Current Mood: Amused
Last night, after Daddy was done BBQ'ing and everyone (including Alex) was all fed we decided to show Mia the Christmas tree with the lights on for the first time.
I quickly grabbed my camera as Adrian plugged in the tree. We had Mia stand in front of the tree with her eyes closed and when the tree was lit she opened them. Once she saw the tree she got a HUGE smile on her face and quickly ran to the lights... and yes tried to pull them off! haha We let her explore and examine the lights a bit and I took lots of pictures.
We decided that we would have her decorate tomorrow (today) since it was already late and both Daddy and myself were dragging from lack of sleep. However, I did pick three little ornaments that I had, that seemed pretty harmless and unbreakable, and showed them to her. She quickly knew what to do with them without me even showing her or telling her. I guess watching that Christmas "Yo Gabba Gabba" episode over and over endlessly has taught her something haha.
She quickly took the snowman and hung it on the tree, however, she didn't quite hang it on the tree itself, instead she hung it on the light!!! She ended up doing that with the other two ornaments I had too (another snowman and a tiny bear). She insisted they go on the lights and when I tried to show her how to put it on the tree she got mad, ripped it down and put it back on the light! Unfortunately for her, the lights aren't meant to hold things so the ornaments would fall off with little or no touch at all. This would frustrate Mia.. ALOT but I kept reassuring her we could try again and soon all three of her ornaments were dangling from the lower part of the tree... and yes they hung from the lights.
She had so much fun, but I still couldn't stop her from playing with the tree water! UGH! I have no idea how to remedy that. A part of me wants to let her do what she wants since it is her tree too and I want her to enjoy herself, on the other hand I am tired of having her sleeves all wet! Ah well, Christmas is only once a year and shes only this age once... meh her clothes can always be washed I rather her have fun!