Tuesday, September 28, 2010

*VIDEO* Mia dancing to the TV 09-28-10

Mia LOVES music and once the rhythm hits her she just HAS to dance. She always dances to this Sesame Street segment

Sunday, September 26, 2010

*VIDEO* Mia pretending to be a Frog 9-26-10

This is her new favorite thing to do... "Ribbit!"

Baby Shower in San Diego for Mia's Baby Brother

























Current Mood: Exhausted!

********* Due to being so TIRED, I am just copying and pasting Alex's blog's text of the baby shower instead of re-writing a "Mia Version". For more pics of the baby shower check out Alex's page, Thank you <3>
We got there an hour before the party was to start so we could drop off a few things and so Adrian could help set up. There was no escaping the heat for me and I started to get light headed right away. Thats when everyone suggested that I stay at Tia Ana's house (who has AC) until the party was ready. I jumped at the chance to escape the heat and took little Mia with me.

His Tia drove me to her house and set me up with some ice water, a comfy chair, and had me put up my feet! I was a treated like a Queen! Tia Gloria was also there watching the little cousins, Brianna, Nataila, Adan and now Mia! All the kids had fun playing in the livingroom with all the toys and riding around in little bikes and cars. Mia found Adan's car and stuck to it like glue! haha I rested a bit and when people started to show up they took me back to the party.

The heat didn't get any better and by the time I reached the patio I was literally dripping. I didn't want that to put a damper on my good time, so I figured if Alex let me I was going to have a good time!!! I said my hellos and just then my best friend since FOREVER, well since we were freshmen in high school, Mona, her husband Brett and Mia's future husband Koa showed up! They drove in all the way from Orange Co.! It was GREAT seeing them again and we spent alot of time catching up.

Unfortunately my stomach cramp was still there so I was confined to sitting down in a chair most of the time, but that didn't stop me from enjoying myself anyway. Mia was running all over the place and didn't seem to mind the heat or sun at all! Even with sunblock slathered all over her she still turned out pretty rosey and red. She had a blast running around with her little cousins, playing and getting into mischief! The only time she had issues is when she refused to share toys while Adrian's cousins's Mother-in-law played games with all the kids to distract them. Adrian had to go in there and pull her out, literally kicking and screaming! (Joys of parenthood of a child who was over heated and needed a nap! haha) But once she got a cupcake she was fine... she got cupcake all over her but she was happy again haha

SOOOOO many people showed up and we got TONS of presents. I kept looking at the present table in shock. We literally received more presents than we ever have before... it even put our wedding to shame! WOW we are so loved!

As the day wore on it eventually started to cool down... well sort of. The sun finally got into a position where most of the patio areas were now shaded and the breeze really kicked up. Thats when it got pretty tolerable and I started to come back to life. Though I tried to hide how over heated I was, most people at the party commented on how horrible I looked! Wow! Didn't know I looked THAT bad, of course they didn't tell me but they told Adrian haha But everyone catered to me and made sure I had the coldest water, the best seat and tons of shade... I didn't mind being spoiled! haha

Then it was game time. Unfortunately, I couldn't get up from my chair but I got to watch. The funniest game was when they filled a baby bottle of horchata and had a competition on who could drink it the fastest. The catch was, there had to be TWO people per team.. one had to be the "baby" and the other the "Mommy" haha That was fun to watch. The other game of course was the baby diaper raffle. The grand prize for that was a $50 gift card to the Cheesecake Factory!!! I love this game in particular because we always get hooked up with TONS of needed diapers and today was no exception! We literally have TONS and I mean TONS of diapers!! I am so happy at the money we are saving! haha

Ack, I have been typing away and I forgot to mention the food!!!! My Mother-in-law hired catered food and it was AWESOME! They made the best carne asada pita pockets and awesome beans and rice. Everyone loved it and stuffed themselves up! Even myself! Also, the cake was so cool. My Sister-in-law and her best friend Annika both made it themselves. It was a cupcake tower, that had all kinds of jungle animals (the theme of the party) on it. I can't even begin to describe how cute it looked, but I took TONS of pictures of it.

After some more mingle time and the kids were distracted it was gift time! Luckily it cooled down enough so when I reached the middle of the quad area it wasn't so hot. Adrian set up a little space for me and was my present giver! Mia even got a special present for being a big sister!!! It had a teddy bear, bracletes, a princess wand, and Dora toys in it. She LOVED it and it helped keep her distracted during present time. I swear that present table of presents was HUGE and it almost took an hour to get through all of them. I can't believe how much CLOTHES and blankets we received, we are literally set for the YEAR! I am so happy! One present in particular was given by Adrian's Cousin Robert and his Fiance Cherilyn, it was a HUGE present bag of clothes and other baby items that after 5 mins and only getting 1/4 into the bag we gave up and decided to finish opening it at home! haha That present alone gave us enough clothes for the YEAR! (literally since the sizes ranged from newborn to 2T!)

After present time, the party started to end. Adrian stayed behind to help clean up and put things away while Tia Ana took me back to her house to rest. I took Mia with me and she got to hang out with her cousin Adan. She even got a bath!!! (Which she needed BAD! after sweating so much.. I have NEVER seen her hair poof out as bad as it was!, plus playing in the dirt and getting cupcake all over didn't help) Her Tia Ana gave her a bath and she did really good, she didn't cry or fuss when her hair was washed either! I was impressed. After she was all clean and refreshed she went right back to playing toys with Adan and riding around in his little car (until she tipped over and crashed... then she wanted nothing to do with it again! haha) She ate some dinner and was pretty much a good girl till Dada came to pick us up. I rested on the couch the entire time.

Once Daddy got there he rested as well and thats when Alex decided to protest. He started giving me pains and braxton hicks like CRAZY! I have never experienced anything like that! Soon the braxton hicks were literally coming every 5 mins! I was getting nervous and scared that it might kick off labor or be a sign to something. I drank more water and they seemed to slow down but I was already nervous. So we decided to head some so I could really rest and go to bed. So we said our goodbyes and headed out.

The contractions got a bit better but were still very close. We stopped by Wendy's on the way home to pick up some dinner (I was starving again) and we got home. Once I ate the contractions really died down and really spaced themselves out. Adrian put the Mia monster to bed and rested on the couch. I couldn't help myself, I got another surge of energy and ended up going through every since present again, organizing it and gushing over all the cute boy things we got!

It wasn't until it was after mid-night did I realize I needed to go to bed so I could rest, so once all the presents were put in a way Mia can't get into them I headed off to bed and knocked out in a flash!

Wow what a day! What a party!!! I am so blessed to have such wonderful friends and family on both sides of the family. These two parties really helped us get a jump start on all of Alex's things. Having a boy (and him being the first boy on my family's side) is awesome, but was a bit scary since we had NOTHING boy-ish for him.... especially clothes! Now we are set and my anxiety level has gone down so much! All that needs to be done is to wash everything, organize it in his little drawers and wait for his big arrival!!! Wow only 2 more weeks! EEEK!


Saturday, September 25, 2010

Mixed feelings

Current mood: contemplative

Well the time is almost here... 2 more weeks and we will have a new addition to our little family. Though Baby Alex's arrival was planned... very well... I can't help but have some mixed feelings now that hes almost here. Don't get me wrong, I am BEYOND excited about this arrival! I can't wait to hold my baby boy and all the bonding we will do. I am more nervous about Mia and her reaction and how our lives will change once hes here.

I am not to scared about the newborn phase though I know it will be alot of work and I mean TONS but we did it before, and not to long ago I might add, so I am not that rusty. Mia is what has me nervous.

Her whole little life I have dedicated my whole self to her. She gets EVERYTHING and I do my best to be the best Mama I can be for her. I sacrifice anything and everything for her, without thinking twice because I love her that much. I always make sure she is well feed with the best foods we can provide her, she has all the hugs and kisses she can get, I give her all the emotional support I can, I guide her as best I can, I teach her things and spend as much quality time as I can with her. Though it isn't easy, especially when I am tired or pregnant but I do my very best because I know shes deserves it.

So now with her little sibling almost here, how is that going to change things???? I know it won't change my love or how I feel about Mia.. its how am I going to balance the two!? Especially when the newborn needs me so much for the first couple of months. How will I adjust, how will Mia adjust, how will she react? Will she feel rejected by Mama? Will she despise her brother or myself? Will she feel hurt, left out or ignored (by her Mama not other family members) just because I can no longer dedicate my 100% attention to her anymore? Our bedtime bonding time will be over, I will no longer be able to do all the Mia-Mama things that are special between us due to the lack of time or that I cannot leave her brother unattended long enough to do them. THAT is what makes me nervous... and its THAT that makes me have mixed feelings about the birth.

Again, I am excited about the birth and I can't wait, however, I can't help but feel that little shadow hanging over my head ... the shadow of the unknown. I just hope I can learn the balancing act fast and efficient before Mia starts to have resentment.

Another thing that makes me nervous and sad is being away from Mia for as long as I have to be while I recover in the hospital. Since she was born I have NEVER been away from her longer than a 24 hr period. I will be in the hospital between 3-4 days IF everything turns out good. That is nearly a week without being with my little Mia! I will be missing the day she turns 27 months and will not be able to do the traditional picture and video taking of her on that day (Something I have been doing since she was a month old). Her blogs might fall to the waist side for awhile and quite possibly end... ugh... I don't know... so many things to think about.

I guess I just need to focus on what is important in the long run rather than the short term and that is, Mia will always be loved and will eventually adjust but most of all we are giving her a HUGE gift... the gift of a sibling! Someone to bond with, someone to grow up with, a partner in crime and someone who will love her. There is nothing greater than a sibling bond (I know first hand), and she is fortunate enough to be able to experience that and we are fortunate enough to give her that gift.

So I guess when I start to get nervous or mixed feelings, I just need to focus on those things rather than the short term. There will be a BIG adjustment period, but we will get though it, we will find our nitch... all of us.. and we will be a better family in the end.

Friday, September 24, 2010

Week 115


Current mood: exhausted

Happy Friday! Here I am again! The weeks are slowly closing in on the big day Mia's baby brother will be born! I am excited beyond belief, however, I am not sure how his birth and arrival will be affecting Mia's blog time. I will do my best to keep up on it as best as I can but could this be the end????? I hope not! Well I still have a couple more weeks and a couple more weekly blogs left in me at least haha

This week has been pretty good. The pregnancy is taking its toll on me so I am constantly tired. Unfortunately I can't interact with Mia as much as I would like to but I do my best. Shes been pretty good about it, the only thing that she has developed is the fact she no longer goes to bed willingly and will literally stay up for hours!! after putting her to bed. For instance, I left her room tonight at 8:30 and it is now 10:12 and I can still hear her playing in her room. We switched out her night light so it is MUCH darker in her room but that doesn't stop her, she still plays in the dark. Also she HATES when you leave her, and will scream bloody murder and will literally try to run out the door as you leave... so needless to say bedtime and nap time are never any fun. I hope this phase passes soon.

Mia also got to go to one of her baby brother's baby check up. It was fun having her there, however, she was a bit on the silly side and kept sniffing the office toy and saying "PE-U" and laughing. She started saying it so loud that I couldn't hear my doctor anymore!!! Eventually Dada was able to calm her down haha. She seemed pretty interested in hearing his heart beat too which made me smile.

Mia also had a bad night this week. She fell out of her bed and woke up crying and screaming. Dada and I comforted her and I stayed with her but she refused to fall back asleep and soon was up and about playing. When I got to tired to hang out Dada took over and even he couldn't get her back to sleep so we ended up just having to leave her in the room until she fell asleep. Sounds mean but we were with her from a little before 2am to almost 4am!!!

A HUGE thing happened this week, she put on her sneakers all by herself for the first time!!! Unfortunately, I was distracted by the computer so I didn't see how she did it but before I knew it she was walking around the corner from me in her shoes and they were on the correct feet too!! I was so proud of her, my little one is growing up so fast!!!

She also went to the park earlier in the week, just her and Dada. He took her to the new park down the street. She played on the swings the ENTIRE time and didn't care about anything else. She was literally on the swing for almost an hour before it got cold and it was time to go home. My little Mia, the swing monster! haha

That is about it for the week. We have another big weekend coming up. Sunday will be Baby Alex's second baby shower in San Diego! How exciting! I am sure I will have LOTS to talk about! Till then I am off to bed.... so sleepy!

Thursday, September 23, 2010

Mia put on her shoes all by herself today!


Current mood: happy

We had another big moment this morning! Mia put on her shoes all by herself for the very first time! And no they weren't slippers, slip ons, or her sandals, they were her sneakers that WE even have a hard time getting over her feet! I was so shocked and so proud... this is what happened...

Since it is summer and HOT, Mia usually runs around in sandals when she goes outside. We did buy her a pair of sneakers for the cooler days or when we don't want her toes to get dirty. Well we had her sneakers in a duffel bag that I had YET to unpack from our last Oxnard visit and she found them. I really didn't feel like taking them away from her and just let her have them as I browsed the internet for something.

Soon I heard the noise, "thump thump thump". It was the sound of her shoes hitting the kitchen floor. At first I didn't think much of it until it hit me... I looked up from my computer screen and asked myeslf "whoa wait... that sound!? her shoes couldn't possibly be on and shes walking in them!?" I turned my head and sure enough, there was Mia with both shoes on her feet, walking proudly around the kitchen!

I sprang up!! So excited to be seeing what I was seeing! She not only had her shoes on but on the correct foot too!!! I cheered her on and grabbed the camera to take a picture of this big moment!

I am so proud of her! She is growing up waaaay to fast. I still don't know how she got her shoes on, if she sat on her butt and did it or stepped into them.... maybe I will catch her in action tomorrow! Till then I just HAD to share the story!

Bad Night!

Current mood: exhausted

I have been having some bad nights lately but mostly due to the pregnancy and being so far along. Last night, however, it had nothing to do with the baby and ALL to do with Mia! haha

I went to bed pretty early since I was so exhausted from the day. I had a hard time getting comfortable at first but eventually drifted off to sleep. I was suddenly woke up by a huge BAM!!!! coming from Mia's room. A short while later came the scream and cry! I jumped out of bed and Adrian (who was working from home) also went to the room to check on her.

We found her sitting on the floor next to her bed. She had fallen out of bed (which isn't to much of a surprise since she always sleeps on the edge). Adrian picked her up and consoled her, she was hysterical. I decided that I would stay with her until she fell back asleep so Adrian could get back to work. I figured it would be a good bonding experience since when the baby is born I won't be able to do that sort of thing as easily....(Boy was THAT a mistake)

I laid with her for a good hour (I know it was an hour because her CD was already repeating the songs I heard when I first got there) and she just couldn't fall asleep. She kept tossing and turning and at times I thought she might have fallen asleep, I would move and she would bounce right back up. SIGH! Though her bed is pretty comfy I couldn't get comfortable in it myself (mostly due to not having a blanket (she steals them all) and having a big unsupported belly with no extra pillows) I knew I wouldn't be able to sleep myself and I was so tired.

Soon she got her second wind and was ready to play! OH NO!!! She chatted and chatted and told me about all kinds of random things from, her cousins Sarah and Tracy dancing to "We rock you", to Grandpa making her fall, to falling out of the chair and hitting her head, to eating a bug "omm..nom..nom" haha She was a talking machine!! I finally had to tell her "Mama nite nite" and rolled away from her ignoring her. Well that didn't help she would just lean over my shoulder and make weird sounds in my ear trying to wake me up!!! I thought it was cute but I was so exhausted all I wanted to do was sleep!!! Then she sat up and started to walk around her room. Thats when I drew the line. I went to the door, and she ran to it too. As soon as I opened it she ran out with her blanket to her Dada.

Adrian asked what happened and I told him I was just to tired to be with her anymore and she wasn't sleepy anymore. He told me to go to bed and he would take care of her.

The last thing I remember was going to bed. She was hanging out at her door way chatting away and making herself laugh. She was so loud that I could hear her in our room with our fan on!!! I finally started to drift off when I was woken up again by a HUGE scream!!! I jumped out of bed and ran to where her room is. Adrian was holding her and was walking down the stairs. I asked him what happened and he said nothing... she was just trying to get something that she shouldn't be and he took it away. So I went back to bed. I could hear her playing downstairs... not really sure how long they were down there but I was woken up again later to her crying in her room as he put her back to bed.

Now it is morning. I am hoping she will sleep in a bit due to the weird night, but not sure. I am up early due to the baby and the need to use the restroom and eat. Sigh... I will never have rest again with this kids around!!! haha Joys of mother-hood I guess =)

Monday, September 20, 2010

Mia goes to her Brother's Baby Doc Appointment


Current mood: amused

It has been awhile but Mia was finally able to attend one of her baby brother's prenatal visit. The last time she went was back in May so its been a loooong while!

When I scheduled the appointment I forgot all about her nap time so when we were ready to go she was ready for bed! Uh-Oh! I wasn't sure how she would act but I was hoping for the best. Luckily for us, instead of being cranky tired, she was giddy tired. She was acting silly in the car and once we arrived at the appointment and we put her in her stroller (which she also hasn't been in, in FOREVER) she quieted down a bit. I think it was due to all the strangers around us.

She had fun going "weeeeeeeee" up the elevator and did pretty good in the waiting room. They called us back pretty fast so her and her Dada waited in the doctor's office while the nurses took me to get my vitals taken.

There is a little toy in the office that she LOVES to play with and it was still there. So when I walked in she was busy playing with her little toy. I got ready for the doctor to see me and soon she walked in. Right away Mia got shy, even as the doctor (who saw me all through her pregnancy) said hi to her. The doc commented on how big she has gotten and I agreed.

Mia seemed to do well during the appointment until the giddiness kicked in again. Right in the middle of some serious conversation, Mia decided it would be funny to sniff the toy she was playing with and say "PEE-U!!!" and laugh hysterically. We tried to ignore it but she got louder and louder saying "PEE-U!!" and sniffing the toy! Soon it got so loud I couldn't hear the doctor anymore and she couldn't hear me!!!! Eventually Dada distracted her enough to have her stop doing that haha.

The doctor did a quick exam on me while Mia watched. She looked shocked as they measured my tummy, and seemed pretty intrigued by the sounds of her brother's heart beat.

The exam didn't take long and we were soon on our way. I had to get blood drawn so we hit the lab on the way out. Dada and Mia sat in the waiting area while they took my blood. As soon as I left Mia's sight she started to ask for me "Mama? Mama?" she was pretty concerned. When I came back she was all happy to see me until something caught her eye, it was my arm. It was bandaged with a tiny cotton ball. Right away she said "Uh! Oh! Ouchie, Mama Ouchie" She wasn't to happy that I had an ouchie and her mood started to shift from giddiness to cranky.... oh no!!

Overall she did pretty good at the visit, besides the "PEE-U" incident, but I rather take that than what we had to deal with when we went home. She REFUSED to get out of her stroller once we arrived at the car and that kicked off a trantrum that lasted all the way home, and even when we laid her down for a nap. UGH! That was no fun, but once she woke from her nap she was good again.

I am glad I was able to have little Mia at my appointment, though she is unpredictable at times she still warms my heart. Now the big question is, I wonder how she will act once her brother is here?!?

Friday, September 17, 2010

Week 114



Current mood: distractable

Happy Friday Everyone! Another week gone by.... hopefully I will be able to finish writing this.. Mia is NOT having a good night and refuses to go to sleep. Infact she is up there crying right now as I type this, but I think its because her room is pitch dark. No, I didn't make it that way, before she went to bed she REFUSED to let me plug in her night light... now I think she is regretting that decision haha

Well this week has been pretty cool, especially with the fact that we went to Oxnard for her brother's baby shower and she got to see all her cousins again and Pizano family. That is always a treat for all of us. This was a very significant visit too... it was the last time it would just be the three of us... next time there will be four of us!! YIKES! Mia did great during the visit and had LOTS of fun with her cousins. She even got to spend the night too and she did very well. I can't wait to get everyone together again.... hopefully it will be soon.

She also turned 26 months old this week! I still can't believe how fast time is zooming by! My little one is growing up too darn fast!!!!

Mia HATES her diapers now! and I always have to make sure she is wearing some sort of bottoms at ALL times. Twice this week she took off her diaper in the middle of the night and once she even peed all over her bed!!! She took off her diaper in the middle of the livingroom too! Yep the terrible twos are here!

She did a HUGE thing this week as well! She went Pee pee's in the potty for the first time... well sort of... she did managed to get a few drops in.. but most of it ended up on the floor! EW! haha but she is getting the concept of it all. I ask her if she wants to go Pee Pees in the potty and she will run full blast to the bathroom and sit on her potty chair. Yep, I think potty training is creeping closer and closer... regardless if I am ready or not!

Another big event that happened this week was her Grandpa Pizano came down for a few days to babysit Mia while I packed up some things in the house! Of course that is always a special treat and Mia got spoiled like CRAZY!!!! She and her Grandpa got in some much needed bonding time and really enjoyed the last visit before her baby brother is born!

Well that is about it for the week. I do feel like this blog is a bit rushed by my stomach is hurting really bad again (thanks to the baby) and Mia is crying in her room. I guess I should go check on her to make sure shes ok and try to convince her that the night light is a GOOD thing haha

Another Great Week with Grandpa Pizano























Current mood: accomplished

As the time ticks closer and closer to the BIG DAY when Mia's baby brother is born, I find myself trying to take care of as much as I can around the house. The biggest project has been packing and preparing for our big move back to San Diego. I know once the newborn is here AND recovering from a C-section, there will be NO packing on my end at all. So I have to do as much as I can now while I still can. So I called in for backup... my Dad!

I wanted at least a few days of solid sorting, packing and cleaning and I knew there was no way I would be able to take care of it all with little Mia running around. Adrian does help to watch her but I needed some good interrupted time... not a few hours.

So my Dad jumped at the chance to see his little Amazin' Mia again. Unfortunately, due to some unforeseen circumstances with the car and some other things, my Dad didn't make it up on Tuesday as early as he wanted to but he still made it... and he brought some VERY good hamburgers with him..... yummmm!!!

Mia was so excited to see her Grandpa again. Once he pulled up in the car she ran to the window and said "Grandpa Car! Grandpa Car!" and ran right up to him once he came through the door. They both had lots of fun bonding again and she even got to stay up past her bedtime! But she was good about it, no whining or anything.... infact she never slowed down at all! All she wanted to do was dance and play!

My Dad later took her to bed and to his surprise, she no longer goes to bed willingly. This is something both Adrian and I have noticed for the past month. She refuses to lay in her bed and all she wants to do is run around her room. You can no longer stay with her until she falls asleep... you just have to leave her crying or not. So my Dad had some first had experience with that and it made him sad.... shes growing up too fast!

Later that night my Dad and I stayed up pretty late catching up on things and having our nice long chats. The next morning Mia and Grandpa were up bright and early and Grandpa even cooked her favorite... eggs! He cooked me my favorite too! Eggs and baloney (ya I know... sounds gross but its been my pregnancy craving lately). After breakfast the both of them watched Mia's favorite PSB shows on TV and had fun. I on the other had didn't have so much fun, I was stuck packing and cleaning ... YUCK! But I did knock out a huge chunk of work in one day and I was proud of myself.

The rest of the night went pretty smooth. The next day I had some horrible stomach cramps and pains from the baby. That held me back from most of the day of packing and I wasn't to happy about that. Mia on the other hand just rejoiced on having another full day with Grandpa who spoiled her like crazy! He cooked all her meals, changed her and did EVERYTHING! This gave me a HUGE break, though I couldn't do anything anyway since my stomach was hurting so bad. Adrian even BBQ'd so we had TONS of great food. Mia and Grandpa spent most of that day running around and playing as well. Mia even got to go to the park with her Grandpa later in the afternoon. My Dad was so shocked on what a big girl she has become, she can go up and down the slide all by herself and doesn't need any help to play at all. He also played her some music from his cell phone and Mia literally danced up all the stairs to the jungle gym! She even made a friend with a little 2 year old girl who was also there. Both Mia and Grandpa had a very fun time. By the end of the night Mia was so wound up she was literally throwing herself head first off the couch! haha It was so much fun watching them play together.

The whole visit Mia was stuck to her Grandpa like glue. She even cried everytime he left her sight to use the restroom... and I mean CRY ... tears and all. Forget about him trying to get anything out of the car. The whole visit she was his little shadow... she could care less about her Mama or Dada haha

Today was the final day. Although my Dad planned on heading out pretty early he just couldn't leave Mia and Mia didn't want him to leave either. So he delayed his trip back home and took her out to the AWESOME hamburger place he found in NorCo (which is a pretty decent drive up north) just the two of them. They both had so much fun and took lots of pictures. Mia looked worn out from all the fun but again wouldn't leave her Grandpa's side. They played a bit more and soon it was time for Grandpa to go. Mia right away knew something was up as he got ready to leave. She started to get EXTRA clingy and mopey. Once my Dad left to pack up the car she threw a HUGE fit and cried so hard. Adrian and I knew we were going to be in some serious Mia trouble really soon, so we came up with a game plan for when my Dad left.

We said our sad goodbyes and Mia started to cry hysterically. We couldn't even take her outside to wish her Grandpa goodbye as he drove away, instead Adrian took her upstairs and gave her a bath (one of her most favorite activities of all). I went outside and waved goodbye to my Dad and later joined Mia and Adrian upstairs. The bath seemed to work and calmed her down a bit.

After the bath we all hung out in the livingroom for awhile listening to music and Mia actually fell asleep on the floor!!!! That is a first in Mia history! She never gets tired enough to fall asleep just anywhere! I was shocked and of course took some pics and videos to capture the rare moment. Her Grandpa really wore her out BIG TIME!! I think we need to have him come here more often!!! haha

Overall the visit was awesome. I did managed to get ALOT done and that means less stress on my end. Mia had lots of fun and so did Adrian. It is always fun when Grandpa Pizano comes to visit! Now comes the tough part... how to un-spoil Little Miss Mia!!!

*VIDEO* Mia knocked out after a fun visit with Grandpa Pizano 9-17-10

Mia NEVER sleeps on the floor out of nowhere. This was the first time and I HAD to capture it on camera. She was OUT like a light! She just had a fun few days with Grandpa Pizano

Tuesday, September 14, 2010

Mia went Pee Pees in the potty for the 1st time!!!



Current mood: shocked

I should have known... Mia always calls the shots.. ready or not I have to be ready regardless. I mentioned in my previous blogs that Mia has been taking baby steps towards potty training. I haven't really encouraged it as much as I should be for the simple fact I wanted to wait until we were settled into our new place (Hopefully mid-Nov). I heard that its better to potty train when there are no big life changing things going on. With us moving and her baby brother being born in 4 weeks, I just thought it wouldn't be the ideal time right now. Well I should have known... Mia really does call the shots in the family and when shes ready she lets us know. This started with her refusing to breastfeed, learned how to use a sippy cup by age 4 months and rejecting a bottle completely before her 1st year!!! Now she is showing us she wants to use the potty and toss her diapers away for good!!

Not only is she constantly letting us know when she needs a diaper change, but now unless she is wearing chonies or pants/shorts she will take off her diaper and run around bottomless!!! Its getting bad! So bad that I have to always make sure she wearing some sort of bottoms, even with nitegowns!

Well yesterday she really got into the whole fact of sitting on her potty chair. She was so happy and excited, but nothing could have prepared me for what happened today!!!

About mid-morning her diaper was really heavy and it was time to change her. I asked her, not thinking she would do anything, "Mia do you want to sit on your potty and go pee pees?" Like a flash, she ran FULL BLAST straight into the bathroom and waited for me to get there to turn on the light. She then lifted up her potty chair's lid and sat down! I was shocked and cheered her on. I then said "Ok we need to take your diaper off first before you sit down" So she stood up and let me take off her diaper but she sat back down again before I could pull up her nightgown. "Wait Mia! We need to lift your jammies up" So I lifted up her jammies and told her to sit down. She was distracted by the toy in the bathtub and didn't really hear me. I repeated myself and finally I got her attention then I said "Ok go Pee Pees!" Now, I don't know if it was just really good timing, a coincidence, or that she actually understood me... but she began to pee!!!!

The bad thing was, she was still standing there and pee was going down her leg onto the floor!!! I panicked but tried not to scare Mia, "Sit down! Mia Sit Down" and I forced her to sit on her potty but it was so late. She was covered in pees and so was the ground, however, she did manage to get a few drops in her potty. Of course Mia started to cry because she peed on herself and didn't like that, so I quickly cleaned her up. I even handed her some toilet paper to help Mama clean her leg and once I did that she cheered up again. Again she wanted to sit back on the potty and refused to leave the bathroom at all!

I told her to come with me to get a diaper put on and she got MAD and refused. Eventually she followed me into the guestroom and I cleaned her up some more and put on a new diaper. She fought me the whole time, she didn't want that diaper on for NOTHING! Eventually I got it on and she zoomed off the bed and went straight back into the bathroom to sit on her potty again. I literally had to bribe her with her gummie vitamins to get her out of the bathroom! haha

I am so proud of her, I know its such a tiny step but I am still so thrilled and happy. Not sure where we go from here .... I guess keep taking baby steps and let Mia lead the way!

Monday, September 13, 2010

Baby Steps towards potty training

Current Mood: Surprised

Well I know Mia is 2 and I probably should be taking steps towards potty training but I have purposely attempted to postpone it until the baby is born and we are moved into our new place. The reason for this, is that many experts say that huge life changing events that happen around the same time as potty training usually don't mix and the training can be greatly affected. The two biggest ones are a birth of a sibling and moving and we are doing BOTH!!! However, I think Mia has other plans.

I have noticed through out the recent weeks, that she is starting to recognize herself going pee pees or poopies. She will immediately tell me afterwards and usually makes me follow her into the room so I can change her diaper. I thought this was pretty neat.. but the next phase isn't so great...

Now she is starting to reject her diaper and attempts to take it off any time she has a chance. I can no longer let her run around in just a diaper, no matter how HOT it is in the house. Same with nitegowns, she always has to have a pair of shorts or chonies underneath, because more than once we have found her half naked in her room with her diaper gone!!! Just this morning I was using the computer and looked over at her to find her in front of the TV and her bare bootie buns staring at me!!!

So those two things tell me that Mia is getting closer and closer to start training... regardless if I am ready or not. The biggest thing happened today!

I saw her squating and going poopies. I then asked her if she wanted to go poopies in the potty and she started to walk towards the bathroom (bow legged I might add lol) and she went right to her potty chair that sits in front of the toilet. I was shocked. She was already done doing her business by the time she reached the bathroom but I decided to take the chance to do another introduction to the potty. I have done this months ago and she never seemed interested nor liked to even sit in the potty chair or toilet. This time, however, I pulled down her pants, took off her diaper and told her to sit down on the potty .... and she did!!!!!! She was all proud of herself and I cheered her on. Then she stood up and then sat down again!! She did this a couple of times, and each time I cheered her on more. I showed her that the potty chair was "Mia's potty" and the big potty was "Mama's potty" and we sat down together. She was so excited. I did attempt to put her on the big toilet but she wanted no part of that. So I guess she likes HER potty, finally... we have only had it since she was 18 months old!!!! haha

Well after the potty experience I took her to the changing room, cleaned her up and put on a fresh diaper. She didn't like having the diaper put on her and fought it a bit. She hates diapers now. After we were done she went right back to the bathroom and sat on her potty again!!! I actually had to shoo her out of the bathroom she didn't want to leave!! haha

So I guess potty training is right around the corner regardless if I am ready or not!

Sunday, September 12, 2010

Mia's Baby Brother's Baby Shower (Oxnard)









Current Mood: TIRED!

Its been a crazy past few days and I am still trying to recover and catch up on my blogging. So I am not going to go into too many details regarding the Alex's baby shower specifically since I already wrote a HUGE blog all about it, that is attached to HIS blogsite (http://babypumpkincardoso.blogspot.com/2010/09/baby-shower-in-oxnard-for-baby-alex.html) So if you are interested in pictures, stories and stuff surrounding the baby shower you can read that since I just don't have the energy to repeat myself here haha

Anyway, back to Mia. Like I mentioned before we made another trip up to Oxnard for Alex's baby shower. It was a milestone trip since it marked the very last time we would be in Oxnard just the three of us! Infact it would be the last time the three of us traveled that far together again! Mia did pretty well, though she wasn't to sleepy since we left pretty early so needless to say she didn't fall asleep and half way through the ride up we had to hook up her DVD player. But overall she did great. The only bad thing she did was tear up the homemade shirt I made her for the baby shower it read "Big Sister to baby Alex" and had two little baby feet underneath before we reached the party.... ah well.... I should have known! haha

Once we reached my Brother and Sis-in-law's house she recognized it right away and said "Tracy! Sarah!" She was so excited to get off the car. She did act shy at first a bit but it didn't take long before her cousins had her running around screaming and having fun!

She did really good at the party and didn't mind all the new faces. She mostly hung out with her cousins and their little friend Avery. I went to check on them once and all of them were playing in her cousin April's room literally throwing around toys and having a blast!

I was surprised she did so well, she didn't take a nap the whole day and never once did she melt down. She was just having way to much fun. When the party ended she was still running around like crazy. Oh wait, I remember a time when she blew up, it was when her Grandpa Pizano left! OMG She went nuts... she was so upset. She started screaming and crying hysterically.. "Grandpa!!!! GRANDPA!!! OH NO!!!" it took a long time for her to calm down but she finally did.

We planned on spending the night at my Brother's house so they had already set up the blow up mattress in Tracy and Sarah's room for her to sleep on. Adrian and I would also be sleeping in the girls room and the girls would take their Mom and Dads room and my Bro and Sis would take the couch. When it was her bedtime, Adrian laid her down and she knocked out FAST! We later went to bed ourselves and she slept the whole night. This was actually the first time in Mia history (Well since she was a newborn) that her and I shared a room together at night! She usually sleeps in a separate room with Adrian if we are spending the night somewhere or in her own room at home.

The night was alittle rough for me since I am pregnant and no bed is comfortable enough, but she seemed to get really good sleep. I was soon woken up by the loud sound of her calling me "MAMA!!! MAMA!!!" it was 7:30am!!!! Good Grief! She was rested and ready to go. Adrian was still knocked out so I decided to get up and get her breakfast started. She was all perky and ready to find Tracy and Sarah. I walked her out into the livingroom and to my surprise the whole family was already up! My brother, Sis-in-law, Tracy, Sarah, April and Baby Sophia!!! Mia was shy a bit at first but eventually warmed up. I cooked her an egg and fed her some breakfast and soon she was running around with her cousins again. At one point she went into the backyard with her cousin April and the two of them shared a scooter together. Mia was standing on it while April was carefully pushing her around making sure she didn't fall. It was the cutest thing I have ever seen!!! Those two LOVE to hang out with each other, its so adorable.

Later that afternoon her Grandpa showed up to visit and that made her day. She LOVES her Grandpa to death and every time she sees him its a treat. She was having such a great time with everyone, at one point her Nino put on her favorite song "We will rock you" and she went NUTS!! Soon all her cousins AND Grandpa were going nuts dancing to the song.

Soon she started to tire out and with her needing a nap we knew it was time to go. We wanted to make sure she would sleep on the road to make things easier on all of us. So we packed up and said our sad goodbyes. Mia was not happy and didn't want to leave. She cried and cried and when we got her to the car she blew up again... she didn't want to leave and I don't blame her!

We later left and just as predicted she slept the ENTIRE ride home! YAY!! Once we got home she only lasted about an hour before she got tired again and went to bed (an hour early!) She was pooped out from the eventful weekend... we all were... infact I still am!

Overall it was a great visit and great Shower! It was so awesome to see family again and have Mia play with her cousins. I can't wait to see everyone again only this time we will be a traveling family of FOUR!!!! WOW!

Nakey Girl!

Current mood: shocked

We are fully into the "terrible 2's" for sure now!!!! I didn't have time to write this Saturday morning when it happened, but I wanted to make sure I documented it when I could to show Mia in the future, that she was definately a handfull sometimes and always keeped her Mama and Dada on their toes!

Her baby brother's baby shower (Oxnard) was set for Saturday afternoon, so we gave Mia a bath the night before so she would be all nice, clean and fresh for the next day. We later put her to bed and everything seemed pretty normal.

I went to bed hours later and was suddenly woken up by Adrian just as I was doozing off. He didn't realize I was half asleep but wanted me to know the following...

He had gone into Mia's room to check on her and found something horribly wrong!!!

First off she wasn't in her bed but sleeping in the corner of her room on the floor. If that wasn't bad enough, as he walked up to her to make sure she was ok he noticed something shocking... she was laying there completely naked from the waist down!!! She had managed to take off her diaper and ditched it on the other side of the room!! OH NO!!! Luckily there were no pee spots anywhere! So he grabbed another diaper, put it on her and put her in bed. She didn't put up much of a fuss but it was kind of funny.

That morning I woke up and grabbed my camera. It was her annual "month" mark where I always take a video and picture of her to start the new Mia Month (always starting on her day of birth... the 11th) I walked up to her room and she was having fun jumping up and down in the crib. I thought I would get some good pictures and videos of her since she sounded like she was in such a good mood. As I opened the door I noticed something right away. There was a dirty diaper laying on the middle of her big girl bed!!!! OH NO!! I thought to myself... as I hoped that maybe just maybe Adrian forgot to take out the dirty diaper she took off the night before. No such luck! As I rushed to Mia to check to see if she was naked under her nitegown she still kept jumping all happily. I reached over and sure enough I felt bootie buns!!!! !NOOOOOOOOOO!!!! Not only did she take off her diaper but this time she peed all over her baby brothers crib mattress and herself!!! NOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO!!!!!!!!!!!!!! So much for pictures! I quickly got her out of the crib and put a new diaper on her and PANTS and cleaned up her legs! She wasn't to happy about this, then again I wasn't too happy about all the pee pee mess!

She eventually left the room happy and we started the day.... a little late!!!

Sigh... well she was good at her Nina and Nino's house last night (we spent the night) no diaper diaster...,however, tonight we are back home. No nitegowns for her, she is in SHORTS!!! Hopefully that will help.... please oh please don't let me wake up to another half nakey girl with pee pees all over the place!

Saturday, September 11, 2010

26 Months Old!



Current Mood: Happy

Thats right! little Mia is 26 months old!! She is saying and doing so much its so hard to keep up with her. I try so hard to document as much as I can in the blogs but sometimes I miss stuff. She keeps doing things so fast and so much that I literally can't keep up sometimes! Its crazy! Well I do my best we will see how long I can attempt to keep up with little Miss Mia aka the Mia monster! haha

SUMMARY:
Its getting harder to keep her in the carts at the store, she constantly wants to run around and get into trouble

She has learned how to say her brothers name, "Baby Alex" and often times tries to touch or tickle my tummy when she says it

She has learned almost the entire alphabet and knows and recognizes letters

She has learned to count on her hands, but can't really form the number 3 to well yet

She is singing more and more songs, and learning more and more lyrics! We will rock you! Is still her all time favorite song

We took a quick turn-around trip to Oxnard and she was babysat by her Nina, Nino and cousins for the first time. She had a blast!

She wants to mimic me and be like me more and more, wearing my clothes, bra, maternity belt and doing whatever I am doing and eating whatever I eat.. including spicy chili dried mango slices haha

Mia ate an ant and after realizing it was "bug" she got tramatized by this and wouldn't stop talking about it for weeks! "Bug mouth!"

She took a trip down to San Diego with her Dada to play with her cousins, Brianna and Natalia. She had a blast there too and came home exhausted, dirty from playing outside, and happy! haha

Grandpa Pizano came down for a couple of days and spent some quality time with Mia. She loved this and of course was spoiled rotten! haha She still looks for him in the house and asks about him

Mia loves her PBS shows, including "Elmo Street" (Sesame Street) and is always asking for that

We finally had the chance to take her to the new park down the road and she LOVES the swings.. infact we couldn't get her back off of them!

I soloed Mia for a full day and a half for the first time while Dada spent the night in San Diego (Due to his early morning training week)

Mia is obsessed with feeding our cat and constantly makes a mess out of her cat food trying to get "Kitty eat!"

She took off her own diaper and tried to fold it up.. all while alone in her room one morning. I now know what she means when she tells me "Mickey Pee Pees!" haha

Mia loves Pizza and is constantly talking about it, "Pizza Whoohoo!"

She is also obsessed with her cousin Sarah! This started after talking on the phone with her, now she always wants to talk to Sarah and only Sarah on the phone. She walks around the house holding her picture and even kisses it!

She finally asks for things politely, "Mama "object" Please" and sometimes ends it with "Alright!!!!" in a cheer like fashion if she knows she will get it after I say ok haha

She is constantly blasting her radio in the room and dances like crazy to the blaring music

GOALS FOR NEXT MONTH:
Keep working on her alphabet so she can finally get that down bad, and start working on the "Teen" numbers ie. 11, 12, 13, 14 .... She has 1-10 nailed and can even count things and objects on her own. She will sometimes walk up to me and say "Mama!!! Two blankeys!" when she is holding two of her blankets!

GOALS MET FROM LAST MONTH??
The weather hasn't really permitted us to take her out to the park more but we do when we can. We did finally take her to the new park down the road so that was a big treat for us. I can't wait to take her again! She has been an alphabet wiz! She has learned almost all her letters! She only has trouble on "L, M, G, J" other than those she knows all the other. When I say knows, I mean knows! Not just memorizing the song... she will actually pick out or point to the letter and say what it is without anyones help! Shes my little genious! I am so proud of her. Also, with the help of Dada she has added new foods to her menu!! HORRAY! This is a HUGE thing since Mia is such a picky eater and refuses to try new things (hmm.... I wonder who she takes after?!? haha!) So her meals have finally been expanding! She likes deli turkey now and actually asks for it, and little pasta meals from Gerber. It doesn't seem like much but believe me with Mia its HUGE!

Friday, September 10, 2010

Week 113



Current mood: hungry

Happy Friday!!!! Here we go again... another week has gone by, another blog to write! I hope I can still keep this up once the baby gets here. Writing weekly blogs has been almost like a Friday tradition for me, ever since Mia was 1 week old! We will see what happens, if Mia's brother is anything like Mia was as a newborn I will be in some SERIOUS trouble! haha

This week has really zoomed by, but it was still pretty fun. Luckily Adrian's training is over and he has finally recovered from working early mornings. Things have finally started to normalize (if there is even such a thing in this household) a bit. I had a couple of back to back days with lots of energy so Mia really benefited from that. We played alot and had alot of Mama Mia time. I am cherishing all that I can because I know once the little baby gets here things are going to change! ALOT! At least during his newborn phase. I just hope Mia adjusts ok, I am so worried about that.

The weather has finally been nice, it was overly hot in the beginning of the week (1oos again) but has since cooled down to tolerable if not nice temps (upper 80s to low 90s) However, even with the good weather we have been so busy lately that we haven't had time to really take Mia out to the park or anything. We have been trying though!

Well Mia has sure been keeping her Mama on her toes, everyday is a new experience and I never know what she has in store for me. One morning as I got her up from bed, she kept saying "Mickey Pee Pees!" I didn't know what that meant. I figured she was just telling me that she went Pee Pees in her diaper, what happened next is something I didn't expect at all! She went over to me, laid on her back and low and behold her Mickey Diaper was missing!!!! I had a half naked baby on my hands!! OH NO!!! I quickly cleaned her up and put on a new diaper. I checked her bed and room for any pee pee puddles but luckily there was none. PHEW!!! Luckily for me that was the only day she took off her own diaper... though she has been pulling on it alot lately. Maybe potty training is going to come faster than I wanted to. I am hoping to hold out until the baby is here and we are moved into our new place. They say that big life changing events in a toddler's life can set back potty training alot so I want to get through the next to HUGE ones first. I would had to see all my hard work go to waste.

We also learned this week that Mia loves PIZZA!!! Haha We don't order or have Pizza in the house to often but this week Adrian decided to treat us. I am not really allowed to eat Pizza on my new diet but I was able to scrap off the toppings and leave the crust which helped alot with my blood sugar. The funny thing, and the reason why I am bringing this up, is because once we brought the pizza into the house Mia saw it and went NUTS!!!!! She followed me to the kitchen and pointed at the pizza box and said "Pizza Whoohoo!!!!" then tried to open the box herself!! haha She isn't a real pizza eater, she only likes the crust a olives but she knows what it is. She kept saying "Pizza Pizza Pizza!" I let her eat my crust haha. The next morning, she went straight for the kitchen during breakfast, found the empty box of pizza and got excited again. "Pizza!!" she said and opened the box, however, she saw that it was empty. "Oh NO!!!!! Pizza!" she frantically told me all upset. I explained the pizza was gone and we were having eggs for breakfast... she wasn't to happy about that.

Another cute thing that happened this week is that she developed an obsession with her cousin Sarah! It all started a couple of days ago when I was talking to Sarah on the phone and she asked to talk to Mia. Mia actually wanted to chat on the phone for once and got all excited to hear her cousin talking to her. Every since then its, Sarah this, and Sarah that! One Morning as I was just about to give my Dad a call, I asked Mia "Do you want to talk to Grandpa?" she said "No!!!... Sarah!!!" and refused to talk to my Dad haha. Then she found the school pictures of my two nieces (Sarah and Tracy) that are in a joint frame on our coffee table. She now carries that frame EVERYWHERE and always points them out... especially Sarah! Yesterday I caught her kissing the frame! She really loves her cousin Sarah thats for sure. Tomorrow is my baby shower in Oxnard, I can't wait to get the cousins together again. I wonder how she will react!

My little jumping bean is getting worse and worse in her room during nap and bedtimes. She constantly climbs into her old crib and bounces around like CRAZY! Its getting so bad the crib now squeaks really bad! We will have to move it out of her room soon or her brother will end up in a broken crib!!

She finally has learned to ask me for things politely. I have been working on her manners for awhile now. It was a pet peve of mine the way she would ask... actually more like DEMAND things and I felt like she was bossing me around. For example if she wanted Milk she would walk up to me and demand "Milk!" sometimes even with a mean look on her face! haha Now I finally have her asking nicely. She now says "Mama, milk, please!" haha Actually with anything she wants its always "Mama..."object/thing".. please!" She knows if she says all three she will almost always get what she wants. The only bad thing is, she still does this same sentence with her Dada!! and he doesn't like being called "mama" to much! haha

I think we have a future DJ on our hands because she LOVES to blast her radio in her room when shes alone and when I say blast I mean BLAST! She turns the volume up all the way and we have literally found her dancing with her toys directly in front of it! It has gotten so bad and so loud that even with the baby monitor off, you can hear the music thumping from upstairs when your in the livingroom and we have to put the TV volume up! Thats Mia for you, she loves her music and loves singing to songs too!

Well thats about it for the week, at least from what I can remember. Again, we are having our Oxnard Baby shower tomorrow so I KNOW I will have lots to stories to share. I can't wait! Till then its time to get ready for the day and grab some FOOD!!!

Friday, September 3, 2010

"Mickey Pee Pees!"

Current mood: amused

Well that didn't take very long, I already have a new story to share and it hasn't even been an hour since my last blog!!! haha

I guess I should start from the beginning. Mia had a VERY late lunch yesterday and ate tons of food so when dinner time rolled around she was understandably not very hungry, but very tired. So I put her to bed a bit early. I felt bad that she didn't have an official dinner and knew once she woke up she would be starving! So before I went to bed last night I put a big treat in her room for her to wake up to. An apple! If you know Mia you know how obsessed she is with her apples. If she had it her way she would eat apples all day long! So I placed the apple near her fan so she would be able to see it in the morning. I then went to bed.

I am glad I did the apple thing because I was so tired from the horrible night sleep that I over slept a bit and didn't hear her. I wasn't sure when she had woken up but I could hear her playing in her room. I hoped she had found her apple. I went downstairs to use the restroom and to grab a clean diaper for her to change in to. (I always change her diaper when I get her in the morning, its much easier for me since all she needs to do is lay down on her bed and I can change her without lifting her). I also grabbed a banana half for her, another Mia favorite and daily morning treat.

I could hear her going NUTS in her room! and I mean NUTS!!! More so than usual. She was singing, playing, screaming, and jumping (I could hear the thumps from downstairs). I figured she had found the apple and was excited about it. I thought about taking my camera upstairs with me but since I was already half way up I decided against it. I slowly opened her door to find her jumping in her crib!!!

I looked at where I had put the apple and sure enough it was gone! She was so happy to see me! She asked for her "nana" so I gave it to her and she continued to jump in her crib while eating the banana. I sat on her big girl bed and looked for the apple. Sure enough I found a chewed up core under her pillow. I asked her if she liked the apple and all she said was "Mickey Pee Pees!" and pointed to herself (her night time diapers have Mickey on them... her day time diapers have Elmo) I answered "yes, Mickey has pee pees we need to change you" and I held up her new diaper. She continued to say "Mickey pee pees!" and after she ate her banana she climbed out of her crib and back on her bed and laid down before me. I thought to myself, wow cool I don't have to struggle to get her changed like I always do. I looked down and what did I see????

A half naked Mia!!!! OMG! What happened to your diaper?!?!?! She laughed and I quickly put on her new diaper. "Where is Mickey???" I asked her but she was more interested in taking the velcro off the Elmo diaper! "Nooo Mia nooo, where is Mickey!?" She didn't answer so I quickly got up and searched her room for the missing diaper. Sure enough I found it near her bed on the floor all balled up as she attempted to refasten it closed. She laughed when I found it and said "Mickey pee pees" again. I then quickly searched her bed, the crib and the floor for any puddles, luckily there weren't none. I guess she wasn't without a diaper to long. Thank goodness!!! Now I know why she was so happy in the morning! It had nothing to do with the apple treat, but the fact that she was diaper-free!!!! Weeeeeeeeee!!!!!!!!! haha

I guess she is getting closer and closer to potty training time. Not only does she tell me as soon as she goes "poopies" but she is no longer liking her pee pee diapers and is attempting to change herself. I guess thats a good thing. All I know is that she has to have pants or shorts on EVERY time she goes to bed. I was a bit lazy last night and since I couldn't find her jammie shorts I just let her go to bed with a top and diaper. Lesson learned! haha

Well from now on I will pay closer attention when she says "Mickey Pee Pees" or if she is having just alittle to much fun in the morning alone in her room jumping around! haha

Week 112


Current mood: exhausted

Happy Friday!!! Well I made it in one piece! I survived my first solo day with Mia! And it wasn't easy! Actually to my surprise and THANKFULLY she was in a pretty good mood all day, but I sure did have to step it up a bit. I was constantly playing games with her all day to make sure she never got bored and it seemed to do wonders for her mood. Unfortunately, for me I was pooped out by the afternoon and staying awake and energized was the real problem. Thankfully, the baby treated me good and I had no problems with him either. I still have another half day to go and then Adrian will hopefully be home... man I don't know how pregnant single mothers to toddlers do it! I give them alot of credit!

As for the rest of the week its been interesting for sure. Adrian has been in training all week in San Diego so I have pretty much been soloing Mia for most of the day. He wouldn't get home till about 4:30 and he would help out what he could but most of the day was Mama Mia time! It hasn't been too too bad though I do feel exhausted, more so than usual. The nights haven't been easy for me to sleep and rest up, mostly due to being so far along in the pregnancy.

Mia is getting so good with her letters I am so impressed. Though I haven't taught her the ABC song (on purpose, I want her to LEARN her ABCS not just memorize a annoying song) She is getting really good! She has tons of little ABC magnets that she LOVES and can name over half the letters from sight alone!!!!! I am so impressed and am loving to see my little one learn. So far she knows, A, B, C, D, E, F, H, I, K, M, O, P, Q, R, U, W, X, Y, Z!!!! Pretty good huh??!?!?

She is also breaking her crib before her brother can use it!! Oh-No!!! We have it butted up against her big girl bed to work as a make-shift wall so she can't fall out on that side, but in the afternoon time she loves to climb back in her crib and jump around! and HARD! Now the bed squeeks and it never used to do that before!!! We are going to have to remove it and FAST!

She is also obsessed with feeding the cat. One morning, while I was distracted with cooking breakfast, she managed to get into the cat food container and was taking handful upon handfuls of cat food and putting it in the cat's bowl! Eventually she ran over to me and told me that "Oh-no!! Kitty eat!! kitty eat!" I went over and saw the big mess she made, but also found it cute. So I called up to the cat (who was sleeping upstairs somewhere) and she ran down and found her bowl was overflowing with food. The best site for my fat cat! haha Mia was so excited that Mew Mew was eating she was screaming "Kitty Eat!!!! Kitty Eat!" and continued to fill up her bowl with even more food!!! I wanted to stop her, just because she was making a HUGE mess, but she was so excited and having so much fun I decided just to let her do her thing and watched her. She was so happy, that is until the cat got full and ran back upstairs. Mia was so upset and tried to coax the cat back by throwing food on the stairs, at the cat! Thats when I had to step in and stopped her. She was upset but by then breakfast was ready so she went off to eat herself. Now I have to make sure the cat food container is always tightly sealed, you never know when the Mia monster will strike again! haha

We also go to take her to the new park down the road a bit for the first time! We have been meaning to take her there since it opened in June but the weather has been to HOT lately. Well we got a small break from the heat this weekend so we took her down and she LOVED IT! Its actually alot better than the park across the street from us, the dog park down the road, and the park we went to for the 4th of July down the road! We are very impressed with it and it has lots for you to do, however, all Mia is interested in is ... no not the slides, the swings!!! OMG we had the hardest time getting her off of those things! She actually blew up so big when we did we had to go home! Sigh... ah well. At least they have swings, none of the other parks around us have them.

Well Mia is up and bouncing around in her room... again. It is time to start the day. That pretty much covers how the week went. Not sure what is planned for this weekend, but maybe I will have some new stories to tell.

Thursday, September 2, 2010

Mama Mia solo day!!!!

Current mood: nervous

Its hard to believe that Mia is alittle over 2 years old and I have yet to solo her for an entire day!!! Well today it is finally happening... for the first time ever I will be with her alone from the time she wakes up till the time I go to bed.. and even beyond that! A whole day and a half!!!!! YIKES!!!

I am nervous, I hope that my stamina will hold up. It isn't easy, especially being 8 months pregnant and on a diet that totally zaps my energy. I pray the little guy in my tummy doesn't give me any trouble or horrible cramps where I can't take care of Mia. So far so good. I am just about to get her up from bed (I can hear her playing in her room).

If you are wondering "Where is Adrian?!" well all this week he has been in San Diego early morning to mid-afternoon for training. He is a night shift guy, but the training is early morning. So though I have been pretty much soloing Mia all week, he still comes home by mid-afternoon and helps when he can, but he is understandably drained from the day. So today he has decided not to come home at all until late Friday! YIKES! So what does that mean... Mia solo time for Mama!!

So that is whats going on. Wish me luck that I can keep the Mia monster happy and entertained!