Friday, April 3, 2009

38 weeks old today!


Current mood: exhausted


Well here we are, another blur of a week gone by. There has been alot of good and not so good things that happened this week. I will first go into the good things.


The week started off with a trip to Oxnard for my Cousin Robert and Tiffany's babyshower. I was really excited to go because some of my Pizano family still have not had a chance to meet Mia yet and they were going to the baby shower. We decided to try something new and we traveled early morning instead of mid-afternoon or night. (Mainly because Daddy had to work the night before and we couldn't leave sooner) Well Mia didn't like this much and fussed most of the way to Oxnard. She wasn't her normal self and I think it is because we woke her up before she was ready to be woken up in the morning. She refused to sleep in the car and just was unhappy. However, once we got to Grandpa and Grandma Pizano's house she perked right now and was happy again.


She showed off her new crawling and standing while holding on to something skills and even stood on her own for 2 secs before falling down! That was first. We later went to the babyshower and EVERYONE fell in love with her. Especially her Great Aunties! She was great at the shower and even took a short cat nap in the middle of it in her car seat. The only bad thing that happened was she threw her favorite teething ring (one shes had since she was less than 3 months old) under the table. I went to get it but quickly got distracted by something and both Adrian and I forgot about it. I didn't realize it was gone until the next day and when I called the resturante they didn't have it. Someone snatched it!!!! GRRRR! Thats ok though, I bought her a brand new one this week to replace it. Anyways, the rest of the trip went great. She got to hang out with her two older cousins Tracy and Sarah since they spent the night at Grandpa and Grandma's house too. They played with her and drew her pictures and everything. It was really cute. She even met the evil bird, Piedmont and cracked up watching him peck the cage. Oh ya she tasted her first lime at the party too (curtosy of Daddy) and surprisenly she liked it. Eventhough she made tons of sour faces she went back for more haha. She also tasted her first cherry popsical and with a red tounge and face she was happy to eat it. She even bit off a small chunk and to all of our amazment she ate it without spitting it out or crying. Go Mia! Then it was time to go home and she did much better on the ride back. She slept 90% of the way and when she got home she went to bed without a fuss.


Later in the week we took her to a new restuarant. It was her first Mexican restaurant and she did good. She even used a big girl high chair instead of sitting in her car seat. I was all proud of her but it turned into a small disaster. She kept throwing all her toys on the floor and anything else we gave her to entertain her with. So needless to say our dinner was cut short and Daddy and I both agree we will contiune to use her car seat until she is too big for it! Haha


She is really getting into her show, "Yo, Gabba Gabba". Now you just have to sing the intro to it and she starts screaming and dancing! She really likes DJ Lance Rock though he does look alittle scary. Everytime he comes on she lights up screams, dances and goes nuts. Daddy downloaded the whole first season for her and burned it on DVD so she gets her "Yo, Gabba Gabba" treat once a day after lunch.


Speaking of lunch she officially graduated to stage 3 foods this week too! We tried to give her Chicken and Veggies but she hated it. Adrian and I both tasted it and we both agree its NASTY! Even Mew Mew who eats tortillas, avocado, onions, you name it, tried to bury it because she didn't even like it! haha But Mia is now eating her stage 3 squash and sweet potatoes. She even likes bananas now (something she used to not like before). We even tried giving her some juice (pear juice, and banana yogart juice) but she hated it. Shes not a juice baby, she prefers her formula and water. I guess thats ok. Shes mastered the art of feeding herself snacks too. All you need to do it blop them down on the tray and she will eat them. She finally got the coordination of getting them in her mouth. YAY!


Well now on to the not so fun stuff. I think Mia has caught her first cold... Oh-no!!! Yea its been a rough few days. It started back on Wednesday when she had a horrible fussy night. She sounded congested but not from the chest or nose. It was really wierd. She couldn't find a comfy sleeping position because everytime she laid down she would get all flemmy. Poor baby. The next day I went to the store and got her some baby vicks and set up her humidifer in her room. That night went alittle better and I thought she was getting better but I was wrong. Last night was the worst night yet! She woke up every other hour crying and at one point at 11pm she woke up screaming. I went to check on her and she just came unglued. She screamed and cried so hard, I have not heard her cry like that since she got her shots or when she fell off the bed. I knew something bad was up so I attempted to consol her. I tried to suck out her nose but not much came out but she still sounded really congested, and this time in her chest. I rocked her and nothing calmed her down. Little tears streamed down her face and she was doing that shakey inhaling when she tried to catch her breath. Eventually I took her downstairs with her blankey and with all the lights off I rocked her in the rocking chair (something I haven't done since she was a baby newborn) I eventually calmed her down to the point where she wasn't doing that shakey inhaling and she started to get sleepy. Shes not the type of baby who likes to sleep on you so I knew I had to put her back in bed. I put some more vicks on her, gave her some tylonal and turned on her bedroom heater and humidifer. Eventually she fell asleep and didn't wake up again until about 4am. She was really unhappy so I fixed her a warm bottle (she never gets warm bottles, I mean she doesn't get them cold but they are usually room temp.) she settled down and off to bed she went, only to wake up every half hour to hour crying because she couldn't breathe. Poor baby. I finally got her up about 9 and fixed her breakfast and she woofed down all her oatmeal and an 8oz bottle. She played for a bit and her congestion sounded alot better. I just laid her down for a nap and so far so good. So far it seems like she only really gets congested when its bedtime.. I wonder if its too cold in her room or something.. hmm... Well anyways I am really bummed. After putting her to bed after that long bout of screaming and crying I cried myself and Adrian had to console me. I feel so helpless I want her to feel better I am doing all I can but nothing seems to be working. Plus having to suck out her nose is no fun either, I hate upsetting her like that. No wonder she likes Daddy more, he never does that sort of thing. Ah well.. joys of motherhood. Anyways, hopefull she will get better soon.


Thats about it, I am off to grab a quick nap as she naps since I don't know what this day will be like. But thats how the week went, some good things some bad, I just hope next week will be all good! hehe