Current mood: tired
Well here I am.. almost 24hrs since my last blog and I am exhausted. Man what a day. Last night went pretty well, actually better than I expected. Mia didn't wake up until about 4:30am this morning. She was doing this soft quiet whine. My Mama radar kicked off and I woke right up. I waited to hear her cry out but she never did. I got up anyways to check on her and she was sleeping on her tummy. Her breathing was very bad and congested.
I went downstairs, grabbed her a bottled water incase she woke up thirsty, her medicine, and a warm blanket. We haven't moved the spare bed into her room yet so I laid down on the floor next to her crib. I wanted to be near her incase she woke up and needed something. Thankfully she never did wake up.
It was really chilly and the blanket I had wasn't cutting it. The ground was hard and uncomfortable but I didn't want to leave my sick baby's side. Then I heard a weird noise. I sat up... hmm... there it goes again. Almost like low growl. I sat there motionless trying to figure out where and what that sound was. It got louder. I thought for a second maybe the cat snuck in and was snoring under Mia's bed. I checked under her crib.. nothing. I heard it again! So I stood up and went to her wall that shares our masterbedroom. Sure enough I heard it again.... no it wasn't a monster.. (though it sounded like one) it was Adrian snoring in the next room. His cold has plugged up his nose too so he can't breath very well either. There goes me ever going back to bed now. Even with Mia's soft music playing and her light snores I couldn't drown out Adrian's snore! I had no choice, I had to leave the room if I was to get any rest. I didn't want to leave Mia but I knew if I didn't get some sleep I would be no good to her during the day when she needed me most.
So I picked up the blanket and headed downstairs to sleep on the couch. I turned on the kitchen baby monitor and turned up the volume incase Mia made noise. All that it picked up though was Adrian's snoring!! I KNOW!! it was really bad.. poor guy hes really sick. So I got comfortable on the couch and tried to get some sleep. It didn't really work out because I would wake up to any little noise or movement Mia would make. I literally had 3 dreams back to back about waking up and getting Mia out of bed. I couldn't relax enough to fall into a deep sleep. Eventually the sun came up. I could hear Adrian walking around upstairs, he woke up and couldn't go back to sleep. Then I heard Mia wake up and she was upset and started crying really loud.
I ran upstairs and took her out of the crib. I quickly felt her for a fever and thankfully it seemed to have broke. She did still seem a tad bit warm but nothing like she was the day before. I rocked her in the rocking chair a bit before taking her downstairs. She was still crying and whining and you could tell she was not feeling good at all. Her breathing was still bad and she sounded stuffed up. I changed her diaper and did the thing she hates.... sucked out her boogies with the snot sucker. She got super mad but she could breath better. I then offered her some food but her appetite was still not there. She munched on half a banana and alittle bit of toast. I decided to spoil her a bit so all day we watched nothing but her shows.
The rest of the morning was spent watching TV and tending to her. She ate a pedilite pop and really liked it. She still didn't want to drink any water, juice or milk. I had had a hard time getting anything in her tummy. Eventually it got late and it was nap time. I was dragging by this time. I put her in her crib and she blew up again. I laid down next to her on the floor and she calmed down. I decided to just nap there while she did. I hoped that if I napped with her she would nap for a long while. I slowly drifted off to sleep but it didn't take long before I was startled awake by her screaming and crying. Only 30mins had past and she was extremely upset. Nothing would calm her down. I tried talking to her, carrying her, rocking her.. nothing. She screamed bloody murder all the way down to the livingroom. She still cried and cried even around all her toys. Tears streamed down her cheecks and she just stood there not moving. Snot began rolling down her face as well and she just looked like a total mess! I felt horrible for her. I tried to cuddle her but she didn't want to be touched. I gave her some space and just let her cry. I gentally talked to her and sympathized with her on how bad she must be feeling. Eventually she started to finally calm down and she let me hold her. She was doing that shaking inhale/exhaling and was complaining in her little baby talk.
Adrian soon came down and I cooked Mia up an egg. She ate a tiny bit of it. I then headed off to Walgreens again because this time Adrian was out of medicine. So while I was there I picked up some other things we needed like diapers and water. I also picked up a tiny toy braclete for Mia that jingled. When I got back home Adrian and Mia were watching TV. She seemed to have perked up abit. I gave her the bracelete and she was happy with it for a bit.
The rest of the day was pretty much the same. She never fully perked up and often times just started crying and whining out of no where. She hardly ate anything but did started drinking her milk again. The tylonal seems to be helping a bit because she will be ok for while until it starts to wear off. Her nose gets stuffed up with nasty sticky green boogies so I have to suck them out alot now. She has also started going poopies ALOT!!! I think its because of all the fruit I have been giving her. Its all I can get her to eat and even that isn't very much.
Now she is in bed. I laid on the floor next to her until she fell asleep. She seems to be doing better. I have a VICKS vapor plug-in that I have in her room to help with her congestion. I bought it for her last year when she got her first cold, but she was too young to use it so it just sat there in the box unopened. I found it and she is old enough for it now. It seems to be doing ok, though her room reeks of VICKS. The tech center just outside her door does too since Adrian put some rubbing VICKS on.. man this house smells like an infirmary!!!
Thats about it, I hope she feels better tomorrow and the same with Adrian. It isn't easy being Nurse Mommy/wife but I am doing ok. I do feel the bug trying to invade me too but my body is pretty resiliant to that stuff. I haven't let it take me down yet.. I have to much at risk. If I get sick the whole house will come to a standstill and collapse! haha Great now that I said that I probably jinxed myself...sigh... well I should go get some rest now. There is no telling what tomorrow will bring... Man what a way to end the year!
