was spinning even worse and right away I got a flash back of the time I got vertigo when I was pregnant with Mia. I started to get a bit nervous and didn't know what I was going go to. Luckily we arrived at her house, she set up a big fan next to the couch, gave me a tall glass of ice water and I laid on the couch. Right away I began to feel better and within about 10-15mins I was almost back to my old self. We got to chat a bit and catch up a while before Adrian showed up with Mia.
By then I was starving again and like a good husband he is, he thought ahead and brought be a "to go" plate and some cake! YAY!!! I woofed that down and felt even better. Mia had a blast running all over their house and playing with the two new puzzles Grandma and Grandpa bought her. Thats not all they bought her, Grandma handed over a HUGE bag of clothes she bought for Mia from Gymboree for the upcoming winter and next spring! She has a whole new wardrobe again!!! Including the cutest little winter reversable jacket I have ever seen! Mia got hooked up!!!!!
Mia played and played and by that time both Adrian and I were getting to tired of chasing her around and getting her out of trouble. Thats when Grandma took her outside to play. They watered the lawns together and Mia even put her hand in the water and said "Agua" Grandma splashed her feet and they both had a great time. Adrian and I rested inside. Then Grandpa showed up from work and congradulated us on the wonderful news (I think he got the news from my mother in law haha) he then went out the backyard with Mia and Grandma.
The visit went really well and there was no mishaps. I never got sick again or felt as bad as I did. Mia had a blast tearing apart all their things and running around their hardwood floors. Adrian's sister then called (unfortunately she had to work and couldn't make it to the party) and we got to break the news to her over the phone. She was so happy and excited for us! I can't wait to see how her daughter (Adrian's Goddaughter Brianna) reacts to the news. She is so in love with baby Mia I am wondering how she will react to this little one. It will be interesting to find out.
It soon got late and after we fed Mia some dinner it was off to home we went. Mia knocked out before we hit the freeway and after arriving home she went right to bed without a peep. What a good girl.
Overall the day was great, I am so happy the news is finally out and I can finally talk freely about it!!!! Round two here we go!
WHOOHOO!!!!!!!!!! Finally I can post about this, I've been holding in the news for two weeks now and was about to burst! We wanted to wait until both sides of the family were told personally before I posted it on Facebook or Myspace. Last weekend we got to tell the Pizano family at Sarah's 7th birthhday party and today we got to tell the Cardoso family during Adrian's brother's birthday! YAY!!!! We are on cloud nine and so excited about the news. Ever since I found out (Thursday Aug. 13th) I have started a new blog site for the new baby. I will finally be able to unlock it tonight so anyone can read that as well. It is linked to Mia's blog site at blogspot.com. I will be posting the link a bit later. Anyways we are so excited and happy and so is the family.
Like I mentioned before today we went down to San Diego to Adrian's Tia Gloria's house to celebrate his little brother's 24th birthday. So far the new prengnacy has treated me good, beyond good. It has not been like Mia's at all, infact until today I had not even gotten sick! But ya today I got really sick and the heat didn't help. We are currently experiencing the worst heat wave of the year so needless to say it was HOT all over. Once we reached his Tia's house and we got out of the car I knew it was going to be a challenge not to get sick or pass out. Mia did good in the car and only whined a little bit until we gave her a celery to munch on, then she fell asleep. Anyways we made it to the house and it was already 100 there. We said Hi to the family that were already there (we got there a bit early which is a shocker for us) We got to break the good news to his Mom first and right away she guessed it before we could even say it! Darn that mother intiution! She did the exact same thing to us when we told her about Mia! haha Anyways she was so excited and happy so where his Tia's and cousins. We even got to tell his Grandma in person whose face just lit up! It was really exciting.
Mia did great. Right away she was drawn to her big cousin "Baby D" (only about 4.5 months older than her) It was the CUTEST thing to watch them interact with each other. They spoke baby talk to each other and she followed him everywhere. He even shared some of his toys with her, which I heard is rare. He would show her all kinds of secret passages like the one behind the couch and she would just follow all excited. It was so cute to watch them.
Adrian's Tia was busy cooking and the smell of her food just instantly made me starve! I was SO HUNGRY! and once the food was ready I plowed right in. Even Mia, who doesn't like potatoes, LOVED her famous potatoe salad.
Everything seemed to be going ok until the dizziness and over heating finally began to take its toll on me. Even though I was sitting right under the living room fan and next to a another giant fan I was in serious trouble. When the room started spinning really bad thats when I finally got up and told Adrian. I think the Mama radar kicked off because my Mother in Law quickly knew what was going on (She was clear across the room!) so she offered to take me to her place down the road to rest a bit. By that time I felt like I was going to throw up any min. and the room was spinning worse so I agreed. I let Mia stay there with her Dada and my Mother In Law took me to her place. Just before we left I said by goodbyes to everyone and on the way out my mother in law broke the news to my brother in law (the birthday boy haha) She said "your going to be an uncle again" and he just stood there shocked, he then smiled and congradulated me. I guess we took everyone by surprise today haha Anyways I was really feeling bad by this point, I have no idea how I kept from throwing up on the ride to her house but I was so close. My head was spinning even worse and right away I got a flash back of the time I got vertigo when I was pregnant with Mia. I started to get a bit nervous and didn't know what I was going go to. Luckily we arrived at her house, she set up a big fan next to the couch, gave me a tall glass of ice water and I laid on the couch. Right away I began to feel better and within about 10-15mins I was almost back to my old self. We got to chat a bit and catch up a while before Adrian showed up with Mia.
By then I was starving again and like a good husband he is, he thought ahead and brought be a "to go" plate and some cake! YAY!!! I woofed that down and felt even better. Mia had a blast running all over their house and playing with the two new puzzles Grandma and Grandpa bought her. Thats not all they bought her, Grandma handed over a HUGE bag of clothes she bought for Mia from Gymboree for the upcoming winter and next spring! She has a whole new wardrobe again!!! Including the cutest little winter reversable jacket I have ever seen! Mia got hooked up!!!!!
Mia played and played and by that time both Adrian and I were getting to tired of chasing her around and getting her out of trouble. Thats when Grandma took her outside to play. They watered the lawns together and Mia even put her hand in the water and said "Agua" Grandma splashed her feet and they both had a great time. Adrian and I rested inside. Then Grandpa showed up from work and congradulated us on the wonderful news (I think he got the news from my mother in law haha) he then went out the backyard with Mia and Grandma.
The visit went really well and there was no mishaps. I never got sick again or felt as bad as I did. Mia had a blast tearing apart all their things and running around their hardwood floors. Adrian's sister then called (unfortunately she had to work and couldn't make it to the party) and we got to break the news to her over the phone. She was so happy and excited for us! I can't wait to see how her daughter (Adrian's Goddaughter Brianna) reacts to the news. She is so in love with baby Mia I am wondering how she will react to this little one. It will be interesting to find out.
It soon got late and after we fed Mia some dinner it was off to home we went. Mia knocked out before we hit the freeway and after arriving home she went right to bed without a peep. What a good girl.
Overall the day was great, I am so happy the news is finally out and I can finally talk freely about it!!!! Round two here we go!
Friday, August 28, 2009
here we are.. week 59!
Current mood: adventurous
Good Morning and Happy Friday! Another week gone by in a blink of an eye. I am afraid to close my eyes again because when I open them it will probably be next week! Seriously though, time is zooming by at lightening speed... why didn't I have this problem when I was going through adolesence? haha
Anyways the week was great. We took a trip down to Oxnard this past weekend to celebrate Mia's big cousin Sarah's 7th Birthday. It was great seeing the family again and Mia had a blast at their house. She played with all her cousin's toys, jumped in the jolly jump and just went nuts running through out the house. She got to spend time with the family again and especially her Grandpa and Grandma Pizano. We stayed the night at their house and of course she was spoiled rotten! Overall the trip went great other than a few bad crying times. One of them being she refused to sleep in her pack and play at my parents house. She would scream hyterically when we laid her down and the only way she slept was either in the arms of Adrian or if he got in there with her! Yes, he got in her playpen and stayed with her until she fell asleep. What a good Daddy. The other time was on the way home, she decided she needed to stretch her legs and complained until we had to pull off. It all worked out though, we ended up stopping off at Jack In The Box and we bought her the remaining last two Gabba Characters for her collection. She was happy about that.
Her new favorite snack is celery. We found this out at the party. She LOVES walking around munching on it. When it becomes to stringy she hands it to you to "fix" it and then contiunes to munch on it. I think the fact its hard and cold really helps with her teething. Oh speaking about teething, she popped out tooth #8 this week! Yep she is a proud owner of yet another tooth. This one is the one next to her front teeth on the Right side. Her teeth are really starting to pop in. I am just wondering when she will add more teeth to her bottom row. Her very first teeth came in the same day and they were the middle bottom ones, ever since then none have come in down there. All have been up top including two molars. I guess she likes to work from the top down haha
The week has progressively began to heat up hotter and hotter. So we haven't really gone out to much. It hit 110 yesterday in this area.. YIKES! Anyways earlier in the week when it was still under 100 I let Mia run around out in our front yard as Daddy mowed the lawn. She liked going up and down the driveway and it was nice to get some freshair. I am just waiting the heat out, hopefully it will cool down soon. Not likely though it usually stays like this till about Oct. Sigh.....
She is finally drinking alot more fluids now and her favorite of all is Milk. All you have to do is say the word to her and she screams with excitment and either follows you to the fridge or runs to you to pick her up. She is finally holding her own sippe again. She used to then became lazy and only drank if you held it for her. One day, I guess Daddy was holding it wrong, she ripped it away from him and took off with it drinking her milk. Now she carries it everywhere and drinks on her own, she doesn't let you hold it for her anymore. Silly girl. She still doesn't care for juice though, so its still only milk and water for her. We buy her a gallon of whole milk which is only for her (we also buy a half gallon for us) and she usually goes through that within the week! Its getting worse, I think I need to start giving her more water to off set some of that haha either that or start buying two gallons of milk! haha
I've started a new thing with her at night. Actually I've only done this the past two nights, but right before I lay her down in her crib for the night I craddle her and rock her in the rocking chair next to her bed. She actually falls asleep in my arms which is a HUGE treat since she NEVER does that. I have really been enjoying this time and its a good way to end the day I think. Unfortunately after shes asleep and I go to lay her down in her crib I can't reach the bottom since I am so short. So I end up having to plop her down about 3 inches above her matress. Of course this wakes her up because she goes rolling haha but she doesn't seem to care she just grabs her blanket and tries to go back to sleep. I got a good idea from my Cousin Amanda that I think I will try tonight. She said I should get a step stool or something to help with the height issue.. I think I will try that =)
Thats about it. Its going to be another crazy fun weekend starting tomorrow. We are off to San Diego where we are going to help Celebrate Mia's Tio Ernie's birthday. I can't wait to see the family again and I am sure I will have lots to share when we get back!
Wednesday, August 26, 2009
A Happy Ending to a Difficult Day
Current mood: blissful
Today was not one of those happy go lucky days with Mia. Actually it started off good. She woke up in a chipper and happy mood. She even went down for a morning nap pretty good.. it wasn't until she woke from that nap did things take a turn for the worse.
I should have known it was going to be "one of those days" when she woke up from her nap screaming and crying. I comforted her and attempted to lay down with her on the guest bed. She wanted no part of that and just wanted to play, so I let her play. Over time she became moodier and moodier to the point where everything was making her whine and cry. I would chase her and play with her but the instant I stopped she would burst out crying. Sigh..... Daddy was getting the same results when he played with her too. So we decided it was nap time.
We put her in the bed with us (since Daddy and I needed a nap to) but she REFUSED to settle down and sleep. She thought it was fun game time and everytime we told her its "mimi mimi time" she would get mad, stand up and try to play again. We finally had enough and laid her down in her playpen, thats when she just lost it. She blew up so loud! The silent cry followed by the eyes piercing scream. She just was out of control. I eventually had to leave the room since I hate hearing her like that but knew there was nothing I could do. Daddy on the other hand has a better tolerance level for that sort of thing and he stuck around, however, eventually he even had to just leave the room too. She just screamed and cried and refused to sleep. After about 10 mins I couldn't take it anymore and I got her up. I KNEW it was a bad idea since I knew she would be even more tired and crankier after that long cry. I tried to cuddle her and she still blew up. She didn't want me to hold her at all. So I just put her down and let her run around. The rest of the afternoon was spent hearing her whine and cry and play. I gave her some tylonal incase teething was causing her to act up. It helped alittle but she was still moody.
It wasn't until right before bed did she get cuddly. I held her on the couch as I finished up a phone call from my Sis in Law, Lauren. She was actually being good. After my phone call I got her ready for bed and instead of just laying her down and kissing her goodnight and walking out, I decided it was time for some Mama Mia bonding time. I grabbed her blankey and sat with her on the rocking chair next to her crib in her room. I slowly rocked her and cuddled with her. I hummed quietly to the music coming from her boombox and that little angel fell asleep in my arms! I melted, it has been a good 6 or more months since she has actually fallen asleep in my arms. I was in heaven and all that stuff I had to deal with ealier in the day just melted away and all that I cared about was the warm fuzzy feeling I got inside holding my little sleeping baby in my arms. As she floated away into la-la land, the sucking sound of her sucking her two fingers grew quieter and quieter until it stopped. I slowly got up and craddled her in my arms and went to lay her down in her crib. Unfortunately I am so short I can't reach the bottom of her crib with her so she woke up as blopped her down. She rolled a bit, looked up at me and grabbed her blankey and tried to go back to sleep. I said goodnight and walked out of the room feeling like a good Mama and on cloud nine.
What a good end to a very difficult day
Today was not one of those happy go lucky days with Mia. Actually it started off good. She woke up in a chipper and happy mood. She even went down for a morning nap pretty good.. it wasn't until she woke from that nap did things take a turn for the worse.
I should have known it was going to be "one of those days" when she woke up from her nap screaming and crying. I comforted her and attempted to lay down with her on the guest bed. She wanted no part of that and just wanted to play, so I let her play. Over time she became moodier and moodier to the point where everything was making her whine and cry. I would chase her and play with her but the instant I stopped she would burst out crying. Sigh..... Daddy was getting the same results when he played with her too. So we decided it was nap time.
We put her in the bed with us (since Daddy and I needed a nap to) but she REFUSED to settle down and sleep. She thought it was fun game time and everytime we told her its "mimi mimi time" she would get mad, stand up and try to play again. We finally had enough and laid her down in her playpen, thats when she just lost it. She blew up so loud! The silent cry followed by the eyes piercing scream. She just was out of control. I eventually had to leave the room since I hate hearing her like that but knew there was nothing I could do. Daddy on the other hand has a better tolerance level for that sort of thing and he stuck around, however, eventually he even had to just leave the room too. She just screamed and cried and refused to sleep. After about 10 mins I couldn't take it anymore and I got her up. I KNEW it was a bad idea since I knew she would be even more tired and crankier after that long cry. I tried to cuddle her and she still blew up. She didn't want me to hold her at all. So I just put her down and let her run around. The rest of the afternoon was spent hearing her whine and cry and play. I gave her some tylonal incase teething was causing her to act up. It helped alittle but she was still moody.
It wasn't until right before bed did she get cuddly. I held her on the couch as I finished up a phone call from my Sis in Law, Lauren. She was actually being good. After my phone call I got her ready for bed and instead of just laying her down and kissing her goodnight and walking out, I decided it was time for some Mama Mia bonding time. I grabbed her blankey and sat with her on the rocking chair next to her crib in her room. I slowly rocked her and cuddled with her. I hummed quietly to the music coming from her boombox and that little angel fell asleep in my arms! I melted, it has been a good 6 or more months since she has actually fallen asleep in my arms. I was in heaven and all that stuff I had to deal with ealier in the day just melted away and all that I cared about was the warm fuzzy feeling I got inside holding my little sleeping baby in my arms. As she floated away into la-la land, the sucking sound of her sucking her two fingers grew quieter and quieter until it stopped. I slowly got up and craddled her in my arms and went to lay her down in her crib. Unfortunately I am so short I can't reach the bottom of her crib with her so she woke up as blopped her down. She rolled a bit, looked up at me and grabbed her blankey and tried to go back to sleep. I said goodnight and walked out of the room feeling like a good Mama and on cloud nine.
What a good end to a very difficult day
Tuesday, August 25, 2009
What a fun but tiring day...
Current mood: exhausted
I really wasn't planning on going out to much today, especially since it was supposed to hit the 100s (which did did.. yuk) but this morning I discovered Mia was almost out of wipees and her coupon for Babies R Us was about to expire so off on a new adventure to the store we went.
We left early in the morning before the heat really had a chance to set in.. it helped alittle but it still reached low 90s. Armed with coupons Mia and I raided Babies R Us. I bought a box of diapers, wipees, baby shampoo, a new sippe cup and a new book for Mia. All in all I ended up saving $14! not bad.. I just won't tell you how much the total came out to.. it was alittle more than planned haha. After that we went home and I was hoping to get some much needed rest... WRONG!
When we got home I remebered today was the day Adrian and I planned on going to the grocery store. We needed milk and eggs and a few other neccessities.. NOOOOOO! So after a quick lunch we loaded up the car with Mia and ourselves and off to Cardenas we went. Mia surprisenly did very well considering she skipped her nap in the morning. I am glad we went because we stocked up big time and even had a treat afterwards. I got a mango orange juice from the fruit stand there and it was SO GOOD!!! Mia liked it too, and it was refreshing since it was 105 in Perris at the time.
After we went home, we all rested a bit. Mia took a long nap and Adrian and I just vegged out on the couch. Then 5pm rolled around and Mia was up from her nap. Adrian had to mow the lawn since its getting out of control and the association is getting mad at us, so I thought it would be a good idea to have Mia get some fresh air outside while Daddy mowed.
At first it didn't seem so bad... as long as you stayed in the shade but of course Mia didn't want any part of the shade and kept running out into the sun and kept running down our driveway. I was afraid she would run into the street so I kept picking her up and putting her on the porch. Of course she took it as a game, since she would just run back down the drive way again. The only way I could get her to stay put was when Adrian started the mower. She froze and wouldn't move until he was done. I don't know if she was scared or what, she kept chattering and playing with nearby leaves but just wouldn't walk around. Once he was done she was out and about again. I drug out her little princess car and she played with that alittle. She was having a good time and I was enjoying myself watching her until she started doing bad things. She started putting everything in her mouth again. Grass, leaves, plants, the wood chips in the flower bed! I finally had enough and we both went back inside haha So much for that haha. We later relaxed on the couch for a bit then I fed her dinner and off to bed she went.
Phew what a tiring day! I am defaintely staying indoors for sure tomorrow!!! haha
Monday, August 24, 2009
Tooth #8!!!!!
Current mood: surprised
Finally it emerged!!! Tooth #8 finally popped out after weeks of anticipation and teething. Poor Mia, she wasn't feeling well today. She didn't even really want to eat her lunch, even with Daddy feeding her. I decided to check her mouth and sure enough we found one of the culprits! Another top tooth, the one next to her front teeth on the Right hand side! Hopefully she will feel better soon... sigh ... teething is aweful for everyone.
Sunday, August 23, 2009
FUN Fun fun... in Oxnard!
Current mood: exhausted
Phew, we just made it home! I am so tired and I hope I can bust out this blog in about 30 mins before my head hits the keyboard! I am POOPED! but so worth it. What a fun fun FUN weekend we had with the Pizano family in Oxnard.
It was Mia's big cousin Sarah's 7th birthday party! So it was a blast to see the cousins all together again. I am still amazed how fast my nieces are growing up now. My oldest niece Tracy is going on 10 and already breaking into the "pre-teen" thing! Sarah my little munchkin is right behind her! I still picture her all into princesses and Jasmine and to see her party with Hannah Montana really blew me away. I am not even going to go into Baby errr... Big Girl April! The youngest (until Nov. when my new baby Niece will be born) she is so big and talks up a storm now. Phew... man kids grow up so fast. Ok I was alittle side tracked there for a second.. must stay focused I am tired! haha
We left early Saturday since Daddy had to work the night before. Things seemed pretty good, Mia slept a good hour on the road before she woke up and got antsy. She wanted out of her car seat BAD! Luckily I packed some snackies for her and that stalled her for a bit... at least till we got to her Nina and Nino's house for the party.
We got there alittle early so it was nice to be able to catch our breath and relax alittle. I cooked Mia an egg for lunch and I had ready packed her some pancakes I made at home so I gave her that too. She did good, after greating everyone she sat quietly in her big cousin April's highchair and ate her lunch. People started pouring in soon after and dispite all the commotion and excitment she still sat there quietly eating her pancake and checking things out. Everyone was so happy to see her and commented on how cute she looked, especially with her bracelete (her favorite accessory) Before we knew it the house was jammed packed with family and friends. The weather was nice and everything went really well. After Mia ate we let her run around a bit.. literally. She was EVERYWHERE! She found April's stash of toys and just went nuts screaming and having a good time. I really think she found her voice because thats all she was doing the whole time, running and screaming at the top of her lungs! haha
She also go to see her Cousin Gianna again too! (Gia is only two weeks younger than Mia) The first time they met Mia kicked Gia and made her cry. The second time they met Gia grabbed Mia and pulled on her clothes. So this time we weren't sure what to expect and to everyone's amazement they became fast friends!!! They were so nice to each other it just melted everyone who were watching them. They kept staring at each other with big smiles and at one point Mia got two toys and handed one to Gia to play with. Later Gia went up to Mia and just started hugging her and hugging her! It was ADORABLE and PRICELESS! What close cousins already! Mia would give Gia kisses and they would play together it was too cute!
During the party we all got to catch up with different family members and I got to hold the youngest family member (till Nov. that is), Mia's youngest cousin Delilah (3 months) She was so ADROABLE and I just melted holding her. It brought back so many memories of when Mia was that age... sigh... shes growing up so fast. Later Daddy got in the Jump for Joy with Mia! and I could hear her laughing and screaming from inside the house!!! I went outside and sure enough she was bouncing around with Daddy's help and had the biggest smile on her face. She was having a great time. Eventually she got tired and just wanted out and just like that her smile turned into a frown like "get me out of here!" I had to help her get out of there fast! haha
We also found out that Mia LOVES celery!! I could not believe how much of it she ate. She just walked around the party with her little celery stick munching it like crazy. At first I was nervous about giving it to her since they are so stringy but she did good. She didn't eat the strings and when it did become to stringy she would hand it to someone and want a new piece. She LOVED them.. I am so going to stock up on them now. I think they sooth her teething gums.
Mia had a great time playing and running and bouncing around in the jump for joy. Then it was Pinata time!!! All the little ones gathered outside and for the first time Daddy didn't help her.. nope.. this time it was her Grandpa Pizano who wanted to help her. So Armed with a chewed stick of celery in one hand and the pinata stick in the other Mia and Grandpa WHACKED the Hannah Montana pinata as everyone cheered.
When her turn was over she went back to munching her celery stick on Grandpa's lap. The Pinata didn't last long at all, especially after the birthday girl got ahold of it! She went NUTS! and it took just alittle work from her older sister Tracy to finally get it to explode! Candy was everywhere and there Mia was with Grandpa in the middle of it all gathering candy. After the mob of kids cleared out I noticed Mia's celery stick was gone. When I asked about it, my Dad said that she accidentally dropped it on the ground and a kid snatched it up and put it in their candy bag!! HAHA I guess they will be surprised when they go to eat candy.
Overall the party was a success and TONS of fun. It was great to have Mia see her Nina and Nino and cousins again. Unfortunately we all pooped out from the busy busy day and ended up leaving earlier than we usually do to get some rest. We were staying at her Grandpa and Grandma's house so we just went there. After getting Mia some dinner and letting her go nuts with Grandpa and Grandma for awhile to get some energy out she went off to bed.
Unfortunately she didn't like the guest room and went completely hysterical and refused to be left alone. She was literally in panic mode everytime I laid her down in her pack and play. I would calm her down and rock her and sooth her and she would be ok until I went to lay her down again. Thats when she would go nuts and scream and cry and attempt to climb out as if her little life depended on it. I was beat tired so it was Daddy to the rescue. He took Mia over and I went to lay down. After about 30 mins he came out and the room was silent. Mia was asleep. I asked him how he managed to do it and he said "I just got in the playpen with her until she fell asleep" "You WHAT?!?!" Ya he actually got in the playpen with Mia until she fell asleep. That was the only way she would go to sleep haha Ah well whatever works!
Mia slept till about 10am! the next morning. When she got up I fed her breakfast and she played with toys in the livingroom with her Grandparents. Later while her Grandpa went out to get more goodies and snacks for her (bananas, eggs, etc) I took her outside to the backyard. I haven't been back there in years! It brought back memories of when I was a kid playing back there. Mia had a blast she kept running up and down the pavement and picking up leaves (her favorite thing to do outside). There is a slight slope near the actual house part and every now and then she would walk up it and get stuck! She didn't know how to turn around or how to move and would call out to me to help her! It was to funny and really cute. Eventually we went back inside and ate some pancakes her Grandma made! (which is a shock she never made pancakes for ME! haha) Grandpa soon came back home and not only gave her, her favorite foods he also bought her alittle toy too. It was four little spongey blocks she could chew on and play with. Mia loved them and after lunch played with them.
She had tons of fun playing and chasing their cat Slyvester! Poor kitty was doing all he could to get away from her. She insisted on pulling his tail and it wasn't until he actually swiped at her I locked him up in the room. Bad Kitty! She later shared a pair with Grandpa and ate more celery sticks. Grandma had started collecting the Yo Gabba Gabba characters for her from Jack In The Box. Right now they sell little finger puppet toys of them, so she got Mia a Toodee, Plex, and FooFa. She went nuts over these and played and played. Overall the visit went great and was lots of fun. She even took a nap on Daddy! Which is rare... but she was really tired.. poor baby.
After awhile it was time to go home. So we packed up all our things and said our sad goodbyes and headed home. Things went well at first. She fell asleep for half of the trip and Adrian and I really got to chat and enjoy each others company. Then she woke up and was NOT happy! Not only was she bored she was hungry too! I filled her little snack cup with all the snackies she had (cheerios, yogart melts etc) and she wolfed them down like nothing. Luckily Grandma had packed her some celery for the road so I gave her a couple of sticks and she munched on them for awhile which bought us more time. Eventually not even the celery was appeasing her anymore and we HAD to pull off. So about 30 mins from home we pulled off in Corona at a Jack In The Box. I changed her diaper and gathered any food I could so I could make a meal for her since it was past her dinner time. We also ordered her a grilled cheese from the Menu AND because she just HAD to complete her set, Daddy bough her TWO more Gabba Characters! Muno and Broobee! Now she has all of them. We ate inside and sat her in a high chair. She played with her new Gabba toys and ate her food like a big girl. Then one of the cashiers came up to us and let us know she accidentally gave us the wrong order! and gave us some extra fries! We didn't even notice the mistake but in the bag Mia got an extra toy! She got another Toodee!!! YAY!!! She liked that! Anyways after eating and resting a bit it was back into the car. This time Mia didn't mind and she did good until we got home.
Once we got home she went nuts!!! IM FREE!!!! type of thing. She ran around and played with the magnets on the fridge while her Daddy and I put stuff away. Then she ran over to me and started trying to crawl up my leg! She wanted me to pick her up and cuddle her...awwwwww! I melted. So I cuddled her alittle on the couch then brought up her upstairs to her room and cuddled her on the rocking chair. She just quietly talked to me and just rested. It was a great ending to a wonderful weekend. I then laid her down and she went right to bed, no fussing or crying.
Now I am here... phew! Well I almost made it under 30 mins.. .its about 45 mins. Not to bad. I know there is so much more to mention but I am so tired. Hopefully I will be able to come back and fill in anything I missed, until then I am off to bed for some much needed rest from a fun fun fun weekend!
Friday, August 21, 2009
58 weeks old!
Current mood: hungry
Phew... finally a week to catch our breath alittle. We all have been on the go go go go every week for what seems like forever. So it was nice to finally have a week to slow down a bit for once haha. Granted it will be another whirlwind of a weekend starting tomorrow (We are going up to Oxnard for Mia's big Cousin Sarah's 7th birthday!) it was nice to actually have a slow week.
Don't get me wrong though, it didn't start off slow. It started with another visit from Grandpa and Grandma Pizano! They came down for a second visit since the first one was too quick and fast. Not sure when they will be able to come down again since our schedules are pretty full for the next month or so, so we took the opprotunity to invite them over again. It was a great visit. They really got to visit with Mia and catch up with her. Adrian and I got to actually go out and see a Movie! (District 9) We had not been able to do that since Mia was literally a baby newborn when we got to see Batman! So it was a nice treat for us. We all got to go out to eat at Don Jose's and Grandpa literally showed off Mia by walking to all the tables and introducing her to everyone! haha it was really sweet. Overall the visit was awesome, I can't wait to have them down again. With the way time is flying by I am sure it won't be too long.
Mia also popped out another Tooth! and it was another Molar! Thats right she is now a proud owner of 7 teeth total! I haven't checked her mouth recently (she did bite me pretty hard the last time I did) but I am sure #8 isn't that far behind since it is almost broken through the gums. My little Mia and her chompers!
With the new teeth also comes "teething" and she has had a couple of bad nights where it has woken her up from her sleep. I now make sure I give her alittle tylonal before bedtime so she can sleep peacefully without any pain. One night I forgot to do this and she woke up miserable. Poor baby! I was still able to comfort her and she let me hold her like I used to as a baby new born. It was so nice to bond with her like that again. My little girl always acts so grown up now she hardly EVER lets you cuddle her like that, so it was a nice Mama treat for me. She has been getting better with her teething lately, hopefully it will continue through the weekend. I also noticed she is munching on everything and ANYTHING she can get her little mouth on. Lately its been her house box. I have put tape all along the edges just so she couldn't chew chunks out of the cardboard anymore but now she is getting smart enough to know how to pull the tape off and get to the cardboard anyways! I even had to punish her yesterday for doing this. After telling her no 3-4 different times within a couple of mins. and taking her away from the box she still kept going to it and eating so, so I finally had to take the box away from her. She was NOT a happy camper about that and was very upset. I didn't give her back her box house till the next day. So far so good, she hasn't munched on it yet...
I was so happy yesterday, I had made some homemade veggie soup and Mia actually liked it!!! I previously fed her chicken before (grilled/shredded) but she didn't like it. She also didn't like mashed potatoes either. So I was so happy and surprised to see her eat my soup since there was potatoes and chicken in it. She not only ate everything but she looked like she enjoyed it. I was in the cooking mood the other day and came up with my own "Super Soup" comprised of techniques and ingrediants I learned from cooking my other two favorite soups (caldo de papa (my mother in law recipe), and cabbage soup (my dad/grandma's recipe)) This new soup had tomatoes, chicken, celery, zucchini, carrots, potatoes, bell peppers, onions, garlic, oregano, pepper and more. I cooked it a different way with alot of prep work and sautaying. To my surprise it came out sooo good!!!!! I am so happy Mia approved of it because it really is pretty good for her, I didn't add salt and it still was very tasty. Yum Yum! The only bad thing now is, its almost gone. With me, Adrian and now Mia chomping into it, its going fast! I think I need to make some more, too bad it takes an hour and a half to prepare and cook!! YIKES!
Mia and I also go to go on a shopping trip to the Outlets in Lake Elsinore. I wanted to buy her a new bracelet and ended up coming home with two! Unfortunately the Halloween one I had to take away from her. She started chewing on the dangly pumpkins and tore one off! so needless to say she isn't getting that one back. The other one is a colorful stretchy kind that is about 3 sizes to big for her. She is better with that one though it falls off, she loves putting it on herself and walking around. My little girly girl!
Well thats about it for the week. I am sure I will have lots to write about after this weekend. Speaking of which I better go start packing!!! See you later!
Tuesday, August 18, 2009
Being comforted by Mama and out and about
Current mood: content
Mia has been really good about sleeping throughout the night without waking up. It has been literally months and months and MONTHS since the last time she even woke up crying. So it was a bit odd to hear here around 10pm last night crying in her bed. She has been teething BAD lately and I didn't give her tylonal before bed. I was in the tech center with Daddy when it happened. We both looked at each other. It wasn't one of her whiney cries either, you could tell something was really bothering her. I was more concerned by the fact that if I went into her room to comfort her, she would never go back to sleep and will cry even more after I left. She cried more and I just HAD to go in anyway and take my chances.
As soon as I stepped in the door she saw me and cried "Mama!!!" She was sitting there in the middle of her bed just miserable. So I picked her up and consoled her. Daddy walked in and she didn't go to him! Thats odd. I guess she really wanted to be held by her Mama right then. I grabbed her baby tylonal by her bed and her blanket. I walked over to the rocking chair in her room, gave her, her medicine and wrapped her up in her blankey and put her on my shoulder like I used to do when she was a baby newborn. She NEVER stays on the shoulder but this time she didn't mind. Infact she was hugging me back. I gentally rocked her and kept talking to her in a low voice soothing her. She relaxed and even got comfortable. I was trying to buy some time for her medicine to kick in before I laid her back down. I wasn't sure what I was in store for once I did that. So I just enjoyed cuddling her and the moment since it is so rare to be able to comfort her like that, Ms. Anti-cuddler! haha I felt good I could console her and I really felt like a great Mom. She would sit up and look at me then lay back down on my chest and let me rock her with her blanket. Then when I felt enough time had past I slowly got up and rocked her in my arms one last time and laid her down. To my amazement she actually didn't mind being laid back down. I covered her with her blanket, said good night and walked out and didn't hear a pep out of her again! Yay! Scrore one for Mama! Even Daddy was shocked by the fact he didn't hear her cry. I was all proud of myself! Maybe I am getting the hang of this Mama thing =)
Well I am not sure if I have mentioned this before, but I accidentally lost her favorite little butterfly bracelete she LOVES. The very one that was given to her by her big cousin Brianna. I was so sad, but not as sad as Mia. I promised her I would buy her a new one so early in the morning I packed up our stuff and got ready to head out to Lake Elsinore Outlets where they have the Gymboree there. I knew I saw them there before. I was still tired but I was on a mission. Just as I was loading up the car there, on the cupboard next to the garage door was her butterfly bracelete! YAY!!! I was so happy I found it. Since we both were already ready and the car packed up I just HAD to go to the Outlets anyways so off we went. The weather was warm, low 90s and it was only 10am! Once we got to the Outlets it was warmer! YIKES! I busted out her stroller and off we went to go shopping for a new bracelete!
After hitting a few kids stores and not finding any bracletes I finally came upon Gymboree. I went through all their accessories and only found 1 bracelete that had clamps like her butterfly one does. It was a Halloween one with some black cats, pumpkins and candy corn charms on it. It wasn't the prettiest but it was something, and I did promise her I'd buy her one and she was being such a good girl at the mall, singing and jibber jabbering. So I went to purchase it, I asked the clerk if they had any more braceletes and she found 1 more. It was the stretchy kind and a big too big for her but it was cute and she liked it so I bought that one too. Once we left the store I put them on her, one on each arm. She went nuts! She got all excited and started shaking her wrists around and talking up a storm! She played with those little bracletes the whole time until we went home. I was happy I was able to buy something for her that she really liked. It was a fun day!
The rest of the day went pretty smooth, Daddy BBQ'd and Mia played. She did get a bit fussy here and there from her teeth so I gave her more medicine and she perked right up. I love being a Mama so many adventures and everyday is a new experience. I couldn't be happier!
Mia has been really good about sleeping throughout the night without waking up. It has been literally months and months and MONTHS since the last time she even woke up crying. So it was a bit odd to hear here around 10pm last night crying in her bed. She has been teething BAD lately and I didn't give her tylonal before bed. I was in the tech center with Daddy when it happened. We both looked at each other. It wasn't one of her whiney cries either, you could tell something was really bothering her. I was more concerned by the fact that if I went into her room to comfort her, she would never go back to sleep and will cry even more after I left. She cried more and I just HAD to go in anyway and take my chances.
As soon as I stepped in the door she saw me and cried "Mama!!!" She was sitting there in the middle of her bed just miserable. So I picked her up and consoled her. Daddy walked in and she didn't go to him! Thats odd. I guess she really wanted to be held by her Mama right then. I grabbed her baby tylonal by her bed and her blanket. I walked over to the rocking chair in her room, gave her, her medicine and wrapped her up in her blankey and put her on my shoulder like I used to do when she was a baby newborn. She NEVER stays on the shoulder but this time she didn't mind. Infact she was hugging me back. I gentally rocked her and kept talking to her in a low voice soothing her. She relaxed and even got comfortable. I was trying to buy some time for her medicine to kick in before I laid her back down. I wasn't sure what I was in store for once I did that. So I just enjoyed cuddling her and the moment since it is so rare to be able to comfort her like that, Ms. Anti-cuddler! haha I felt good I could console her and I really felt like a great Mom. She would sit up and look at me then lay back down on my chest and let me rock her with her blanket. Then when I felt enough time had past I slowly got up and rocked her in my arms one last time and laid her down. To my amazement she actually didn't mind being laid back down. I covered her with her blanket, said good night and walked out and didn't hear a pep out of her again! Yay! Scrore one for Mama! Even Daddy was shocked by the fact he didn't hear her cry. I was all proud of myself! Maybe I am getting the hang of this Mama thing =)
Well I am not sure if I have mentioned this before, but I accidentally lost her favorite little butterfly bracelete she LOVES. The very one that was given to her by her big cousin Brianna. I was so sad, but not as sad as Mia. I promised her I would buy her a new one so early in the morning I packed up our stuff and got ready to head out to Lake Elsinore Outlets where they have the Gymboree there. I knew I saw them there before. I was still tired but I was on a mission. Just as I was loading up the car there, on the cupboard next to the garage door was her butterfly bracelete! YAY!!! I was so happy I found it. Since we both were already ready and the car packed up I just HAD to go to the Outlets anyways so off we went. The weather was warm, low 90s and it was only 10am! Once we got to the Outlets it was warmer! YIKES! I busted out her stroller and off we went to go shopping for a new bracelete!
After hitting a few kids stores and not finding any bracletes I finally came upon Gymboree. I went through all their accessories and only found 1 bracelete that had clamps like her butterfly one does. It was a Halloween one with some black cats, pumpkins and candy corn charms on it. It wasn't the prettiest but it was something, and I did promise her I'd buy her one and she was being such a good girl at the mall, singing and jibber jabbering. So I went to purchase it, I asked the clerk if they had any more braceletes and she found 1 more. It was the stretchy kind and a big too big for her but it was cute and she liked it so I bought that one too. Once we left the store I put them on her, one on each arm. She went nuts! She got all excited and started shaking her wrists around and talking up a storm! She played with those little bracletes the whole time until we went home. I was happy I was able to buy something for her that she really liked. It was a fun day!
The rest of the day went pretty smooth, Daddy BBQ'd and Mia played. She did get a bit fussy here and there from her teeth so I gave her more medicine and she perked right up. I love being a Mama so many adventures and everyday is a new experience. I couldn't be happier!
Sunday, August 16, 2009
Another fun weekend with the Grandparents!!!
Current mood: happy
Wow another fun and whirlwind of a weekend... we just had one last week too! We invited her Grandpa and Grandma Pizano over for another visit. It was so much fun last weekend and it went by so fast (especially with all the little running around they did tracking down her princess car replacement) that we decided they just didn't have enough of a "Mia dose" so we asked if they wanted to come back. Of course they jumped at any chance to see her. We also knew that the new upcoming weeks will be so busy they won't be able to come up again anytime soon.
They got here early Saturday morning and of course rushed in to see Mia. She showed off her new outfit and unlike last week she wasn't all unsure and didn't give the cold stare. She warmed up to them right away, especially to Grandma who brought her a surprise, more Special Snackies!!! Yum yum! We all got to visit for a bit and chomp down on some food they brought with them "Miguels" mmmm.....I then cooked Mia her lunch (an omlete, pancakes and some blueberries) Grandpa held her while she ate her pancakes but she ended up putting more on him than in her mouth! At one point she even pulled a piece out of her mouth and quickly tried to shove it in his mouth! YUK!!!!! She didn't want pancakes anymore and once Grandma took her over to fed her, her omlete, Grandpa was literally covered in huge chunks and crumbs of pancake! It was too funny. She ate all neatly with Grandma didn't drop or smear any egg or blueberries! haha
After visiting a bit more and watching our favorite childhood movie (PeeWee's Big Adventure) my parents convinced Adrian and I to go out and see a movie since we didn't get a chance to last week. Again I was alittle hesitant since I hate leaving Mia, but the fact that we haven't been to the movies since "Batman: The Dark Knight" (over a YEAR ago) I realized we were long overdue so we took them up on the offer. After getting Mia's dinner set up for later we went to the mall and actually got to see a movie (District 9) it was a pretty good movie. I still couldn't wait to go home and see Mia again (ya I know I am sooo attached). When we got home she got all excited and quickly greeted us.
Her Grandpa and Grandma said she was a perfect little angel while we were gone. No fussing no whining. They all played and played. Grandma even crawled into her box with her! haha Grandpa wrestled with her and tickled her and everyone had a great time. She was jibber jabbering like crazy and they finally got to see the "Real" Mia. Last week she played but was on the quiet side, however, this week she finally relaxed enough to open up and be herself. It was a real treat for them.
After more chasing her around and having fun she finally started to tucker out and off to bed she went. She went right to sleep.
The next morning everyone but Adrian woke up before Mia!!! Poor thing was so tried from all the fun she had the day before. I had a chance to catch up with my Mom and Dad which was a real treat for me. Then Mia made a tiny noise though the Baby Monitor and my Mama radar kicked off and I got up to go get her. My Dad was amazed how sensitive my Mama radar is since he didn't even ear anything! haha Grandma and I went upstairs to greet Mia. She was happy to see us but still waking up so we brought her downstairs and she cuddled with Grandma while Grandpa tickled her feet. I was making her breakfast at the time. Once I was done it was Grandpa who fed her and she did good. She didn't get much cream of wheat in her hair for once! haha After alittle more visiting and playing we all decided to go out for lunch.
Once everyone was ready we packed up and off we went to Lake Elsinore to a little Mexican food restaurant called "Don Jose's". I LOVE their tortilla soup there and their other food is pretty good too. I had Mia dressed in her cute little summer dress and matching yellow hat and her pink sunglasses. EVERYONE fell in love with her in the restaurant. Even people who were waiting for a table along with us commented on how cute her hat was. Once we were seated we all ordered and Mia got to order from the "Ninos" menu! (A quesidilla and beans and rice) She did great, even without having her normal morning nap. She colored and played and munched on snackies. When the food finally came she dove into her first quesadilla! but after getting stuffed on cheese she didn't want anymore and tried to wear some as a hat. She even chucked a few pieces far behind her and it landed right in the middle of the isle... sigh haha!!! She didn't like the beans. I think she likes Mama's beans better since they aren't refried and are fresh haha. I busted out her emergency avocado from her diaper bag and she had that to top her off. Overall she did great. Once we were ready to go and were packing up I put her hat and glasses back on and right away Grandpa picked her up and said "I need to show off my Granddaughter!" and to everyone's amazement he actually went to every booth across from us and one by one introduced Mia to the customers at the restaurant saying "This is my Granddaughter and I want to show her off" haha It was so cute! Mia of course, with her "dainty hand" out, was looking all cute. All the people got a kick out of it and commented on how cute she was. What a proud Grandpa!
Eventually we all went home and rested a bit. I put on Mia's little San Diego Charger Cheerleader uniform and she went nuts with my old highschool cheerleading pom poms (which also are Charger colors) Her Grandparents melted and of course took TONS of pictures. We all played in the family room for a bit until both Grandpa and Mia tuckered out and they BOTH ended up taking a nap in the guestroom. Mia in her playpen and Grandpa on the bed. It was cute, now that I think about it, I should have taken a picture! Ah well....
After they both woke up it was time to go home..awwwwww. After some long, sad, and reluctant goodbyes they drove back home. We aren't too to sad though since we are planning on driving up to Oxnard next weekend for Mia's big cousin Sarah's 7th birthday!!!! So we will be able to see them again along with her Nina, Nino and cousins! and other family! I can't wait! As for now, its time for me to fix Mia's dinner, dump her in the bath and off to bed she goes, after of course little more play time!
******* UPDATE **********
I just put Mia down after giving her a looooong hot bath and while getting her all ready for bed I decided to check her mouth. She has been very fussy off and on and started up with the drooling again. I wanted to see the progress of her teeth and sure enough I got another little surprise. The tooth next to her front tooth is almost there, it should break through any day, however, she is now a new proud owner of another MOLAR!!!! Wow! That makes 2 for her! This one is on her upper right side! I also noticed her bottom gums near the molar area are also swollen. Poor sweetheart! So I gave her alittle tylonal to help her sleep better and she went right off to bed! Go Mia that makes tooth lucky number 7!
Friday, August 14, 2009
week 57!
Current mood: hungry
Happy Friday! The end of the week is here and we are all looking forward to a special and fun weekend. Her Grandparents are coming down again for another visit! YAY! Maybe I will take advantage of that and get some much needed rest and of course clean haha This week was fun fun fun! It started off with her first visit from her Grandparents (Pizano)
They came up on Saturday and it was such a whirlwind of a weekend that they just need another dose of Mia! haha I don't blame them, I see her everyday and I still don't feel I have had enough yet. We all ate breakfast at the Original Pancake House and she got to order from the kids menu. She was such a good little girl there. Overall the visit was fun, can't wait to see what tomorrow brings!
She officially turned 13 months old this week! She is growing up so fast. As I watch her walk around the living room and play I am just amazed how fast my little baby newborn is growing up. Slow down Mia!!!
She just started doing this really cute this during mealtime this week. She not only scoops up her oatmeal with her spoon but now instead of feeding herself, she reaches the spoon out to me so I can eat some! She feeds me now! haha She gets a huge kick out of this and does it ALL the time now, the only bad thing is, since she started doing this she has stopped feeding herself! Uh-oh! haha
She also learned how to take off her own Diaper! Uh-oh!!! Ya big time!!! She has only done it once, since I have not had her in just a diaper since. She was working at it for a while and as soon as she learned how to do and undo the side velcro it was over. Soon she pulled it out from under her and handed it to me. Sigh.. my little nature girl! haha Now I have to alway have a pair a shorts on her!
She also doesn't like Adrian and I hugging. Whenever one of us hugs the other (doesn't matter which is doing which) she screams, grabs her blankey, comes over and starts pulling on the shirt trying to get the person off the other. Its very cute and funny, especially the face she gives, but I am wondering why she is doing that. Its not like she wants to be hugged because as soon as we stop she walks away haha
Overall the week has been fun and again I can't wait to see what the weekend holds and the upcoming week, tons of more fun fun fun!
Wednesday, August 12, 2009
Maybe I was wrong... I don't think Mia wants a sibling anymore
Current mood: surprised
I posted about a week ago, on how I think Mia is hinting for us to give her a sibling because she LOVES little babies and any pictures of them (especially the one of my niece Sarah as a newborn that hangs in the guestroom wall)? Well I guess I was wrong because she just started doing something new that just might hinder the stork from visiting our house! haha
We noticed this off and on but now its really bad. Whenever one of us hugs the other (Adrian hugging me or vise vera) Mia has to come and pull the person who is hugging the other one off! Not only does she pull them off, but she screams once she sees it happening and scratches and claws at the person's shirt all while having the most scared look on her face. I am wondering if she thinks one person is hurting the other? Whatever it is, she doesn't like it one bit.
At first we thought maybe she just didn't want anyone close to her Daddy, since I was usually the one giving the hugs. I would go to Adrian and give him a big hug on the couch and sure enough, Mia would see, scream loudly, grab her blankey and quickly walk over and pull on my shirt trying to get me off of him all with that same look. I thought for sure it was a jealousy thing but as soon as I stopped she would go away. Then Adrian tried to hug me and to our amazement she did the exact same thing to him! She looked, screamed, grabbed her blankey, walked over and started pulling on his shirt frantically trying to get him off of me, with that funny look on her face. Once he does she goes away.
I don't think she wants a sibling anymore haha either that or since she doesn't like hugs much maybe she thinks we don't either? haha either way it is kinda cute =)
I posted about a week ago, on how I think Mia is hinting for us to give her a sibling because she LOVES little babies and any pictures of them (especially the one of my niece Sarah as a newborn that hangs in the guestroom wall)? Well I guess I was wrong because she just started doing something new that just might hinder the stork from visiting our house! haha
We noticed this off and on but now its really bad. Whenever one of us hugs the other (Adrian hugging me or vise vera) Mia has to come and pull the person who is hugging the other one off! Not only does she pull them off, but she screams once she sees it happening and scratches and claws at the person's shirt all while having the most scared look on her face. I am wondering if she thinks one person is hurting the other? Whatever it is, she doesn't like it one bit.
At first we thought maybe she just didn't want anyone close to her Daddy, since I was usually the one giving the hugs. I would go to Adrian and give him a big hug on the couch and sure enough, Mia would see, scream loudly, grab her blankey and quickly walk over and pull on my shirt trying to get me off of him all with that same look. I thought for sure it was a jealousy thing but as soon as I stopped she would go away. Then Adrian tried to hug me and to our amazement she did the exact same thing to him! She looked, screamed, grabbed her blankey, walked over and started pulling on his shirt frantically trying to get him off of me, with that funny look on her face. Once he does she goes away.
I don't think she wants a sibling anymore haha either that or since she doesn't like hugs much maybe she thinks we don't either? haha either way it is kinda cute =)
My little Nature Girl
Current mood: amused
Thank goodness the heat has some what gotten better in this area. It hasn't reached 100+ in a couple of weeks now, YAY!!! but when it was, it was very common for me to let Mia run around in nothing but a diaper. Now that its not THAT hot and the fact she got TONS of cute clothes for her birthday I rarely do this anymore. However now I am afriad I will never be able to do this again....
It was getting late and close to Mia's bedtime. I decided I would put her to bed right after we were finishing watching this show. She was in a real pretty summer dress she got her for birthday so I thought hmmm... I will give her a treat and let her run around in a diaper for a bit before I get her ready for bed and put her jammies on. Well it didn't take long before she discovered her side straps to her diaper and after close inspection she learned how to undo them!!! NOOO!!! Before I knew it, my little nature girl was running around the living room wearing nothing but the biggest smile! She was all proud of herself and was carrying that dirty diaper around as a trophy until she decided she had enough and handed it to me. (Thank goodness I didn't have to wrestle it away from her and thank goodness she didn't go poopies!!!)
Due to a little pee pee incident in the bathroom last week I didn't trust her on the carpet naked so I scooped her up and got her ready for bed early. I never did finish watching the show but ah well, shes in bed now. I don't trust her in just a t-shirt for bed anymore either and now shes back in onesies until I can find some jammie shorts to go with them haha...
Sigh... Little Mia, my little nature girl! haha
Thank goodness the heat has some what gotten better in this area. It hasn't reached 100+ in a couple of weeks now, YAY!!! but when it was, it was very common for me to let Mia run around in nothing but a diaper. Now that its not THAT hot and the fact she got TONS of cute clothes for her birthday I rarely do this anymore. However now I am afriad I will never be able to do this again....
It was getting late and close to Mia's bedtime. I decided I would put her to bed right after we were finishing watching this show. She was in a real pretty summer dress she got her for birthday so I thought hmmm... I will give her a treat and let her run around in a diaper for a bit before I get her ready for bed and put her jammies on. Well it didn't take long before she discovered her side straps to her diaper and after close inspection she learned how to undo them!!! NOOO!!! Before I knew it, my little nature girl was running around the living room wearing nothing but the biggest smile! She was all proud of herself and was carrying that dirty diaper around as a trophy until she decided she had enough and handed it to me. (Thank goodness I didn't have to wrestle it away from her and thank goodness she didn't go poopies!!!)
Due to a little pee pee incident in the bathroom last week I didn't trust her on the carpet naked so I scooped her up and got her ready for bed early. I never did finish watching the show but ah well, shes in bed now. I don't trust her in just a t-shirt for bed anymore either and now shes back in onesies until I can find some jammie shorts to go with them haha...
Sigh... Little Mia, my little nature girl! haha
Tuesday, August 11, 2009
She is now 13 months old!
Current mood: hungry
Mia keeps going and going and growing and growing and now she is officially 13 months old today!!! I can't believe its been a whole month since her birthday! Well this month has been filled with lots of fun and adventures so I might as well just get down to it! haha
Well the HUGE thing that happened this month was the fact that she officially turned 1 years old! YAY! that is a milestone in itself. She is officially a little toddler and she acts like one in every way! She is always trying to be a big girl.
She had TWO birthday parties to celebrate her turning 1. One in Oxnard with her Pizano family and one in San Diego for her San Diego family. Both were huge successes and both had huge turn outs. At her parties she even got to do a few new things, she swung on her first swing (Daddy pushing her of course), ate her first Cake and gobbled up her Birthday Cupcake and even spent the night at her Grandma and Grandpa Santos' for the first time. She got TONS of clothes and presents and she did great at both parties. She even got to see her two best friends again, Koa and Abby, which is ALWAYS a big treat.
I took her to the beach shore for the first time as well. This was after her birthday party in Oxnard was over. I walked her down to the shore so she could experience my favorite place in the world... the beach. She liked touching the sand and even got her feet wet! I can't wait to take her again!
While in Oxnard she also paid a visit to her Great Grandpa Ordonez. She had yet to meet him outside of the tummy. He is nearly 90 years old so it was a treat for him to see the youngest member of the Ordonez side of the family. Mia of course did her uneasy stare but at least she didn't cry and actually touched his finger once haha
She helped celebrate her Dada's 29th birthday this month as well and yes she even got to eat alittle of his cake too! Spoiled girl! For his birthday we all went to Disneyland. Another first for little Mia. While there she got to ride her very first ride, watch a great fireworks show, wear mini-mouse ears and even passed out in her stroller for the first time. It was a fun filled day and was magical! Too bad she slept through most of it though... sigh.. haha
She has a couple of new favorite toys. One of them being a Elmo "Live" that she got for her birthday. She goes NUTS over this little annoying red monster. She especially likes it when he dances and gives her a kiss. She gives kisses to this little guy all the time. The only thing I like about it, is that since she got him it has revived her whole "kissy" thing again. Before she stopped giving kisses but now she gives them all the time, even without being asked to. Her second favorite toy well more like toys, is her stuffed animal Gabba dolls (Foofa, Tootie, and Brobee) she carries these around ALL the time and when the show comes on she is quick to find one and hold it.
Of course a month review isn't without its negitive things. She got her 1yr. shots this month. Noooooo! Yep and unlike before, instead of getting just 3 she got 5! Two in one leg, and one in the other leg and one in each arm. Poor baby! Of course she screamed after they pricked her but she settled down fast. We treated her to one of her birthday suckers and she perked up. However, that night she started feeling under the weather and bedtime was a struggle. When neither Daddy or I could calm her down for bed it was Princess Mew Mew (our cat) to the rescue and she actually went into Mia's room whlie she was crying and meowed to her loudly until Mia stopped and went to sleep. It was really weird but sweet as well. Crazy cat! Overall she never really got sick from her shots but she did get a couple of tiny chicken pock bumps from her chicken pock vaccine. They didn't bother even though the area got really flared, bruised and ugly... but its almost 100% gone now.
Ok onto better stuff. She did graduate to a big girl car seat this month and she LOVES it! She is now forward facing and more comfy. She doesn't get all sweaty or cramped anymore like her baby newborn one. She can even look out the window now. I think its cool to be able to look behind me when I am driving and see her little face staring back at me. The only downfall is she tends to drop her blankey alot more now and its kinda hard to grab it and give it back to her while driving 70mph down the freeway! haha
Another good thing that came out of upgrading her car seat was the box it came in. I decided to keep it and make it into her little house by cutting a couple of windows out for her. She went NUTS over this box and still does. I don't think I will be able to get it out of the living room now. Its like her little house. Everyday she goes inside of it and plays. Sometimes she plays so rough and loud that the whole thing starts shaking and moving around! haha She opens and closes the windows and even throws her tiny balls out of them waiting for me to pick them up and put them back in. Its alot of fun. She even scribbled alittle bit on it with a crayon to make it more homey. Mia LOVES her box!
She also graduated to Cheerios and she loves them! She seriously eats them like if they are candy and its a great little snack since she can feed herself using the spill free cup. She will get comfy on the couch and watch her TV while snacking on Cheerios haha
Speaking of couch she has also learned how to climb on the couch!!!! Thats both good and bad. Especially since she fell off of it a couple of times already and she was not a happy camper after that happened. She is slowly learning though, that you can fall if you hang out on the edge. Most of the time she will get on the couch just so sit there and watch TV sometimes she will even lay down on the couch. However, there are still those instances where she tries to jump up and down on the couch and thats when its scary. You can't take your eyes off of her for a min. now because once you do, BAM! something bad happens haha
She has also added a few words to her vocabulary. Granted she doesn't say them on command and only when SHE wants to say them but she does say them, and more than once. Up, Dog, Here and Water are just a few of them. I can't wait till she can do them on command so I can show people, but she is stubborn in that way she only repeats things when SHE wants to... I wonder where she got that from?!?! Hahahaha
She is also becoming Mama's little helper. After meals when I wipe down her tray I will hand her the wipee and she will clean her tray with it, then hand it back to me! It is really cute. Also if she finds something that doesn't belong on the floor (other than maybe a dropped Cheerio) she will pick it up and walk over to me and hand it to me. She no longer just eats anything and everything off the floor. YAY!!! I was so happy when she grew out of that stage.
With all the helping and giving stuff to me that she shouldn't be having (she does this on command too) she is now starting to share more. She shares her food, her toys and even her blankey. She will walk over to you and hand it to you, and when you acknowledge her and thank her she gets all happy and proud of herself. I also noticed she does share alot more when I feed her something she does care in attempts to get rid of it! haha
She is becoming more interactive with TV now too. She will laugh at cartoons and if she knows what will happen next she will anticipate it. For example, there is a Gabba episode which a CobraMan comse out and everyone screams and she knows this will happen and scream right before everyone else will.
Thank goodness the weather got tolerable a few times where she could go outside and play in the front yard. She got to experience the sprinklers for the first time and didn't really like them at first. After I showed them to her in a better fashion (rather than just turning them on her) she got better and started touching them. She even got to play in her little baby pool for the first time too! She loved splashing around walking around and even licked the water a few times. She did fall once on her back but she never cried, unfortunately she did poop in the pool so fun time was quickly cut short! haha
I also think she is hinting that she wants a sibling to play with. She LOVES babies and kids and when you show her pictures of them she gets all smiley and excited. I have a picture frame in our guest room of her Cousin Sarah when she was a baby new born. Its right above the bed and Mia always has to go over to it, smile at it and talk up a storm. She gets all expressive with her hands and just talks and talks. I think she will do good with a little brother or sister. We are planning on another at the end of the year but who knows... maybe sooner?!
She finally got to eat restaurant food for the first time! I am always packing the food she will eat when we go out but this time I let her eat something on the menu. Of course it was her favorite, pancakes! haha Then a week later we actually got to order some food for her off the kids menu for the first time! I was so proud of her, my little one is growing up! And she does great in the restaurants. She pretty much keeps entertained with coloring with the crayons they give her and she eats her food too. Luckily, so far, she is not a screamer like most little ones at restaurants... I hope that lasts and contiunes forever! haha
Since she quit the bottle before her birthday we transitioned her to whole milk. I wasn't sure how she would react to it but it went great! Infact she LOVES Milk and its a big treat for her to get a ice cold sipee cup full. She still only drinks water and milk but her fluid intake is finally getting better. She still doesn't like juices but as long as she drinking milk I guess thats good. She quit her formula when she quit her bottle. She weaned herself from the formula and bottle so I didn't have any trouble retiring them which I hear is rare... so I am grateful.
She had her first taste of Maui too! Daddy found a Maui Gold Pineapple at the store and brought it home. She LOVES it and so did Mama. It sure did bring back alot of memories of that wonderful island. I can't wait to go back!
She is also slowly learning to run and she actually did run for the first time. Granted it was only from the TV to the couch but it was a full on sprint! I was chasing her trying to get her to put on her jammies and she was running all over the place just to get away from me. Its official Mia is on the move!
Mia also popped out her first molar too!!!! Thats right tooth number 6 is out and #7 is right behind. It should be breaking through any day.. infact I think I will go check to see if it finally came out!
Her Grandparent's Pizano also came down for a visit this month. That was a treat for all of us. We all went out to eat at a restaurant for the first time and they were impressed on what a good little girl she was. The visit was great and of course went by to fast. I can't wait to go down to Oxnard again to see my family.
Overall the month was awesome. I couldn't ask for anything better. It came with tons of new adventures and a few milestones as well.
Summary:
Feedings: Mia is an eating machine. I still don't know how she packs so much food in that little tiny body of hers! haha Like I mentioned before she is completely off the bottle, formula, babyfood and even baby oatmeal. In the morning she eats Cream of Wheat, Yogart with fresh strawberries blended in, and half a banana and Cheerios and milk. For lunch she gets an scrambled egg with cheese, 2-3 pancakes, 2-3 spoonfuls of cottage cheese, and a fruit (a cup of blueberries or fresh strawberries or mango) and milk for dinner she has beans, cheese and pasta, a half to whole avocado, the other half of her banana and fruit and milk. She is such a good eater however we did finally run into some things she doesn't like to eat. For example, honeydew melon, cantalope, mashed potatoes and shredded chicken. She snackes on Cheerios and water between meals.
New Things:
Turned 1, had 2 bday parties, rode the swings for the first time, ate bday cake and a cupcake for the first time, went to the beach, met her Great Grandpa Ordonez, celebrated Daddy's birthday, went to Disneyland, rode her first real ride, slept in her stroller, got 5 shots at once, got a big girl car seat, eats cheerios in a cup, learned to climb on the couch, new words: up, dog, water, here, she is more helpful, leanred to share, interacts more with the TV, experience the sprinklers outside, played in her kiddy pool, loves her box house, ordered from the kiddy menu and ate restaurant food, ate her first Maui Gold Pineapple, grew her first Molar, and ran
Weight:
Height:
Goals met from last month?:
Yep yep! She met all the goals set last month. She accepts milk and drinks a TON of it now. She did run a couple of times and she does say new words. YAY! Go Mia!
Goals for next month:
Run better, say more than just "Hat" on command, learn to climb off the couch without falling off more consistantly, add a few new things to her daily menu
Sunday, August 9, 2009
A fun weekend with her Grandparents!
Current mood: exhausted
Wow talk about a whirlwind and fun weekend! Mia got some special visitors this weekend, her Grandpa and Grandma Pizano came into town to visit her... and us too haha. It was short notice on our part since we invited them up on Friday afternoon. The house wasn't in the shape that I would like it to be but it was still presentable. My Dad always asks over and over with everyone phone call, when they can come up and see Mia so we thought, why not? Our weekend was actually free for once so we just decided to have them over. It was tons of fun and I am so glad we did it.
They ended up coming up Saturday afternoon and they were just tickled to see Mia again. It has almost been a whole month since the last they got to see her. I had her dressed in one of her poofy dresses she got for her birthday and of course they just melted. Mia on the other hand, who was all perky and playful moments before they got there, froze up again and let them know they would have to work hard to win her over .......yet again. She just gave them the cold stare and would not laugh for anything, even when tickled. She never cries or gets scared, its more of just a real serious side of her comes out. She warmed up quickly though and both her Grandpa and Grandma were fighting over who could hold her. Once while her Grandpa was holding her on his lap, she decided it was cuddle time and rested her head on his chest. Instantly my Dad stopped talking and just melted. She was such a good girl. After getting tons of cuddles she finally started playing with her toys. Grandma played with her toys and even with her box house. Grandpa was resting from the drive a bit and visiting with us.
I cut up the second Maui Gold Pineapple I got from WinCo so everyone could have a sweet treat. After visiting a bit more they decided to make a quick trip to Target to exchange Mia's birthday present they gave her. It was a little pink princess car that you can ride on and it plays music. When you hit a certain button the princesses out front start twirling around in a circle. Mia LOVED this toy however, when we brought it down to San Diego for her birthday party, it broke and never worked right again. The princesses wouldn't move anymore and we all were sad. So it was Grandpa and Grandma to the rescue. Armed with the reciept they went down the street to Target to exchange it for a new one. Adrian, Mia and I all rested a bit at home and I fed her dinner while they were gone. When we noticed that they had been gone for a long while we got a bit concerned. Target is only about 5-10mins away and you don't even have to take the freeway. Then my Dad called and told me that the Target they went to didn't carry an extra car to exchange so they had to try TWO other Targets in the area before they found one that did!!! They were on a mission and it was all for Mia! They came home a short while later with tons of surprises for her! One of those surprises was more snackies!!! We stopped buying her favorite rice puff snackies while back, once she started eating Cheerios to save money, so this was a huge treat for Mia. She went nuts being able to have them again and the fact she got to choose between 3 different flavors! Her second surprise was even cuter. Mia got this little FooFa (A Yo Gabba Gabba character) from her Grandma for her birthday and she LOVES it, she carries it all around with her, well one of her new surprises was that they also got her a Tootie AND Brobee (both Gabba Characters!) Mia lite up right away when she saw Tootie and got all smiley and excited... she walked away holding it all happy. My Mom called her back and gave her the Brobee she bought.. Mia took the Brobee... looked at it for a second (still holding Tootie in the other hand) then handed Brobee back to my Mom and took off with Tootie! haha She would not let go of that Tootie. Eventually she picked up Brobee but ended up giving it to me to hold. Whenever I put it down even in my lap she would walk back to me and hand it back to me and make me hold it with my hands! haha She then gave the FooFa for her Grandpa to hold and she walked around with her Tootie haha. They also brought in her brand new princess car for her! YAY! I tore it out of the box and Mia went nuts. She loved seeing the princesses spin again and the music. She even rode it a a bit and even attempted to spin around on her butt like the princesses spin! haha She was one happy baby.
Then my parents convinced Adrian and I to go out while they watched Mia. Something we NEVER get to do by ourselves since we don't live near ANY babysitters. After much reluctency on my end (I was tired, wanted to visit with my parents AND I always hate leaving the baby (I am overly attached to her)) I finally agreed to go since it would be a treat to spend time with my husband again! haha. We both got ready and we left. At first we were going to just go out and eat but we ended up hitting the Mall first. I wasn't expecting that but Adrian was driving and he took me there. He said he wanted to buy me a new pair of jeans since my current pair were getting so old. I am down to only one pair of jeans now, and since I am not working any little money I get from unemployment goes to Mia supplies or car payment. I have not bought myself any clothes in literally YEARS! (I stopped working in 2007) So it was a huge treat. I knew what a tight budget we are on and how we need to be aware of all our spending so talk about shocked when he took me to Macys'! We only had about 45mins to shop before the store closed so we ran around looking at all the jeans. He was such a sweetheart and helped me find the perfect pair and perfect size. Even while trying on the different jeans he was out finding me more and was ready to hand me more if I didn't like the ones I had. What a great husband isn't he?! Eventually I found the pair I LOVED! it was a pair of Tommy Hilfiger!!! I have never in my life ever owned a pair of name brand jeans!! I have never been in a situation where I could splurge with money even when I was working! I always had to pay rent for my apartments, school supplies, work clothes or something! I was tickled pink! Thank goodness they ended up being on sale so we didn't have to pay the full $70! but I have to admit they definately are the most comfortable jeans I have ever worn! They are almost as comfy as wearing sweats! haha Anyways after the mall we went down the street to eat at one of our favorite restaurants, The Roadhouse Bar and Grill. We LOVE eating there but haven't in such a long time. So it was a huge treat to eat there plus not having to worry about having Mia and making sure she is happy. We got to really enjoy each other's company and had a great time. Of course Mia was the topic of most of my conversations and I even had to make a quick call home to check up on her. She was already in bed by then and that made me relax more. After dinner we went home and I got to show off my new jeans! I was so happy. After visiting a bit more we all went to bed.
I got up in the morning when Mia woke up and after dressing her up all cute again, I woke my parents up with her in my arms. They popped out of bed and greeted her with hugs and kisses. I let them all get reaquainted since Mia, at first, gave them the cold shoulder... err eyes again, while I fixed her breakfast. She even said a new word to Grandma!!! When she was trying to give her FooFa and Grandma wasn't paying attention Mia said "here" with her arm stretched out handing it to my Mom! Too Cute!!! Once I was done getting her breakfast ready, Grandpa fed her and she perked right up. Then they took turns playing, cuddling and just enjoying Mia while we all got ready to go out for breakfast. Once everyone was ready to go, we all left to our favorite breakfast place, The Original Pancake House. Once we got there and Daddy got Mia off the car I put on her pink summer hat and watermelon sunglasses! Her Grandpa and Grandma melted and quickly busted out with their camera to take tons of pictures. We eventually made it to the restaurant and right away every waitress that saw Mia stopped and said "Awwww how cute!!!" one even asked where she got the cute sunglasses from. We got seated and looked through the menu. Mia did great, she never fussed, cried or did anything bad. She was a perfect angel, unlike the screaming baby (who was also around her age) next to us. She colored with Grandpa, they played table drums with the silverware, and she even got to order her own meal from the menu for the first time!! She got the Jr. Meal which comes with 3 pancakes and 1 egg. When our food came we all chowed down, even Mia who ate from her own plate like a big girl. We had a great time there then it was off to home we went. Oh before we left, an elderly couple stopped by our table just to see Mia up close. They complimented on what a cute baby she was and how they just had to see her closer. We all beamed with pride as Mia just did her normal "who are you?!?" stare haha.
Once we got home we all rested. Mia played with her car and even got on it and tried to push herself on the carpet. She learned how to open and close the secret compartment and she even put her toys in there. I decided to give my parents alittle treat and made some home made playdough again, took some hand and feet impressions of Mia, baked it and gave it to them for a present. They went nuts over that. After alittle more visiting it was time for them to go home. It was sad. We all wished them bye and Mia waved bye to them as they drove off. I fixed Mia some dinner and later gave her a bath and off to bed she went. Despite a short 10min nap in the car she had not slept ALL day and it was already 7:30! she was amazenly good, never cried, fussed or got moody at all.
Overall the visit went great! and we all had so much fun. I can't wait till we can all visit again, hopefully it will be sometime soon. As for me I am dragging and soooo tired, so I am off to bed myself. Night, night....
Friday, August 7, 2009
....56 weeks!
Current mood: cheerful
Good Morning and Happy Friday! Mia has hit her 56 week mark and is still going strong. Thank goodness for once the week slowed down a bit, but it wasn't without some adventures and a HUGE milestone!!!
The week started with the three of us going around town for some errunds. We also ate breakfast at our favorite breakfast place and Mia got to eat restaurant food for the first time! Usually I pack her the food she will eat but since we LOVES pancakes l let her have some from there. She LOVED them and scarfed down 2.5! along with some egg from Daddy's omlete. It was fun. Afterwards we went to a petshop she Mia could check out the animals, and she got a huge kick out of the lizards and dogs. We just need to save up some money so we can finally take her to a real zoo to see cool animals! haha
We finally busted out her little baby pool this week too and she had a blast! She splashed around, walked around the pool and jibber jabbered the whole time... that is until she had alittle accident in it and caused pool time to be over in a flash. No I am not talking about when she fell backwards, face up in the pool, but its what happened after that. A few times I thought she may have gone poopies but both times it was a false alarm... but you know Mia, third time a charm. And boy was it. Yep she went poopies in the pool and I quickly had to strip her down (in the front yard too!) throw her shirt towel on her and ran her into the house to clean her up. Daddy had to deal with the bombers left in the pool, but I still think he had the easy job of the two! haha Anyways after she was all cleaned up I let her walk around outside for a bit before we all went in. It was a fun day.
Mia got to taste her very first Maui Gold Pineapple. A fluke thing happened and WinCo actually carried it for a week, so Daddy picked us up one. For anyone how has ever eaten a Maui Gold knows just how delicious they are. Nothing, and I mean NOTHING tops those kind of pineapples.. and Mia loved it! I won't feed her any other type since pineapples are known to be very acidic but not Maui Golds! It was a treat for us all!
Mia also did two milestones this week!!! and both happened yesterday. One of them being she popped out her very first Molar! (tooth #6!) We were all shocked by it, especially since the rest of her teeth haven't come out yet. The other milestone was she actually RAN for the first time!!!!! I couldn't believe it! She actually made some distance before falling. I was getting her ready for bed and had her jammies with me. As soon as she sees jammies she knows what they are and always tries to get away from me. She usually walks as fast as she can away from me and sometimes even attempts to run but usually eats it after only a couple of steps. However, yesterday she actually made it from the TV to our couch before she fell and it was a full on sprint! I couldn't believe it, she was so fast!!! haha Well looks like I will have my work cut out for me chasing that little one very soon!
She is also, FINALLY, starting to share alot more now. I think its because she understands "Give it to Mama" whenever she picks up something she shouldn't be having. Sometimes she just gives me something she finds off the floor and knows she shouldn't have it... its rare but it happens. However, now she is actually sharing her toys and especially food!!! Sometimes she will find one of her toys, walk over to you and just hand it to you, her blankey too! then walk away. So cute! During meal times she always makes it a point to eat alittle then hand you one to eat, then eat alittle more and hand you another. She also LOVES to hand you things she doesn't like eating either! Instead of spitting it on the floor, throwing it or crying she will just keep handing it back to you. A perfect example of this is when I fed her honeydew melon. She didn't like it and kept handing the little pieces of it back to me one by one, it was funny.
She still insists you put things on you head and call it a "hat" whether it be a real hat or a toy or remote or blankey. She will come over, shove it in your face attempting to put it on your head, and you HAVE to put it on your head. She says "Hat Hat Hat" smiles then walks away. You better keep it on your head too because she will turn around to check to see if you are still wearing it and if you happen to take it off she will give you the saddest, broken hearted look ever!!! Like if you didn't like her present or something, then she will walk back and shove it in your face again until you put it back. It is very cute, but not so great when its the remote or a toy that doesn't go on your head. If you try to put it on her head she quickly shakes her head no, takes it off and gives it back to you. Little Mia, so obessed with Hats.
She is getting better and better climbing on the couch now and even attempts to jump on it. She will bend her knees and pop back up as fast as she can to try to get off the ground and jump. Of course it scares me out of my wits since I think she will fall off the couch, but she manages to stay on top. She LOVES being on the couch, I think she feels like a big girl when shes on it since her Mama and Daddy are always sitting on it. She will even make herself comfy by finding her Cheerio cup and sitting our favorite corner of the couch. She will grab her blankey and lay down on it too! Silly girl! It still makes me very nervous though but I can't seem to stop her, shes always up there now.
Another thing that I have not written about before, but decided to bring it up, is her chicken pox injection site has finally gotten better. She got her shot back on July 20th and it took this long before it finally got better. All her other injection site healed up fine without any brusing or redness, all except her chicken pox one. That one bruised really REALLY bad and took days (over a week!) to finally start to fade. Then it turned deep red and two little bumps appeared. One of the two bumps got REALLY big and looked like an actual chicken pock. When it got bigger and bigger and redness encompassed it we got worried and contacted her doctor about it. He was on vacation so it took awhile before the office got back to us with an answer from another doctor. They said as long as its showing signs of fading (which it is) and not getting redder that its ok, otherwise bring her back in. However, now its really starting to fade ALOT more and one of the bumps is gone. The giant bump is finally going down and the redness is also fading. Thank goodness! That was no fun. The whole time Mia didn't even seem to be bothered by it. It didn't itch her and she didn't even notice if you touched/pressed it, so that was good. That was the only reason we didn't take her in sooner, and now its almost gone YAY!
Thats about it for the week. I guess more happened than I realized! I guess I am finally getting used to this roller coaster of Motherhood! YAY! We will see what other new adventures we will have this upcoming weekend and week! Can't wait!
Thursday, August 6, 2009
Mia just popped out her first Molar today!!!!!
Current mood: shocked
I knew she was teething hardcore the past few weeks. It started around her birthday but has since gotten a bit better and she has perked up some. She still gets a little moody at times and the drooling has returned, though thank goodness not as bad as before. I have checked her mouth numerous times waiting to see which tooth would poke through first. It was a race between a tooth next to her front (right side, her left side came in awhile back) and her left side canine tooth (both were budding and ready to break through any day) however the tooth no one suspected decided to take the lead and poke through today! It is her first molar!!!!! Its on her left side.
She was being extra whiny so I decided to check her mouth again. I felt around for the usual spots and didn't find anything sharp... then I reached back and found a sharp little tooth poking out!! I couldn't understand why her canine (which was supposed to pop out next) was so far back so of course I had to pin her down and take a real good look. Mia obviously didn't go down without a battle, but having her scream made things alittle easier since I didn't have to pry her mouth open. Sure enough it wasn't the canine like I thought, it was infact her first molar! A small corner is poking out but I can see the outline of the whole tooth ready to be next. I sat her up, comforted her and cuddled her while celebrating. She perked up and now shes resting on Daddy while I spread the news all over the net! haha
I am actually pretty shocked that molar came out first. It counts as her tooth #6!!!! Two top (center), one top (left side next to center), two bottom (middle) and now her new upper left side molar! I looked up on the net and it says that bottom teeth usually come in faster than top, but for Mia after growing her two bottom ones first she has only worked on the top. It also said that molars usually don't come in till they are 13-18 months old! Well she will be 13 month next week so I guess thats right. Either way I am happy! another toddler-hood milestone!!! GO MIA!
I knew she was teething hardcore the past few weeks. It started around her birthday but has since gotten a bit better and she has perked up some. She still gets a little moody at times and the drooling has returned, though thank goodness not as bad as before. I have checked her mouth numerous times waiting to see which tooth would poke through first. It was a race between a tooth next to her front (right side, her left side came in awhile back) and her left side canine tooth (both were budding and ready to break through any day) however the tooth no one suspected decided to take the lead and poke through today! It is her first molar!!!!! Its on her left side.
She was being extra whiny so I decided to check her mouth again. I felt around for the usual spots and didn't find anything sharp... then I reached back and found a sharp little tooth poking out!! I couldn't understand why her canine (which was supposed to pop out next) was so far back so of course I had to pin her down and take a real good look. Mia obviously didn't go down without a battle, but having her scream made things alittle easier since I didn't have to pry her mouth open. Sure enough it wasn't the canine like I thought, it was infact her first molar! A small corner is poking out but I can see the outline of the whole tooth ready to be next. I sat her up, comforted her and cuddled her while celebrating. She perked up and now shes resting on Daddy while I spread the news all over the net! haha
I am actually pretty shocked that molar came out first. It counts as her tooth #6!!!! Two top (center), one top (left side next to center), two bottom (middle) and now her new upper left side molar! I looked up on the net and it says that bottom teeth usually come in faster than top, but for Mia after growing her two bottom ones first she has only worked on the top. It also said that molars usually don't come in till they are 13-18 months old! Well she will be 13 month next week so I guess thats right. Either way I am happy! another toddler-hood milestone!!! GO MIA!
Monday, August 3, 2009
A taste of Maui...
Current mood: satisfied
Our honeymoon in Maui was such a wonderful and magical experience. I often times find myself reminiscing about it and wanting to go back so bad. I hope one day we will be able to go back. There is just something about that little island, that it is like no other place I have ever been to. The whole Hawaiian culture and environment is just so relaxed, beautiful, laid back, peaceful and friendly. I really believe once you visit there you are changed forever. For us we took that "Aloha Spirit" home with us, in more way that one...the big one being Mia! haha To commemorate our experience in Maui we even gave our daughter a Hawaiian middle name (Leilani) to always remind us of our experience there and the "Aloha Spirit".
There are two things that I have always regretted not doing while in Maui that still haunt me today. One of them being... listening to Adrian when he told me I shouldn't buy that cute little Shrimp rattle I saw at Bubba Gumps Restaurant (I wanted it for our future baby but he said it would be so far down the road from now that it wasn't worth buying it just then. Little did I know I was already pregnant with Mia by then! haha) and not taking at least 1 Maui Gold Pineapple home.
The Maui Gold Pineapple is hands-down the best pineapple I have ever eaten. It is sweet, with little to no acidity (unlike Dole or other pineapples) and soooo delicious! We ate at least 3-4 pineapples while we were there. Its so nice to chomp on it without getting a stomach ache from the acid or heart burn. I miss those pineapples and I have since been ruined for all future pineapples unless they are Maui Gold. I ate a piece of pineapple (Dole I think) and I couldn't even finish it, it was so bleh. Anyways, I always reminisce about the Maui Gold's and feared I would never taste them again.
Then the other night I found out they actually sell them online!!! You can order one and they ship it directly to you from Maui! I got all excited. I thought it would be a nice anniversary present for Adrian and I to order a pineapple from Maui! Then I saw how much they cost... it was $12 for just the pineapple, that was not including taxes or shipping. Sigh.... ah well it was a nice thought.
So later that night I went to bed while Adrian made a trip to WinCo to buy some food for us. I gave him a shopping list of things we needed and one of them being a pineapple. I knew it would be just some lame generic one but the reason I wanted it was to experiment how to grow them myself. I am notorious for trying to grow things, infact I am growing a sweet potato and avocado as we speak! haha Anyways I found some tips on how to grow them from the Maui Gold Pineapple website and thought I would try it out. If I was successful I would order a Maui Gold and try to grow it myself! haha
So I woke up this morning and started the day like any other. I saw some grocery bags on our kitchen island filled with non-refrigerated food. I saw a honeydew melon, some cantaloupe and bananas.. then I saw the pineapple. As I picked it up I noticed the tag and it said "Maui Gold!" I was like "NO WAY! how did he score a Maui Gold?! they dont even sell them here!!!" I read the tag again and sure enough it was one and not some knock off. I was so excited!!! I couldn't wait to break that bad boy open! I later got Mia up for breakfast, played with her a bit then laid her down for a nap about 2 hours later. Once she was down I busted out the knife and whacked into the pineapple. I took a sniff of the opened pineapple and it brought back memories.. it smelled so sweet and good. They taste much better chilled but I couldn't wait, I quickly cut off a chunk and ate it. OMG!!! just as sweet and good as I remembered! Alittle taste of Maui. Mmmmmm.... I then cut it all up so I could refrigerate it. I cut off the crown and followed the directions on how to grow it! What do you know I might get to grow a Maui Gold after all! haha I put some in Tupperware and some in some freeze bags to freeze for later. Knowing WinCo they are notorious in changing brands so I am not sure how long they will be carrying them.
Once Mia got up for her Lunch I served her a nice cold piece of Maui Gold. I didn't give her pineapple before because of its acidity but Maui Gold is known for its low acid and high vitamin C. She loved it! She was shoving chunks in her mouth like nobodies business! haha Thats my little Maui girl for ya!
Overall, I am glad I was able to taste a bit of Maui again and especially being able to share it with Mia. Shes my little Maui baby and its nice to see she got to eat some Maui Gold outside of the tummy for once! haha
ALOHA!!! MAUI NO KA OI!
Sunday, August 2, 2009
Pool fun!
Current mood: exhausted
Finally, after owning her little blue plastic pool for months now, we finally had a chance to break it in today. Orginally we were planning on going to San Diego today but you know how things go with plans... they always end up changing. We decided to make it a movie day at home and just veg out in the livingroom all day with Mia. We didn't do anything we said we would do but we actually got alot of rest. We ALL needed that. Anyways, we didn't want the day to be a total wash out so we decided to bust out her little baby pool to have some fun in.
I emptied the pool of her little balls (we keep the pool in the living room aka Mia's play area filled with tiny plastic balls, the kind you find at Chuck E Cheese) took it out to the front yard and placed it on the grass. I drug out the water hose (clear across the yard, not to mention buried underneath tons of over grown bushes and weeds so my legs didn't appreciate all the scrapes and cuts) and filled her tiny pool with water. I went back inside, grabbed the camera and stripped her down so she could put on her cute little bathing suit I bought her like a month ago. I decided not to have her wear a diaper under it (BAD IDEA!!!!!) I decided this because not only was she going to be the only one in the pool, we were at home, and she already went potty earlier, and I didn't think we would be out there long. The last time I had her get wet in her bathing suit with a diaper she developed a rash and it took a few days to get rid of it. Not sure if it was because of that combo or not but decided to be safe and band the diaper! haha Anyways, I got her bathing suit on and off to the front yard we went.
At first I introduced her to the pool. I didn't just plop her in since I didn't want to scare her into developing a phobia haha. She squatted outside of the pool and splashed the water for a bit. When I felt she was ready, I picked her up and stood her in the pool. She clung on to me for dear life at first, but after I showed her how to splash around she loosen up and began to splash around herself. Thats when Daddy started playing with her and splashing her legs. She got more comfortable and began to play with the balls I brought out. She still refused to sit down though and when Daddy tried to get her to sit she almost started crying so we didn't force her. However, eventually she got comfortable enough to sit on her own and she played and played.
She was having a great time, screaming and splashing. I was recording her and taking tons of pictures like I always do. Daddy was out fixing the sprinklers and she was always calling to him as loud as she could. Everyone was having a good time until.....
I was video recording her playing when all of a sudden she got this serious face. She bared down alittle and I knew in an instant what those signals meant... I was like "oh no!!!! no Mia don't go poopies!" She grunted a bit then evetually stood up like nothing. I shut off the camera and checked her bathing suit (remember she didn't have a diaper on) nothing was there... phew! She started playing more and again I was recording her then again she stopped... got a serious look on her face (didn't turn red though) bared down semi-squatting again and grunted! OH NO!!!! No poopies!!!!! I said. When she stopped I checked her bathing suit again... nothing. PHEW!!!! a second close call. I figured she maybe just had some stubborn gas. Then she played some more. I was getting up and down from the grass alot all while wearing shorts. My legs started to get irritated from the grass and I looked down to look at them better thats when......
SPLASH!!!!!!! I looked up and Mia fell on her back in the pool. She didn't cry, but she was almost completely submerged underwater.. all except her face. Thank GOD I didn't fill the pool any more than I did or she would have been completely underwater! she was just laying there, face up, all bug eyed, and shocked. I quickly stood her back up. Her hair was completely drenched and she was still in shock. I talked to her like it was a fun thing that just happened and she snapped out of it. Never cried... then thats when I saw it.....
I noticed some mud in the pool. I thought to myself.. "hmmm ... thats weird... maybe she pulled some mud into her pool while she was playing with the grass earlier" then it hit me... "wait a second.." thats not mud!!! OMG!!!! Is that what I think it is?!?!? Sure enough, after closer visual inspection what I thought were clumps of mud was actually POOPIES!!! OMG Mia went poopies in the pool!!!!! I quickly checked her bathing suit and sure enough there was a surprise in there for me! I quickly called Adrian for some help. I didn't know what to do.. at first I was going to take her inside the house and take her bathing suit off in there but I kept invisioning her leaving a trail of poopies throughout the house. So I did the next best thing. As Adrian held her standing up in the pool, I stripped her down right there in the front yard. The breeze hitting her naked bootie buns. I had no other choice. I threw her soiled bathing suit into the water and put her towel shirt on (it has a hood). I raced her inside the house and got her all cleaned and freshened up. Daddy took care of the poopies in the pool and I took care of the baby. I put a diaper on her and let her go back outside to play a bit more.
She had fun exploring and walking up and down our driveway. I didn't let her play in the pool anymore since I had to clean it. Eventually Daddy finished with his sprinklers and he took her back inside while I hosed off her bathsuit in the grass, along with her plastic balls and of course her pool.
When I came back inside, I cooked her dinner and she knocked out in Daddy's arms. It was such a cute site.
Ah well... at least she did have some fun. She has never pooped in the bath tub before but now I guess I will be alittle more prepaired next time... especially if we take her swimming again! haha All I know for sure is, we are buying her some of those swimmer diapers from now on!!
Subscribe to:
Comments (Atom)