Friday, December 31, 2010

New Years Eve Fun





























Current Mood: Tired

Happy New Years Eve!! Today is our final day of 2010! Wow what an amazing year! I decided to start the day with some fun. Alex was wide awake and up for some wake time so I decided it was picture time! I gave Mia and Alex the hat and blowers Daddy bought for them for New Years and let them have some fun. Alex, of course, didn't know what was going on but Mia on the other hand had a blast... once she learned how to actually use a blower haha. I couldn't help but film a few videos and take a few pictures. Enjoy!











week 129



Current Mood: Tired

Happy New Years Eve! Burrrrrrr......... its FREEZING out right now! Infact its 7:30am and the weather website says its 27 degrees! I believe it! I am frozen to this chair as we speak! haha It is definately winter!

This week was lots of fun. Not only did Mia get to celebrate her 3rd Christmas, she got to go see her Cardoso family for Christmas Eve in San Diego. She had lots of fun running around with her cousins, sneaking chocolate chip cookies and getting presents from her Auntie Rebecca and Grandma and Grandpa. We spent some time at her Grandparents house and she had lots of fun playing with Grandpa Fernando's instruments and coloring on the kitchen table. The next day (Christmas) she went NUTS opening all the presents under the tree. She opened hers, mine, Adrian's and even Alex's. She made out like a bandit too, there are new toys spread all over the house and we haven't even taken all of her gifts out of the boxes yet. I guess Santa thought she was a good girl all year... where has he been the last few months?!?!!? haha just kidding, she's always a good girl.

She has started doing a new annoying thing however. Ever since we played house with her doll house and toys she has learned how to knock on her bedroom door. She does this when she wants out or is mad. I say annoying because its not only her fist that she uses, she also bangs the door with her sippy cup! Its almost like shes in jail and trying to get our attention to get out! Its so loud and I am always afraid that she will wake up Adrian, so I get her pretty fast. I guess that is bad on my part since it is reinforcing us getting her when she does that.

She also insists on always having her bedroom light on during the night. I don't know how many times Adrian or myself have to go up there and turn it off when she falls asleep. It doesn't last long though because as soon as she wakes up and finds that its off she will whine then quickly jump out of bed, turn it back on and run back to bed. I literally hear "waaah... thump thump thump thump... CLICK... thump thump thump thump" at all hours of the night.

She also had another big outing with her Daddy this week. They went to Fry's Electronics (San Marcos) and Fat Burger in Escondido. She had lots of fun watching the fish they had in their aquarium and even cracked herself up by trying to scare them. I can't wait until we take her to Sea World so she can see what fish REALLY look like haha.

She has been becoming a handful more and more as the weeks go on. Its like she has all this bottled up energy and if you don't keep her from becoming bored or get her outside she explodes in the house! She acts up and is constantly getting into trouble. It is driving me NUTS! and for the first time I have been noticing that its driving Adrian nuts too! Thats big because he never loses patience with anything! So one night I tried to do something new with her to see if it would help stave off some of her bottled up energy. Since we didn't get to make Christmas cookies this year, I just made some dough out of flour, salt, and water and gave it to her to have fun with. I also gave her some cookie cutters I had and she went nuts for awhile. She snowmen and loved to smash the dough while saying "smashy!" haha It was fun and since she stayed on the table with it (which was a miracle since she never stays on the table with anything) the mess was minimal.

We also discovered this week that Mia likes Chilibeans!!!! I have no idea where that came from since she never likes to try new things. One day while Adrian and I were eating chili dogs at the table she insisted on "Trying it?". At first we just gave her beans. She would come to Adrian for a bean then me then Adrian. Finally we started giving her the whole chili (which wasn't very hot) and she liked it! She ate tons of it (for Mia's standards) and when it was all gone she kept asking for "Chili".. it was too cute!

Well that is about it for the week. Today is the final day of 2010! I can't wait to ring in the new year with my babies! 2011 is going to be GREAT!

Thursday, December 30, 2010

More Smashies











Current Mood: Creative

Mia has been out of control lately. I think it is because she has been cooked up in the house to much. It isn't our fault really its been storming like crazy and when its not raining its FREEZING! So unfortunately, taking Mia out to the park anymore is impossible.

So shes been bursting at the seams with unused energy! Poor thing has been getting into trouble left and right and driving us INSANE! So last night, I wanted to do something new with her to help stave off some of that mischievous energy.

I mixed up some homemade dough for her to play with. I have not made it in such a long time that I thought for sure it would be a new fun project for her to kill some time with until bed time. It worked! I mixed some flour, water and salt and soon had a big lump of play dough. I sat Mia down at the table and showed it to her. I also gave her some cookie cutters I had laying around. She went nuts with the dough. Her favorite thing was to go "smashy!" She would take a ball of dough (that I had to roll up for her) and smash it with her cookie cutters. It was the funniest thing to watch. She had a ball. She later started playing more with the dough itself and made her own Christmas tree and snowmen!

We had lots of fun together. I wonder if we will play "smashies" more tomorrow?! haha









"Chili"



Current Mood: Surprised

I am shocked to say that Mia likes Chili Beans!!! I know!!! I can't believe it myself, she is usually so very picky!

Today Adrian cooked some Chili Beans (well warmed them up, they were already cooked). They were the Hormel kind and weren't very spicy. When they were done Adrian and I sat at the table with our chili dogs and were chowing down. Mia was running around and once she noticed what we were eating she insisted on "try it?". So Adrian gave her a tiny bean to taste and it was love at first chew!

Soon she was hounding both of us, one right after another, for another bean. She kept asking for "chili? chili?" Finally it got so bad she was upgraded from a single bean to some chili and beans. She still liked it and soon finished her own little plate of it! When it was all gone she was mad and insisted on more "Chili!". It was the cutest thing.

I think Mia is a Lefty



Current Mood: Hungry

I think I can officially call it now... Mia is a lefty. She has been favoring this hand so long that I can no longer deny it. At first I thought she just used her left hand so much because her right was always in her mouth, but now that she is slowly growing out of the finger sucking she is still favoring her left. She eats, draws and holds things with her left more than her right and this morning while I was watching her feed herself applesauce.. I noticed she has more coordination with her left than right.

I am not the type of Mom to "Correct" this issue since I don't believe there is anything wrong with her. If she wants to be a lefty then so be it, I just hope she doesn't run into to many problems in life with the world around her being a "right handed" world.

*VIDEO* Mia eating applesauce 12-30-10

I was trying to film her using her left hand since she favors that hand so much, but as soon as I was filming she started using her right instead... sigh! haha

Wednesday, December 29, 2010

*VIDEO* Mia and Alex on the couch hanging out 12-29-10

Super Mia to the Rescue!





Current Mood: Amused

I have never seen anyone use a Halloween Costume so much in my life! Mia is obsessed with her Wonder Woman costume that she literally wears it nearly everyday! I think its so cute that she insists on wearing it and once I put it on her, she runs around the room saying "Super Mia to the Rescue!" haha Its really cute, but I am getting a little tired of having to put it on all the time. It would be nice to see her in other clothes for once. Even when its freezing out she insists on wearing it and I have to put it over her warm clothes. She even sleeps in it at night, cape and all!

She refuses to take it off. It is always a battle trying to get that costume off of her. Even Adrian has a hard time getting it off of her and just takes her outside in it anyway! She has gone to the store so many times wearing it and even outside to play. I try hiding it but she always manages to find it!

Sigh.... my little Superhero Mia! Gotta love her!

Sunday, December 26, 2010

A Fun Outing with Dada

Current Mood: Tired

Today was another fun bonding day for Mia and Dada. He took her out to run some errands with him, mainly to get her out of the house and to give me a break and some time to bond with Alex. I didn't mind, I am still pretty worn out from Christmas so having a quiet house was nice. Although I didn't get all the cleaning I wanted done, at least Alex and I had some time together.

When Adrian and Mia finally came back from their adventure to Fry's Electronics (San Marcos (45 mins drive)) and Fat Burger in Escondido, Daddy had lots of stories to share.

Right away he asked Mia to show me what she was doing to their fish aquarium (they have a massive wall sized aquarium at that Fry's) Right away Mia ran up to me and made a zerbert sound. You know, like spitting through closed lips. Adrian said she wouldn't stop doing that to the fish then she would crack up hysterically and I mean LOUD! haha Not sure what that was all about but it sounded really funny. She also was telling the fish to "get! Get!" which means to get out of the way and go away (something we always tell the cat).

They had fun shopping together until Mia decided to run off a couple of times. Both times she got herself lost (though always in Daddy's site...he was not in hers) She ran through isle after isle looking for him and when she finally spotted him she ran to him really fast. You would think she would learn after the first time, but no, she kept doing it over and over. Adrian had to ditch the cart a few times to chase her down. Sigh... little Mia.

After Fry's they headed to Fat Burger where they ate dinner together. She had a little "baby fat" and ate most of it. She also insisted on bugging the poor guy sitting next to them by leaning on his seat, peeking over at him, and staring at him non-stop.

After dinner they headed home. I missed her and was looking forward to playing with her a bit before bedtime but that didn't work out. As soon as she was home the little no-nap Mia came out aka Travistia Mia!!! The type of Mia that gets into trouble left and right until we can't stand it anymore and put her to bed. Yep, that kind. She not only hit her brother two times in the head, but threw a block at his head and made him cry, then poked him in the eye! Poor baby!!! After the eye poke I gave her a good slap on the hand and that set her off. She was all heart broken and I had to make her understand how to be nice to baby and say sorry. After bawling for a short while she was back to getting into trouble around the house. Finally Daddy just took her to bed. Ah well.... we will hang out tomorrow

Thats about it for their little adventure. I thought it was pretty cute, I always enjoy seeing them get out together and bond. I know how hard it is for Adrian do spend time with her now that we have Alex, I need more help, and working, but he does what he can and I am so happy for that. Mia loves her Dada and always has fun with him.

Saturday, December 25, 2010

Christmas 2010













































































Current mood: Accomplished

Merry Christmas Everyone!!! We did it! Christmas was a success!!! The kids loved their gifts and we loved the gifts to each other. Overall the day was great, I love my little family!

The day started early with Alex waking up first. From the moment he woke up he was all smiles and happy (which is unusual prior to eating breakfast). I think he knew it was Christmas and he was going to get presents! haha I spend some quality time with him, fed him then had a quick photo session with him under the Christmas tree. When he grew tired of posing for pictures we went upstairs to wake up Daddy.

I dropped Alex off with Daddy while I got Mia. She had already been awake for awhile so she was all excited to see me. When I told her Santa came and she had presents to open, she couldn't get out of her room fast enough. I then took her to our room so she could join Alex and Daddy. She didn't want to stick around, right away she kept saying "open presents" and wanted to go downstairs. So I grabbed Alex, set him up near the tree then busted out the cameras as Daddy took Mia down the stairs to see the tree.

Once Mia saw the presents under the tree she got all excited and went right for them. She started ripping up presents (that weren't even hers!) before we could stop her. I wanted to get a few pictures of her next to her brother under the tree but that didn't happen. When I realized there was no stopping the present monster I just let her have at it.

We opened presents as a family and Mia had a blast. She was our present opener and actually opened every ones presents for them, mine, Daddy's and even Alex's. No one minded though, we loved watching her light up and get excited with everyone of them.... even if they weren't for her. I never seen a 2 year old get so excited over a knife set before! haha

Daddy was excited about his presents which included a hard drive docking station, anti-static bands and SF Giants World Series Champs Shirt with matching hat. I was excited about mine as well, I got a comal so I can make tortillas better, rice cooker, quesadilla griller, Ginsu knife set and a neck massager! Everything I wanted and asked for! Alex got cars and toys and Mia got TONS of princess things including princess shoes, a princess kitchen set, and the full set of 7 princesses. She was in princess heaven! She also got an electric drum set too!

After the presents were all opened it was time for stockings. Mia made out with all kinds of little toys and one of her favorite being glow sticks. Alex did too, and Mia helped him open his stocking for him. He did really good and didn't get fussy at all, although towards the end he pooped and stunk up the tree but luckily Christmas was already over by then.

After present time, we all played with our new toys until nap time. The rest of the day was spent relaxing and spending time with each other with the fire going. It was so nice and cozy. What a wonderful day.

I couldn't ask for anything better, I love my family so much and I couldn't be happier. For the first time in YEARS actually since I was a little kid, I was so excited Christmas morning! I felt like a little kid again... only this time the excitement stemmed from the anticipation of watching my kids open their gifts rather than myself. Wow I must be growing up?! haha

Merry Christmas Everyone!