Current mood: sad
I should have known.... especially with the way the day was going. Nothing we planned seemed to work out, not getting my Thai food should have been a huge indicator. However, out of not so good things, good things always seemed to emerge anyways. Yes, I didn't satisfy my Thai craving but I did get to eat one of the best fast food soups I have ever eaten!! Thats a big plus! The other is something I am just about to write about....
If you read my previous blog you would have known that we planned on going to San Jacinto to check out their fair and watch the fireworks. Well after writing my blog, Adrian fell asleep, and Mia finally knocked out. Both slept for a long while and the later it got the more I didn't feel like making the 20 mile drive to San Jacinto. So I jumped online and found that our city, Menifee, was hosting fireworks at a nearby park!! GREAT! Granted they didn't have a fair, at least Mia could see fireworks. She seemed to really enjoy them the last time we showed them to her. So I let Adrian and Mia sleep a bit longer.
When Adrian woke up I told him about the change in plans. He was up for it. So we woke up Mia so we could get ready to go. BAD IDEA!!! Mia woke up in the most horrible mood EVER! I mean HORRIBLE! She was crying hysterically for EVERYTHING and ANYTHING! and I don't mean whining I mean full on tears, screaming and floppy body. It was awful. We could not cheer her up for anything!!!! Eventually it got time to go and she perked up a tiny bit. We packed the car with a blanket incase we had to sit on the grass and Mia's tiny plastic chair.
The park was not far from us and we were there in less than 10 mins. The sun was setting and it was about 8:30. The fireworks were to start at 9. There was a big playground so we let Mia loose. She ran straight for the swings and for the first time rode them without being supported!!! She was such a big girl! More and more families began to show up and kids filled the playground. It wasn't to crowded and I was happy we would be able to get a GREAT view of the show. The only thing that bothered me a bit was the fact I didn't see any firework techs around. Maybe we were on the wrong side of the park? We have never been there before but Adrian pointed out that if the fireworks were infact at the park they would be so high in the air it wouldn't matter what side of the park we were on, we would be able too see them. So we let Mia swing, and swing and swing some more.
When it got closer to 9 and nothing seemed to be going on we got really concerned. So did the families around us. Everywhere you could see people chatting on their cell phones trying to see what was going on. Then we got the news we sooo didn't want to hear, or at least it would have been nice to hear 30 mins earlier! Turns out the firework show was LAST WEEK!!!!!! WHAT?!?!?! I know! I Know!!!! by that time it was to late to race anywhere else since we would probably miss them. I was all bummed out and felt so bad. I felt if I would have looked at the date closer on the website I would have noticed the time/day and it was my fault for changing our plans to begin with. Adrian cheered me up though, he mentioned how much fun Mia was having on the swing and it was not a total bust. So we let her swing a bit longer then packed up and headed home. We did see some fireworks off the freeway on the ride home but it wasn't the same.
Oh well... guess it wasn't meant to be this year. I did learn another huge lesson though... LOOK AT THE TIME AND DATE OF EVERY EVENT!!! You would think I would have learned by now!! Sheesh!!! haha