Friday, October 22, 2010

Week 119


Current mood: exhausted

Wow what a week. I am so tired... will I ever know what sleep is again???? Adjusting to the baby has had its ups and downs but we are getting by. Mia seems to be taking to her little brother VERY well and for that I am so happy. She wants to be a little Mama to him. She runs to his room everytime he cries, tells him "its ok baby", and watches every diaper change. She even tries to hand me diapers without me asking for them. She is very soft and gentle around him and doesn't seem to mind if we are holding him (MOST of the time... unless we are spending time with her and it get interupted by him, then shes not such a happy big sister anymore). Overall shes been doing great, I hope it continues.

Grandpa Pizano was here over the weekend and we had a surprise visit from Grandma Pizano too! She took the bus up here to see the new baby and to spend time with Mia.

Adrian has been making it a point to try to get her out more. Over the weekend she went to the park (I got to go too!! I had my parents babysit Alex for the hour). It was great seeing her go nuts at the park, but she scared me half to death when she decided to go down the big kids slide! I swear this slide was as tall as a 1 story house!!!! But she liked it and went on it over and over again. She even made a little friend there too, who cried when Mia finally had to go home.

Later Daddy took her to the pumpkin patch so she could jump in their bounce house! She had a GREAT time there and made TWO more little friends who just adored her. She came back dirty, messy and extremely happy! I am glad she got out!

We had a mini-crisis one morning too when she shoved a flower petal up her nose!!! No matter what my dad or myself did we couldn't get that stubborn thing out!!! Eventually she laughed and it came out somewhat and my Dad was able to then pull it out! Sigh.. Mia never a dull moment with her!

However, the week wasn't ALL fun and games. She ended up catching the flu! and was a puking machine! Poor baby, yesterday was her first full day without throwing up but we were monitoring her food intake VERY carefully and were only giving her bland food. Today we will be back on track, hopefully everything will be ok with her and her little tummy.

Bedtime is still horrible, although since we have been showing her a bit of tough love and with Adrian talking to her more during the event, she has slowly started getting better if you can even say that. She no longer stomps and shakes the house but she still cries bloody murder. The worst part of it all is she calls for me , "Mommy!!!!" the whole time and it kills me!!! Hopefully she will outgrow this phase soon it breaks my heart every night and has brought me to tears more than once!

Well it sounds like Alex finally fell asleep so I am going to crawl back into bed to try to get some sleep before Mia wakes up! Hopefully we will have a good day today!