Current mood: shocked
Though I have introduced many "potty" type things to Mia the past few months ie. taking her into the bathroom with me, buying her own potty chair, teaching her how to sign "potty" etc. I have not officially started potty training yet. She still needs some time before she is really ready (ya she still refusing to talk and communicate) so it will be awhile before I can really aggressively start trying. Till then its very sparactic and pretty much just introductions to things.I bought her a "potty" many month ago. When I first showed it to her she just thought it was a toy and had more fun opening and closing the lid more than anything. I later moved it into the bathroom so she could see it whenever we were in there together. She never seemed interested in it when it was in there. If you sat her on it she would quickly get up. So I pretty much just gave up on trying to take steps towards potty training until she got a bit older.
Then my mother-in-law came to visit for a few days. She saw the potty in there and she too tried to show Mia how to sit on it. Mia refused to stay put. So my Mother-in-law suggested that I take the potty out into the livingroom where she plays, so she can get used to it on her own. I didn't mind trying this idea.. especially since the advice was coming from a three time veteran Mama.
So I put the potty in the livingroom where the TV is. Mia immediately noticed it and started to play with it a bit more. Then she started to sit on it!! However, she only sits on it if her two feet are in the bowl and her butt on the rim! HAHAH not quite what we need her to do but hey at least shes sitting on it. I figure I will correct her later after she sits on it more.
So that brings us to today. The morning was like any other morning. We finished breakfast and were watching TV in the livingroom. I was sitting on the couch while Mia was walking around playing with her toys. Then all of a sudden she froze, got a real serious look on her face and began doing the famous squat and push she does. I quickly asked her (like I always do, in attempts to have her recognize what she is doing) "Are you going poopies?!" Normally she will shake her head no (even if she is) and either run away or get mad at me for even asking by whining or crying. However today was different and she did something that completely shocked me! After I asked she immediately looked at me then waddled to her potty and sat on it (yes with her feet in the bowl) and finished up there!!!
I cheered her on! and clapped! Granted it wasn't an official "poopie in the potty" since her diaper and clothes were still on, but it was an attempt. She knew to sit on the potty to finish pooping! I was so proud of my little girl!
So I guess having her potty in the middle of the living (though a horrible eye-sore) isn't such a bad idea after all! haha