Friday, June 27, 2008

This little one refuses to leave her cozy nest!

Current mood: bummed

Well still no progress and I am 4 days short of her due date! I was getting some small contractions yesterday but after researching they are still braxton hicks. I was alittle excieted since they were alittle different than the ones I have been normally feeling but alas... still braxton hicks.

Can you tell I am getting alittle impatient. At the same time I am alittle torn.. I am waaay excieted to finally have her here, and to feel better (since I am so uncomfrotable) but at the same time I think I am going to miss being pregnant. As crazy as that sounds. I won't miss these past two months but prior to that. When things were alot better. It was kind of fun knowing I had alittle buddy with me all day and night. I would talk to her all the time and just knowing she was there always put a smile on my face. It was almost like I was never alone, I always had my little angel with me. Now that the time is coming to an end, where now I can no longer keep her all to myself.. I am alittle saddened. Its weird.. I wonder if its a hormone thing. Maybe once she is here, I won't really miss being pregnant.. other than the ability to sleep a full night! (which I haven't in the past 5-6 months anyways).

Well I am hoping she will be able to make the journey on her own. I really don't want to be induced and force her out. Everyday with no change does concern me a bit, I don't think she wants to leave... and I don't blame her haha. She has it made in there! Well until Daddy scares her by doing a zerbert on my belly and she tucks herself way inside to hide!

Well I just had to get that off my chest. Hopefully I will start seeing some progress soon. My next appointment is Tuesday on her due date (July 1st) so we will see what happens then. Till then I guess its just more of a waiting game...

Tuesday, June 24, 2008

39 Week Check up

Current mood: impatient

Today was my 39 week check up. The big treat for me was that Adrian got to go this time YAY!!! His work schedule never allows him to go but today it was later in the day and he got to go.

They checked her heart beat and she was a very good baby and didn't squirm away. They also checked her position and said that shes right where she needs to be and shouldn't be moving out of that position (which is a relief because I was scared she might be breech).

I also got "checked" for the first time, to see if I am dialated. But of course my predictions were answered... no progress. This little one definately is taking after her Daddy and being stubborn and late! The exam HURRRRRT too which sucked cuz all that for news I didn't wanna hear.

I am sooooo BEYOND! uncomfortable now and its finally affecting my mood. I am always moody now and any little thing seems to set me off. .. basically anything Adrian does haha. Poor guy... but I think he is lucky, I didn't get this way till recently. I coulda been this way the whole pregnancy! I think this heat wave isnt helping either. Being swollen, hot, suffering from bad pelvic pain, unable to move around easily, lack of sleep, practice contractions etc would make any person moody I guess. Plus I want her out so I can see her and hold her!!! Its like having an AWESOME xmas present you can't open or play with! The waiting is horrible!

Anyways back to the appointment. We discussed what the next step is, and if I don't have her in the next week and a half. The doc mentioned that they do not believe in keeping women pregnant much longer after their due date and that by week 41 they plan on doing some tests and inducing me! Thank goodness, some light at the end of the tunnel. Though I do not want to be induced, I want to make sure that she remains safe and nothing happens to her from being in there too long.

That was about it. All went well. My next appointment is on her due date July 1st. We will see what happens then. Till then I need to rest, I am getting more braxton hicks and they dont feel good sitting here. Plus its 80 degrees in this room and 12:30 at night! Having a hot laptop on my lap isnt helping. I need ice water!

Monday, June 23, 2008

Kaiser Visit Monday, Jun 23 2008

What:
Ob Office Visit with RITA T MURRAY NP

When:
Monday, Jun 23 2008 3:20 PM

Where:
OBSTETRICS & GYNECOLOGY 2161 (WILDOMAR MEDICAL OFFICES U)

Diagnosis:
PREGNANCY

Blood Pressure:
112/74

Pulse Rate:
92

Weight:
191 lb 6.4 oz (86.818 kg)

Return in about 7 days (around 6/30/2008).

Wednesday, June 18, 2008

38 Week check up

Current mood: tired


Phew what a day…. I had two separate doctor's appointments today and we happen to be experiencing a heat wave ICK!!! It was 106 in Wildomar today and boy did it feel like it. Well before I get to the appointments let me update you on what has been going on.



Since the beginning of this month I have noticed my ears have been acting up. I don't really have pain in them but they feel full (if that makes sense) Since I did not have any symptoms of an ear infection I didn't pay too much attention to them, however, it has been annoying at times. At my 37 week appointment I brought it up to my OB and she briefly checked my ears and said there was no sign of infection and it should clear up soon.



Well on Fathers day this past Sunday I experienced my first bought of vertigo. It was HORRIBLE!!!! It was the worst feeling ever. Not only did it come on out of no where, the room started spinning and I started to feel like I was on the verge of blacking out. My head literally felt like it was 100 pounds and I couldn't lift it and I felt like I was going to throw up. I called up to Adrian (who was upstairs) and he bolted down thinking I was going into labor. I told him in a panic that I was about to pass out and he calmed me down and helped me control my breathing. Which helped a TON, I didn't pass out though the spinning wouldn't stop. I couldn't leave the couch and had to keep my eyes closed so I wouldn't make myself sicker. I ended up calling labor and delivery and they told me it was not pregnancy related (they didn't think) and since I have had issues with my ears that it could mean I have an inner ear infection. They advised me to go to Urgent care to get some anti biotics. Since it was Sunday I knew the urgent care was closed and I was soooooo not about to go all the way up to Riverside and sit in their horrible disgusting ER for hours on end. Luckily after about 40 mins the dizziness got lesser and I was able to at least walk to the bathroom on my own. I later took a nap and though had a bad headache the dizziness was at a minimum. The next day I called Kaiser to make an appointment to see a doc but they couldn't get me in till today. So here is how it went.



I went to see the Doc about my ears and after a battery of tests, they basically couldn't pin point what happened to me. They said my outer ear and ear drum are perfect and show no signs of infection. The middle ear seemed to be doing good too. They checked my blood pressure sitting, standing and laying down, and checked my eyes and all came back normal. They tried to chaulk it up to just being pregnant but I told them I have never had this happen before. Eventually they narrowed it down to my TMJ (jaw disorder I have been dealing with for many years now, which seemed to get worse just recently in my 8th month). They said the TMJ can mimic ear problems. So they told me to drink a lot of water and the ear thing should clear up soon. They wanted to get me some steroids but I refused since I do not want to harm baby Mia especially being so close to her being born. So they sent me on my way and told me if I get vertigo again to come back.



4 hours later I had my OB baby check up. Again baby Mia hid from the heart beat monitor and the doc had to chase her. It was too cute. She checked out fine as usual YAY! However, my blood panal results came back. Just as I assumed.. I am anemic. I have been so tired and drug out lately I can hardly get off the couch at times. I am soooo sleepy and all I want to do is sleep. My OB told me to increase my iron intake and get some low dose iron pills….bleh! She also mentioned the vertigo COULD have been caused by being anemic and I should keep an eye out for that and change my positions often. She mentioned if I stand or sit or lay down to long in a certain spot, when I get up the blood can't get to my brain fast enough due to my belly. I am also on the borderline of a bladder infection as well. Though my results didn't come in positive, she said they were high and I should increase my water intake. My strep B test came out negative which was good news. Other than all that, I am doing good. Just a couple of weeks more!!!



As for now, I am officially back in San Diego (temporarily). I am staying at my mother-in-law's house during the week so I can be near Adrian (he works here in San Diego graveyard shift) incase I go into labor. His Mom and Step dad are with me at night and Adrian is with me during the day. I feel like I am being baby sat haha but sure beats being home alone where we live which is over an hour away from the nearest family member. Unfortunately they do not have internet access, however, I have been able to steal a signal from the neighbors house. It goes in and out but I have just enough time to quickly check things. Well I will keep you guys updated as for now I am trying to get some rest. I was getting dizzy and light headed again so I think I need sleep.



Phew talk about an epic blog!

Tuesday, June 17, 2008

Kasier Visit Tuesday, Jun 17 2008

What:
Ob Office Visit with RITA T MURRAY NP

When:
Tuesday, Jun 17 2008 1:50 PM

Where:
OBSTETRICS & GYNECOLOGY 2161 (WILDOMAR MEDICAL OFFICES U)

Diagnosis:
PREGNANCY

Blood Pressure:
103/63

Pulse Rate:
91

Respirations:
18

Weight:
187 lb (84.823 kg)

Return in about 7 days (around 6/24/2008).

Kaiser Visit Tuesday, Jun 17 2008

What:
Office Visit with ALISON PATT MATHEW MD

When:
Tuesday, Jun 17 2008 9:30 AM

Where:
INTERNAL MED 1983 (WILDOMAR MEDICAL OFFICES U)

Diagnoses:
PREGNANCY
DIZZINESS
EUSTACHIAN TUBE DYSFUNCTION
TMJ (TEMPOROMANDIBULAR JOINT) DISORDER

Blood Pressure:
106/67

Pulse Rate:
86

Temperature:
97.9

Temp Source:
Tympanic

Respirations:
20

Height:
5' 0" (1.524 m)

Weight:
188 lb (85.276 kg)

Patient Instructions
Tylenol as needed. May try mouth guard from sporting good store at night, or custom fit from dentist. Advised plenty of fluids. Call if symptoms persist or worsen.May also try mild Valsalva maneuver.

Wednesday, June 11, 2008

Kaiser Visit Wednesday, Jun 11 2008

What:
Ob Office Visit with RITA T MURRAY NP

When:
Wednesday, Jun 11 2008 10:30 AM

Where:
OBSTETRICS & GYNECOLOGY 2161 (WILDOMAR MEDICAL OFFICES U)

Diagnosis:
PREGNANCY

Blood Pressure:
99/67

Pulse Rate:
101

Weight:
189 lb 3.2 oz (85.821 kg)

Return in about 7 days (around 6/18/2008).

Routine Orders
Name Type
STREPTOCOCCUS B CULTURE, GENITAL Lab
CBC WITHOUT DIFFERENTIAL Lab
US, PREGNANT UTERUS, REAL TIME W/IMAGE DOCUMENT, LIMITED, 1/> FETUSES Imaging

37 Week Check up

Current mood: nervous

Today was my 37 week check up. Things went very well. I am so huge now I feel like a whale ready to pop! Can someone please harpoon me and put me out of my misery! haha jk

I had to take my Strep B test and for you mothers who know what that is, its not very fun. Especially getting poked where they poke you. I also had to take a urine test which I have been holding off because they are always a pain in the butt to take. Try aiming for a TINY cup blind folded haha, thats what it feels like. My belly is so big I can't see what I am doing. I have already contaminated 2 tests already cuz of this reason. I am praying this last test was good. I don't want to have to take it again.

During the exam my OB checked my belly and attempted to find the baby's heart beat. I say attempted because little Mia was very active this morning and everytime my doc put the machine on my tummy to hear her heart beat it would quickly fade away because she would move out of the way. The doc ended up having to chase her around my tummy to find her beat. It was cute. In the end she said it sounded good, strong and healthy. Then the doc did something that surprised me. She decided to do an Ultra Sound to check to see if the baby is in position. (and yes she is) This was a GIANT treat since I haven't seen little Mia since April. She looks like a full grown baby now and we even caught her sucking her thumb!!!! I asked the doc how much she thought she weighed and she said between 7-8 pounds so she is practically ready to be born now. I would hope so I have been packing on the weight so much these last few weeks, I want it to stop! haha I have some new pics that I will scan and upload later.

Then I had to take a blood test...boooo! Those are never fun. I will have to see what those results are later. As for now I am sleepy and need a nap. The big day is just around the corner now and I can't wait!!!! My Dad finished painting the room and it looks ADORABLE! I will have to post pics of that too. well I am off to sleep!!!!

Wednesday, June 4, 2008

Kaiser Visit Wednesday, Jun 4 2008

What:
Office Visit with JENNIFER TANYA CHEN MD

When:
Wednesday, Jun 4 2008 2:10 PM

Where:
PHYSICAL MEDICINE 2475 (RIVERSIDE MEDICAL CENTER U-RIVU)

Diagnosis:
PAINFUL SYMPHYSIS PUBIS

Blood Pressure:
110/73

Pulse Rate:
92

Height:
5' 0" (1.524 m)

Weight:
185 lb (83.915 kg)

Physical Therapy (dis)Appointment

Current mood: bitchy

Well the day finally came.. (only had to wait almost 4 weeks to get this appointment!..ugh Kaiser) where I had to make the 40min drive to Riverside for my Physical Therapy appointment. My OB referred me to physical therapy more as a last ditch effort to help with the pain and discomfort my SPD is causing me. (My pelvic pain).

I havent been feeling well for the past couple of days because I think I am fighting off a cold that Adrian gave me! So it was a major effort on my end to get myself to go to to the appointment. In classic Kaiser style, they made me wait for 50 mins before they saw me!!!! I was there before my appointment time (like 10 mins early)!! For those who know my pelvic situation, the WORST thing to do is have me sit on hard chairs for extended periods of time. Well the pain came on and I thought, well at least they can treat me while the pain is active. When they finally took me back the whole appointment (which was supposed to be at least 30 mins) only lasted 10! with them basically saying I am s**t outta luck and there is nothing I can do and "your due soon anyways, not sure why you even came in"! I wasn't to shocked by this since I had a feeling that would happen but it was still kinda annoying, especially since I threw down 65 bucks for this appointment. And as you know I am not working so my funds are SUPER low right now. I am basically living off of unemployment which runs out next month. All I could think was that was 65 bucks I coulda spent on the baby. Ah well....

So there it is. There is nothing I can do about this pain other than suck it up and keep popin tylonal..joy! Sorry that I sound alittle bitter in this blog but I am just tired and not feeling well. My pelvis hurts and I feel like a head cold is on its way. My throat hurts, I am sneezing, and my ears feel stuffed up and there is no medicine I can take... sigh... ah well, maybe I just need to go to bed and attempt to sleep.