Current mood: drained
We have been very fortunate in that Mia has only had two diaper blow outs in her tiny little life. Once when she was a few weeks old and another when she was a few months. Usually the diapers can hold whatever she can dish out and things are ok.... until today.....
She is starting to finally become somewhat regular now. She still gets bouts of constipation but since we backed off on her banana intake it has gotten much better. Especially since she is drinking more water and eating Barley Oatmeal now and then. Well yesterday she didn't go. It sort of concerned me but I didn't think much of it. I fed her Approcots and Peaches to help things along but nothing happened. So this morning I decided to give her some Barley Oatmeal for breakfast which usually helps. Sure enough about 5mins after breakfast she started turning beat red and was pushing. I quickly changed her and she went... not a whole lot like I was expecting but it was something. I didn't think much of it, I figured the barley did the trick and we contiued with our day.
We needed some groceries BAD so Adrian and I packed up the baby and off to Perris we went to go to Cardenas. (Perris is about a 10-15min drive north of us). We go to this store because they sell all their produce so cheap and its so fresh and good. Anyways by the time we hit the parking lot Mia was turning red face again. Uh-oh. So before we went into the store I decided to check her diaper.. sure enough there was a nugget in there waiting for me. So I changed her in the back seat of my car like I usually do (Cardenas is not the most cleanliness place around so changing her in their bathroom was totally out of the question). So once I got her all set up we went off shopping. Usually she LOVES to sit in the cart. She loves to play and watch people. So she was playing a bit with her rattle and checking out the people. A few kids past by and were all excieted to "see the baby in the cart!" haha. Things were going good until about mid-way through our shopping trip. Then we noticed she was acting funny. She kept trying to climb out of the cart (which she never does) and was becoming whiny like she wanted to be picked up. This was also weird. However, what really caught my attention was the fact I turned around and noticed she was all red faced! She wasn't pushing but her face was flushed. I told Adrian "Look the baby is red faced!" he said it was probably because she wanted out of the cart and was getting bored and mad. So I didn't think much of it and we contiuned to shop only quicker now. Then we made it to the last isle and was deciding on what would be for dinner. I went up to the cart to chat with Mia, but she was extreemly fussy and quickly reached up to me for me to take her out of the cart. I figured we were almost done shopping and pretty much only needed to pay for the stuff so I took her out. As soon as I lifted her up I noticed the smell. PEEEEE-UUUUU!!!! Mia stunk BAD! and not just a normal poopie stink it was HORRIBLE! ACK! I told Adrian "She stinks soooo bad!" He asked me what I wanted to do. Since I accidentally left her diaper bag in the car we decided that I would take her to the car to change her while he paid for the food.
I walked her to the cart and I could smell that horrible smell all around me. I am sure if anyone passed by us and got a wiff of it they would definately crinkle their nose! Finally we made it to the car. I got her black diaper liner thing I use to lay her on while I change her diapers, a clean diaper and some wipees. I wasn't sure what was waiting for me in the diaper but I figured it couldn't be to bad since this would be her third poopie of the day.. how bad could it really be right??! So I got her ready, laid her down in the back seat and opened her diaper... O-M-G!!!!!! It was the biggest mess I have ever seen her do!!!! It was the grossest more horrible sight ever!! The smell alone could knock someone down a mile away!!! I almost started to panic, how in the heck am I going to contain this disaster! Esepcially in my backseat since there isn't much room to work with! So I attempted to clean her off and when I lifted her tiny bootie in the air I saw TONS of poopies all smeared on that black diaper changing liner pad.. OMG! How did that happened? I lifted her up higher and sure enough there was poop all smeared up her back and her shirt was covered in it! ACK!!! How am I going to get this shirt off of her without getting it all over her worse or in her hair or face?!? I still attempted to clean her up as best as I could but it seemed to be getting worse and worse.. then I looked down and noticed my hands were covered in poop too!!! YUCK!!!! I tried to clean my hands, tried to clean her without getting any poop on my seats and she was squirming everywhere. Finally I stood her up so she held on the headrest on the backseat (competely bottomless with her bootie buns in the sun) and unbuttoned her shirt from the top and just pulled it down instead of up. I managed to get it off without making the situation worse. Now she was standing there, completely naked in the parking lot of the grocery store! I wonder what the people were thinking as they walked by seeing a naked baby wearing nothing but a pink bow in her hair, holding on the headrest of the car as her Mama kept saying "Oh my God, Oh my God" over and over trying to wipe her down. I eventually was able to get all the poop off of her and myself, but now what!?!? her shirt was covered in poop so I couldn't put it back on. Then I realized I have spare clothes in her diaper bag. I quickly got the bag out and found only pants! I forgot that I took out her spare shirt the other day for her to use and I didn't replace it! Noooooooooo! So now what?!?! I couldn't leave her top-less it wasn't warm enough. Luckily I then found one of her jackets in the backseat and just dressed her in that and those new pants I found. I cleaned up the backseat as much as I could and threw that biohazardous diaper in a plastic bag and wrapped it up. Mia by then started to fuss because the sun kept getting in her eyes. There was no way I was going back into the store for Adrian, plus the car was REAKING! by this point. So I opened all the windows, grabbed her blankey and cuddled her in the back seat while we waited for Daddy to come. He soon came and I explained the horror Mia and I just went though. It looked like I went to war! and I smelled bad myself from getting it on my hands. So we quickly buckled in Mia and off to home we zoomed. We didn't even make it to the bank like we wanted to we just went straight home. The car smelled so bad!
Once we made it home I changed her again and Adrian fed her. I soon got a hot bath ready for her and scrubbed her good. I noticed she was getting aittle rashy on her back! I think it was from the poop being smeared on it so I put some extra cream on her before she went to bed. She got her bedtime bottle and off to bed she went.. early too I might add. Phew what a day...
Who ever said Motherhood was easy?!?! Well I am off to take my own shower, I swear I still smell that poop on me even though I washed my hands 3 times already!