Monday, September 21, 2009

a Mama's Touch

Current mood: accomplished

I have been meaning to write this little story that happened yesterday but things keep coming up and I don't get to it. Now that Mia is down for a nap I finally have time.

Adrian has this thing about trying to get Mia to sleep in bed with us. He really wants to cuddle or hold her as she sleeps. I don't blame him, I want that too but its to hard if not impossible for Mia to do that. Ever since she was a newborn she sleeps alone. We have never been able to have her sleep with us or even in the same room with us. Its that bad! She is such a solitary sleeper that she only gets comfy when she is alone. Also, she can never get comfortable on a real bed and all she wants to do is run around if we put her in bed with one of us. So for the past few months Adrian has been trying to get her to get used to being in a the big persons bed and trying to nap with her. I tell him shes just too young and maybe when she gets older he will be able to reason with her more. He never listens and yesterday was no exception.

About mid afternoon Mia was becoming really moody and whiny. I could tell that she needed a extra nap since her morning nap didn't last too long. So I told Adrian to put her down for a nap and of course he went in the room with her and tried to get her comfy on our guest bed. I stayed out in the living room resting on the couch. Sure enough I could hear her giggling and laughing, playing and screaming and him trying to get her to lay down and go to sleep. Then silence... then playing and laughing again... then crying. I could tell he was trying to control her and make her lay down and she kept popping up and playing. Finally there was no more laughing and playing but more crying on and off.. then a full out screaming session. I heard the door open and close and Adrian came out. Mia was left screaming her little head off in the room. I asked what happened and he said that there was no use, she was not going to take a nap on the bed and when he put her in her playpen she blew up. Sigh... I knew that would happen since it does all the time when he tires to nap with her. I could hear her crying and screaming all the way into the kitchen. I got up to eat a Mango but my Mama radar was going nuts, I just had to get her. So I went into the room and saw her all upset. Tons of tear streaks were on her cheeks and she was crying so hard. I noticed she threw her favorite blankey out of the playpen so I knew that made her even more upset. I couldn't just leave her there so I picked her up and carried her upstairs into her room.

We usually don't have her nap in her room during the late afternoon since its upstairs and it gets so hot up there during the day, however, yesterday wasn't to bad when we went up there. I turned down the AC to make it alittle cooler, turned on her room fan and her music and made sure her blinds were closed tight to make it darker. I closed the door, grabbed her blankey and cuddled with her on the rocking chair. She put her head on my chest and let me rock her. She laid there very content and every now and then she would quick sit up just to look at me with the biggest smile on her face, then lay back down. After about 10 mins or so I got up and rocked her in my arms while I held her in front of her crib. She was really relaxing by then and I knew she could fall asleep soon. So I gentally laid her in her crib and........ WAAAAAAAAH!!!! She blew up!

Sigh... Mia! I didn't pick her back up but instead talked to her calmly and slowly. At first her screams over shadowed my voice but I kept at the same rate same way. Eventually she finally started to calm down and stopped crying. I put some toys in her crib for her to play with and she just threw them back out. I put more in, told her to get some rest, and walked out of the room. She never made another peep and actually slept for alittle over an hour.

I felt proud of myself. I didn't think I would be able to get her calmed down enough for a nap but I did, and I did it in a way that she didn't have to cry herself to sleep (something I HATE doing) Poor Adrian, I guess he just needs a little more practice.. then again there is nothing like a Mama's touch =)