Tuesday, June 29, 2010

Mia loves to feed her Toy Cat



I found Mia playing with the cat's food. Instead of scolding her and taking her away I decided to really watch what she was doing. She started counting the pieces as she put them in a pile, then placed her stuffed animal kitty on the food so it could eat. If you listen closely you can hear her say "Kitty Food"

Mia LOVES Queen!

We recently found out that Mia LOVES Queen! She is OBSESSED with the song "We will Rock You". She goes around saying "We.. We!, We..We!" while patting her legs and clapping. Now she makes her Dada and myself play the video over... and over... and OVER again. When I play "bohemian rhapsody" for her she says.. "No Mamaaaa, Mammmaa .... Wee! Weee!" so I have to put the other video back on

Saturday, June 26, 2010

City of Murrieta Birthday Bash











Current mood: accomplished

We really didn't have much planned for this weekend. I am still recovering from a horrible cold and Adrian is still sick. Sitting around all day at the house really didn't sound too bad, however, all that was about to change as soon as I did my morning routine.

Every morning I will quickly check the local news just to see if anything is going on. We don't have TV so unless I read the newspapers online I will be completely out of the loop of what is going on. So I was browsing the PE (the Inland Empire newspaper) when I came across a tiny article that mentioned there was going to be a big City Birthday Bash for the city of Murrieta today at a local sports park. It would have live music, food, vendors, and rides! Wow!! Murrieta is not far at all, so when Adrian woke up I told him about it. We decided to check it out in the late afternoon when it got a bit cooler outside.

When it was time to go we loaded up on some water, dressed cool and packed a TON of kleenex since we both are using it like crazy!!! Once we got to Murrieta we were shocked on how BIG it was. There were thousands of people, a huge band stand with music and more people!!!! We couldn't park in the parking lot so we parked across the street at WalGreens and walked across.

We were amazed at the amount of people all around and more and more seemed to come. We checked out the small vendor area and then found the food. They had all sorts of food! We ended sharing some GREAT nachos and some so-so lemonade. After our snack we walked around a bit more and found the ride area.

Unfortunately, all the rides were too intense for Mia. They also had about 10 HUGE jump for joys and right away Mia got excited and pointed to them. Unfortunately, again, there were too many rough and tumble older kids bouncing around in them and I didn't feel Mia would be safe if she went inside. She would get trampled on for sure! So instead we let her bounce on the outter part of one and she had a blast!!! She bounced and bounced, screaming and laughing! She had so much fun!

After walking around a bit more we let her run around in the grass area. She had just as much fun running up and down a big slope! After we let her run around a bit, it was time to go. It was getting chillier and Dada and I were both tired, so we made the trek back to the car.

Overall we had lots of fun, more than I thought we would. I am glad we all got to get out for a bit of fresh air and some nachos!!! Yum yum!!!!!

Friday, June 25, 2010

Week 102!


Current mood: happy

Happy Friday Everyone!!! and it is a happier Friday than the last Friday. I am feeling so much better. Though I am still pretty stuffed up and congested and have a slight cough, the worst of the cold is finally over! YAY!!! The only bad thing is, now Dada has it.. Oh-No!!! But so far it looks like it won't hit him too bad. I don't know what it is about him and Mia, both kicked my cold like nothing!

Well this week was pretty much a recovery week for me. I never left the house and never did anything but rest when I could and try to get well. Mia has been great, she has good day and bad. Though I think I know the cause of her bad days... I think she might be growing in her secondary molars now!!!! Oh-No!!! We did have a teething break for a while which was nice but looks like we are in for another round... thankfully its our last round and her final teeth until shes a teen. I had her opened her mouth for me so I could check and sure enough it almost looks like her back right side is going to poke through. I noticed she has been sticking her hands in her mouth again trying to grab at something AND rubbing the outside of her cheek alot.

Other than all that its been a good week. Adrian took her out to the stores a few times to run around and get some fresh air. She is talking ALOT more and putting more words together. Sometimes she comes up with words I didn't even know she knew!! I am always so impressed by her vocabulary. She is also trying to sing more and more and carry a note. I love listening to her. I can't help but wonder maybe we have a future singer on our hands?! haha

Well thats about it for the week. Nothing to spectacular happened, maybe this weekend something will come up. I doubt it though, with me recovering from the COLD of the century and Adrian sick I doubt it will be a very productive weekend, but who knows =)

Sunday, June 20, 2010

Father's Day 2010

Happy Father's Day!!! Its that very special day of the year where we take some extra time out of our busy days to recognize and appreciate all that our Daddy's do for us, and in some cases, what our husbands do for our kids.

I had lots planned to make this day extra special for Adrian. He deserves so much for being such a great Dada to Mia and the baby, however, me being sick really threw a wrench in everything. I caught a cold two days ago and even though I was doing much better yesterday, it hit me hard again today.

So I couldn't do to much for Adrian. I did buy him some of his favorite goodie snacks a few days back so I was able to surprise him with those, however, his special dinner has to wait a few more days. Adrian was ok with it all, infact he treated himself to a trip to San Diego today. He would have taken Mia but she just finished being sick and didn't want to risk it. So when he got back he surprise ME with my favorite italian food from La Bellas (In San Diego), he bought me a full order of Manicotti AND minitrone soup! Yum Yum! So even on his special day he still spoils me!!

When he got home, he put Mia down for a nap (since she refused to listen to me!) and once she got up, I had her give him our cards. She sat right in the middle of us and watched as Adrian read his cards. It was really cute.

Afterwards he took her out to the park across the street for some Dada/daughter bonding time. I stayed home and rested. When they got back, he had lots of stories to share. She had so much fun at the park and went sliding down all the slides! Adrian even tried to teach her how to use the monkey bars!!! She really liked to dangle haha. When the park time was over, he picked her up and put her on his shoulders. Right away she knew it was time to go home and so she waved at the slides and said "Bye Weeeeee!!! Bye Weeeee" then said "Bye outside! Bye!" and they walked home together.

Once they got home, they both filled up on water and off to Target they went. That is where they are now. I decided to jump on this blog a bit early since, as soon as it gets dark my sickness gets worse! Not sure if I would even be able to write anything tonight. But if I do hear of any new stories I will be sure to add them.

So happy Father's day to all the Daddy's out there! We couldn't do it without you!

Saturday, June 19, 2010

How did she do that?!?!

Current mood: VERY miserable

OK I know Mia is pretty amazing but what I really want to know is how the in the heck did she kick her cold faster than me?!?!?!?

Yesterday she was sneezing up a storm and her nose was a fountain and this morning, she sneezed a few times, I wiped her nose and she was good to go! No more sneezing or boogeys the rest of the day!!!! She was her normal chipper self as I lay on the couch in pure misery?!

How did she, my little one, catch a cold a day later than me and get well so soon!? All I can say is that shes my little Amazing Mia!!

I just hope tomorrow is just as good and she doesn't relapse, as for me... its more hot chicken broth and more couch time.. UGH!

Friday, June 18, 2010

Week 101!


Current mood: miserable

Ugh!!!!!! That is the theme for this week!!!! UGH!!!!

The week started off great... we took Mia to the San Diego County Fair and we all had a BLAST! It was so much fun... I should have known that will be the last bit of fun we would have for a while. Anyway, she got to ride the pony ride and the carosel. She had fun looking at all the barn animals and even saw her very first pig races!

Oh I almost forgot earlier that morning she woke up with the worse diaper blow out in history!!!! It was so bad it made me throw up! Poor Dada had to throw Mia in the bath and clean her all up... I should have seen that as a sign of what was to come.

Anyway, the night of the fair went well but the morning it all went downhill. She not only threw up twice in her bed she ran a high fever most of the day. That fever lasted 3 days!! It was our first experience with that type of fever and it was scary. Luckily Mia came out of it A-OK.

We had a two day reprieve before "I" got sick! I didn't catch Mia's fever but I caught a cold somehow and wouldn't you know... I gave it to Mia!!! So now shes sick again... this time with the runny nose and sneezing. As for me I am just dying.... I can't take meds because I am pregnant and I am so achy and miserable. My nose keeps running and I am a sneezing machine. I just hope Mia doesn't get as bad as I am... she seemed in good spirits today. I guess anything compared to her fever earlier in the week is nothing.

Well like I mentioned before I am feel awful I need to lay down. I just wanted to write a quick something. Wish me luck on Mia tomorrow!

Here we go again! Mia is sick... again....

Current mood: sick

Man talk about a BAD week! Especially for little Mia. Not only did she have that horrible 3 day fever, but 2 days after that she got sick again... this time with a cold. Who did she catch it from??? Me!!!! I know I know!!! Usually I am so careful around her.... I should have known.

It started yesterday for me. I woke up with a runny nose and sneezing alot. This seems to happen alot when I get allergies, so I thought it was just that... allergies, but it kept getting worse. By night time I was miserable and only 2 hours of sleep! The achyness kicked in and I was done for.

I knew I had a battle on my hands, especially being pregnant since I can't take any meds to help me. I decided to call in my special forces... My Dad! I called him 6am to give him heads up that I might need his help later in the day. I really didn't want Mia to get sick and I knew I would be useless as a provider today. I didn't want to leave Adrian with full baby duties since I knew he had to drive into work and on Fridays hes really beat from the long work week anyway. So I told my Dad I would give him the answer after Mia gets up and I will see how it goes...

Well when Mia got up I was feeling WORSE! I finally gave my Dad the green light to come up, and while I got Mia situated downstairs I ran upstairs to let Adrian know. When I went back downstairs again Mia was covered in boogers!! EWWW!!!! She was sneezing up a storm and mocos just kept pouring from her nose. Yep she was sick too!!! GREAT!... So I called my Dad can cancelled the trip. I didn't want him to come here and catch what we have.. because I know Mia is highly contagious, she gets EVERYONE sick that comes near her.

The rest of the day, she was pretty good. She was in pretty good spirits considering her fountain nose and sneezing. About Mid day I just crashed and had to have Adrian watch her while I slept on the couch. I still feel VERY achy and miserable. I just laid Mia down for bed... she seemed ok. She ate well today and played... I am just waiting for tomorrow. Maybe today was her good day and tomorrow will be my today! and she will be miserable... sigh.... This is no fun!!!!

Thursday, June 17, 2010

Sweet Baby Mia

I mentioned earlier that Mia is starting to really enjoy me singing her a certain song before bed/nap time. Its an old James Taylor song that my Dad used to sing to me as a kid called, "Sweet Baby James". I always remembered it and it always brought back fond memories for me. So when I got pregnant with Mia I decided to learn the words and I would sing it to her while she was in my tummy. It was like an everyday tradition for us and when she was born I continued to sing it to her. She seemed to really respond to it too which I thought was cute.

Well as time wore on and she got older, I didn't sing the song to her as much. Then she became obsessed with the Beatles "Yellow Submarine" and I had to constantly sing her that song.

Well something changed recently. I started to sing her the James Taylor song again (at night) and she really enjoyed it. Infact she would make me sing it over and over again. When I would stop she would sit up, give me the biggest doe eyes and say "Mama... mama!! Mama Se!!, Mama se!" (Her way of saying sing). If I pretended to be asleep she would gently push my arm saying "Mama... mama...mama" until I opened my eyes, once I would she would point at me and say "Mama Se! Mama se!" Of course I couldn't resist and she would lay right back down, get comfy, and listen to me sing. Granted I don't have the greatest singing voice, infact its pretty awful, but she doesn't seem to mind and she makes me feel special when I sing her that song.

Now recently that song is the ONLY song she will let me sing! I try ALL sorts of other songs and she will make me change the song by saying "se Se SE!!" and interrupt me until I change the tune. Sometimes she will even start to cry if I continue singing a different song, however, once I start singing her song she will quiet down, get comfy and listen.

When she got sick a few days back, I felt like a broken record. She made me sing that song over... and OVER and OVER! and most of the time she would fall asleep to me singing it. It was very comforting to her and would make her stop crying and relax. I thought it was really sweet, but it did get tiresome since my voice isn't that strong.

Well the tradition continues. Infact she made me sing the song 4 times before she fell asleep tonight. I don't mind though, I enjoy sharing my special song with my special girl. I love my "Sweet Baby Mia"

Oh I almost forgot, I finally showed her the video of the song.. and you know what she made me do???.... change it and turn it off!!! haha I can't figure that girl out sometimes haha

Dada's Special Gift

Mia has been obsessed with bugs lately. Ever since she saw that pincher bug crawl out of her diaper bag a few days ago, she is always talking about it. We even heard her say "bug!" in her sleep! Its pretty funny.

Well today, I wasn't feeling to well. I am not sure if its allergies (which I am really hoping it is) or I am coming down with a cold. My nose keeps running, I am a sneezing machine and my eyes are burning. So I wasn't much fun today. In the afternoon I decided to take a quick cat nap while Adrian watched Mia for me.

When I woke up he said that she brought him the grossest thing.... a dead pincher bug!!! EWWWWWWWWW!!!! He said she placed it in his hand and when he looked at it, and realized what it was, it totally grossed him out and he threw it away.

Well if Mia is going to play with bugs I guess it is better that they are dead than alive... hmmmmmmm..... I wonder if it was the same pincher bug she saw the other day? and what makes me wonder more is how did he die?!?!?!?!?

Mia's first scolding that actually worked!!

Even as young as Mia is, we have disciplined her when needed. Though we don't "spank", we will scold her, or attempt to redirect her, and if all else fails she gets a "pow pow" on her hand.

Now that she is getting older and slowly reaching those "Terrible Twos!" she is testing us alot more. However, she is also understanding alot more and the story I am about to tell, that took place yesterday, is a perfect example of what I am talking about.

Some mornings, while we are downstairs playing, we will hear Adrian's alarm clock go off. If we do, I ask Mia if she wants to go "wake up Dada?" She quickly jumps to her feet and gets all excited because its like a game to her. We race upstairs and I lead her to our master bedroom where Adrian is slowly waking up. She will run to his side of the bed and say "Dada!" and then run to me so I can put her on our bed (its pretty elevated). Once she is on the bed she goes NUTS! Its like an all out play time for her. She starts to bounce around, screaming and laughing. I have to tell her to be careful and to give her Dada a hug and kissy. Of course she will then she will continue to act rowdy.

Well yesterday she found a toy rubber duck and brought it in the bed with her. She was playing with it then decided it would be fun to throw it and hit her groggy Dada in the face! We both told her "NO!" but she didn't care. She grabbed the ducky again and a short while later it went flying at his face again! This time I scolded her louder and more directly. Adrian did as well, and for the first time in Mia history, she got her little heart broken. She just sat on the bed, hung her head low and didn't say a word. Then she started to do her pouty lip thing and started to wimper. It wasn't a whine or a cry but more of a quiet, cry like wimper. Tears welted up in her eyes. Adrian then reached out to touch her but she refused. She moved out of the way and continued to be sad. It took her a LONG LOOONG while for her to finally snap out of it and even after she did, she didn't play the same way. Later she found her ducky again (Adrian had thrown it off the bed after the second time he got smacked in the face with it) and this time nicely handed it to her Dada as a peace offering awwwwww!!!

Wow, so I guess she is finally understanding what a scolding is! Wait until she understands what a real "Pow Pow" is!!! haha just kidding!

Wednesday, June 16, 2010

Mia Fever update #3

Current mood: relieved

Hello! Yep, Mia is in full recovery now. She woke up bright eyed and bushy tailed this morning. Her whininess and fussiness are gone and she is acting her normal self again! HOORAY!!!!

Wow what an experience. We sure learned so much and I think both Adrian and I deserve a medal for coming out of our first real big sickness/fever as champions. It was such a stressful time for the both of us, especially me who stressed out over anything negative happening to my little one. Thankfully I had Adrian there right along with me, in the heart of the battle, and he helped keep my feet on the ground.

Adrian has always been my rock, he has helped me through so many of life's challenges. When I trip he is always there to catch me before I fall, and for that I am so grateful for him. He has not only taught me so much about myself but also reminds me to have confidence in the decision and actions that we make, especially when concerning our little family.

At the height of Mia's fever, I was starting to lose confidence in my ability to handle this. It was Adrian who was always there to remind me that we are a team and are in it 100% together. We leaned on each other, when I needed something he was there and when he needed something I was there. We worked like a tag team and there was never a time where one of us was left stranded. Our main focus was Mia and our main goal was getting her well again.

There were times where I really wanted to call in reinforcements (My Dad) for help. I was constantly on the phone with him almost every hour giving him fever updates and at my word he would drive down here to help at the drop of a hat. I really did want to call him in to help us but it was Adrian who reminded me that we could get through this together. What stuck in my mind the most is when he said to me "We will be ok, we can handle this.... we are parents now this is what we need to learn how to deal with together". He was right, though having some extra help would have made things a tad bit easier ... coming out of this victorious and doing it all by ourselves really did help boost my confdence for future emergencies.

I have learned alot from this whole thing. Especially the fact that just because she looks and feels ok doesn't mean she will stay ok. There were a couple of times we celebrated her recovery a bit to early and she still got really sick. I have learned the art of riding it out, though it is easier said than done. Actually I still think I need a bit more practice.

All in all, I am glad we can finally put all this behind us now. Knowing that we are a bit more experienced and wiser now also helps me feel better.

Tuesday, June 15, 2010

Mia Fever Update #2

Current mood: exhausted

Well today I can officially write that Mia has conquered her fever!! YAY!!! Though she did have slight signs of it late last night and early morning (99.6 and 99.1) by the time I got her out of bed she was normal!!!

Although she had no temp, she was still in recovery. She slept A LOT!!! more than she ever normally does during the day. All she wanted to do was sleep and she took 2 naps! One that was over 3 hours and about 1-2 hours after that one she insisted on going back to bed and sleeping for another 45mins!! Both times she took us to the room to put her to bed, so it wasn't even like we had to force her.

She even ended up going to bed willingly at 8:30 although it did take her a bit to finally fall asleep. Most of the day she was pretty cranky, you could tell she wasn't 100% yet but pretty close. She was a whining crying machine!!! and really worked my nerves with that. I normally try to correct whinyness but after all she has been through these past couple of days I let it slide... only for today though!

Overall I am so glad to finally put this horrible experience behind us. Tomorrow is a new day and she should be back to her ol' self again. I can't wait.

Wow what a ride... I am so glad we all came out victorious!

Mia doesn't like this DJ Lance Cake



I decided to bake Mia a homemade "Foofa" cake for her birthday, so I was online trying to get some ideas. I came across this person's cake of DJ Lance Rock. I went to show Adrian, and Mia saw it! Right away she made a mean face at it and then acted scared. I showed her the picture again about 10 mins later and she started to cry!!! Now she won't let me get on the computer at all!

Monday, June 14, 2010

Oh-No! Bug!



Current Mood: Amused

I just had to write a quick blog about something that happened today that I thought was so cute.

Mia was feeling better from her fever and was acting her normal mischievous self. I was on the phone with my Dad at the time, giving him a fever update. Mia then noticed her diaper bag, which happened to be open. She ran over there and started throwing out diapers! Soon there was a shower of flying diapers everywhere so I quickly went over to her and shut the diaper bag. This, of course, didn't make Mia happy so she fussed for a bit.

Then all of a sudden a pincher bug came out of one of the side pockets! I saw it right away and tried to shoo it away before Mia noticed it. I wasn't sure how should would react to it, I thought for sure she would try to pick it up!!!

Of course the darn thing was running in circles and sure enough Mia saw it. To my surprise she said "Oh no! Bug!" and started to back away on her butt! (She was sitting at the time) She kept saying over and over, "Oh no! Bug!.. Bug! Oh No!" and pointing at it. It soon crawled near the cat food bowl and she said "Bug! Kitty... Oh no! Bug!" She kept saying it over and over for a good few mins. Then her Dada came in the door and she told him about the "bug"

It was really cute! I guess she knows what bugs are and doesn't like them. I am glad... I really didn't want her to take after me and come running in the door from playing outside holding a "surprise" for me in her hand!

Fever Update



Current mood: anxious

Again we celebrated a bit to early. As I mentioned before, Mia went to bed with a slight fever of 101. We gave her another dose of motrin and she fell asleep pretty quickly. Of course I had to sing her to sleep but it didn’t take long. I went to bed myself about an hour later. ....Adrian.... was on Baby Fever Watch all night.

He said that around 2ish, he checked in on her and she felt alittle warm but not to bad. He took her temp with our ear thermometer and it said 100.8. He stayed with her the rest of the night. He said she kept waking up suddenly making sure he was there then going back to sleep. As the night progressed she kept getting hotter and hotter. ....Adrian.... would take her temp again and it kept saying 100.8. He thought it was strange since for sure her temp would be higher since she felt so hot! So he busted out the old arm thermometer and took her temp. Sure enough she was 103! He quickly gave her some more motrin and woke me up about an hour after that (6:30am).

He filled me in on her progress and of course I jumped out of bed. ....Adrian.... then realized that he didn’t give Mia the full dosage of medicine so while he gave her the rest I got things ready downstairs for her to come down. ....Adrian.... carried her downstairs and placed her on the couch. She was out of it and very warm. We took her temp again and it was 101, it did go down but it was still high. I offered her some ice water but she didn’t want it. I put on a marathon of “Between the lions” for her and she rested on the couch. All she wanted was to be held by Dada.

At about 8 ....Adrian.... went back to bed… or I should say went to bed. I then asked Mia if she wanted to go lay down in the bed and she grabbed her blanket right away. She followed me into the guestroom where I laid down with her.

She insisted I sing her, her favorite song over and over. It wasn’t one of her Beatles songs, it was a old James Taylor song my Dad used to sing to me when I was a kid. I have been singing it to her since she was in my tummy and when she wants to rest she always makes me sing it. So I sang it to her until she fell asleep. Which didn’t take too long. I snuck out of the room to grab a snack and attempt to write this blog. That’s when she woke up SCREAMING and crying, I ran back into the room and she was so upset. I wasn’t sure if she was mad that I left or that she was just mad she woke up. I attempted to cuddle her but she wanted no part of it. After she managed to stop crying she turned to me and said “Mama se!” in her cracking voice (That’s how she says sing) I tried to sing her another song but she insisted I sing the James Taylor song, so I did and she fell asleep. My heart broke that she was feeling so miserable. I cried silently and this time stayed in bed with her. She woke up crying a couple more times before she finally fell asleep for good. I ended up falling asleep too and it wasn’t until 11:45 did she wake up crying again.

This time ....Adrian.... came into the room. He had heard her cries and came to check on her. Her medicine was nearly completely out of her system by then but amazenly she was actually pretty cool to the touch!!! I was shocked and happy. We took her out of the room and put her back in the livingroom to wake up fully and watch her shows. I went to give her another dose of her medicine and that’s when I realized it was empty!!! OH NO!!! So I ran, threw on some clothes (I was still in my jammies) and ran out the door to buy some more. I zoomed off to Walgreens and bought some more medicine. When I came back Mia was in better spirits, we gave her some medicine and took her temp. It was in the 90s. We couldn’t take it too accurately because she didn’t want to sit still and the ear thermometer doesn’t always give correct results. But she felt A LOT cooler.

After awhile she perked up and wanted to eat. We gave her some bread, dry cheerios, crackers, and she stole ....Adrian....’s apple and ate that. So her appetite came back! YAY! She felt cooler and cooler and soon her temp read normal! We were so happy!!! As the day wore on she slowly turned back into her chipper self. She hasn’t become warm again all day and is an eating machine!!! I just laid her down for another nap (5:45) and she knocked out.

The real test now is how she will be around 6:30 when the medicine starts to wear off. Hopefully she won’t warm up again… stay tuned!!

Sunday, June 13, 2010

Poor Mia is sick



Current mood: exhausted

Nothing can prepare you when a bug decides to invade your little ones body. It creeps in their system unexpectedly and silently and before you know it... all chaos ensues!

That is exactly what happened to us this morning. Nothing could have prepared or warned me about the battle I, Adrian, or Mia were about to fight... especially poor little Mia.

I woke up at 6am to the cries of Mia. I opened my eyes and waited to see if they got worse. They eventually died down a bit but I got up to check on her anyway. I knew she was still rashy from the day before so I wanted to check her diaper anyway.

I grabbed a diaper, wipee, her creams and a banana sliced and headed upstairs to her room. I slowly opened the door and found her back to sleep! I didn't want to wake her. I sniffed the air a bit to make sure I didn't smell poopies like I did yesterday and the room smelled fine so I slowly closed the door and climbed back into my bed.

I tossed and turned awhile but couldn't go back to sleep so I got back up and grabbed something to munch on. I decided to try to upload some of Mia's pictures from the fair yesterday so I parked myself on the couch with the laptop and got comfy.

Around 7am I heard Mia talking quietly in her room and making noise. So I put the laptop away and went back upstairs. I really wanted to check on her rash. I slowly opened the door and I found her in the middle of her bed, laying on her tummy with her eyes opened.

I walked in and she didn't get up. It didn't look like she wanted to fully wake up because she kept closing her eyes. I decided since she already saw me I should just lay in bed with her to rest and when she was ready to get up she would wake me up.

So I laid next to her and eventually drifted off to sleep. I was suddenly woken up by her crying very loudly. I sprang up (This was about 7:30) and turned to her. She was sitting up crying then all of a sudden she started to vomit!! Not alot, mostly liquid and stomach acid. I quickly grabbed her blanket to catch it and rubbed her head trying to calm her down. She cried a bit afterwards and just like that laid back down and went to sleep before my eyes!!! I was baffled! What had just happened?!?! Luckily she didn't vomit a whole lot and it didn't smell so I just threw the clean side of the blanket over the wet spot on the bed. I didn't want to wake her up by changing her sheets. I figured when she woke up I could then wash her blankets.

I snuck out of her room and went to Adrian. I woke him up and told him what had happened. We agreed there would be no San Diego trip today, thats for sure. So he went back to sleep and I went downstairs to rest a bit and to hear her through the baby monitor. At around 8 I decided to go back into her room and wait for her to wake up. When I went back to her room she was already awake. She was leaning on a pillow while sitting up. She seemed ok, though not her normal active self. She didn't want to get out of the bed. So I sat down next to her and talked to her. She jibber jabbered to me quietly about Foofa, Dada, a Cow and it goes Mooooo and just baby talk like that. She seemed really liss liss and lethargic so I decided to keep her in her room. If she wanted to stay in bed thats ok, I figured she wasn't feeling to well.

So I asked her if she wanted a cracker? (saltine) She said "cracker! cracker" eagerly so I told her I would be right back while I grab her some. I ran downstairs and got her a handful of crackers. When I got back to her she didn't want anything to do with them. I offered her some water and she chugged it like I have never seen her drink before!! I then told her I would be right back and I grabbed the laptop and brought it back to her room. I set it up for her to watch Yo Gabba Gabba streamed from the internet. This made her happy. She laid down and watched her Gabba and seemed to be doing ok.

Then one of her favorite Gabba songs came on. The one with the clown. It never fails this always makes her jump and dance and sure enough when it came on she quickly got up and tried to jump. She took about two or three jumps before she quickly sat down, burped then started vomiting ALOT! Luckily I thought ahead and had a towel handy so I caught it all. She was vomiting so much she was choking and this made her upset and cry. After she finished and I got her all cleaned up and calmed down I went to Adrian and asked himt to get up. I wasn't sure how much worse she would get, I also noticed she was VERY warm to the touch and thought she might have a fever.

So Adrian got up and I grabbed new towels incase she got sick again. We then took her temp and it was 101.6 (9:30am) Thats when we took her downstairs to rest. I threw her bedding in the washer and joined them downstairs. She REFUSED to eat anything and would not let us give her any tylonal.

So I set up a marathon of "Between the Lions" (her other favorite show) for her and she laid on the couch most of the morning. She was very lethargic and didn't want to get up. I sat with her and rubbed her head, then at about noon she magically perked up! It was like night and day! She got off the couch, went to read her Elmo book, ride her princess car and dumped out all her toys out of the toy box! She was soon playing and acting like her old self! So Adrian and and I took her temp again and it was 99.3!! YAY!!! We were so excited and happy that she had kicked most of her fever alone!! She then started to eat again. She ate a tiny bit of a cracker and some bread and was literally dancing and singing again. Adrian and I were both relieved.... but it was short lived....

Mia got sleepy and ended up falling asleep on Adrian who was sitting on the couch. She was only asleep for about 20 mins before she woke up screaming and crying hysterically. We couldn't calm her down for anything, I even tried too and she kept saying "Mama Go! Mama Go!" she didn't want me. So Adrian picked her up and walked her around. We decided to take her temp again and it was back up to 101.5 (1:48) Oh-No!!!! Eventually we calmed her down and we took her temp again and it was up 102.2 (2:50). We then laid her down in the guestroom which was cooler than any place in the house. She rested there for a bit and I took her temp again and it was up to 102.7 (3:37) I then searched for our baby motrin and I found it. Then I remembered they recently had a recall on baby motrin so I decided to check it out on the website and sure enough our unopened motrin was on the list. UGH!!! So I jumped in the car and went to the nearby Walgreens and bought her new motrin, a ear instant thermomiter, and a little toy to help her feel better and zoomed back home.

When I got home I found her and Adrian asleep on the bed. I thought I could get alittle rest but nope, she woke up screaming and crying again soon after. I took her temp again and it was 102.6 (4:35), so we took off her tank top and Adrian walked her around trying to calm her down. We then forced some motrin in her (which wasn't easy) and soon she finally started to calm down. 30 mins later I took her temp again and she was 100.6 (5:08) YAY! finally it was going down. She slowly started perking up and soon was acting pretty normal again.

I then made a call to the after-hours nurse line to make sure we were doing all we could. After talking to the nurse for awhile we were doing all we could. She said not to get too concerned unless her temp reaches 104 or higher. She also informed me that I wasn't giving her enough medicine. The dose I was giving her was too little (1.8ml) and she needed 3.1. She also advised me to give her the remaining amount ASAP.

Once I got off the phone we gave her the remaining amount and took her temp 30mins alter and it was 99.0!!! YAY!!!!! Getting closer!! She remained in good spirits and watched her shows. She became cooler and cooler and by 8pm she had a temp of 98.6!!! Finally her fever was official broken!!!!! We all celebrated and since then she has been eating more. She ate tons of crackers, bread and I cooked her up some plain pasta. Now she is hanging out on Dada's lap watching her Gabba.

Wow what a crazy roller coaster ride today. I hope I don't have to ride it again any time soon, it was horrible. I am just so VERY EXTREMELY HAPPY Mia is all better now, hopefully we all get a good night sleep tonight....

Saturday, June 12, 2010

San Diego County Fair 2010
























































Current mood: exhausted

It's that time of year again! One of my most favorite times! The San Diego County Fair is back in town and I have been itching to go like crazy! I couldn't wait to sink my teeth into some good ol' fried food and not to mention PICKLES!!!!

We weren't really sure when we would go, since the fair is in town for about a month. Then on the fly we decided to go today since the weather is unseasonably cool right now... for at least the next couple of days. We wanted to go before the heat of summer really set in.

So despite the DISASTER that happened this morning (please refer to my previous blog) we still ended up going. Nothing was going to hold me back from getting my fried food, Adrian his fried food and Mia her pony ride!

So even though we got a later start than we had planned we still managed to make it out to Del Mar by 3pm. Mia slept in the car on the way there so she was all rested and ready to go! We busted out her stroller, and packed it to the rim with all of our stuff, the diaper bag, camera bag, jackets, water, you name it!

Once we got to the gate we had to unload all our stuff so the fair people could search it, that was no fun. Once we packed it all back we were ready to go! First stop??? Pony rides!!!!

Ever since Mia rode her first pony at her friend Koa's birthday she has been OBSESSED with ridding things around. She constantly "rides" her little toys around the house all the time. So what better treat than to have her ride a pony again!! We walked her over there and she seemed pretty excited to see the ponies. Adrian then paid for her ticket and they put her on a little horse. She looked SO CUTEEE! I stood by with my camera as Adrian stood next to Mia on her little pony!

Again Mia didn't seem to perky to be on the horse but once the ride was over she BLEW UP!!!!!! It was so bad we just paid for another ride and she went around again. She looked like such a big girl on her horse and by the second ride she perked up even more! A couple of times the pony took off in a semi-gallop and that made her laugh! She was bouncing all around. Eventually the second ride was over and she screamed and cried, and tears poured down her cheeks and drenched poor Dada's shirt. She was so upset she didn't want to leave the horse. People all around saw her, all had their hearts broken. At one point I heard someone say "someone wants a pony when they grow up" Ya, Mia was not happy.

So we quickly left the pony area as fast as we could and went to the livestock area. She looked at some goats and got a kick out of it and even tried to feed them some hay. She saw a giant pig and laughed at it. Then it was time to wash her hands and go and she was NOT happy about that, so we quickly left the livestock area and went to a nearby stadium where they were going to have a pig racing show.

TONS of people crowded the tiny stadium to watch the piglets race. Mia got a kick out of them at first but soon grew bored. I guess she isn't a piggy fan. Next we found another livestock area where she got to see her favorites.... CHICKENS!!! She laughed and pointed happily at the chickens but didn't care much for the cows or pigeons.

After we saw all the little animals it was time to EAT!!!!!! Adrian and I were on the prowl for some good old bad food! We ended up buying some battered fries, covered in nacho cheese! Mia didn't mind eating those, she actually liked them as long as they didn't have cheese on them. After that we bought some more bad food then headed off to the gaming area.

We were on a quest to win Mia a little horse stuffed animal since she loves ponies and doesn't have one at home. Soon we found a balloon popping game and after Dada popped some balloons with a dart he wont her a GIANT pink and purple unicorn! Mia was so excited to get her new little pony. We then played some skeetball and she laughed when I rolled the balls. We walked around a bit more then headed off to kiddie land to put her on some rides!!!

The walk was long and hard, and not easy for me being nearly 6 months pregnant. So we had to take it slow. Once we arrived to kiddie land we found out we needed to buy tickets to ride any rides! So we bought some and as Dada was purchasing them, Mia started dancing in her stroller to the loud music. She was ready to go and have some FUN!

After searching around for the perfect ride we finally decided on the carousel! She has never been on that before, so Dada was there to make sure she wouldn't get hurt. They picked a very cute plastic horse and Mia held on like a big girl. She had so much fun... TOO much fun! So much fun that when the ride was over she REFUSED to get off. She would cry and push Adrian's hands away. Whenever the ride came to a stop she would say "no no no no no!" and get all upset. So what did we do? We gave the conductor another ticket for her to ride again! Soon Mia was a carousel riding machine! She, herself, would hand the conductor another ticket every time the ride stopped! She ended up riding the carousel 3 times!!! Poor Dada was so dizzy! haha Finally we just had to take her off and deal with the screaming episode that followed.

We walked around a bit more, then bought more bad food and ate even more! By then our feet were hurting and it was time to go. On the way out I had to stop by the restroom for a second, so Adrian and Mia sat on a nearby benched and watched a guy give a live concert. Mia LOVED hearing this guy play his acoustic guitar and danced like crazy. When I got out of the restroom and saw she was enjoying herself, I decided to walk next door to the gift shop and buy her a San Diego Fair T-Shirt and magnet. When I came back again she was still there dancing and clapping her little heart out. She enjoyed his music so much we ended up buying his CD (It was only $5... actually it was the cheapest thing we bought all day.. and thats including the games we played!) It started to get colder and later so it was time to go home.

Mia didn't want to leave the little concert but soon let her Dada carry her away. She said bye and actually tried to sing along with the guy as we walked away. We then made the long treck back to the car and headed home.

Once we got home Mia was so sleepy we just put her right in bed. She had such a long day of walking, riding rides, and ponies... she was pooped!! We all are!!! Infact I think I am going to go to bed now, we have another busy day in San Diego tomorrow... we are going to a bridal shower... that is unless I am to sore from today to walk! haha

A Nightmare-ish Morning!



Current mood: nauseated

I should have known.... it was just to peaceful when I woke up this morning. Something had to give a BOY did it!

I woke up the soft sounds of Mia talking in her room. She didn't cry but she didn't quite sound like her normal perky self. I didn't pay much attention to it but now that I think back, it should have been a warning.

So I got up, went downstairs to use the restroom and drink some water. Since Mia was already up I decided to hold off on breakfast until I got her up so we could eat together like we normally do. I did feel a bit uneasy but nothing to bad. I grabbed a new diaper, a wipee and half a banana to bring up to Mia's room.

I slowly walked up the stairs not thinking of much. I reached her door and slowly opened it, and just like a brick wall the smell hit me! It was PUTRID! I mean it was really REALLY REALLY horribly bad! I knew right away Mia had gone poopies sometime in the middle of the night or early morning.

She got up when she saw me but wasn't jumping around. I just stood there for a second in complete shock and soon I began to feel myself wanting to get sick and gag! Uh-Oh! So I ran to her window, pulled up her blinds and swung the window open all the way. The stench refused to leave!!! I went over to Mia and said "Come on! lets go, no play time this morning" (I usually play with her in bed for a few mins. before we start the day. All I could think about was getting out of that stinky room ASAP!

Mia saw the banana I was holding and kept saying "Nana! Nana!!!" I told her she would get her Nana once we get to the stairs! Sure enough she got up and walked out her door and thats when I noticed her shorts were COVERED in poop!!!! Oh GROSS!!! I handed her the banana since she was demanding it and what did she do? She ran right back into her room and jumped on the bed to eat her nana like she always does every morning! Noooooo!!! I tried so hard to get her out of her room, at the same time I was trying so hard not to throw up! I had to act fast, a time bomb was ticking in my stomach.

I went over and pulled her shorts off, and it unleashed MORE smell!!! I knew at that very moment, I needed to call reinforcements! There was not way I would be able to handle that disaster in her diaper. So I said "Come on we need Dada".

We walked into the master bedroom and I woke up Adrian. I told him it was an emergency and that I couldn't change Mia and she had an accident in her bed. He thought it was pee pees but once he got a wiff of her next to him he knew right away what had happened. She jumped up and said "She needs a bath!!!" So I helped gather her stuff for her bath and just then the stench started circling the whole upstairs!!!! Thats when I just lost it!!!! I started dry heaving and gagging so hard, I knew I would throw up! Adrian and Mia were both in the upstairs bathroom and there was no time to get to the master bathroom so I just ran downstairs as fast as I could and tried to reach the downstairs bathroom as fast as I could.

Luckily I barely made it... and I mean BARELY! I was getting sick over and over again. Adrian called down for some help but I told him I couldn't because I was throwing up! Once I regained my composure I grabbed a clean wipee, held it over my nose, and walked back upstairs. By then Adrian had Mia in the tub and asked me to watch her while he threw the biohazardous diaper and dirty wipees away outside!!!

Mia was having fun in the tub and since he was already in there Adrian decided to give her a full on bath, hair and all. Once she was out of the bath I dried and dressed her. Unfortunatley, the poopies she had (which was the runs) gave her, her very first EVER diaper rash!! OH-No!!! I so slathered TONS of butt cream all over her to help her.

After chaos finally died down, Adrian went back to bed and Mia and I started our day like we should have. Man it was a battle... and one I hope never to relive again!!!!

Friday, June 11, 2010

Another Day at the Park

















Current Mood: Amused

Originally I wasn't going to write a blog about today's adventure to the park but after reviewing some of the pictures and videos... I couldn't resist!

Since summer is fast approaching, we took advantage of our unusually cool weather today and took Mia across the street to the park.

It has been awhile since she has been there so it was a big treat for her. She has been DYING to get on the slides again. While at home, she was constantly trying to slide down our legs when we sat on the couch, she would slide down the back couch cushions while saying "Weeeeeeeeeee!", and try to build her own slides out of her toys. So ya, it was time to take her back to the park.

Right away she ran right for the jungle gym. She did get a tad bit shy around the new kids playing and this older man riding his bike but she was so excited about the slide she ignored her fears.

I think she was a bit rusty because she kept sliding down the slides .... well.... awkward is the only way I can describe it. I will let you be the judge when you see the picture. I think she would hold on to the slides to long or hard but somehow she always ended up side ways, it was funny. The funniest thing of all was hearing her say "Oh No!" just as she lost her grip and slid down the slide before she was ready.

Overall the day at the park was fun, I can't wait to go back. Hopefully the weather won't get to hot to fast.



Mia says "Oh No!" right before she slides down the slide. I don't know why she says it but it cracks me up everytime I watch this video. (below)



After Mia slides down the slide, she grabs her bootie buns for some reason. When Adrian asks if he can "check" her pants she just does a small jig and contiunes to play on the jungle gym (below)