Current mood: cheerful
As you read earlier, I have been feeling a bit under the weather. I rested a bit after the gym and after eating a pretty good lunch I started to perk up some. Unfortunately, Adrian and I decided to postpone our trip to Oxnard till next week. Too many things are happening right now that its just not a good time to go up there. Along with my Mom being in the hospital, my brother being really sick, I am fighting a cold, Mia teething, getting a visit from my "aunt flow" early!!!, and the storm rolling in it just isn't a good idea.
So we decided to get our Christmas tree!!! We weren't really planning on it but it sort of happened. I am glad we got it, especially since a storm is coming and will be here all next week so we just HAD to get it ASAP. So we all bundled up and off to the traditional tree lot we went!!
First we hit the bank and of course we had to sit in a looooong line for the drive thru ATM and once we got there it was broken!!! SIGH!!!! so we parked and Adrian jumped off to use the walk up ATM well turns out that just broke too so he had to run into the bank. There were TONS of people there so it took awhile. Meanwhile, Mia and I hung out in the car. I sang Twinkle Twinkle Little Star to her (her favorite song) and we chatted. Eventually Adrian came back to the car and we took off to our next destination... getting fire wood!
We found a big place that sells wood right next door to Wickers Farm, where we buy our Halloween Pumpkins at. Since the cold front is moving it (its supposed to hit 32 degrees tonight!) we decided to stock up on wood for the fireplace. We got a whole wheel barrow full of wood for less than 20 bucks! Can't beat that! So once we were loaded up with wood it was off to the tree lot!
We have bought our tree at this little privately owned lot for YEARS! Infact I think there has only been 1 time we didn't. So its like our little family tradition to go here. The price is pretty reasonable and the trees are pretty fresh. It was getting dark and COLD! so I bundled up Mia and put her little pink beanie on. We let her loose in the lot so she could run through the trees and explore and she liked that. I just watched her and was amazed how fast time goes. It just seemed like yesterday we were there picking out a tree with Mia last year when she didn't even crawl yet!
After we let her play a bit, and she found a twig to carry, we looked at some trees. I really wanted her to pick out a tree again like she did last year but the one she picked out was a bit on the small size. Granted it was a cute tree it just was to small for our house. We walked around a bit more then came across the PERFECT tree!!!! Mia liked it too and even pulled on some of the branches and shook the tree. After getting her seal of approval we told the guy we wanted to buy it and he loaded it on my car for us.
It turns out it was a 7+ foot tree the biggest we have ever bought! and it was only for $37 not bad huh? Well once the tree was on the roof it was time to go home. Adrian was shivering because he forgot to put on his jacket and he was cold and Mia was getting antsy. So once we loaded Mia into the car we headed home... slowly
Once we got home Adrian brought the tree into the house. I trimmed it a bit and then let Mia play with it. She really didn't care about it at first and was more interested in picking up the clippings I cut from the tree that were on the ground. She danced around with one for a while then went back to watching her Yo Gabba Gabba on TV. Adrian put the tree in the corner I and started to clean up. Then it hit me... Mia needs her own tiny tree for her room!!! So I gathered some of the big cut branches, got an empty glass baby food jar, some ribbon, and made her, her very own little tree for her room. Now her room can smell like Christmas too!! Something was missing though... the tree looked naked! Hmm.... what to do? Then I got the idea of putting some of Mia's old hair ribbons on the tree to decorate it! It turned out soooo cute!!! Now its perfect for her room! YAY!
I didn't decorate the big tree yet, I am waiting until tomorrow when Adrian is home from work. That will be interesting especially having Mia running around.