Friday, April 30, 2010

Week 94!

Little Mia (April 2010) | why so serious?! | Angie

Current mood: sleepy

Happy Friday!!! I really need to start writing these blogs in the morning again because by the end of the day I am so drained I hardly have the energy to write. I will see what I can remember, hopefully I will remember everything.

Well the week started off with a bang! Mia was officially crown a "Queen" as she took home the Toddler Miss City of Menifee title. I entered her in her very first (and quite possibly LAST) pageant and she won!!! It was no easy feat either... thankfully Dada came to the rescue and kept her pretty calm. I am so proud of my little girl!

We also took her to the Temecula duck pond this past weekend. She had a blast chasing ducks and trying to dive into the pond! She loves to explore and found out how much fun running up and down hills is... well to little kids that is, not for parents who have to chase them up and down haha

Mia also got to taste her very first homemade tortilla! I have been meaning to write a quick blog about this but these last couple of days I have had a relapse of my pregnancy sickness/tiredness so I haven't had the chance. Well anyways, for years I have wanted to learn how to make homemade tortillas. I have many fond memories of my own Grandma making them when I was little. I really didn't want to see that tradition die. Unfortunately neither of Mia's Grandma's know how to make tortillas so I made it my mission to find out so she would be able to experience what I did growing up. So I got a recipe online and made some. They actually came out pretty decent. I still need to tweek it a bit but they were still pretty good. Mia fell in love with them and demands one everytime I take them out. I can't wait until we can make them together!

She is also becoming more expressive. She is starting to finally use more words and is coming out of her shyness shell a bit (with talking that is). Every week she seems to be saying new words, and though she may not pronounce them very well, you can still understand what she is trying to say. I am so proud of her!

Well thats about it for now. I know I am alittle behind on uploading some recent pictures but that is myspace's fault. Since I have that new camera (12 mega-pixle) myspace uploader has been having a fit and won't let me upload most of my pictures until I compress them. Ugh!!! Hopefully I will be able to catch up this weekend. As for now I am off to bed, night night!!

Mia tries to fake out Mama!

Current mood: amused

Ever since Mia graduated to the "Big Girl Bed", I have formed a new tradition with her. When she still slept in the crib I used to carry her to bed, rock her in the rocking chair until she got good and sleepy then put her down and left the room. Now I make her climb the stairs herself with me following her of course (per doctor's orders, I am not allowed to pick up let alone carry Mia), we walk into her room, she climbs on her bed as I turn on her radio then climb into bed with her. I will stay with her a good 20-30mins before getting up and leaving.

When I leave she usually gets pretty upset and tries every way possible to get me to stay. She pulls on my shirt trying to force me to lay back down, she shakes her head no, she says "no no no no no" and sometimes pokes me in the eyes trying to get me to close them again. I usually have to talk to her a bit, give her her favorite toys, blanket, kiss her head and leave as she cries.

Well lately she has been getting a bit better. She hasn't cried in two days, but I have observed something new that just cracked me up inside. I just had to write about it.
I have noticed this before but not to the extent it is now.

When I am laying down next to her and I have my eyes closed, she always cuddles up next to me, facing me, forehead to forehead. Lately I have felt her little eyes staring at me. I open my eyes and sure enough those two little dark eyes are staring right at me! As soon as she realizes my eyes are open she quickly shuts her eyes really tight as if she is sleeping. She shuts them so tight that I can barely see any eye lashes sticking out!! She will wait awhile then slowly try to squint with her eyes partly open, when she thinks I have my eyes closed, she opens her eyes again. Then when I open my eyes she will quickly shut her eyes tight! It was the funniest thing. I tried so hard not to laugh. She was truly trying to fake me out like if she was sleeping so I wouldn't leave. She knows if she doesn't settle down or try to sleep I leave earlier.

I decided to test her to see if she really was trying to fake me out. So I closed my eyes and counted to 20 in my head. Then I slowly opened them and found her playing with her little tiny Plex finger puppet. She then looked up at me, saw that my eyes were open, quickly froze, squeezed her eyes shut again, all while holding her toy mid-air! It was too cute!

Sigh.... my little Mia already trying to find way to fake out Mama!... yep she sure is alittle version of me haha

Monday, April 26, 2010

Mia LOVES to chase ducks!!

Little Mia (April 2010) | Mia watching the turtle | Angie

Little Mia (April 2010) | pointing at a duck she found in the bushes | Angie

Little Mia (April 2010) | having lots of fun | Angie

Little Mia (April 2010) | exploring | Angie

Little Mia (April 2010) | chasing ducks | Angie

Little Mia (April 2010) | Dada helping Mia chase ducks | Angie

Little Mia (April 2010) | she wanted to go into the pond so bad | Angie

Current mood: blissful

Daddy had to work on his day off this past weekend so to make up for it, he was able to take today off!!! YAY!!! It was the first time, in a VERY long time, he has been able to take a weekday off and we didn't have anything to do.

So we spent most of the day relaxing at the house. I suddenly got a craving for Pat and Oscar's Greek salad so we zoomed over there to get some. Mia was excited to get out of the house and did very well at the restaurant. She ate some breadsticks and for the first time EVER their Mac and Cheese (she usually hates the stuff).

When we were all overly stuffed and happy we decided to go out to the duck pond outside. It has been a family favorite place to go even before we moved out here! So armed with my new camera I was ready to go take some memorable pictures.

Mia was excited to be at the duck pond. She smiled and talked to all the little ducks and even tried to climb into the pond!! Daddy ended up having to chase her around a bit until she discovered how to climb hills! Soon she was up and down the hills over and over, laughing, screaming and smiling. Then she discovered she could chase the ducks!!! So every chance she got to chase the poor little ducks, she did!!! She would get a huge kick out watching them fly in the air away from her.

She was everywhere and we all had such a great time. The weather was awesome, I was feeling sick-free and we all were enjoying ourselves.

Overall the day was great... well except for when we went to Babies R Us and let Mia ride the Elmo car they had outside. When the ride was over she threw the biggest store tantrum of her life!! Ya that wasn't fun.. but that story is for another time. As for now I am off to get some much needed rest and hopefully upload some pictures!!

Sunday, April 25, 2010

Status Update

Every time Mia sees this video she screams and cries. She doesn't like to see Brobee's mouth falling off. I guess it would be kind of traumatizing for a kid who loves Yo Gabba Gabba but I still think its too funny

Saturday, April 24, 2010

Mia is Crowned Miss City of Menifee 2010!





















Current mood: exhausted

Mia won her pageant!!! YAY! We are so very proud of her! She was crowned "Queen" earlier in the day, and already she is acting like one!

I have been planning and working on getting her and myself ready for her big day for a couple of weeks now. I altered her dress countless times, bought myself a new outfit so I wouldn't look all bummy when I walked with her, and went to her rehearsal. I knew it would be a challenge but I thought I would be able to pull it all off.... WRONG!!! (as usual)

Mia went to sleep last night in the worst mood ever!!! I was hoping after a good night rest she would wake up perky and ready to go like her normal self. Well that didn't happen. She woke up in a horrible moody mood this morning and no matter what I did I couldn't snap her out of it.

If that wasn't bad enough, her pageant time was changed to 1:00pm. That is smack dab in the middle of her lunch/nap time. GRRRREEEAAT! So we were fighting a losing battle. Wait... there is more... As I was doing some last min. touch ups on her dress, and we were nearly out the door, my new little baby decided that they wanted to cause trouble too and sent me running to the bathroom to throw up. Yes, I got sick... AGAIN! It scared Mia and made the whole ride out to the Pageant scary because I wasn't sure if I was going to get sick again.

Once we arrived we checked in. We were a bit early so Adrian took Mia outside to kill some time since she was getting antsy inside the Country Club. I sat inside trying to calm my upset stomach. The good news was I was no longer nervous about the pageant since I was more scared that I would throw up again... I guess that really wasn't good news. Anyway when the pageant drew closer to starting I grabbed Mia and Adrian from outside. Unfortunately, their photographer was late so we had to wait again!!! Mia was really getting annoyed and antsy and by then started to yawn over and over. I knew she was tired and it was her nap time but we already had come this far... we were on a mission to complete this pageant!!!

Eventually the photographer showed up and the pageant began. Since Mia was in the youngest competing division (Toddler) she was first one up!!! I took her little hand, like we had practiced days earlier, and began walking her down the stage.

Everyone "Ooooh'd and Awwwww'd" at the first sight of my little princess. She was doing really good until about mid way down the stage when she looked up and realized all the people staring at her. She froze then sat on the ground and refused to walk!! Uh-Oh! It started, my worst nitemare was happening right before my eyes. So I picked her up and she began to squirm and cry!!! OH-NOOO!! I talked to her calmly, walked her to the front of the stage and made her wave at the judges and blow kisses. She wasn't to happy about this but she had stopped squirming and crying for a bit. I then put her back down in the middle of the stage so the judges could get a good look at her. When her time was up I tried to walk her off the stage but again she refused and I had to carry her off!!!

I walked her back to where Adrian was. She was definately not in a good mood by then. She didn't want me to hold her and only let Adrian hold her. They then told us we had to go back behind the curtain with the other girls until it was over. Dada came to the rescue and jumped right in and took over for me. After all the other little girls were done, they called everyone back on stage for an interview!!! (BTW they never told me we had to do this!!!)

Of course Mia was first up... again! Since she couldn't talk they asked Adrian to speak on her behalf. So he introduced her, mentioned what she liked to do (dance) and her favorite band, The Beatles! Everyone got a kick out of that one. Then they tried to get her to speak into the microphone but she just turned her head away.

After the rest of the little girls were interviewed they all left the stage. The judges were then introduced and some announcements were made. Then they brought everyone back up on stage... again! By then Mia was on borderline melt down mode. She fussed a bit but Adrian got her to calm down by giving her, her favorite Yo Gabba Gabba toy, Plex. She held onto Plex the rest of the time, squirming, figiting, and being upset.

Then it was crowing time... and again Mia went first! Dada helped walk her to the middle of the stage as they announced that she had won!!!!! They gave her a trophy, $1000 gift certificate for a photography place, and the current Miss Menifee crowned her tiny head with a Tierra and put on her sash! Mia stood motionless for about a second before trying to hand the crown back. Then she put her trophy down on the floor and began to walk off. As she walked off her sash fell off and landed at her feet! EVERYONE fell in love with her! It was very cute but stressful at the same time.

They crown the other Queens of their divisions and then attempted to take a group picture together. Of course Mia wanted no part of that and spent most of the time tearing off her sash, taking her crown off and running away. Sigh....

After the pageant was over we were invited back to be introduced again for the older girl part and we were free to leave. We couldn't get out of there fast enough. Mia was on melt-down mode, Dada was exhausted and Mama was stressed. We got back home and took a nice long rest!

Overall the pageant was definately an experience I will never forget. I am so happy and proud that she had won! Thats my little princess... not even 2 and already being crown a Queen!

All hail Queen Mia of Menifee!!!!








Friday, April 23, 2010

Week 93!

Little Mia (April 2010) | such a cutiepie! | Angie

Current mood: exhausted

Hello and happy Friday! First of all I just want to say how drained I am and I can hardly keep my eyes opened right now, but I must finish this blog or it will bug me too much and I won't be able to sleep! haha So here we go... warp speed!!! haha

We spent another fun filled weekend in Oxnard for my birthday! We celebrated it at my Brother and Sis-in-law's house and it was so awesome. My Brother BBQ'd the BEST carne asada I have ever eaten, I got to spend time with my little nieces AND I got to watch Mia bond and play with her cousins! Always a treat! Her Grandparent's enjoyed spoiling her as well. Overall it was a GREAT visit!

I also signed up Mia for her very first (and possible her last... since its so hectic and stressful) beauty pageant!!! Thats right, she is competing for the Queen of Menifee title! The big day is tomorrow! I am alittle nervous, excited and anxious all rolled into one!!! So wish us luck!!! Her first rehearsal was earlier in the week and though she was shy at first she quickly warmed up... too much! Since she didn't want to get off the stage and all she wanted to do was run around and stomp on it!!! Looks like I have my work cut out for me tomorrow!!

Mia is still loving her Beatles! Infact they are her all time favorite. We play all sorts of different music for her but its only the Beatles that she will really dance too and enjoy. I think Mia has a touch of Beatle-mania!! haha

For the first time ever! She is FINALLY talking on the phone with people. Before she would shy away and run from the phone but now she holds her very own conversations with the other person! In baby talk that is! Its really cute and I gave everyone a treat by letting her leave messages on their voicemails! haha

Well thats about it for the week. Again I am so tired and I still have to make some last min. alterations on her pageant dress! YIKES! So I will see you tomorrow and let you know how the pageant went! EEEEK!

Wednesday, April 21, 2010

Mia first rehearsal for the Miss Menifee Pageant

Current mood: scared

Thats right! Mia is going to be competing in the Miss City of Menifee Pageant this weekend! I have been wanting to sign her up for a pageant ever since she was a tiny little baby. I don't believe in the whole beauty pageants for little kids that dress and act like little women, so I wanted to find one that was small and didn't include all that make-up stuff. As time passed on, I sorta gave up on entering her in a pageant.

Then I happened to come across the local city newspaper "The Menifee Post". I have been waiting for the latest addition to come out to see if Mia's picture came out in it since they took a picture of her on Easter. As I was searching (and no the Easter addition hasn't come in yet so I still don't know if they will use her picture or not) I came across a small add for the City of Menifee Pageant!!! I ran to the computer and looked up more information on it and sure enough Mia fit the age range!! I was so excited!! This would be perfect since her division and younger do not use make-up, do not need any talents, would not be interviewed and it was local therefore really small. Menifee is really only the size of 2 freeway exits. The City of Menifee just merged itself with Sun City, Romoland, Quail Valley and other tiny districts but is still very tiny. Anyway, I talked to Adrian about entering Mia in the pageant. He wasn't too thrilled about it since it would cost us $100, but I thought it would be an awesome memory maker... even if she didn't win. So he agreed as long as I did all the work!

We are alittle tight on money right now so I knew that every penny counted. Since the whole enrollment was $100 I knew I didn't have much spare money to spend on accessories. So I went to Mia's closet to see if any of the dresses that her Tia Rebeca handed down to us from her Cousin Brianna fit. Sure enough a big poofy pink one did!!! I did have to alter the arm pit area but otherwise it fit like a thumb! Perfect! I had a dress. I am planning on using her shoes from Easter so I am set with that too!

So a couple of days ago I officially registered her for the pageant and today was her very first rehearsal. Since she is in the toddler division, they did not need her to be physically at the rehearsal because she didn't really need to "practice" anything like the older girls did. So I went by myself, talked to the coordinators, and got a feel for what to expect this weekend. I will also be walking on stage with her so they gave me some tips on what I should and shouldn't wear!! haha

Then they had some downtime and nobody was using the stage. I quickly called up Adrian (who was babysitting Mia) and told him to get her ready and that I was going to swing by and pick her up so she could practice with me! I zoomed home, got Mia and we zoomed back. I wanted to expose her to the environment, building, and people so she wouldn't be so scared or shy when the big day came.

So I walked her into the Country Club. I put her down and took her hand. Right away everyone fell in love with her and came up to say "hello". Mia of course acted shy, put her head on me and tried to hide behind me! I encouraged her to come out and talked to her a bit and she slowly started to warm up. I took her on the stage and walked with her a bit and did the biggest mistake ever! I told her to "stomp stomp stomp" and she did. Once she heard her tiny feet hit the stage she got all excited and wouldn't stop doing it!! Soon I couldn't get her off the stage so the other girl's could practice! It was a bit embarassing but I finally managed to get her off, luckily without her making a big scene.

I had her explore a nearby room and she went nuts! Running all over the place, exploring and having fun. All the girls there kept commenting on how cute she was. She was having a blast running all over the place and soon she didn't want to take my hand anymore! When I tried to pick her up she started to throw a fit! Uh-oh! So I had to bust out my secret weapon phrase to her "Do you wanna go find Dada?!? Lets find Dada". Sure enough she took my hand and let me lead her back into the other room where the stage was. Poor girl was looking for Dada and calling him, I felt bad but I had to get her out of that other room! I tried to practice walking with her again on the stage and it just went horribly wrong. She didn't want to take my hand, all she wanted to do was stomp and do her own thing. So I knew it was time to go. I told her "Lets go find Dada hes in the car!" I hate lying to her but there was no other way to get her out of the building without her throwing a big scene. So we walked out together and drove back home.

Phew looks like I have my work cut out for me this weekend for sure!!!! I just hope she is on her good behavior and lets me walk her or at least carry her or something. Overall I just hope she doesn't do any of the following 3 things....

1.) Not want to go on stage, throws herself on the ground and cries.. or not wanna go off the stage and does the same thing

2.) Go on stage sucking her two fingers (she ALWAYS does this)

3.) Go on stage, lift up her dress and pull on her belly button (another famous Mia move)

As long as she doesn't do any of those three things we are golden!! Oh no I almost forgot to add one... picking her nose!!! Good Grief I am getting stressed now!!!

Monday, April 19, 2010

My Birthday Weekend in Oxnard!

My 30th Birthd ay Party (Oxnard) 4-17-10 | Mia loves her balloons! | Angie

My 30th Birthd ay Party (Oxnard) 4-17-10 | Two cousins drawing together | Angie

My 30th Birthd ay Party (Oxnard) 4-17-10 | Even Mia got a turn! | Angie

My 30th Birthd ay Party (Oxnard) 4-17-10 | Mia gets to pick out her special prize! | Angie

My 30th Birthd ay Party (Oxnard) 4-17-10 | Present time! | Angie

Current Mood: Blessed

Phew what a weekend. It is now Monday night and I am still feeling drained! Mia just went to bed and now I am here, hopefully I can remember all the cute things she did over the weekend before I pass out at the computer! haha

We had made plans to spend the weekend up in Oxnard to celebrate my birthday with my family. So Adrian took Friday off from work so we could drive up a day earlier. Unfortunately, the pregnancy sickness struck again so we didn't end up leaving until almost 8pm!! Before we left, Mia had just eaten a big dinner and had a long hot bath so she passed out as soon as we hit the road and didn't wake up until we were almost at my parent's house.

We arrived at my parent's house around 10 so we made pretty good time. Mia was wide awake and ready to go once we got her off the car! She greeted her Grandma and Grandpa Pizano shyly. She was a bit unsure about everything until Daddy busted out her princess car that we took from home. Right away Mia got on it and was zooming all around the house at full speed! Though she never ran over either of their cats, she did come close a few times.

Then it was bedtime so we set up her pack and play in the spare room where she always sleeps. Grandpa was the one who put her down to bed. Little did we know that would be the very last time she would ever use the pack and play again. I will explain later in this blog.

Adrian and I visited a bit before going to bed. I was excited about the next day, we were going to have a big birthday party at my brother's house and I was going to get to see all my little nieces again. I had not seen them since Christmas Eve so it was going to be a HUGE treat!

The next morning I woke up and Mia did too soon after. We hung out in the livingroom for a bit while everyone else in the house was still snoozing. I was feeling a bit queasy and I knew her pee pee diaper would set me off so I brought her to my parent's room for an early morning wake up call! haha They were so happy to see her and quickly took care of her for me.

Later in the afternoon it was time to go to my brother's house. I was so excited to see everyone again. Once we arrived at his house, Adrian helped get Mia off the car while I grabbed her diaper bag and camera. We walked up their walkway and knocked on the door. Right away I could hear rustling and little voices. Then my second oldest niece Sarah (7 years) opened the door for us and everyone yelled "SURPRISE!!!!"

The whole house was decorated in streamers, balloons and homemade banners that my nieces made for me! Everyone greeted us at the door, and of course Mia got shy and didn't want to walk in. Daddy had to give her alittle encouragement. I kissed and hugged all 3 of my little nieces at the door and when I went to find the youngest 4th niece (Sophia 4-months) I found her being held by my Mom in the livingroom. I wasn't sure how she would react to me since I had not seen her since she was only a month old! But to my surprise she quickly gave me the biggest smile, got all excited and then leaned over for me to hold her!!! I just melted!!!

Adrian, Mia and I settled in a bit and then noticed all the GREAT food everywhere!! My brother was BBQ'ing a TON of food in the back and the kitchen was filled with snacks and everything you can imagine! Mia finally started to warm up a bit, especially after she found her Cousin April (3 years old) 's Yo Gabba Gabba toys (Tootie and Muno). Everyone commented on how curly her hair has become and boy it was really poofy that day!

We all went into the backyard to play and right away April and Mia became best friends. They drew with colored chalk on the ground together, pushed a little baby stroller together (one on each side) all over the backyard, and went exploring. It was really cute. I got to visit with my Brother for a bit which was really nice since he works so much we hardly ever see each other the rare times we go to Oxnard. He showed me the carne asada he was cooking and O-M-G it smelled and looked AWESOME!!! I felt like a fly hoovering around the BBQ waiting for it to be done! When he did cook me a piece and I ate it, I literally melted!!! It was hands-down the best carne asada I have ever eaten!! Even Mia, who doesn't care for meat, liked it too!!

My Grandpa Pizano then stopped by for the party too! It was great seeing him again and we had a great time catching up on things. Unfortunately my Sis-In-Law, who just got a new job, was not going to be able to join us until after 8pm. Bummer! She was really missed.

Things seemed to go well until Mia decided to stir things up a bit. I was outside in the backyard visiting with my family, and Adrian was inside working on fixing their computer (his specialty) Mia was also inside running around. I was just about to dig into a full plate of food when Adrian came outside with Mia and got my attention. She was all wet, chest to feet. I asked him what happened and he said she had gone into the kitchen, found a cup of soda, and before he could stop her from grabbing it she tipped it over and it spilled all down her pink dress. Oh-No!!! But a prepared Mama I am, I had spare clothes in her diaper bag for her to wear. So I took her back inside, and into her cousin April's room and changed her clothes. Mia, however, was mad. She didn't want to be changed and threw a HUGE tantrum and screaming fit!! It was so bad and so loud her little Cousin April ran over to check on her. She kept asking "whats wrong? Is she ok?" I let her know she was fine and that she spilled soda all over her dress. "Oooohh she spilled soda on her dress" she replied in that cute little chimpmunk voice she has.

Once Mia was all set. I went back out and finally got to eat my food. A little while later I could hear April asking her Daddy something while he was busy BBQ'ing...

"Daddy Daddy I have a story to tell...." She said in her tiny voice
"What is it sweetheart?" My brother replied
"Ok.. Once upon a time in a land faaaaaaar faaaaaaaaaar away... there lived a little Mia."
We all chuckled. Then she contiuned...
"And she spilled soda all over her dress!!!!"

We all got a cute laugh over that, it was the cutest story I ever heard!! A little while later I fed Mia some lunch and I could tell she was getting tired because she was starting to act up a a bit. She didn't get a very long nap earlier so I knew we were going to be in trouble. So I decided to head off the pending disaster and asked my brother if she could lay down in his room for a nap. Of course it was ok so I walked her to the room and put her on the bed.

Of course she blew up and cried! Tears flew everywhere as she struggled to climb off their bed. I tried to calm her down but she wanted no part of it. So I decided to start singing "Twinkle Twinkle Little Star" to her (her favorite song). To my surprise she actually calmed down and laid down. I gently rubbed her eyes and sang the song over and over again until she knocked out.

I quickly snuck out of the room and just then it was time for cake! I was told to shut my eyes and my brother walked me into the dinning room. When I opened my eyes everyone was around me and my favorite cake of all (Cold Stone's mint chip) was sitting right in front of me!!!! YUUUUMY!! I was sung "Happy Birthday", I made a wish and blew out my candles. Then I was told to close my eyes again, so I did. Everyone counted to three and when I opened them again I was bombarded by TONS and TONS of silly string!!! I was literally covered in a rainbow colored webbing of silly string! My nieces went nuts!! Then out came the poopers and I was shot several times with those!! It was a complete chaos for a few mins. Even my Grandpa got hit with silly string cross fire! It was fun.

Once the chaos finally died down we all sat down for some yummy cake! It was right around that time that Mia decided to rejoin the party. She was a big grumpy at first but was soon all over the place picking up all the silly string on the ground and collecting it.

Then they pulled out a game I had not played since I was a little little kid. It was "pin the tail on the donkey". My brother (who is the artist of the family) had drawn a big donkey on a big poster board and my nieces helped decorate it with TONS of glitter. We all got a chance to try, even Mia! One of the funnier moments of that game was right before someone's turn, my Sis-In-Law came home from work and tried to open the front door (the place where the donkey was) she almost ripped the whole thing trying to get in the door while my nieces screamed NOOOOOO!!!!!!!!! Don't worry the donkey was saved, and the game resumed.

The winner of the game was my oldest niece Tracy! (10 years), but we all ended up getting prizes. After things settled down a bit I opened my cards and presents. My parent's spoiled me as usual and showered me with tons of new clothes, a new camera bag, new camera battery, new memory stick, lenses for my camera and a wonderful card. After that we all relaxed a bit while Mia, April and their Grandpa danced to music together. It soon started to get late and it was time to go. I didn't want to be there when Mia got tired again and threw another fit. Besides it was already almost midnight! So we all said our goodbyes and headed back to my parent's house for the night.

Once we got back to the house we let Mia run around a bit then tried to get her to go back to bed. No matter what Adrian and myself did we could not get her calmed down enough to go to bed in the pack and play again. She just completely refused and was screaming hysterically. We knew that time would come, especially since she no longer sleeps in a crib (and hasn't for almost 3 weeks) and is used to the bed. So we brought her to my old room to sleep. Adrian put the mattress on the floor and right away she climbed onto it and got comfy. I set up her music and night light and thats when I tripped and bent my little toe back and out!!! I screamed in pain and thought for sure I broke it again. Mia quickly sat up and tried to comfort me. I didn't want to make a big deal about it in front of her because I didn't want to scare her so when I got up and limped out of the room. The pain was BAD! I limped out into the livingroom and told my parents what happened. I ended up having to elevate and ice it the rest of the night. I slept on the couch while Adrian slept with Mia.

The next morning my toe was still pretty achy and I was still limping. I was the first one up and decided to watch some TV. Soon I could hear Mia's little voice coming from my old bedroom so I knew she was up. Adrian soon brought her out and told me what a harsh night he had. He was kicked a few times and she rolled around like crazy the whole night. In the morning, she woke up, took all the blankets off of him and pulled on his shirt until he woke up. Once she knew he was awake she jibber jabbered to him non-stop. He tried to get more rest and rolled away and thats when she noticed the banana I left in the room. She quickly jumped at the banana and handed it to him and and made him peel it for her. So needless to say, he didn't get any more rest after that.

Soon my parent's woke up too and we all visited a bit. My Dad ran off to grab some lunch for us while I took Mia out into the backyard to play on her princess car. My Mom joined us. Mia had a blast picking flowers, riding her car, and drawing on the ground with the new chalk she had won from the donkey game the night before. Then Grandma brought out some bubbles and she chased those too. We had lots of fun. My Dad then came back and we all chowed down on some Jersey Mike's sandwiches.

Mia started to get sleepy so we had her take a nap on her Grandparent's bed. Once she woke up she was all rested and ready to go..... NUTS! Both her Grandparent's commented on how wired she was. They had never seen her so full of energy. She was literally bouncing all over their couches and throwing this little ball all over the place trying to play catch. It was very amusing.

Then it was time to go and say goodbye. We were going to make a quick stop back at my brother's house to drop off some games Adrian had copied for them. So we packed up our car and said our sad goodbyes and for the first time ever, Mia didn't want to leave! She usually always likes to go outside and for rides but this time she cried and didn't want to go. It was sad. Eventually she got better once we had her in the car.

We then went to my brothers house. Everyone was excited to see us again. Then my brother snuck out. We didn't know where he went. We weren't planning on staying to long but once he came back home we just knew we couldn't leave. He surprised us with more of my favorite carne asada!!!! YAY! So he fired up the BBQ again and we all had a nice farewell feast!!!

Mia was happy to be able to play with her cousins again and was soon running all over their backyard. Daddy even tried to show her how to use a scooter and she was on it non-stop. We all had a great visit together. Soon it got dark and started to get cold so we all ran inside. We visited for a couple more hours before it was time to go. Mia was starting to get moody and we had a long trip back home. So we said our sad goodbyes and loaded up the car once again.

Mia did great on the ride home and didn't wake up once. Not even during the emergency pit stop we needed to make because I needed to use the restroom. We made it back home around midnight. Adrian took Mia off the car while I ran upstairs and set up her room. We decided to just lay her down to bed without really waking her up much. She was already in her jammies and her diaper felt pretty dry. She didn't mind and went right back to sleep on her bed.... phew!!!

I was so pooped that I didn't even unload the car and went right to bed myself. Adrian later followed.

Wow what a weekend!!! It was hands down one of the BEST birthday's I have ever had!! I could not ask for anything better. I am so blessed to have such a wonderful family. I can't wait to make another visit again!!! Till then I am off to bed... I AM TIRED!!! haha

Friday, April 16, 2010

Week 92!





current mood: Hungry

Happy Friday! Boy what a big week we had this time around. The biggest event of all was not the fact that I turned 30! this week, but Mia has finally learned how to go up and down the slides at the park all by herself! haha Thats right! We took her to the park across the street and like a big girl she rode all the slides all by herself. We didn't even have to do anything, she would climb up on the jungle gym and slide down the slide of her choice, alone!!! We are so proud of her! Makes park time easier for us, thats for sure!

Back to what I mentioned earlier, I turned 30 this week and with that Mia and Adrian helped me celebrate by spoiling me and showering me with gifts, cards and cake!!! Mia even blew out her first candles too which was another shocker! She is growing up so fast!

Earlier in the week we went to San Diego for her cousin Emily's birthday party! That was lots of fun but we learned a new lesson. Mia REFUSES to let go of the pinata stick and now throws HUGE epic fits if we do. Uh-Oh! We are NOT looking forward to future birthday parties now!

A not so good thing also happened this week. I was officially defeated by my first poopie diaper! I usually can handle anything Mia does but on this one particular day it sent me to the bathroom throwing up! Oh-Noooo!!! Luckily Dada came to the rescue and helped us both out haha

Mia also hit another milestone, she turned 21 months old!!! What a big girl! She has also learned how to move forward with her big wheel bike and literally rides it all over the downstairs area and outside!!!

Well thats about it for now! I am sure I will have lots more stories to tell, especially since we are all heading off to Oxnard today and through the weekend! That should be interesting! So until then I am off to do some laundry, eat breakfast and wake the little sleeping beauty upstairs!

Thursday, April 15, 2010

Happy 30th Birthday to Me!!!








Current mood: loved

Thats right! I am officially "over the hill"... YIKES!!! Haha But I am loving it. Adrian, Mia, my new little one in my tummy along with my friends and family... have truly made this day special for me and I feel so blessed.

We have plans to visit Oxnard this weekend to celebrate my BIG 30! with my family, so instead of taking today off like Adrian always does, we decided to have him take tomorrow off so we can do up there a day early! With that being said, we couldn't do too much today since he had to go to work, but we did what we could and both Adrian and Mia made my day extra special for me.

There is a little tradition my Dad and I used to do when I was younger. Every birthday Eve I would stay up until 12am (if possible), and when 12am would strike and its was officially my birthday we would celebrate together. I carried that tradition over when I met Adrian. This year, however, Adrian had to drive into work so I would be alone at 12am. I was alittle saddened by this but it was understandable. So when midnight approached and it hit 11:58pm, I snuck up to Mia's room and sat by her bedside till the clock hit 12am. I felt so happy spending my first moments as 30 with my kids! Mia and my baby in my tummy. I gently gave Mia a kiss on the head, rubbed my tummy, then went back downstairs for a snack before bed. At 12:02am my phone rang and it was Adrian!!! He remembered my tradition and called me from work. That made me feel so loved!!! We chatted a bit then I headed off to bed.

The morning was nice. Though Mia did wake up a bit early, we spent the morning hanging out and enjoying each other's company. When noon hit I asked her if she wanted to wake up Dada! She jumped off the couch and ran to the stairs. We climbed them together and she followed me into the master bedroom. She was all excited to wake up Dada and I put her on the bed! All three... errr... four of us hung out in the bed for a bit and played. I was still pretty tired from the night before and decided to take a small nap. So Adrian took Mia downstairs, fed her some snacks then put her down for a nap as well.

When I woke from my nap Adrian was gone!! I jumped on the computer to mess with some stuff then heard the garage door open. It was Adrian. He walked in with a BIG cup of my favorite soup from Vons. They only carry it on Thursdays and he decided to surprise me with some. We shared the soup and chatted a bit. Then Mia woke up so he went upstairs to get her.

When she came back down she was holding a card in her hand. Adrian told her to "give it to Mama" and she walked over to me and handed me the card! I melted!!! It was the cutest thing ever! Then of course, she took it back and tried to rip it!! So I took it back from her and we went to the table where Adrian had a GIANT Oreo cookie icecream cake waiting for me!!! YUM!!! I helped him light the millions of candles and he and Mia sang Happy Birthday to me while Mia sat in my lap. The whole time they were singing to me... well it was more like Adrian singing to me.. Mia was putting her tiny finger in my cake and eating the frosting and going "again?!" with the biggest smile on her face! That little cake monster turned my cake into a holey one! haha

After I was sung the birthday song, I asked Mia to help me and we both blew on the candles. I tried to blow out all the candles but couldn't. (I MUST be getting old!) There were still two left to be blown out. So I took one and held it in front of Mia and asked her to blow it out. Though she knows how to blow I really didn't think she could blow it out. To our shock she did!!!! and we captured it on video too! She was all giggly and proud of herself. So I took the other candle out of the cake and put it in front of her. She blew that one out too all by herself!!! We all cheered!

Adrian then cut the cake for me and we all ate some cake. Mia included! She loved it and pretty soon had cake all over the place! I then read my cards and of course got all emotional like I always do during card readings. I also opened my present which was from Mia and her sibling.. it was a giant pack of Oreo cookies!!! (Can you tell what my favorite cookie is?! haha) My BIG present from Adrian, Mia and the baby was my new Advanced Digital Camera!!!! He bought it for me over the weekend and though he said I could only use it for 1 day to "test" it out, I never stopped using it. Infact I was taking pictures with it during my birthday! haha Its a awesome camera though and a HUGE upgrade from my old one. I am in camera heaven!!!

So after the gifts, cake and cards we all rested a bit and watched some TV. When we gained our appetite back again we headed off to Red Robin for dinner!! That is one of my favorite local food places. After gorging ourselves there we headed home to hang out a bit before Adrian had to go to work.

Overall I had a AWESOME birthday! I couldn't ask for anything more! What a great way to bring in my 30th year... with my little family! I feel so happy and blessed.. and pooped out! Its time for this birthday girl to go to bed!!! haha

Wednesday, April 14, 2010

Your only as old as you feel...

Current mood: blessed

I sit here, on the eve of my 30th birthday I can't help but reflect on how that makes me feel. You would think that I would be down, depressed, and saddened about getting "older" like most people (mostly girls) my age. I probably would be if I didn't have so much to be happy and positive about.

Turning 30 is not as big a deal as I thought it would be. I always envisioned turning "over the hill" as a gloomy depressing birthday but I don't feel that way at all. The fact that I don't feel that way had me thinking ...why??? What is the secret? Why doesn't it bother me like it does so many other people?

The HUGE reason why it doesn't bother me, is the fact that over the years I have changed and matured so much. My priorities in life are completely different than they were 10 years ago... or even 5 years ago. I am the happiest I have ever been in my life, right at this moment. I have a wonderful husband, beautiful daughter, another little one on the way, a warm home and great family and friends. I couldn't ask for anything more to enrich my life. Although my life is not perfect, its pretty darn close in my opinion.

I now understand the phrase, "you are only as old as you feel". I don't feel old one bit. My body still works the way it always has, my skin is not all shrivaled up, and I have yet to find a grey hair on my head. Infact as I look in the mirror I don't see an old person staring back at me at all. Though I have aged somewhat, I still pretty much look the same way I always have. But all that is physical and in the long run meaningless. My heart and soul feels young and thats all that truly matters. 30 is just a number to me. It is not going to make or break me. Turning 30 is no big deal unless you make it one. If you get all wrapped up in numbers/age and let that dictate how you feel of course you are going to feel old and down. I don't see myself as getting older, I see myself as taking a new step into a new phase in my life. I don't wish to relive my 20s or remain 20 forever... that would be boring. I've lived it, I've done it, I've moved on. Life is all about new experiences and enjoying all that you have. The one person who has taught me that is my daughter, Mia.

Ever since Mia was born she has brought me nothing but happiness and joy. She is my fountain of youth and with her around, I will never grow "too old". She makes me laugh, she does cute things to show me she loves me and she keeps me young. I can't even count the number of times shes bouncing on her bed and I can't help but bounce along with her. We get silly together and even run around the house chasing each other while screaming and laughing. When music is playing we dance where ever we are, whether it be in the middle of the kitchen, living room, or laundry room. Sometimes we dance to no music at all just because. She keeps me young at heart and that is worth more than any plastic surgery or cosmetic age reversing wonder cream could ever do for me! She has shown me what life is truly all about and what is important. I live every day to the fullest because of her, and enjoy every second of it. I no longer take time in vain because I know it passes to quickly.

So yep, I am turning the big 30! I am looking forward to what this new decade will hold for me. I feel good, happy and young. I welcome being 30. So you ask, how does turning 30 make me feel? It makes me feel GREAT.... just don't ask me again when I hit 40 I might change my answer! haha

Happy 30th Birthday to ME!

Tuesday, April 13, 2010

Mia shocks her Mama and Dada today!

Little Mia (April 2010) | Mia rode the rest of the way to the park by herself! | Angie
Little Mia (April 2010) | There she goes, of course Daddy had to lug her bike | Angie

Little Mia (April 2010) | Watch this!! I am going to go down the big kid slide, all by myself!!! | Angie

Little Mia (April 2010) | There she goes!! | Angie

Little Mia (April 2010) | Weeeeeeeeeeeee! | Angie

Little Mia (April 2010) | Did you see me Mama!! I DID IT I DID IT!!! | Angie

Little Mia (April 2010) | Watch me now! I can slide down this slide all by myself too! | Angie

Little Mia (April 2010) | Here I go!!! | Angie

Little Mia (April 2010) | She liked to ride in the dirt | Angie

Little Mia (April 2010) | I love her face in this picture | Angie

Little Mia (April 2010) | WEeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee!!! | Angie

Current mood: surprised

Everyday Mia seems to grow up faster and faster and is always full of surprises. Just when you think you know her and can predict what she will do, she will quickly prove you wrong and leave you speechless while she does it! haha Today was no exception.

It was a very nice day out. We were running low on groceries so we decided to make a quick family run to WinCo to stock up. Mia did great in the store, of course she demanded that she take her Plex (one of her favorite Yo Gabba Gabba toys) with her. She played catch with Daddy using some paper bowls and when it was time to pay for our things she sat quietly in the cart while we did that.

She was such a good girl and the day was so nice that once we got home we decided to take her to the park across the street for some fun. We only had about an hour to spare before Daddy had to get ready for work so we made the best of it. We decided to take her little big wheel bike with us since she LOVES to ride it all over the house now. (Infact this morning she rode it all the way from our family room, through the kitchen, and to the TV in the livingroom. I was so proud that she could finally go forward! yay!!)

Once we crossed the street, Daddy let Mia climb on her bike and ride it. She impressed us both by how good she can push herself forward now (something she has always struggled with before) and she is even trying to learn how to use the pedals!

Once we reached the park she ditched her bike and ran right to the playground. She climbed the jungle gym like a big girl and both Adrian and I were at the bottom watching her and make sure she wouldn't fall. She ran around up top and crawled in and out of the tunnel. Then she went to the big kid side where there is a HUGE spiral slide and another long slide. She walked over to the spiral slide and started to look like she wanted to go down it by herself!!!

I was in disbelief she has NEVER gone down a slide by herself let alone a BIG spiral one! I didn't think she would be brave enough to do it. Adrian didn't either but quickly went near her just incase she did. Sure enough that little dare devil sat on the slide, adjusted herself and slid down all by herself!!! Of course the whole thing looked like it was in slow motion mostly because of the grip of the slide and the fact she was holding on to the sides, but she did it!!!!! She smiled the whole way and was so proud of herself once she hit the bottom!!! Daddy and I cheered for her, still stunned by what we just saw!!

Then Mia ran up the jungle gym again!!! This time she went down the smaller little kid slide, but again it was all by herself! She would scream and laugh once she hit the bottom. She must have gone up and down that slide at least 10 times before she got bored and played with her bike again.

After awhile, dare devil Mia got the adrenaline rush itch again and climbed up the jungle gym again but this time she chose the second largest slide to go down!!! Adrian and were both in shock on how well she did it!!! Then she tried it again and of course the unavoidable happened. She went down the big slide so fast... too fast... that she flew off and landed in the dirt below. She braced herself with her arms so she didn't face plant it, thankfully she didn't get hurt. She was alittle shocked by the fall but she didn't cry. Instead, she got up and went back up the jungle gym and started sliding down the smaller slides again.

We let her play and play until it was time to go home. Of course she wasn't happy about leaving the park and once we made it in the house she had the tantrum of the century!!! Oh well! But we all had fun out at the park. Adrian and I are still stunned on how brave she is and so very proud of our little... err.. .BIG Girl!!!! I can't wait to take her back!






Sunday, April 11, 2010

Mia is 21 Months Old!


Current mood: happy

Mia has officially added another month to her collection. She hit her 21 month old mark today! She is quickly rounding that corner to the bit TWO! YIKES!!!

I don't have much time before she wakes up from her nap so I better get started on her summary

SUMMARY:

Morning sickness got to be so bad, I became unfunctional. Mia noticed and would never leave my side. She even patted me on the face with her blanket to try to console me

She went to San Diego 3 times this month. Baby D's/Adan's Birthday, Emily's Birthday and Easter

Mia counts 1-7

Mia spent a week with me in Oxnard for the first time. This was also the first time she would be away from her Daddy for a week!

She did extremely well on the ride up and back from Oxnard and didn't cry once!!! (That was a first)

Grandpa Pizano spent a week at our house so he could help me with Mia and to help me rest

She now gets overly excited whenever Yo Gabba Gabba comes on

She is a HUGE fan of The Beatles and I need to play her 5-6 songs every morning

She took pictures with the Easter Bunny for the second time (still didn't smile)

She is starting to act sillier now and makes me laugh ALL the time

Went on her first Easter Egg hunts (4 times!)

Had her picture taken for the local newspaper and met another Easter Bunny

She is starting to pretend with her toys and makes them kiss "Mmmmmah"

Transitioned to the big girl bed and no longer sleeps in the crib!!!!! (THIS IS HUGE!)

Colored eggs with markers for Easter

Felt her first BIG Earthquake (Easter Day in San Diego) it was a 7.2!

Went to her first Baby Sibling's doctor's appointment

LOVES napales!! (Cactus!)

Had the worst poopie in history and it made me violently sick

Goes completely nuts on her bed if I lay down with her

GOALS MET FROM LAST MONTH?:
Well the pregnancy sickness has gotten ALOT better but it is still there. I am slowly becoming able to get out of the house more but have not had the chance to take Mia anywhere myself. She is communicating about the same but alittle better. She did say some new words! She counted all the way to 7 on numerous occasions!

GOALS FOR NEXT MONTH:
Keep working on her words and trying to get her to talk more. Add a new item to her daily diet. Stop fighting her diaper changes so much!

Defeated by a poopie diaper!

Current mood: sick

I have witnessed many horribly disturbing things in Mia's diaper over the past 21 months. All shapes, colors, smells and types. You name it, I've probably seen it. Though changing poopie diapers is not one of my more joyous things to do as a Mama, I have handled it pretty well and conquered anything little Mia has dished out. There have been a few times where I struggled but I have always prevailed victoriously.

Now that I am pregnant and my super human smell has kicked in, changing poopie diapers have proven to be an even bigger challenge. I cannot stand or handle anything foul smelling, especially when its first thing in the morning. Luckily, none of Mia's poopie diapers have had the better of me yet..... until this morning.... (dun dun... duuuuuh)

Mia woke up a bit earlier than she usually does. I really didn't want to get up that early but figured it wouldn't be all bad since it meant she would take an earlier nap. So I got up and got some things ready for the day before going into her room. I have learned from the last time I got sick, that I NEED to eat something as soon as I wake up. Even before getting Mia out of bed. So I munched on a banana and drank the rest of my jimiaca from last night. I was feeling pretty good, not to shabby. I grabbed a diaper and a wipee to take to Mia's room so I could change her pee pee diaper before bringing her downstairs.

I had a slice of banana for her as a treat and walked into her room. She was already waiting for me and started bouncing around once she saw me. I gave her the banana, took some pictures of her (because she just turned 21 months and I always take a video and pictures of her on those special days). Things seemed to go good. Then she got off her bed and ran to the other side of the room. Suddenly she started to do her famous squat and push thing. Uh-Oh! I knew what that meant. As soon as she was done I put her on the bed to double check... sure enough when I peeked into her diaper there was a nice big mess there waiting for me. EWWWWWW!!!! I knew my 1 wipee I brought upstairs wouldn't cut it and this was a changing table type job.

So we walked downstairs together. I went into the changing room to get things ready for the battle I was about to fight. I was a bit nervous because even the smell coming from her jammies was powerful. I opened the window in the room hoping it would help vent the room out. I pulled out a diaper, put a few wipees on the changing table and a plastic bag to put the dirty biohazard diaper in when I was done. I even said a small prayer to help me through this. (Ya it was THAT bad!) Mia was watching me the whole time, then when it was time to grab her she started protesting.

She threw herself on the ground, then sat up on her knees and started bouncing on her butt on the floor! NOOO MIA!!! All I could imagine was that nasty slimey poopie being pushed all around!!! NOOO!!!! I grabbed her and quickly put her on the table. I unzipped her body suit jammie and took one foot out. She was kicking and crying, she didn't want her diaper to be changed. I knew I had to act fast, this was not going to be a easy fight. I took her other foot out and thats when I caught a horrible wiff of something putrid!! I can't even begin to describe how horrible it was, and I don't even want to try and relive it. I didn't even unfasten her diaper yet before I was forced to retreat to the other side of the room.

I stood there facing the closet door, gagging and gagging. Oh no!!! I couldn't stop, then I started to dry heave! I tried to compose myself because I didn't want to leave Mia laying unattended on the changing table but it soon got to the point where I had to or I'd throw up on the floor. I ran to the bathroom and got sick. I tried to compose myself because again, Mia was alone on the changing table.

Then came the dilemma. I knew for a fact there was no way I could handle changing her diaper and her Daddy was still asleep upstairs. I wanted to get her back down from the changing table so I could wake up her Daddy but I knew if I walked back into that room I would throw up again. Even the thought of the smell made me gag some more... infact it makes me feel like gagging even now! I had to act fast.. time was wasting.

So I decided to chance it and I ran upstairs into our master bedroom, sniffling, shaking, and out of breathe. Adrian woke up and I told him to get Mia, she was alone on the changing table and she had a poopie that made me throw up! He jumped out of bed and ran downstairs to help. I sat at the top of the stairs trying to compose myself and settle my bouncing stomach.

I could hear Adrian downstairs battling with Mia and commenting on how awful and smelly her poopie was. It was pretty powerful. Eventually he finished changing her and I felt well enough to come back downstairs.

Phew what a morning... talk about a battle. So ya I was defeated by my first diaper today, but it was no ordinary diaper. It was a monstrous, horrible, creation that I hope never to smell again in my life!!!!

Saturday, April 10, 2010

Another weekend, another birthday party!








Current mood: exhausted

Party, party, party! That seems to be the theme of our weekends lately. This weekend was no exception. We all went down to San Diego today to help celebrate Mia's cousin Emily's 5th birthday!

The ride down there was good. Mia slept most of the way. I on the other hand was not feeling well at all!! I was queasy and my stomach hurt and I just felt bleh. I was hoping as the day progressed I would feel better but unfortunately I didn't. We made a quick pit stop at Fry's Electronics to pick up my early birthday gift!! YAY! Then headed off to Tia Martha's house for the party.

Once we got there Mia was so excited to be out of the car she nearly ran to the house!!! We brought her inside and of course she acted all shy around everyone. We then took her to the backyard where they had a jump for joy, food, music and all sorts of things to get into. Soon she was running all over the place, dancing, exploring and climbing on and off of chairs. She didn't really want to eat much food and wanted to play instead. She made a couple of little friends too! One was a bit younger than she was but they baby talked to each other which was really cute.

After we ate, Adrian took Mia to the jump for joy and bounced her on it (the outside of it) for awhile. She got a huge kick out of this and kept laughing and smiling. Then it was pinata time! All the little kids lined up and Mia was the first to go. They didn't even fully set up the pinata yet when Mia started bashing it with the stick all by herself! It was really funny. She was having lots of fun, then Daddy helped her a bit and she gave it a few more good whacks. Then her turn was over but she refused to give up the stick. Uh-Oh! Ya, that was not good. Soon Daddy had to literally pry her fingers from it while she screamed and cried and threw a huge fit in front of everyone. She cried the whole time the other kids were hitting it and kept trying to break free from Dada so she could get her stick back. It turned into a huge disaster! She had never acted like that before, it was horrible. She screamed and cried and threw a big scene. Eventually Adrian gave her a lemon from the tree and she was content with that until the candy went flying. She then went in and grabbed some candy. Some of the little kids also gave her some of their candy to help her! How sweet! Then it was time for the second pinata! There was no way we were going to go through that again so we quickly took her to the other side of the yard where the jump for joy was.

Adrian bounced her a bit more on the jump for joy. Then her Tia Patty came along and took her inside the jump for joy with her! They both jumped for awhile together and Mia had a blast and had lots of fun. It was right around this time that my head started to hurt, same with my stomach and I felt so queasy. I knew I had to lay down or I would get sick. I asked Adrian's Tia Martha if I could lie down upstairs and she said I could in her room. So I did. About an hour later I started to feel a bit better and rejoined the party.

By this time I had already missed the cake and the party was quieting down. Mia and Adrian were in the livingroom sitting with all the cousins chatting and watching the Padre game. Mia was going nuts on the floor, trying to roll over, trying to do summer salts and just going bonkers! She got worse once she saw me walk into to the room. I asked Adrian if she had cake and he said yes... ahhh no wonder!!! So Mia put on a little show for everyone until she started to tire out and get cranky. That was our queue to get going.

We said our goodbyes and headed back home. Mia never slept in the car which was an ok thing since once she got home she ate dinner and now shes in bed. Phew what a day! My headache is starting to return so I think I will go rest too. Overall it was a very fun day with family!

Friday, April 9, 2010

Week 91!


Current Mood: Tired

Good Morning everyone and happy Friday! Its that time again, and since my new little one decided to get me out of be at 6am for a snack and I can no longer go back to bed, I decided to write Mia's little blog early!

This was definitely one interesting week! It started off with EASTER!! Yay!!! Well a couple of days before Easter that is. Mia got to color eggs again this year but instead of using dye she used washable markers. Of course she was all colored up by the end but it all came out in the bath. She loves her baths, and since the doctor put me on lifting restriction its been Daddy who has had the pleasure in giving them to her. She even knows what it is too! If you ask her if she wants a bath she will get all excited, say "bath! bath!" Run upstairs, and then starts to put her bath toys in the tub. Bath time was our saving grace after the egg coloring because once we put the stuff away she had a HUGE GI-NORMUS tantrum. The only thing that made her stop was the bath.

On Easter Day she was able to find her own Easter basket that was hidden on her bed. She loved to play with all the little goodies inside. After that she went egg hunting in our front yard! Later that day we went down to San Diego and spent time with Adrian's side of the family. She got to play with all her little cousins again AND got to play with the giant swing set they have. Of course she went on another egg hunt and found so many eggs that her basket was literally over flowing! The other interesting thing that happened that day was Mia got to experience her first real BIG earthquake. It registered at 7.2 so it wasn't anything to sneeze at. Mia of course, could care less during the earthquake and was more interested in opening her little plastic eggs to get the candy hidden inside.

Mia has not slept in her crib in over a week!!! She is doing so well adjusting to her big girl bed. She has not fallen off since the first night. So we decided to graduate her to the next level. We added her box spring under her mattress. This has raised the bed somewhat but she likes it. She bounces around on the bed now and has yet to fall off.... yet. Not sure when the transition will be fully complete and we add the bed frame. That probably won't be for awhile.. I am still too nervous. Ya, ya I am a paranoid Mama. Maybe I am so nervous because I was notorious for always falling out of my bed as a kid... infact I still remember those days.

Mia also got to come with us to her very first baby sibling doctor's appointment. I was a big nervous on how she would act but she was on her very best behavior and we had no problems at all. Infact she had fun playing with their little toy they had in the office and she got to meet the OB that saw us all throughout her pregnancy again.

One big lesson I learned this week was, do not feed Mia any mangoes before naptime. Yesterday, naptime was a total disaster. As soon as she got in her room she went completely insane! Jumping on her bed, belly flopping and climbing all over me. She was laughing and screaming and just going nuts!!! Even when I recruited Adrian's help he couldn't calm her down. She just went bonkers. The only thing we could come up with for the reason was the mango!!! So no more Mangoes before naptime!!!

Thats about it for the week. This weekend is going to be another fun one in San Diego. We are going to her cousin Emily's 6th birthday so I am sure I will have more stories to share. As for now I am going to see if I can get some more rest before the little Mia monster wakes up!