Current mood: exhausted
Happy Friday the 13th everyone!!! Today Mia turns 70 weeks old!!! so you know what that means... week in review is here!
This week, like all the others, has zoomed by. It was our first real week together without the help of my Dad being at the house. It was/is sad but it just means I am finally getting better and can finally take care of Mia. Though I do have some discomfort and sometimes when I push myself to much, the majority of the pain is gone. I can finally hold Mia and pick her up and really take care of her again. The only thing I still cannot do is carry her for long distances and the stairs always are trouble for me.
Speaking of stairs, that is something Mia has become a quick pro at climbing. She loves the stairs and any opprotunity to climb them, she is there. I knew that one day she might somehow get past my eagle eye or past the baby gate and climb up by herself so I showed her how to get down. She finally discovered her own unique technique and now she can do down herself. All you have to say to her is "be careful.. get on your butt" and she automatically knows what you are talking about. She is good at climbing the stairs, steps and even the jungle gym.. shes a climbing machine!
I also learned a very valuable lesson this week. Feed Mia before taking her on grocery trips. Adrian took her to WinCo earlier this week, just the two of them. He came home with not only Mia and Groceries but TONS of our food had tiny bite marks in them. She bit though 3 apples, our cheese, the grocery list and much more. Daddy told me she was constantly getting into the cart and trying to eat the food!!!! Its my fault, I should have fed her a bigger lunch!
Mia turned the big 15 months this week as well, and with that came a HUGE blog entry. I tried all day to get a good picture of her on her special day but she refuses to look at the camera and if she did she was always making a silly face... sigh. I miss my little baby who liked to smile every time I pointed the camera at her.
Moody.. moody.. MOODY! Thats been Mia's big thing this week. She has been EXTREMELY moodly lately. She fusses more than usually, cries and just throws fits. Its almost like she has lots of anger built up because she is constantly throwing and trying to break her toys all while going "OW!" She is into hitting now which I am trying to control but am having no success at. We weren't sure why the sudden mood change and it wasn't until Adrian realized... maybe shes teething! That is true. She has been so great with teething lately that we aren't even alerted through a mood change when a tooth does pop out. It has not always been this easy though, she has had a few rough patches but they were so long ago I forgot about them. Now that shes moody again, she is showing all the classic signs of teething. She is constantly biting on EVERYTHING and drooling and just her moodiness. I know that three of her teeth are about to break through any day now so I know it has to be that. Since then I have been giving her baby tylonal and orajel and its seems to have helped a bit. She is getting alittle better each day but its still a big battle.
Mia also has been getting cabin fever! We need to take her out at least once a day to the park, outside or shopping. If we don't she gets so antsy around the house and moody. So Adrian has been taking her to the park almost everyday to let her run around, play in the playground and just burn some of that extra energy. So this week I decided I felt good enough to take her myself.. alone! Since I still can't carry her long distances I just put her in the stroller and pushed her to the park. Right away as soon as she got out of the stroller she was gone. Running all over the place and right to the jungle gym. Like I mentioned before she loves to climb so up and down she went on the steps. I was alittle nervous she would fall but she did great. Then she wanted down the slide so I sat her on my lap and down we went. Over and Over and Over until my arms started to ache. Once that happened I tried to convince her to run around and collect leaves like she likes to do.... BAD IDEA! Once I took her from the playground she got upset and threw a huge fit right in front of all the other little kids and parents. Sigh.. so off to home we went. We haven't been to the park again but I did take her out on a walk yesterday around the neighborhood. She seemed to like that but once we got home and I let her out of her stroller to play in the front yard she was GONE! Running up and down the driveway all over the sidewalk and even trying to get into the street. Thats when I had to hold her back and she didn't like that. Of course once she started to fuss, into the house we went. Phew... its not easy playing with her outside, I miss the good ol leaf picking days!
We also took her to the duck pond this past week to run around and explore. All she wanted to do was to jump into the pond itself!!! We lost count on the number of times we had to intervene before she fell in. She could care less about the ducks and enjoyed climbing up and down the steps they had there. Next time I think we will just let her play on the other side of the pond far far FAR away from the water haha
Well thats about it for the week. Our busy weekend has already started. Today I am home alone with Mia all day since Daddy is in Irvine for another computer conference. Its not so bad, just trying to think of ways of keeping her happy and entertained. Tomorrow is a HUGE day, we have a wedding to go to at 9am in San Diego, a baby shower at 1 (also in SD) and we might be making a trip up to Oxnard for her baby cousin's birth. Phew... well I better get some rest.. I need it!